The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


FLEXIcontent Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

FLEXIcontent is an advanced content management system developed to greatly enhance the native article manager of Joomla! (com_content)

It adds most of features offered by other CMS like drupal, wordpress, and much more than them:
- Content Types (=custom forms)
- Many highly parametrized powerful fields with SELECTIVE Content Plugin Triggering
- Drag-drop templating
- Multi-Category assignments
- Complex filters in category/search views
- Author management with limitations for subscriptions sites
- etc

10x-20x more features in free version, compared to other Free CCK/Directory components

Thus, FLEXIcontent was designed to manage content in a broad sense:
- articles,
- image or video galleries,
- job offers,
- product catalogues,
- business directories,
- hotel directories
- etc
within a single user interface.

-- This means for the end user, unparalleled simplicity of use, everything happens in one place.
-- Mastering 10 components to be able to administrate an entire website isn’t required anymore.
-- For the web designer / end user / developer, it means a lot less headaches of interoperability/maintenance

Some of FLEXIcontent Unique features:
(none in other component's Free versions, many unique compared to commercial versions)

-- Multi Category assigments, with multiple featured categories (configurable via our Advance Route Plugin, see our FAQ)
-- Multiple Document versioning (combined with workflow and powerful notifications messages, see below)
-- Multi-state Workflow to assist both editors & publishers to add/update content to your site
-- Highly configurable powerful notification system: (Global) Component + Per Content Type + Per category
-- High parametrized Fields(=joomla plugin each) (carefully structured to assist configuration and be performance wise)
-- Powerful relation/reverse Relation fields to create custom Content Item sub-listing inside a Content Item
-- An powerful image/gallery field to create DB-reusable image/galleries or item-field specific galleries with numerous parameterization options
-- Multiple filter apperances: text field/single select/dual text range/dual select range/toggle radio/toggle checkbox(multiple filter values)
-- FACETED filter behavior for almost all searchable fields: showing filter values according to current filtering and current
-- A -Free- Advanced Search view (to host the above 2, but also available in categories too) and create content-rich listings
-- Directory/Catalog features, directory view + a powerful Alpha-Index with character aliases, character aggregations, language customizations
-- Selective plugin triggering in all fields
-- High performance frontend views and items manager, with steady performance as sites grows (**installing on EXISTING larges sites 20,000+ items is still slow, TODO), (and works with full page caching extensions)
-- 30+ ACL actions (e.g. edit field value)
-- ... many more UNIQUE

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2011-08-30
Reviews: 9
Up until now, Joomla! is pretty much the go-to-with when asked to build a website. No question asked

Now, not only i use Joomla! to build pretty much all my site. But Flexicontent has become "THE" CCK extension i install to build the sites.

It is so flexible, it's unreal. And unlike other CCK, the templating system is so simple to play with.
I've tried other CCK extensions which can also be powerful, but either the templating system was complicated or the extensions itself was hard to set up.

The Flexi team is doing an amazing work!

Flexicontent has become the second extension with JCE i install right after i install Joomla!
2011-07-06
Reviews: 1
I was looking for a universal directory component to able to construct (almost) all of my sites.

This has everything i wanted, multiple content types, flexible templating system, very flexible fields, multiple categories per item, etc, and Excellent access control if you combine it with FlexiAccess (i had a little trouble with it but i resolved, please read documentation for FlexiAccess although not complete).

The big bonus is that your content and categories etc are inserted to the standard joomla tables, only the extra information about fields, etc, is stored in other db tables.

It is an excellent directory component for the end user, and something a developer would love to use.

I hope i will be able to actively be involved in this component.
2011-06-03
Reviews: 25
A very useful product.

Several issues had to be worked through during and after installation and sometimes also when upgrading, but because of the amount of functionality it adds, this was acceptable (it was in beta version when I first began using it).

All in all it is the best extension for doing what it sets out to do that I have tried - that is to say there are several which do nearly the same thing but this one really delivers results.

