The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


FLEXIcontent Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

FLEXIcontent is an advanced content management system developed to greatly enhance the native article manager of Joomla! (com_content)

- Content Types (=custom forms)
- Many highly parametrized powerful fields with select content plugin triggering
- Drag-drop templating
- Multi-Category assignments (secondary & featured)
- High performance FACETED filtering !!!
- Author management with limitations for subscriptions sites
- etc

10x-20x more features in free version, compared to other Free CCK/Directory components

Thus, FLEXIcontent was designed to manage content in a broad sense:
- articles,
- image or video galleries,
- job offers,
- product catalogues,
- business directories,
- hotel directories
- etc
within a single user interface.

-- This means for the end user, unparalleled simplicity of use, everything happens in one place.
-- Mastering 10 components to be able to administrate an entire website isn’t required anymore.
-- For the web designer / end user / developer, it means a lot less headaches of interoperability/maintenance

Some of FLEXIcontent Unique features:
(none in other component's Free versions, many unique compared to commercial versions)

-- Multi Category assigments, with multiple featured categories (configurable via our Advance Route Plugin, see our FAQ)
-- Multiple Document versioning (combined with workflow and powerful notifications messages, see below)
-- Multi-state Workflow to assist both editors & publishers to add/update content to your site
-- Highly configurable powerful notification system: (Global) Component + Per Content Type + Per category
-- High parametrized Fields(=joomla plugin each) (carefully structured to assist configuration and be performance wise)
-- Powerful relation/reverse Relation fields to create custom Content Item sub-listing inside a Content Item
-- An powerful image/gallery field to create DB-reusable image/galleries or item-field specific galleries with numerous parameterization options
-- Multiple filter apperances: text field/single select/dual text range/dual select range/toggle radio/toggle checkbox(multiple filter values)
-- FACETED filter behavior for almost all searchable fields: showing filter values according to current filtering and current
-- A -Free- Advanced Search view (to host the above 2, but also available in categories too) and create content-rich listings
-- Directory/Catalog features, directory view + a powerful Alpha-Index with character aliases, character aggregations, language customizations
-- Selective plugin triggering in all fields
-- High performance frontend views and items manager, with steady performance as sites grows (**installing on EXISTING larges sites 20,000+ items is still slow, TODO), (and works with full page caching extensions)
-- 30+ ACL actions (e.g. edit field value)
-- ... many more UNIQUE

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2013-02-18
Reviews: 11
I'm working with Flexicontent since the beginning f this product.

I couldn't manage a site without it. It's very adpatable for all my purposes.

And it's not the leat thing the support is perfect, rapid and very friendly.

I'm working with the Release candidate Joomla 2.5 since the beginning of J2.54. I never encountered probleme and it' was only a releasae candidate.

A great thanks to all the support team of Flexicontent.
Michel
2013-02-11
Reviews: 2
I am using Joomla for years but was always frustrated but the lack of a good CCK. I tried various solutions but was not completely happy until I discovered FlexiContent, the perfect solution I was waiting for!

Flexicontent use the classic com_content and extend it with some "plug-ins" so a lot of content extensions can work with it easily.

The team of development is very responsive and can help you to find a solution.

For the moment they are working hard to finish the 2.0 version, we are using it on some website without any problems.
2013-02-09
Reviews: 3
I never want to have joomla without flexicontent. Very customizable, great community and support :)
2013-02-09
Reviews: 1
What can I say about, to really contribute to make this extension the big one that really is?
I use it since it's beginning, silently following it's development, using it with success and satisfation; but wrongly not giving my direct contribution
Now it's time to do it :)
You are problably asking for "Why now?".
The reason is simple but not surprising for who is following this extension from the beginning.
This time I had a further occasion to get invaluable help coming form the development team, related to specific small & hidden bug causing my website loosing Google ranking. Within a couple of days they have identified and solved it, making me happy :)
I never found a better extensions around the JED, and this time I must admit then I also _NEVER_ found a better & so responsive team: this could be "normal" for a pay-for component, but you should keep in mind that they are still working FOR FREE giving us a great component. What more should you expect?
I would give them more than 5 stars, but all I can do right now is to tell you "enjoy that team, is unique rather than rare"
2013-02-08
Reviews: 12
To improve joomla editor is a perfect CCK. Highly recommended.

