The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


ZOO Popular ComponentModulePlugin

ZOO is a flexible and powerful content application builder to manage your content.


KEY FEATURES
-----------------------
* Create multiple app instances - Each one manages its own content like items and categories.
* ZOO provides a clean design with a JavaScript powered user interface to manage apps.
* Create your very own custom content types to fit exactly your requirements.
* Choose from a rich set of elements like forms, images, videos, ratings and more.
* Arrange your content via drag 'n drop by assigning elements to layout positions.
* Extend categories with custom fields and sort them using drag 'n drop.
* The slick comment system supports Akismet, Gravatar, Twitter and Facebook Connect.
* Adding tags is a breeze with text suggestion, auto completion and multiple selections.
* Use our form builder to let your users submit content via the frontend of your website!
* Trusted authors can review and edit their created content directly from the frontend.
* Import your content from Joomla, CSV files and popular Joomla components

Included Apps
-------------------------------------------------------------
* Blog - Easily build your own weblog with features like comments, tags and social bookmarks.
* Pages - Need a static content page like a Copyright or Team page? Here you go!

Report Extension

 

 

2010-05-20
Reviews: 2
I really like zoo and the functionality is great from the front end. No real support for the component as mentioned below. While the urls are seo friendly, the structure is not good enough to to build a site around. The url structure presents serious problems down the road if you migrate content elsewhere from a search engine perspective. For zoo to be used seriously on a site that is setup as a legit info or affiliate portal, the category and item slugs need to be removable. If i wanted these, i would simply use wordpress for a cms. There is also no meta data control for categories and tags and such. At this stage zoo is not usable for building a search traffic site around but if these problems were to be resolved, i would definitely be using it. I would not use this component even for free at this stage of development.
Owner's reply

Sorry, we simply disagree. The ZOO extension is perfectly scanned and rated by Google.

Did you know that Google does not use the keywords meta tag in web ranking? Learn more here: http://bit.ly/dzJwYz

2010-05-19
Reviews: 1
Unfortunately, we selected ZOO as our CCK for a clients site. Once we started customizing zoo for our client we discovered that there are NO resources online for the free version. Their support forum is behind a paywall, and unfortunately we were too far along to switch to a new CCK.

If you're looking at the free version, and you need to make any customizations to the front-end, look elsewhere.
Owner's reply

Sorry for your frustrating experience but we have a comprehensive documentation at http://docs.yootheme.com where you can also ask questions in the comments.

It also seems that you are using ZOO 1.0. Please upgrade to ZOO 2.0. There is only one free version for ZOO 2.0 and it is the same as for members who purchased the app bundle.

Besides this you doesn't mentioned any real issues you had...

2010-05-14
Reviews: 1
This is so clean and easy to use! I've been wanting a good excuse to move my wordpress blog to joomla and this is it! The blog app almost perfect! Just needs a few tweaks here and there (i.e. navigation, etc). I can't wait to start adding recipes with the cookbook app and my favorite movies with the movie app.
Thank you YOO!
: )
2010-05-13
Reviews: 14
Zoo2 is beyond good - I have hardly words for it!! I have been using Zoo since the first release, but Zoo2 is just a giant leap. It is so versatile, and without being a programmer, it is so easy to create and present my site in all the different ways I want it to look like. I make page types for products, galleries, articles, write-ups, FAQ, downloads, testimonials - with drag and drop.

The price is nothing, compared to the application you get, and the support yootheme gives in their forum.

I was looking at alternative CCK's a while ago, but now there is nothing that matches Zoo2.
2010-05-12
Reviews: 22
Sorry, but i give you just 3 stars for a avarage product.

What is the sense behind a content construction kit? Exactly, a frontend submission/editing. You can build a predefined Contentstyling with various fields, so that can a not-webexpert submit his content and it looks allways in the same style. If this feature is missing, for me this is just a better templater for the backend, like the tiny "templater" from nonumber.nl on JED.

Now you have the same problem like flexicontent, but flexicontent will add this feature very soon. And if you compare your extension with the jSeblod solution, then you are very far away from it. And jSeblod is totaly free, without any commercial components and more powerful.

I say absolutly nothing against the quality of this product, but i can't see a sense behind a "Ferrari with three weels".

ps:
I do not work for jSeblod :-) . But I know all the CCK's for Joomla
Owner's reply

It is clearly stated that ZOO 2.0 has currently no frontend submission. See the IMPORTANT note in the extension description above.

Why you are complaining about this and giving a bad review when it is clearly stated? Why don't you just go with another extension which fits your requirements?

2010-05-11
Reviews: 12
Zoo 2 is an amazing system, but without frontend submissions, many developers will find it useless for clients that need to be able to post their own content without accessing the admin side of things. The Zoo team says it will be added when Joomla 1.6 is released.

The other thing I thought was kind of lame was the 'Free Release' with only Blog and Pages, and you have to pay 99Euro (Same Price as Zoo 1) to get anything useful out of it (the Apps). They should really sell the apps individually since 99% of purchasers are only going to use one, maybe two of them.
2010-05-11
Reviews: 7
I am a professional developer and since started I seek a way to build web sites fast, scalable and most important very easy to update and handle by my clients.

I know the CCK was the clue but no one solution feet all my initial seek but anyway ZOO 1.0 was the best choice. A few months ago they anounced ZOO 2.0, a few weeks ago I could test and FINALLY my seek ended.

I found the combination of Joomla! with ZOO 2.0 an natural choice, I'll never could use Joomla itself anymore, ZOO 2.0 and the YOOTheme are the best thing I discovered since started.

Get your ZOO app bundle and change your joomla day by day, you won't regret.
2010-05-11
Reviews: 11
I have been cursed with other CCK's and the lack of features and the bugs that haunted me. I had almost gave up on the concept. I took the plunge and installed Zoo and I have to say the completeness, attention to detail and unlimited possibilities make this truly the best in class! It goes without saying the YooTheme support is and has always been in that class!

The bundle package is well worth every penny as is anything YooTheme!
2010-05-11
Reviews: 9
All of us know YooTheme has a leading theme company, but when the teasers for Zoo 1.0 were released about a year ago - we knew they had much bigger plans - and with the release of Zoo 2.0 they definitely have not disappointed. This newest release not only blows EVERY other extension out of the water - but has completed revived Joomla! as my CMS of choice.

I don't think "what limitations do I have?" anymore, but "what challenges will I overcome next?"

Amazing release - Jan, Sascha, Mustaq, Malte, Bob and everyone else that helped make this release possible, thank you!

Go get it now!
2010-05-11
Reviews: 1
Download, play and never look back.
sn
2010-05-11
Reviews: 5
Excellent in every discipline, in particular usability: i needed 10 minutes to understand the concept and get everything running. Plus: the documentation is very good and helpful, if you want a deeper view. Please keep this project going! Thank you.
Page 5 of 5