The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


ZOO Popular ComponentModulePlugin

ZOO is a flexible and powerful content application builder to manage your content.


KEY FEATURES
-----------------------
* Create multiple app instances - Each one manages its own content like items and categories.
* ZOO provides a clean design with a JavaScript powered user interface to manage apps.
* Create your very own custom content types to fit exactly your requirements.
* Choose from a rich set of elements like forms, images, videos, ratings and more.
* Arrange your content via drag 'n drop by assigning elements to layout positions.
* Extend categories with custom fields and sort them using drag 'n drop.
* The slick comment system supports Akismet, Gravatar, Twitter and Facebook Connect.
* Adding tags is a breeze with text suggestion, auto completion and multiple selections.
* Use our form builder to let your users submit content via the frontend of your website!
* Trusted authors can review and edit their created content directly from the frontend.
* Import your content from Joomla, CSV files and popular Joomla components

Included Apps
-------------------------------------------------------------
* Blog - Easily build your own weblog with features like comments, tags and social bookmarks.
* Pages - Need a static content page like a Copyright or Team page? Here you go!

Report Extension

 

 

2010-10-11
Reviews: 9
Zoo is simply Brilliant... easy to install, easy to use. There Blogging Tool is a great way to deploy a great blog, about to use there Directory Listing Application for another client. I love Zoo.

But most importantly YOO Theme who make it provide excellent support. They often go above and beyond to help out there customers.

So a fantastic product backed by a fantastic Team.

I deploy it to all the websites i develop. Would not be without it
2010-10-11
Reviews: 2
I'm a avid user of YOOTheme products and I use ZOO on several sites. There are limitations, tho.
For instance,
After frontend submission in non-trusted mode, there is no admin notification of new submission, yet the article remains unpublished until approved by admin. This means admin needs to constantly be checking.
There is a coomets feature but, again, no admin notification of new comments
There is no way to limit the number of characters in textarea fields.
There is no way to submit a gallery in the frontend, even in trusted mode.
I know ZOO is currently under consideration for JED Editor's Pick, but I can honestly say that the current limitations should preclude it. In my opinion, ZOO was rushed into stable production in a cynical attempt to sell the companion Apps bundle, but truly, there are many features missing which are core to many other CCKs.
2010-09-01
Reviews: 1
Easy to use. Easy to customize. Simply AWESOME!
2010-08-27
Reviews: 1
I liked it at first, and began to work with it. I mean I planned all of my demands on it but it failed me because of it's poor db tables. It can't get any long text like 8000 words and when you go to your db manager you will see this message near the text field:
"Because of its length,
this field might not be editable "
Ohhhh, it failed me so terribly. A complete failure. I'm sorry. It could be great and maybe can yet. I hope I see the owner's answer.
Owner's reply

There are currently no known issues like you described. Just send a reasonable and comprehensive bug report to info[at]... and we will help you.

2010-08-26
Reviews: 3
I have been using the ZOO component for a couple of weeks now, and i must say, it is one of the better CCK components out there.

It has great usability both for creating content forms and for end users, however for the more advanced users it lacks alot of documentation.

The documentation provided is very basic, and even if you subscribe to a membership, the forum isnt much of a help either.

The general attitude is "look in the code and see for yourself", and i have the impression that the ZOO team members who are active in the forum are not developers but only end users.

To sum up, this component is great for the average user, but if you are a more advanced user, be prepared to read alot of lines of code to customize the component to fit your needs.
2010-08-10
Reviews: 3
The only way I could be more impressed with Zoo is if the applications had more OOTB themes/styles to pick from (dark, etc). Other than that it is massively powerful. I built a new, fairly complex Zoo application from scratch following their documentation and had it live for my client in less than a week. Other quotes they got from developers were like 4-6 weeks dev time!!

I've been testing the front-end submission on the latest beta 2.1 release and it's outstanding!

Nice job Yoos!
2010-08-06
Reviews: 3
Zoo 2.1 is the best CCK and the frontend submission is very nice looking. I tried Flexicontent and Jseblod, but think Zoo is much easier.

Zoo also comes with a free blog application, which is pretty nice!

It is even better than K2, although K2 has better third party support. But I am sure there will be the same support soon (for sh404sef, Xmap and so on ...)
2010-07-27
Reviews: 1
Hats off to You guys...Wat an Extension...simply awesome....No Installion errors....No usage Errors...I am using this Extension on my site to Show the Business Directory of Companies....And to my surprise what an UI...Fantastic....Tried a lot of other Extensions for the Same...but with very little success...But this extension provided me with what i needed the most...Simply awesome..

Thank You So Much....
2010-07-05
Reviews: 1
I have worked with K2 in the past, it was simple to use. However it lacked a lot of the extendability that I see with Zoo 2.0. The out-of-the-box functionality available from this program, and it's clean setup on any layout really gives it an edge above other CCK products.

Also, Yootheme's decision to develop applications themselves really gives members the needed benefit to want to pay for the premium content. I know that for my projects I will definitely build with ZOO.

Apart from being able to easily layout pages with point and click ease, I can also provide my clients with a super simple update method that is easier and more functional than the conventional Joomla Article Manager.

As I continue to explore the possibilities, I am sure I will learn more about functionality of the program.

