The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


K2 Popular ComponentModulePlugin

The powerful awarded content extension for Joomla! with more than 1.2 million downloads so far (and counting!)


✔ WHAT IS K2?
========================
K2 provides an out-of-the box integrated solution featuring rich content forms for items (think of Joomla! articles with additional fields for article images, videos, image galleries and attachments), nested-level categories, tags, comments, a system to extend the item base form with additional fields (similar to CCK for those acquainted with Drupal), a powerful plugin API to extend item, category and user forms, ACL, frontend editing, sub-templates & a lot more!

Using K2, you can transform your Joomla! website to a news/magazine site with author blogs, product catalogs, work portfolio, knowledge base, download/document manager, directory listing, event listing & more, all this bundled under one package!

Give K2 a try & you'll instantly love it! It's easy to use and fun to develop websites with! If you need any help or want to contribute to the project, join us at the K2 community.


✔ FEATURES
========================
Since K2 is extensible with additional fields to its base item form, you can easily create category-specific content types, e.g. article, blog post, product page, directory listing.

K2 offers as standard:
- nested-level categories (no section/category restrictions)
- commenting, integrated with Google's reCaptcha & Akismet
- tags
- item image (useful for articles/catalogs)
- image galleries
- videos
- attachments
- user pages (author blogs/user profiles)
- smart ACL for frontend editing
- unique plugin system to extend item, category & user forms
- ajax-based frontend editing
- ajax-based comments moderation
- Google AJAX Search integration
- Rest-like JSON/JSONP content output
- Native advanced SEF options (added in K2 v2.6.4+)

K2 fully supports the Joomla! API, which means all Joomla! plugins will function properly within the K2 component & modules, either in the frontend or backend.


✔ AMAZING PERFORMANCE
========================
ImpactWrestling.com, NewsBomb.gr, Gorillaz.com, Groupama Transport, Harvard, the High Court of Australia, MTV Greece, Jaguar Greece are just some of the thousand "big sites" around the world, fully powered by K2.


✔ DEPENDENCIES & LICENSE
========================
To utilize the built-in video & gallery features you need to install AllVideos (free) & Simple Image Gallery Pro, both provided by JoomlaWorks.

K2 is developed by JoomlaWorks & licensed under the GNU/GPL license.


✔ WHAT NEXT?
========================
Try K2! Install it, hit the "import" button to bring your Joomla! articles inside K2, start playing with the component to see the flexibility it provides first-hand. Moreover? You no longer need a dozen of components & even more modules to do things like run a news site or a blog. Drupal & Wordpress have certainly met their match now!

Visit the K2 website & community: http://getk2.org

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2009-12-24
Reviews: 1
So. The company nags own user forum members to give a review here.

Here's one.

Component appears to have lots of promise, but doesn't deliver.

Version 2.1 has lots of flaws and other Joomlaworks products don't work with it without a lot of hard work debugging flawed code.

1) Company has never responded to any direct email
2) Company rarely responds to any questions raised in the forum.
4) Lots of promise of K2 V2.2 with bug fixes and additional features thus far not delivered.
5) Twitter about V2.3 when V2.2 isn't even out the stable yet.

If you want to waste large parts of your life fighting with this product then go for it, otherwise find another CCK.

An additional note to say that if "Open Source" wishes to become a viable alternative to commercial product, then for god sake fix deadlines, stick to them and keep consumers/end users informed effectively.

Forget promise and make actual deadlines otherwise those of us with a life and business to run will go elsewhere damned quick!

CHRI
Owner's reply

K2 v2.2 is here, bringing many improvements to an already successful package, powering some of the most popular Joomla! websites ever built, worldwide.

http://k2community.joomlaworks.gr/profiles/blogs/k2-v22-is-round-the-corner

Regarding your other remarks... if you understood "open source", you wouldn't make these remarks as they are pointless. Open source is about quality, security and a whole lot more important words than "deadline".

