The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


FLEXIcontent Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

FLEXIcontent is an advanced content management system developed to greatly enhance the native article manager of Joomla! (com_content)

- Content Types (=custom forms)
- Many highly parametrized powerful fields with select content plugin triggering
- Drag-drop templating
- Multi-Category assignments (secondary & featured)
- High performance FACETED filtering !!!
- Author management with limitations for subscriptions sites
- etc

10x-20x more features in free version, compared to other Free CCK/Directory components

Thus, FLEXIcontent was designed to manage content in a broad sense:
- articles,
- image or video galleries,
- job offers,
- product catalogues,
- business directories,
- hotel directories
- etc
within a single user interface.

-- This means for the end user, unparalleled simplicity of use, everything happens in one place.
-- Mastering 10 components to be able to administrate an entire website isn’t required anymore.
-- For the web designer / end user / developer, it means a lot less headaches of interoperability/maintenance

Some of FLEXIcontent Unique features:
(none in other component's Free versions, many unique compared to commercial versions)

-- Multi Category assigments, with multiple featured categories (configurable via our Advance Route Plugin, see our FAQ)
-- Multiple Document versioning (combined with workflow and powerful notifications messages, see below)
-- Multi-state Workflow to assist both editors & publishers to add/update content to your site
-- Highly configurable powerful notification system: (Global) Component + Per Content Type + Per category
-- High parametrized Fields(=joomla plugin each) (carefully structured to assist configuration and be performance wise)
-- Powerful relation/reverse Relation fields to create custom Content Item sub-listing inside a Content Item
-- An powerful image/gallery field to create DB-reusable image/galleries or item-field specific galleries with numerous parameterization options
-- Multiple filter apperances: text field/single select/dual text range/dual select range/toggle radio/toggle checkbox(multiple filter values)
-- FACETED filter behavior for almost all searchable fields: showing filter values according to current filtering and current
-- A -Free- Advanced Search view (to host the above 2, but also available in categories too) and create content-rich listings
-- Directory/Catalog features, directory view + a powerful Alpha-Index with character aliases, character aggregations, language customizations
-- Selective plugin triggering in all fields
-- High performance frontend views and items manager, with steady performance as sites grows (**installing on EXISTING larges sites 20,000+ items is still slow, TODO), (and works with full page caching extensions)
-- 30+ ACL actions (e.g. edit field value)
-- ... many more UNIQUE

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2012-06-27
Reviews: 1
I really like FlexiContent. It's the best CCK solution for Joomla, and I wish the project to continue for long time. I'm impatient to hear about the j2.5 stable version, and a migration tool 1.5->2.5 !!
Owner's reply

J2.5 version is finished and being tested.

Also there is a migration tool for moving from J1.5 to J2.5 by a third party developer, which is also finished and being tested too.

Announcement of new version is to happen very soon. New feature list is too long, will try to make a good summary out of them

2012-06-01
Reviews: 13
I have used many CCK components specially for Joomla,(K2,Sobi2,SobiPro,Seblod). Even-though all of them have some unique features and advantages , But Flexicontent IMHO is far beyond when it comes to everything: Flexibility , Ease of use , Learning Curve, Features , Expandibility ,...

The only weakness that's not related to the Project itself is 3rd party support.

And I wish more 3rd Party Companies support it Out of the box (as for K2)
2012-05-03
Reviews: 54
You've seriously saved the day!

I've tried a lot of components here. This one worked perfectly and I could actually understand it.

Basically all I wanted on my Joomla 1.5 website was the ability to create sub-categories within categories.

I didn't want to upgrade or use the sections.

This component did the trick. I had this up and running within 5 minutes.

I had spent hours on other components which were way over my head. I finally found this Gem that really saved my day and endless hours.

Take my hats off to you for developing this excellent component.

Thank you very much!
2012-03-19
Reviews: 2
I've been using Flexicontent for a couple of years now. In the beginning when I needed a CCK I checked into K2, Sobi, jSeblod, Zoo and Flexicontent.

Sobi was good for a directory type system, even made a website out of it. But, for me, that's where its usefulness ended.

jSeblod, was packed with features but seemed difficult to use. And at the time was not something I wanted to unload on to my clients.