Only time will tell how functional Zoo becomes, but for it's initial release, this program is second to none.
2010-06-08
Reviews: 7
Trying to be objective, I'm giving 4 stars.
Why not 5?

I've been following YooTheme for the last 2 years and this is my first review for them.

If a small company with small potentials could have managed to do such kind of extension (++++a lot of tools integrated with it) I would probably give 99 stars, but for a company who is considered to be one of the best in their field I'm giving 4 stars.

Product catalog...no shopping cart, no wish list and checkout system...at all. Can you imagine, say, huge 15000 item catalog without any possibility to even remember what you have been looking through. What is the point of such kind of catalog? Just to look at the items? Well...maybe
I understand that it's not e-commerce extension, but sometimes people don't need the complicated carts like Virtue Mart of Magento.

I don't know if YooTheme is going to develop the shopping cart for Zoo, and it's their choice of course, but if I hear the word "Product Catalog" I think it should be some way to get it ;)

Sorry for my bad English :)
2010-06-05
Reviews: 3
This component is simply outstanding! I have been playing with this component for about a week now and have replaced all other components in my website except for nbill. In short when you compare with other CCK's the only disadvantage I can see is no front end access but Yootheme states this up front so I'm not sure why anyone would complain. ZOO combined with ZOO tools (ZOO Tools is part of the paid subscription) will eliminate a ton of other components and they work seamlessly together. I highly recommend ZOO and yes it is worth the money if it will meet your needs. The documentation is some of the best documentation I have seen. It covers all the options very clear. I was in dumb mode and posted a question on their forum and after two exchanges Yootheme fixed it for me. All in all I'm extremely happy with this purchase. If you're not the expert coder like me. This is the way go. This is some of the best money I have invested!!!
2010-06-01
Reviews: 1
Easy to install, easy to use and it can even import native Joomla articles and categories.
2010-05-31
Reviews: 6
I love the product i see from you guys. Quite stellar work but for some reason i can never get this installed into my J! site

i dont get much of an error either
Personally i would me MORE than happy to pay for the full version IF i could ever get a demo version installed
Owner's reply

Please send us an email to info[at]... and we will help you.

2010-05-28
Reviews: 5
This is a great CCK particularly for those of us who's main skill is as a designer. I look forward with great anticipation to the future improvements. In the meantime I suggest the following would be great:
1. Allow the use of your default editor or if this is not possible implement 'Read more' as a parameter
2. Provide s separate forum for the free version so we can learn from each other and contribute ideas for improvement. This has to benefit everyone.
3. Sell the Zoo apps individually so we only buy what we need.
2010-05-25
Reviews: 2
What i can say about zoo?
It's free to try
It's free to lear (a very good docs)
It's easy to use
It's easy to implement

It's easy...

sorry for my bad english

For work i search software for my client.
I test it in all part and i make report.

For Zoo i do the same for myself and this is my "short version" of report:

YooTheme Report:
- customer care : Very Good. Forum
- Documentation : Very Good. (just link up)
- Implementation during application life : Lot of wish are implemented.
- Staff : Amazing.

Application Report:
- Use very easy
You don't need to know php for easy implementation.
You need to know how to use google to advanced implementation.
- Good FrameWork
Just modify all time 3 files for all.
Also in xml file it's easy to understud what do (and are explan ALL in docs).
2010-05-24
Reviews: 1
The new ZOO 2.0 is a great new component and is only going to get better. I am just now learning how to use it and get the most out of it. I really like the component because it is part of their integrated system of Yoo Tools and Yoo Templates that all work together very nicely. They have great tech support and are very active in developing their products. This is a new component and does have some rough edges but the developers are responding to these as quickly as possible.

At the moment ZOO 2.0 does not have front-end submission. The developers state this very clearly over and over again. This issue has been beaten to death in the forums and elsewhere. If you need this capability then ZOO is not for you, at least at the moment. I think ZOO started out as basically a catalog component and the developers did not feel front-end submission was real important. I am sure they have gotten the message and are working on it for a up coming release. Other than that limitation, which is a big one for a lot of people, this is a great component!!! Very excited to see what I can create with it and what others are going to do.
2010-05-23
Reviews: 10
Wow, another phenomenal product from Yootheme. I was already really happy with version 1.0, and am now through the moon happy with version 2.0.

These guys have a way of taking a type of application (in this case a CCK) and creating a version that is extremely simple, reliable, and easy to work with.

Although there are more powerful CCK's out there, for me, Zoo is almost always perfect for my needs.

I REALLY appreciate how streamlined it is in the backend. Learning my way around it was very quick.

The templating system was also extremely easy to pick up.
2010-05-22
Reviews: 4
Zoo is One Excellent Component! I was kind of critical in the past of Zoo but finally got a chance to download it, install it and give it a test drive. I love it!!! The only suggestion is to add front-end submission and it will be beyond superb!
2010-05-21
Reviews: 3
only one word, perfect.

zoo is the greatest cck component, powerfull, very flexible and clean.

i love zoo!
2010-05-20
Reviews: 1
ZOO just got updated with several new features and many of the great YOOtools just got updated as well to integrate seamlessly with it. There is simply no CCK that comes close, a must have worth every (euro)cent, go get it!
Page 4 of 5