2009-12-22
Reviews: 5
K2 makes Joomla! more flexible than any other component I've ever used. It's mature in version 2.1, and future versions stand to be even better as it becomes documented and more robust.
2009-12-22
Reviews: 1
See, i've been coming on this site for years, the i've used alot of great and crappy extensions, and this is the one this i actually registered to review. I love the fact that it can have multiple themes AND custom fields. Now with these two features combined, the possibilities are in fact endless and with caching and seo enabled, this extension is a monster. HOWEVER, I dont mind the lack of extensions, It makes me upset that the EXTENSION department is EMPTY, i look all over and theres virtually no modules or plugins that exists. Your site and community was useless. I tried looking for "K2" in the extension directory and the minimum search character limit is 3. So i can't even search for it... Please add some modules when you package epic components like this, Don't rush to publish. I absolutely love the fact that its free!
2009-12-11
Reviews: 1
Never before have I spent so little time on design and capabilities when constructing a new site. Joomla has allowed me to focus on the content and K2 has allowed me to create and manage the content the way I want to.

Joomla by itseld is superb. Extended with K2, it is supreme.

Thanks!
2009-12-11
Reviews: 1
hhhhmmmmm it is not that easy to describe K2!
It is good... no no it isnt!
It is excellent... no no it isnt!!!
It is fabulous... no no it isnt!

Tired trying to find out a description.
Let's say this.
IT IS THE SECOND MOST IMPORTANT RELEASE AFTER THE JOOMLA ITSELF.

Thank you guys and keep up the excellent work you do
2009-12-10
Reviews: 1
I have been working with Joomla since its inception and when I train others on the platform I give them a list of must have extensions. K2 is number one on that list.

I have always asked the question... What if Joomla was more like Wordpress in its ease of use? What if Joomla could easily and intuitively intergrate articles with photos, tagging, and comments? K2 is the answer.

K2 is a simple to use CCK. It uses an Joomla formula you are already familiar with and gives you advanced features that only Joomla 1.6 dreams about.

Any website I create will include k2 and I suggest you do the same.
2009-12-10
Reviews: 5
Hats off to JoomlaWorks, Fotis & his team.

I have mentioned to many people that K2 has saved my skin on many projects now.

If you are considering a website where you want your client to have total control, K2 is the component to use. It gives you the capability to totally control all aspects of a limited 'article' page in Joomla - in K2, the 'item' page gives you "everything in one".

using version 2.1 at the moment & can't wait for version 2.2 to arrive - no doubt with more extremely useful features.
2009-12-09
Reviews: 3
Wonderful component!! K2 has endless possibilities. Every time I wish to add functionality and possibly a new extension to one of my K2 sites I find K2 already has the function built-in!!
2009-12-09
Reviews: 3
I like to keep things short and simple. IMO: I am very surprised (and pleased) this is a free component. Its simply brilliant. It should actually be the default Joomla content manager... I am very impressed. Its awesome...
2009-12-08
Reviews: 21
I think this is a real excellent component. K2 is not SOBI2!, because this both don't do exactly the same. They have a lot of differences. I use both components at the same time and i have more potential to give my users different optical effects on my homepage. Items in Joomla are not syncronized automaticaly with the K2 items, so you can get more different styles for your content.

Maybe becomes the K2 CCK for the future some functions more, but for a non-commercial software ist this at the moment one of the best joomla extensions.
gws
2009-12-05
Reviews: 12
What a masterpiece of coding from the guys in Greece. It is quite intuitive if you are used to joomla and I have managed to achieve all that I want with it, true a bit more documentation would help but I am sure that will come later. Well done Fotis and team.
2009-11-26
Reviews: 6
My only complaint is - I want more! LOL It is the missing link in Joomla! It does what it says and reaches new heights! Hence, that is why it is called K2!

As for documents??? That is like asking for a manual on how to walk! Hello, it is intuitive and also, sheeze already - test it yourself people! Back when it came out - I plugged it in and started playing with it on my personal demo site. Developers spend thousands upon thousands of man hours delivering us great work like k2 for free and some people have the nerve to complain cause they have to put a few hours into it figuring it out! Well, I got this to say to them - Get a life! In the meantime I am loving this product!

As for the developers - Great JOB! Woo Woo - always outstanding work from you guys!
2009-11-19
Reviews: 2
K2 developers you guys do amazing work. I used K2 and became a fan instantly. The interface is simple and logical for anybody who is adopted to the way joomla works. Wonderful extension, I am all praises. It would be amazing we get addons for K2, I am particularly looking for an article submission interface. Keep up the good work Joomlaworks!
2009-11-10
Reviews: 1
This is in my opinion one of the best extensions available for our beloved CMS, I'm sure that the upcoming version will fix some minor errors and have new features, Joomla! & the community should encourage companies like Komrade to develop quality extensions like this.

Thanks a lot for a truly useful extension.