Zoo, was a breeze to use but lacked out-of-the-box flexibility. While the core is free you have to pay for "Apps" to add functionality to Zoo.

Which left K2 and Flexicontent. On the surface, once installed, the back-end for both products looked very similar. I even read somewhere that both had some of the same code. But that's about where it ended.

One of the big differences between the 2 was that K2 used its own database tables. Flexicontent used the built-in com_content from Joomla. So what's that mean? It means that most (not all) of the plugins for regular joomla articles will work with Flexicontent. And 2, should you decide to uninstall Flexiconent then all of your content remains and is still accessible.

Both products require creating templates for displaying your content. One big advantage flexi has over K2 is that the templates you create have areas on them. With these areas you can drag and drop the fields you want to use, into any of the areas with ease. Maybe later you add anothe field or want to moved them around, you just drag and drop the new field into place or move everything around within your template areas. Can't say the same about K2, you have to go in and edit in your changes directly into the template. Not very flexible.

It's a shame K2 has gotten the recognition it has. Especially with several of the big Joomla template makers using it in their themes. IMO Flexicontent is a much better product.

Now if can just get a Joomla 2.5 version of flexicontent out.
2012-01-25
Reviews: 17
Hi to everyone in JED community, first of all, I need to say to all those looking for the best CCK for joomla that they do not need to look further, that they have found it.

I run a community website dealing in real estate and tourism, using some other specific extensions to manage some parts of our website, I was looking for a proper extension to create an activity listing directory and a course listing directory, since I already used mtree for some other parts of the website and sobi2 could not fit my requirements, I decided to look for a CCK extension to build the directory myself.

First, I tried K2, another well known CCK extension but K2 really lacks of features, the main features missed in K2 is about the search & filter integration, there is another extension that helps to integrate search and filter tool to K2 but first it is commercial and secondly, the extra fields can only be used once in the search plugin and there also some other issues that make me abandon the K2 idea.

Secondly, I tried JSeblod, I am not telling that this one also is not good but the configuration is quite complex and really not suitable at all for newbies in joomla.

Finally, I take a look at FlexiContent, after some hesitation, since our website is a productive website, I decided to give it a chance and tried it, the result was totally awesome, I could build all two directories as I wanted it with the same extensions and I could also add as many features as I wanted such as video embed from youtube, photo gallery, map & location and much more simply by using some content plugin available for joomla core contents, I was really impressed and from now, every website that I will design for my company, I will only use FlexiContent and no other CCK extension.

Implementing the search and filtering features within each category was just like a child stuff, so easy to implement, just create a select field with the required filter option and add it to the template and type of content, that's it, you have a fully functional search feature without the need to implement any other third party 'commercial' extension.

Additionally, after creating the first directory, I noticed a small error in the display, which was caused by my own website template css, since I do not really know how css stuff works, I decided to add a support request in the free community support forum of FlexiContent team, here again, I was really impressed, within less than 2 hours, yes really, not more than 2 hours, Micker helped me to solved the issue, he came to my website, look for the issue and find the error and send me the solution to solve it.

Dear JED community, there are other commercial extensions team who do not even reply to support on their own support forum and do not even care to reply to support request in a timely manner, I will not mention any of them here, but I will say a great thank you from the bottom of my heart to the FlexiContent team and say them that what they are doing is really fantastic.

I know that it is not easy since it is a non-commercial extension but guys, try your best to keep FlexiContent alive and even for later joomla version, as I mention you on your website forum, as soon as we start to generate some nice income from our website, we'll definitely send you some of it since you helped us very much to find the right solution for what we were trying to do.

Thanks again guys, T.
2012-01-17
Reviews: 2
Flexicontent is light years ahead of any other similar component. I have experience with SOBI2, Mosets tree, K2, none of them is as flexible, customizable and intuitive as Flexicontent. With the ability of using combination of different type of fields and plugins one can achieve practically anything on a website. The template system, combined with item types also allows many ways of organizing the site structure. The fast and competent support makes me feel like i'm using a commercial product. IMO Flexicontent is the perfect component. The only thing that annoys me is that there is not such variety of third party modules for FC as there are for K2 or Virtuemart yet, but i'm sure that will change soon.
2011-11-26
Reviews: 1
From a basic point of view, this project IMO provides the most intelligent approach for a Joomla CCK.