It has many options and is highly adaptable.
2013-01-25
Reviews: 1
First, i should say that FLEXIcontent is actually running very well on joomla 2.5. The devs are just waiting for the final release to change that info.

FLEXIcontent (FC) is one of the best, if not the best, CCK for Joomla! out there.
I've tested other CCK which can have a pretty interface but limites you in the free version; or others that can be so powerful that it's overwhelming to work with as there is too much to do.
And with many of these CCK, it's a pain to move your data out of them.

FC has multi language support with out the need of any 3rd party. You can map items (articles ...) to their translated version.
You can build almost any type of website with it. You have a vast array of field type.
You can manage the fields showing in the submit content form on the front end.
Tight and extended Joomla! ACL integration. You can even apply Joomla! ACL per field.
You can trigger SQL queries in field.
Drag & drop ordering.
The template system is uber simple and offer total control.

Maybe not every developer or company are great at advertising themselves. But there is one sure thing about FLEXIcontent: it's a solid CCK.

And i forgot one important note: It's FREE!

ps: i'm not even part the of the FC team, but i simply love it. We use it a lot to develop our client's website.
2012-12-16
Reviews: 1
A great CCK I use on all my website.
Easy to install and configure.
A very good support.
A must have !
2012-12-10
Reviews: 11
Before, i was making websites without CKK... Now i need to make sites with a lot of different types contents and categories, and to display (order / filter / appearance / listing...) them in a lot of different ways. My need was a powerful advanced search and versatil modules to filter and sort almost everything.
This is not a "simple as a click" CKK, but i'm really sure it's the most powerful one.
The support forum is quick and efficient, i can tell you, because i have several specific needs, and all request where solved (For developers, you can make almost everything you need in the great templates tool).

Flexicontent is not know enough!
2012-12-10
Reviews: 1
I have been using FlexiContent for several years to create commercial projects. This extension is easily customizable and has a variety of options for experienced users.
The most beautiful part of FlexiContent is the templating mechanism which allows to render each joomla article uniquely.
Object-oriented grounding provides bunch of ways for integrating FlexiContent algorithms into third-party components. In addition, it is easily extensible with plugin mechanics.

I would especially like to thank the developers who put incredible effort in constantly improving the extension and providing abundand support on their forum.
2012-12-06
Reviews: 1
I discovered FLEXIcontent recently and have already build a business directory, events list and a few other applications for my site.
This CCK integrates smoothly with Joomla's categories, articles and other plugins. It extends Joomla with a variety of custom fields and provides templating capabilities for articles.
Even if you have basic html and css knowledge (like me) you can do a great lot with FLEXIcontent!
2012-12-04
Reviews: 3
I have never rated any extension but I have to rate for this. Flexicontent is more than enough but still growing with community. Fantastic support, great community and You will love it.

Thanks FC team and community.
2012-11-22
Reviews: 1
this component is a real plus for Joomla! and more even important, support is very reactive and always answering for any question !
I am using it for almost 2 years and migrating from 1.5 to 2.5 joomla web without problem. multiple category system, templates by item/categroy customizable, import function for high number of article and lot more fun !
you made great job ! thx !
2012-09-19
Reviews: 1
I have to say that I have being developing for 2 years with flexicontent and everytime I have faced a problem I have found a solution. People at the forum are really helpfull, whatever they lack on documentation they complement it at the forum.
Once you use flexicontent you will wonder why it is not already part of the original package. It is really flexible an adaptable. It has tons of plugins.
Owner's reply

I guess, you mostly speak of documentation for -developers-,

yes the documentation for developers is still being written, every time a question that is useful for developers, is answered in the forum, we make also make a new FAQ/Documentation article out of the forum answer.

for end users the inline description and parameters layouts have been improved to make it easier to use, although not as easy as we would want.

By tons of plugins i guess you mean ability to trigger only a specific content plugin (instead of all plugin) in text fields to create a custom FLEXIcontent field e.g. a video field or Google maps field etc , although such (free) fields exist by third party developers.

we avoid making too many different plugins if the functionality can be accommodated by an existing plugin, e.g. our image field is also (in latest version) an image gallery having all the functionality of the single image field ...

2012-09-10
Reviews: 2
I downloaded FlexiContent after reading the features of workflow and version control. These features appeared to be exactly what I required.

