The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


FLEXIcontent Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

FLEXIcontent is an advanced content management system developed to greatly enhance the native article manager of Joomla! (com_content)

- Content Types (=custom forms)
- Many highly parametrized powerful fields with select content plugin triggering
- Drag-drop templating
- Multi-Category assignments (secondary & featured)
- High performance FACETED filtering !!!
- Author management with limitations for subscriptions sites
- etc

10x-20x more features in free version, compared to other Free CCK/Directory components

Thus, FLEXIcontent was designed to manage content in a broad sense:
- articles,
- image or video galleries,
- job offers,
- product catalogues,
- business directories,
- hotel directories
- etc
within a single user interface.

-- This means for the end user, unparalleled simplicity of use, everything happens in one place.
-- Mastering 10 components to be able to administrate an entire website isn’t required anymore.
-- For the web designer / end user / developer, it means a lot less headaches of interoperability/maintenance

Some of FLEXIcontent Unique features:
(none in other component's Free versions, many unique compared to commercial versions)

-- Multi Category assigments, with multiple featured categories (configurable via our Advance Route Plugin, see our FAQ)
-- Multiple Document versioning (combined with workflow and powerful notifications messages, see below)
-- Multi-state Workflow to assist both editors & publishers to add/update content to your site
-- Highly configurable powerful notification system: (Global) Component + Per Content Type + Per category
-- High parametrized Fields(=joomla plugin each) (carefully structured to assist configuration and be performance wise)
-- Powerful relation/reverse Relation fields to create custom Content Item sub-listing inside a Content Item
-- An powerful image/gallery field to create DB-reusable image/galleries or item-field specific galleries with numerous parameterization options
-- Multiple filter apperances: text field/single select/dual text range/dual select range/toggle radio/toggle checkbox(multiple filter values)
-- FACETED filter behavior for almost all searchable fields: showing filter values according to current filtering and current
-- A -Free- Advanced Search view (to host the above 2, but also available in categories too) and create content-rich listings
-- Directory/Catalog features, directory view + a powerful Alpha-Index with character aliases, character aggregations, language customizations
-- Selective plugin triggering in all fields
-- High performance frontend views and items manager, with steady performance as sites grows (**installing on EXISTING larges sites 20,000+ items is still slow, TODO), (and works with full page caching extensions)
-- 30+ ACL actions (e.g. edit field value)
-- ... many more UNIQUE

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2010-05-21
Reviews: 1
I've dowloaded. I've installed and that worked like a charm. However I don't understand anything in how to implement this in to my website.

I've made so many trials with this thing now and can not figure out how to work this component and that's the first for me.

But it looks great and was easy to install and not all things are and that for sure needs to get complemented :)

I hope I can return fairly soon with a more happy report regarding the funcationality. For installation I give it toprating :)
2010-05-10
Reviews: 3
Hello,

This is a really nice, well written extension. Looks really aesthetically pleasing as well.

It's very thoughtful and steps you through install as well.

One can dream about this being integrated with the core one day :) *drool*
2010-05-09
Reviews: 1
FlexiContent is phenomenal. Great documentation, incredibly powerful features !
Very good job !
2010-04-12
Reviews: 2
I really liked this extension. it seemed fully featured and I installed and used it for a while. then suddenly I realised I couldn't edit from the frontend anymore. Sorry. guys. That is an essential function. I've just uninstalled. I'll be keeping a close eye on this project though and as soon as front end editing is available I'll be back
2010-04-02
Reviews: 12
we can see the most of above comments with 5 stars! but in my point of view this extension is just good for admin (back-end)!

i installed it and after? there is no extra nice module! i think its a weakness!
after make a menu-component , i saw a weak view of categories list, also there is no list view mode. (or tree view module for example)

i know that this extension have great abilities like multi-mapping or nested categories but front-end environment is not important really?

content-management for admin is not all the things!

anyway this component would be more great if some tiny enhancement done!

thank you FLEXIcontent!
2010-03-29
Reviews: 1
After testing most CKK's I finally gave FLEXIcontent a try. As a lone website builder I'm usually sceptical of components that don't have a large dev/support team in combination with a large forum/user-base as I like to tinker and am often in need of support.

This component worked flawlessly on my local server, but I had 1 error when the site was moved to a live server.