Arnold
2009-11-09
Reviews: 14
This looks like it could be a really excellent extension -- but it's hard to say, since it doesn't have a single doc or instruction or hint or clue or ANYTHING to tell you how to use it. I've posted a couple of things at their forum, and got no replies. So, it's just useless. If they ever get around to explaining how to use the thing, it'll probably be great -- till then, who can figure out how to use it, except the programmers who made it? All I can see is a lot of folks who WANT to use it, but keep crying out for docs, to no avail whatever.
Owner's reply

I guess you're right. K2 is bad because it has yet no documentation and it's really hard to figure out...

So I guess the people who built these amazing websites http://k2community.joomlaworks.gr/profiles/blogs/k2-powered-joomla-websites are magicians. One of these websites was recently voted as one of the best in "culture" in the UK by the Telegraph newspaper. Now, how did that happen?

You obviously do not understand the concept of open source. And if you don't give K2 a try on your own, you really won't understand it either. We know people hate manuals and that is why we've built K2 to be as familiar as possible to Joomla!'s core articles.

snw
2009-11-06
Reviews: 2
I was trying to find a CCK for an online magazine, and k2 was just what I needed. The only thing I couldn't do with K2 is create a community (e.g. similar to Community Builder). Now that I come to think about it, a bridge between those two would be ideal!
2009-11-03
Reviews: 2
I am so excited to use this very powerful and useful extension. Once i figure out how the thing works, Im nearly certain it will really blow me and anyone who uses my site away.

But for now, it sits useless on my site, doing next to nothing.
Ive been at it for about a month so far, and I still cant figure out how to use it.

Their documentation database has 4 items in it, and they have been saying video tutorials are on the way for a few months now, but still nothin.

I tried to sift through the forums but couldnt really find the answers to my questions, or an overview on how to use it. The people there seemed to be helpful, but unfriendly.

I want to say that this extension really looks excellent. I cant wait to use it. It really seems like it will do exactly what my website is lacking, and I am holding my breath waiting for some sort of tutorial or overview, but until then I wouldnt install it until the documentation is there, if not, Good luck trying to figure it out.
Owner's reply

Documentation for K2 is on its way now that we're at the 2.x stable branch.

I would really suggest you experiment/try as it is not a difficult component to get around with. If you've used Joomla! articles before, you will soon find your way around K2 and actually discover that many things are done better and faster (aside the richer features)...

2009-11-02
Reviews: 4
Thanks to JoomlaWorks' Team
------ let me able to enjoy tons of benefit K2 brings to my site, I can't like it more! Keep Going! ........
2009-10-29
Reviews: 1
I like K2 presentation of content very much, it has some great features like:

1. Extra-fields gives you perfect control over your content.

2. Control over how the content boxes be displayed.

3. Multiple level of categories.

However, 2 things desperately needed by are missing in K2 are:

1. X-Map extension

2. Advanced search module, which which user can search all the fields, SPECIALLY the extra fields added.

Thanks for FREE distribution of such a great extension!
Owner's reply

1. Actually an Xmap plugin for K2 already exists. Google it and you'll find 2 of them ;)
2. K2 offers integration with Joomla!'s search (show K2 itesm show up on your "site wide" search) plus it offers a module to only search K2 content. It's on our plans to create a more sophisticated search engine view for K2, fully configurable. And it's coming soon! :)

Thank you for your kind words!

2009-10-14
Reviews: 1
I've built about 10 sites with K2 now. starting with some of the first releases of this project. Here are a couple of my observations.

*Much better control and more features compared to joomla core. Lot's of params. Good features for param templating too.

* so many param options that I wish there was a click all off at once. I'm spending too much time clicking things off every time I set up a new category!!!

*good compatibility with core, wanting more 3Party modules but faithful they will appear
* frequent and continuous improvement, bug fixes, new features. Patiently waiting for the next round!

* good community support on forums, considering the early stage of this broad product I'm happy to teach myself and take the time to learn it.

Hoping that my local competitors don't find out about it in the near future though!!
Owner's reply

Regarding this:
"so many param options that I wish there was a click all off at once. I'm spending too much time clicking things off every time I set up a new category!!!"

In K2, you only need to setup the "parent" category with a layout (params) set and then all children categories can inherit the parent's set if you select it in the related "inherit params..." option a little below the title. This way, you create param sets for your parent categories and then all children categories can be created simply by adding title, description (optional) and choosing the "inherit" option. Very fast category structure setups!

Page 11 of 13