I found it initially a bit confusing and for this reason delayed making use of it. I think this was a not a wise choice. Some extensions are worth putting in some time for and this is one of them.
2011-05-18
Reviews: 3
The more you get to know Flexicontent the better it gets. Everyday I think of new ideas and Flexicontent really makes it possible and quite easy to implement all the things I want to do. A perfect tool for the creative mind.

The forum is great, easy to find solutions and the staff present is very helpfull. Even though they are mostly French people they try their best to respond in English. Which is quite a big deal if you ever met the French in general.

Some things could be better, but that's normal right. It doesn't weigh so heavily cause it's very alive and growing/improving. I tried many other content managers but Flexicontent has stole my designer heart.

Am nearly finished now, with the other content managers I was stuck for weeks and never found any solutions on their forums.
2 thumbs up for this! ViveleFlexicontent!!
2011-04-04
Reviews: 3
easy to lern and pleasure to use!
now you have no restriction of com_content - make nested categories and assign content items to multi categories.
the tags system (both plugin and cloud module) included!
flexi support many content plugins and JComments - one of the best comment system on Joomla.
and with custom fields you can make any type of content (blog, catalog, marketplace).
so its five star for real flexibility!
2011-02-13
Reviews: 3
I started using K2 to create my web site but was hacking and creating too many work-arounds for my comfort. I decided to look around and discovered FLEXIContent. I am thrilled that I did! FC does everything that I wanted K2 to do... and more! Too bad I had to manually re-create all my K2 articles for FLEXIcontent!

FC documentation is a bit on light side, but I have found the forum helpful. To be honest, it is pretty intuitive, so I haven't relied too extensively on the forums but there are a few regular that offer good advice.

All in all, this is a great component and should be standard in Joomla!
2010-12-29
Reviews: 4
This is an awesome component. A TRUE CCK(content construction kit). Its more powerful then K2 by far. But doesnt match jseblod but jseblod is way confusing and NOT intuitive at all.

FlexiContent is com_content which integrates nicely with joomla and other core components/plugins/modules.

Lack of documentation is fine as long as you understand content types, user fields and so forth. This is an awesome intuitive CCK component. I freakn love FlexiContent
2010-12-03
Reviews: 6
This strikes me as an excellent module, and when it's combined with Flexi Access and Custom Quick Icons it provides an advanced level of granularity in the management of users, allowing very fine control over who can edit what on your site.

The main problem with the component is that there is NO DOCUMENTATION WHATSOEVER. Yes, you read that right, there is no documentation at all. Don't be fooled by the link in the top right here that says "documentation". Check it out, and see if you can find any useful information at all. You won't.

Using the component also requires you to use additional templates within your own template, which can mess with your CSS, so expect to invest more time finding the CSS classes responsible and editing them to suit your layout. There's no way to do that from within the component, so it has to be done by finding the files and editing them or commenting them out. There's also no way to override this function, as far as I can tell.

I'm sure that when I understand why this feature exists, I'll see the benefits and think it's marvellous, but at the moment it's just a pain. Once again, if there was any documentation to explain why it's there, what it does and how to use it, I might have already reached that point.

The extension is not intuitive, so it isn't obvious how it works or even what it can do. To find out how to do anything, you'll have to spend a lot of time trawling through the forum, which has a very poor search function that makes finding anything really difficult.

There is a support forum, and questions are answered reasonably quickly and well, but most of the questions on there look like things that would be covered if there was a manual.

Why the developer has done this is a mystery. Why doesn't he just write some decent documentation? Or even some half-baked documentation? Even that would be better than nothing. So many people must abandon this module because it's quite difficult to understand, and I would happily pay for the component with documentation. I emailed the developer to ask this question, answer came there none.

Having said that, the component is so powerful that it is well worth the effort and time spent working it out. One tip - build the site from scratch with the component installed. Converting an already developed site to use this component is a lot of work.