Using the standard content as well as additional fields, you are able to apply standard content plugins as well as special FC plugins - and combine them as you like - truly flexible.

Additional benefit: Code adjustments - if necessary at all - turn out as tiny patches, applicable without too much knowledge.

Equipped with tons of features and a very user friendly interface, FC is a must for all my projects.

Still you can say that FC still has a lack of documentation. On the other hand it is so easy to handle that you probably will spend only little more time with learning by doing (which you have to do anyway, right?) than with an exhaustive documentation.

In my case, it took me about one hour to understand enough to get started. (If this is your first CCK, maybe take two…). Well invested time - life gets so much easier afterwards.

The very active developer and forum will help you quickly with all the rest.

In Summary: Top edge - more than five stars.
2011-11-24
Reviews: 9
I installed this after trying many different options to make myself a microblogging type platform for the frontpage.

Not a single component I tried allowed comments to appear expanded on the front page by default - including this one.

I posted this on the Flexi forum and within a few hours the dev came back to me with a detailed and VERY SIMPLE hack to achieve my goal. I tried it, and hey presto, perfect!

I cannot believe how clearly this is coded, and how attentive the developer is to his customers. Wow!

If I could give 6 stars, I would. Highly recommended. And thank you so much to the dev, who continues to excel himself every time! Simply brilliant.
2011-11-23
Reviews: 2
Well, usually I am too lazy to rate any extension I use. But this time I have to say that this component and its available modules totally impressed me. I wanted to create a website similar to a blog but on Joomla, and Flexicontent is more then you need when it comes to it. As the name says, it is flexible and handy. It even has features like hearing the article, besides rating, bookmarking etc.

Thumbs up!
2011-11-03
Reviews: 3
Thanks to flexi content we can archive all requirements from every client.
-Photo galleries
-Job listing
-Front end submission
-Filters
-Advanced search
-Multi-category
-Version control
-Complex module with custom fields
-Attention to SEO (H1, alt's and Canonical links)
-Alphabetic search
-Author view's and View MY Submissions
...

You name it, FLEXIConent has it!
And above all, the community is great, fast feedback, great support, attention to detail and If you have a good idea for FLEXIContent they will implement it.

Can live without it.
2011-10-10
Reviews: 1
I am using this component here http://www.mblworld.com/ . I do have words to say thanks. Its a very very nice component..
2011-09-27
Reviews: 1
Simple to install, simple to use and fantastic support.
I've tried many components for creating a directory, but this really works for me.
The forum and support are great and on the odd occasion when I have been stumped have found the solution quickly.
2011-08-30
Reviews: 9
Up until now, Joomla! is pretty much the go-to-with when asked to build a website. No question asked

Now, not only i use Joomla! to build pretty much all my site. But Flexicontent has become "THE" CCK extension i install to build the sites.

It is so flexible, it's unreal. And unlike other CCK, the templating system is so simple to play with.
I've tried other CCK extensions which can also be powerful, but either the templating system was complicated or the extensions itself was hard to set up.

The Flexi team is doing an amazing work!

Flexicontent has become the second extension with JCE i install right after i install Joomla!
2011-07-06
Reviews: 1
I was looking for a universal directory component to able to construct (almost) all of my sites.

This has everything i wanted, multiple content types, flexible templating system, very flexible fields, multiple categories per item, etc, and Excellent access control if you combine it with FlexiAccess (i had a little trouble with it but i resolved, please read documentation for FlexiAccess although not complete).

The big bonus is that your content and categories etc are inserted to the standard joomla tables, only the extra information about fields, etc, is stored in other db tables.

It is an excellent directory component for the end user, and something a developer would love to use.

I hope i will be able to actively be involved in this component.
2011-06-03
Reviews: 23
A very useful product.

Several issues had to be worked through during and after installation and sometimes also when upgrading, but because of the amount of functionality it adds, this was acceptable (it was in beta version when I first began using it).