I posted a question on the FLEXIcontent forum including some basic info, when I checked back I had a response from kenmcd (moderator) who asked a few more relevant questions and also strongly recommended that I upgrade to the latest Joomla version (I would have got to this later), 4 or 5 more posts trying to sort out my problem and I finally got around to upgrading Joomla.

Long story short, he was right, but most importantly - the support was first class, the component is first class.

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND FLEXIcontent
2010-03-20
Reviews: 1
It is excelent, the only thing is missing now are front page editing a little more extended, some search and SEO functions, i see they are on the roadmap to be done, but when? don't you have an alpha release with those functions too? at least search plugin.
2010-03-16
Reviews: 4
Being able to construct your own content types from all sorts of standard and custom field types can be addictive. The same is true for nested categories. There are several extensions out there that can feed this addiction, and I looked into all of them. FlexiContent still has to mature a little bit, but already it is my favourite drug at the CCK party.

There are some negatives. For example, there is no front-end editing yet at the time of writing ('10-03) although that is in the road map. The documentation could be a bit better. The extension is under active development and that seems to delay support. But things like these are easily forgotten given the positive sides of this extension, and the potential it is likely to reach.

FC is very user-friendly and has the potential to become idiot-proof. It uses the core plugin system for field types limited only by imagination, the core category tables for multi-level categories, and the core database tables for content without cluttering text fields with codes. Many normal Joomla plugins and modules will work with FC. It has a template system which allows for drag & drop placement of fields as well as for custom templates. FC includes conveniences like rating and tags and easily integrates with a couple of commenting extensions. It is perhaps not the most capable CCK but it is not far off at all, and already now it is as complete as most people will ever need. Support is sometimes a bit slow but it is good. Moreover, all this comes for free. Of the two extensions that I think are as good or better, one is commercial and the other is just not simple in use.

If all this is not enough, you can couple FlexiContent with FlexiAccess at a small price. FlexiAccess completely integrates with FC and enables detailed access control of content, also on the front-end. There is a FC beta for J!1.6 but FC, FA and NoNumber's module manager already seem to do much of what 1.6 will do.

I find it hard to imagine ever making a website without FlexiContent again, especially if development continues to be as active as it is.
2010-02-28
Reviews: 4
Flexicontent just completed Joomla 1.5!

While Joomla's one of the greatest CMS, there was a problem in presenting content in the first end unless you were a techie with great php or cms skills.

Flexicontent changes all that and allows you to create multiple templates and fields for presenting content for the front end. This is the biggest advantage and you can present the content differently for different categories.

Templates - The creation and modification of templates is a breeze. Each template for a category/type is in a separate folder and you can change that without messing up the css of other templates. The creation of templates is intuitive and you can place different fields in different placeholders.

The other advantage of Flexicontent is that you can enable various plugins within any of the fields.

Creating content also became much easier with customizable fields.

As I said earlier, Flexicontent just completed Joomla by adding a nice content presentation layer. The possibilities of applications for Flexicontent is limitless and is a must for any large dynamic websites. You could actually use Flexicontent instead of Moset Tree (yes, I am using it instead of Moset Tree as I have far better control for content presentation and content creation).

Flexicontent is young but really mature. Some additions would be nice. An extension to SH404 SEF would go a long way for other webmasters to migrate to Flexicontent. ACE SEF is supported by Flexicontent but is not very stable and a lot of bad URLs are generated and you don't get any help from ACE SEF forums.

Creation of different Tags fields should also be added.

Advance search and search modules for Flexicontent are desperately needed. More plugins and modules like Google Maps will be welcome too. Front End content creation and edition is awaited as promised in Flexicontent 1.6 stable.

Flexicontent is probably the most significant and important development for Joomla 1.5.