In summary, a great extension, but only use it if you've got lots and lots of time to figure it out and if you like cryptic puzzles. I would give it 5 stars for it's functionality, if only it had proper documentation.
2010-11-28
Reviews: 2
I had great hopes for this extension. After watching it for the past 9 months, I decided today to take the plunge and install it. After watching the 1:35min video I felt confident that this should work fine. The installation was very easy and importing the content was easy too. My environment for this project was Joomla 1.5.22 and I use JCE to edit.
I was able to look at and edit one of the imported articles (called item in flexicontent) and this seemed promising. So, I checked out all other functions and the file manager just showed me a blank page. Not a good sign, but I thought that I may fix this issue later.
So, I created 2 additional types which I called Service and Product. I changed one Article to become a Service. No issue so far, except for a warning message that did not make much sense. Then I checked out more functionality and saw a warning about needing to create at least one menu item. So far I did not need documentation, but here my first issue started: where is the documentation if you need it? On the flexicontent.org website is a nice forum, but it is difficult to find help for specific issues. I found some information and then I created a menu item using the flexicontent component. Then I wanted to edit another Article, but found that the editor was empty, no content visible. So, I checked the original Joomla Article section, found the content (both versions, the original and the one for FlexiContent) and was able to edit it with JCE.
To make this story short, I deleted the FlexiContent content, category and section twice and re-imported the content structure twice, but it never worked again. It was not possible to edit any articles/items, all were blank. So, I removed all FlexiContent content structures and uninstalled the component. It simply does not work properly and has poor documentation.
Overall, the concept seems very good and I respect the developers for all of their efforts. In my opinion this current version is only for early, early adopters who are willing to gamble and potentially spend a lot of time to keep it running.
2010-11-27
Reviews: 2
Finally i was able to put a article in multiple categories. The way you can modify the layout is great and with flexi access you can control who sees what.

The only improvement could be the fact that not all my questions are answered on the forum (although i'm donating).

Despite, i can recommend it to everyone.
2010-11-02
Reviews: 1
Before you download you better know - there is no documentation for the component beside a video that shows how to install.
Yes, there is a forum, but you'll have to work hard in order to find out how to do things.
Not for someone who's new to joomla.
2010-09-01
Reviews: 21
Well to start, Joomla has a great lack of excellent cck extensions, unlike Drupal. With that in mind, I'm used to Drupal's CCK. Flexi is nothing like it, so it has it's own learning curve... and a very steep one at that.

I guess my big complaint is that, with it being so difficult to understand, there's strangely a lack of solid documentation. Sure, there's some vague FAQ's and a forum, but one would expect a step by step simple guide to getting started, like a walk-through on creating basic things, like items, cats, etc. In fact, I think that, with as extensive as it is, there should be a simple one paragraph guide to setting up the first content items as a built-in help section.

Maybe I missed it, but I don't think so. So really the lack of "Good" documentation and tutorials is my major complaint. It could be a bit more user friendly too.

On the plus side, I think once you spend some considerable amount of time figuring it out, it will be extremely powerful.
2010-08-10
Reviews: 1
This is so far my personal favorite CCK after trying almost all of the others.

Because I love it, I would like to provide some constructive critiques.

1. Although you can build unlimited nested categories, its architecture is potentially slow. It is not using MPTT and relies heavily on a one-to-many/many-to-many relationship.

2. Please get some ideas from jSeBlod and Zoo - Installable Apps and CCK Packs. I feel like the power of Flexicontent would be wasted if there is no way to share what the users have done. In jSeblod, you can package your "Content Type and Templates" and then share it.

3. Additional Views would be great for templating. For now there is only "Category" view and "Item" view. If you create templates, you just create views for those 2. But it would be nice if there is "Frontend Form view", "Admin Form View", something like what jSeblod did.

4. For someone who wants to extend Flexicontent, the API is a major concern. The API is easy to use, but it's not that flexible. For example, if I want to create a template and I want to display an image field, the "category view" will always display the small image, the "item view" will always display the medium image, then the large is displayed by clicking on the image as a lightbox. I hope there is a way to specify which image to display on any view but the API doesn't seem to allow for it.

5. Please improve the workflow too. Right now, when you click on "New Item" there is an unnecessary task of "Applying" it first before you can actually create the content. Clicking on "New" should just let you choose which content type you want to create instead of displaying a form and entering the title, selecting the content type, then hitting apply.