All in all it is the best extension for doing what it sets out to do that I have tried - that is to say there are several which do nearly the same thing but this one really delivers results.

I found it initially a bit confusing and for this reason delayed making use of it. I think this was a not a wise choice. Some extensions are worth putting in some time for and this is one of them.
2011-05-18
Reviews: 3
The more you get to know Flexicontent the better it gets. Everyday I think of new ideas and Flexicontent really makes it possible and quite easy to implement all the things I want to do. A perfect tool for the creative mind.

The forum is great, easy to find solutions and the staff present is very helpfull. Even though they are mostly French people they try their best to respond in English. Which is quite a big deal if you ever met the French in general.

Some things could be better, but that's normal right. It doesn't weigh so heavily cause it's very alive and growing/improving. I tried many other content managers but Flexicontent has stole my designer heart.

Am nearly finished now, with the other content managers I was stuck for weeks and never found any solutions on their forums.
2 thumbs up for this! ViveleFlexicontent!!
2011-04-04
Reviews: 3
easy to lern and pleasure to use!
now you have no restriction of com_content - make nested categories and assign content items to multi categories.
the tags system (both plugin and cloud module) included!
flexi support many content plugins and JComments - one of the best comment system on Joomla.
and with custom fields you can make any type of content (blog, catalog, marketplace).
so its five star for real flexibility!
2011-02-13
Reviews: 3
I started using K2 to create my web site but was hacking and creating too many work-arounds for my comfort. I decided to look around and discovered FLEXIContent. I am thrilled that I did! FC does everything that I wanted K2 to do... and more! Too bad I had to manually re-create all my K2 articles for FLEXIcontent!

FC documentation is a bit on light side, but I have found the forum helpful. To be honest, it is pretty intuitive, so I haven't relied too extensively on the forums but there are a few regular that offer good advice.

All in all, this is a great component and should be standard in Joomla!
2010-12-29
Reviews: 4
This is an awesome component. A TRUE CCK(content construction kit). Its more powerful then K2 by far. But doesnt match jseblod but jseblod is way confusing and NOT intuitive at all.

FlexiContent is com_content which integrates nicely with joomla and other core components/plugins/modules.

Lack of documentation is fine as long as you understand content types, user fields and so forth. This is an awesome intuitive CCK component. I freakn love FlexiContent
2010-12-03
Reviews: 6
This strikes me as an excellent module, and when it's combined with Flexi Access and Custom Quick Icons it provides an advanced level of granularity in the management of users, allowing very fine control over who can edit what on your site.

The main problem with the component is that there is NO DOCUMENTATION WHATSOEVER. Yes, you read that right, there is no documentation at all. Don't be fooled by the link in the top right here that says "documentation". Check it out, and see if you can find any useful information at all. You won't.

Using the component also requires you to use additional templates within your own template, which can mess with your CSS, so expect to invest more time finding the CSS classes responsible and editing them to suit your layout. There's no way to do that from within the component, so it has to be done by finding the files and editing them or commenting them out. There's also no way to override this function, as far as I can tell.

I'm sure that when I understand why this feature exists, I'll see the benefits and think it's marvellous, but at the moment it's just a pain. Once again, if there was any documentation to explain why it's there, what it does and how to use it, I might have already reached that point.

The extension is not intuitive, so it isn't obvious how it works or even what it can do. To find out how to do anything, you'll have to spend a lot of time trawling through the forum, which has a very poor search function that makes finding anything really difficult.

There is a support forum, and questions are answered reasonably quickly and well, but most of the questions on there look like things that would be covered if there was a manual.

Why the developer has done this is a mystery. Why doesn't he just write some decent documentation? Or even some half-baked documentation? Even that would be better than nothing. So many people must abandon this module because it's quite difficult to understand, and I would happily pay for the component with documentation. I emailed the developer to ask this question, answer came there none.

Having said that, the component is so powerful that it is well worth the effort and time spent working it out. One tip - build the site from scratch with the component installed. Converting an already developed site to use this component is a lot of work.

In summary, a great extension, but only use it if you've got lots and lots of time to figure it out and if you like cryptic puzzles. I would give it 5 stars for it's functionality, if only it had proper documentation.
Page 5 of 8