This extension rock!
2010-02-24
Reviews: 19
Most of it's features ought to be in Joomla!. Especially the Content Types. This is essential for any CMS.
With the content types the end users can easily add all types of content, while FLEXIcontent and CSS take care for the positioning. That is what end-users expect from a CMS.
And it's got versioning to!
There are two reasons I doubted about giving 5 stars: there is to few documentation, but it's still a young project. And second: it shouldn't be a component but Joomla! core :). I hope the developers get an invitation very soon to add their code to Joomla! 1.7.
2010-02-17
Reviews: 2
Given the fact that I've been hacking K2 for the past few weeks to accomplish the same thing in FlexiContent in a couple days, I'd rate this at the top of the food chain. The best part is they follow the same MVC templating that Joomla does so you're not stuck learning a "new" and supposedly better way of doing things.
2010-02-05
Reviews: 1
Only 2 stars, sorry… But I spent a lot of time to install it on my existing website and I lost some content... And it's finally impossible to generate PDF from an article, what was absolutely needed for me...
Thank you for your work, but improvements are still expected!
2010-01-18
Reviews: 10
Nice idea but personally I think one can easily live without this extension. For me it becomes confusing to work with the articles in flexicontent but with the "old" menus in Joomla at the same time / apart from the warnings "wrong foreach parameter" that show up all the time.
Dont want to discourage anybody but I think the authors should make suggestions to the Joomla Core Team for improvements - not to put another application on the existing one.
Anyhow thanks for the try, personally I removed the extension from my website.
2010-01-13
Reviews: 1
I started using this component a few days ago and so far it has handled every task with ease. And what's more it does so in an amazingly intuitive and powerful way.

Can't believe I haven't had this in all along.
2010-01-11
Reviews: 2
This really blows miles away all current contenders in this field. It's really as it name eludes, flexible content.
The only thing telling against it is its young age, and yet so mature.
All things seems to be in place, except various modules that would make it even more useful. But hey then again, as long as you use it in "proper" way you will be able to use the modules available for com_content, overcoming that shortcoming.
You simply should download and try it, and take note of that its first release is yet to come and RC in some days (I think).
2010-01-10
Reviews: 1
I never was interested earlier to write reviews on JED.
But having tried this component in a current of 20 minutes, I have been surprised by its perfection.
Component on so much convenient, intuitive, thoughtful and functional that is immediately obvious - the person did it with love:)
As all management is based on AJAX - is saves a lot of time and gives sensation of work as a desktop application.
Integrated support for third-party comment, the built in manager of plug-ins, of comments, the visual template editor and still very much more - makes this CCK different from all others.
Excellent product. If I met the author, I would have shook his hand.
2010-01-06
Reviews: 1
Flexicontent is a great component, but there is one glaring flaw that I can't get over, its inability to automatically bind new stories. While this isn't a problem for most sites, it is for ours. We have an auto RSS feeder bringing in stories from different sites. They are created on our site, however because they will not bind automatically if someone clicks on the story they get a 404 page not found error. This is completely unacceptable for a news site. While the component has many nice features, if you using automatic articles of any kind either stay away or be prepared to log in every day and bind them. Having to log in every day kind of defeats the point of having the site do everything on its own if you ask me.
Owner's reply

Hi and first of all thank you for testing FLEXIcontent and reviewing it.
Sorry that FLEXIcontent doesn't meet your SPECIFIC requirement out of the box but I’m sure you’ll agree that it’s not a standard behavior ;-)
Now imagine a second an automatic binding process: you are happy to just have installed FLEXIcontent on your nice shared hosting. You have around 2000 articles, the automatic binding process execute itself and…
… a big MySQL crash!!! (10.000 queries) :-(
I’m sure you can understand this feature cannot be standard.
But the point is FLEXIcontent has still been developed for YOU: that mean it’s extensible enough to achieve this task easily with a simple system plugin (that would have bound the Joomla data for you).
The easiest way would have been to simply ask on the forum ;-)
Cheers,
Emmanuel.

2009-12-27
Reviews: 4
When I downloaded it, I was not expecting it to integrate so smoothly with Joomla core. One of the things that I've been struggling with is getting hooked to K2 and not being able have a smooth transition upgrading to Joomla 1.6. All I can say is Wow!!!! I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS COMPONENT!!! I have been playing around with it for about 30 minutes now and the wows have not stopped!!!! Excellent Job!!!
2009-12-24
Reviews: 7
hello,
thanks for this great extension,all things in it very good but it must be integrated with cb it make it a great power and make the site have a community of writters which every one know the articles of the others this is exactly what i want in my site ...
2009-12-23
Reviews: 5
FlexiContent is phenomenal. Great documentation, incredibly powerful features, well done UX and backwards compatible. Joomla 1.6 + FlexiContent (+ FlexiAccess) = Joomla! 2.0
Page 6 of 8