I am having difficulty with the workflow feature. I attempted numerous times to access the forum but I kept getting a user/name and password not found error. Since I received the error message, I attempted to contact a board administrator, but did not have any success through email. I have tried to contact a board administrator since 8/23/2012, but have not had any success. It is too bad since it appears that the forum itself gets updated fairly frequently.

I did not want to give a poor review, but I have not been able to use all the features in the new FlexiContent because the support is non-existing. I do hope the developers take the time to read this review.
Owner's reply

As you said yourself the forum board gets frequent answers, and when a bug is reported we always investigate it, also most features request are entered as enhancement issues in our bug tracker

A few days ago the forum may have been unavailable for a couple of hours, because it was upgraded to latest phpBB, i don't know if this is related

About customer service lacking, i will happily receive a donation, if you want to make one, but the component is free (and will remain free)

thus you have not paid any money for it, despite the countless hours we have spent on it.

Thank you

2012-09-10
Reviews: 2
I've been testing the upcoming iteration of FlexiContent. All I can say is WOW! This has got to be the most useful extension in the JED. I can't wait for everyone to see the next version of this extension, you will be in for a treat!
2012-08-25
Reviews: 14
I've been looking an easy way to do two things:

1. Allow my site members to submit content for news sections I specify while enabling me to control what is published.

2. Allow my site members full control to post, edit and publish blog posts in categories I specify while enabling me to display those posts in a nice, clean, customizable layout.

I have found a few great blog components but was not satisfied with what is available for member content submission.

FLEXIcontent solved BOTH my issues! It's intuitive, powerful and, though it is well worth a license fee, it's absolutely FREE.

*Hint: When adding a menu item for item submission be sure to choose the categories to which the member group has permission (set in FLEXIcontent global config or category config) to post. Also, it is wise (if not necessary) to set a default posting category for this menu item. I neglected to to this at first, which resulted in my members being forwarded to a menu item that was set as default for anyone without permission to post. (This will all make sense after you have installed the component.)

I would recommend FLEXIcontent to anyone who wants to allow member/team article submission and/or member blogs.
2012-08-11
Reviews: 1
This CCK is very usefull and it is easy to install. The support community (french or english) is efficient and reactive, thanks to them !
It allows pleasant functionnalities such as a free gallery, which is not include in all CCK's.
However, for newbies (as I am), it's a little hard to understand how it integrates with Joomla! But I suppose it needs time, as all other tools !
Owner's reply

I agree with you,

FLEXIcontent has long list of features, that i myself may forget of them, and many advanced features that are not meant to be used by newbies.

Should we not have included them? And we think twice before including unnecessary features.

Mastering a big extension is not easy, even for experts users, and also everything is more or less a trade-off, when you make something more powerful, you make it a little or much more difficult. We try to make only a little more difficult, and improve intuitiveness of user interface wherever possible, and give time to it, despite it being a -free- extension.

Basic usage of extending the Joomla article system (instead of replacing it) with extra fields, Contents Types and templating, comes easy.

Everybody of us gave time when he/she first started using a CMS like Joomla ... using a big extension and taking advantage of big component will require some time and as i said above some features are meant for web-designers (and developers)

Regards

2012-08-01
Reviews: 9
Short but sweet.
- flexibility is fantastic (see features)
- installation was easy
- learning all the possibilities may take time, but this extension is worth it.
- any questions (no matter how trivial) were answered VERY quickly and accurately

If you need to build a custom content structure - this is it.

I don't write many reviews, but this one deserves the time to give feedback.
2012-06-27
Reviews: 1
I really like FlexiContent. It's the best CCK solution for Joomla, and I wish the project to continue for long time. I'm impatient to hear about the j2.5 stable version, and a migration tool 1.5->2.5 !!
Owner's reply

J2.5 version is finished and being tested.

Also there is a migration tool for moving from J1.5 to J2.5 by a third party developer, which is also finished and being tested too.

Announcement of new version is to happen very soon. New feature list is too long, will try to make a good summary out of them

2012-06-01
Reviews: 12
I have used many CCK components specially for Joomla,(K2,Sobi2,SobiPro,Seblod). Even-though all of them have some unique features and advantages , But Flexicontent IMHO is far beyond when it comes to everything: Flexibility , Ease of use , Learning Curve, Features , Expandibility ,...

The only weakness that's not related to the Project itself is 3rd party support.

And I wish more 3rd Party Companies support it Out of the box (as for K2)
Page 4 of 8