Overall, I like Flexicontent because it uses the com_content tables instead of having its own tables for content. It also has a nice balance of features and user-friendliness. I can only hope that this CCK can improve further and become the best CCK available for Joomla.
Owner's reply

First of all, thanks a million for this constructive review. As you took time to analyse the software deep inside, the least I can do is to answer you point by point: ^^
1°- You're right: I'd love to use the MPTT, but I didn't because I wanted to use the standard Joomla! categories table and as you know there there aren't any left and right fields :( Using the categories allow FLEXIcontent to function with fast all standard Joomla modules.
To lower this performance issue all the category tree is cached in a file in the system plugin so that you can know everywhere all parents, children, aso from a specific category without any query.
2°- Hehe, of course that's in progress ;)
3°- Of course it would be better, but it would me more complex to manage for non skilled users. But it's a good idea and I keep it in mind.
4°- I think I've done better than that ^^. You will now be able to use item views to emulate category views. Have a look here: http://www.flexicontent.org/forum/index.php?f=28&t=1766&rb_v=viewtopic#p8208
5°- Right! That's what is done in Mighty Ressources for example. But at the beginning I wanted to load the form through ajax like for the fields. When I discoverered that the addCustomTags method doesn't function in a raw view, I undestood I won't be able to do it :( But I'll study that again as soon I'll get time ^^
THANKS A LOT for supporting the project with very constructive feedbacks like that, I really appreciate!!!
Cheers,
Emmanuel.

2010-05-21
Reviews: 1
I've dowloaded. I've installed and that worked like a charm. However I don't understand anything in how to implement this in to my website.

I've made so many trials with this thing now and can not figure out how to work this component and that's the first for me.

But it looks great and was easy to install and not all things are and that for sure needs to get complemented :)

I hope I can return fairly soon with a more happy report regarding the funcationality. For installation I give it toprating :)
2010-05-10
Reviews: 3
Hello,

This is a really nice, well written extension. Looks really aesthetically pleasing as well.

It's very thoughtful and steps you through install as well.

One can dream about this being integrated with the core one day :) *drool*
2010-05-09
Reviews: 1
FlexiContent is phenomenal. Great documentation, incredibly powerful features !
Very good job !
2010-04-12
Reviews: 2
I really liked this extension. it seemed fully featured and I installed and used it for a while. then suddenly I realised I couldn't edit from the frontend anymore. Sorry. guys. That is an essential function. I've just uninstalled. I'll be keeping a close eye on this project though and as soon as front end editing is available I'll be back
2010-04-02
Reviews: 12
we can see the most of above comments with 5 stars! but in my point of view this extension is just good for admin (back-end)!

i installed it and after? there is no extra nice module! i think its a weakness!
after make a menu-component , i saw a weak view of categories list, also there is no list view mode. (or tree view module for example)

i know that this extension have great abilities like multi-mapping or nested categories but front-end environment is not important really?

content-management for admin is not all the things!

anyway this component would be more great if some tiny enhancement done!

thank you FLEXIcontent!
2010-03-29
Reviews: 1
After testing most CKK's I finally gave FLEXIcontent a try. As a lone website builder I'm usually sceptical of components that don't have a large dev/support team in combination with a large forum/user-base as I like to tinker and am often in need of support.

This component worked flawlessly on my local server, but I had 1 error when the site was moved to a live server.

I posted a question on the FLEXIcontent forum including some basic info, when I checked back I had a response from kenmcd (moderator) who asked a few more relevant questions and also strongly recommended that I upgrade to the latest Joomla version (I would have got to this later), 4 or 5 more posts trying to sort out my problem and I finally got around to upgrading Joomla.

Long story short, he was right, but most importantly - the support was first class, the component is first class.

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND FLEXIcontent
2010-03-20
Reviews: 1
It is excelent, the only thing is missing now are front page editing a little more extended, some search and SEO functions, i see they are on the roadmap to be done, but when? don't you have an alpha release with those functions too? at least search plugin.
Page 5 of 7