The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


K2 Popular ComponentModulePlugin

The powerful awarded content extension for Joomla! with more than 1.2 million downloads so far (and counting!)


✔ WHAT IS K2?
========================
K2 provides an out-of-the box integrated solution featuring rich content forms for items (think of Joomla! articles with additional fields for article images, videos, image galleries and attachments), nested-level categories, tags, comments, a system to extend the item base form with additional fields (similar to CCK for those acquainted with Drupal), a powerful plugin API to extend item, category and user forms, ACL, frontend editing, sub-templates & a lot more!

Using K2, you can transform your Joomla! website to a news/magazine site with author blogs, product catalogs, work portfolio, knowledge base, download/document manager, directory listing, event listing & more, all this bundled under one package!

Give K2 a try & you'll instantly love it! It's easy to use and fun to develop websites with! If you need any help or want to contribute to the project, join us at the K2 community.


✔ FEATURES
========================
Since K2 is extensible with additional fields to its base item form, you can easily create category-specific content types, e.g. article, blog post, product page, directory listing.

K2 offers as standard:
- nested-level categories (no section/category restrictions)
- commenting, integrated with Google's reCaptcha & Akismet
- tags
- item image (useful for articles/catalogs)
- image galleries
- videos
- attachments
- user pages (author blogs/user profiles)
- smart ACL for frontend editing
- unique plugin system to extend item, category & user forms
- ajax-based frontend editing
- ajax-based comments moderation
- Google AJAX Search integration
- Rest-like JSON/JSONP content output
- Native advanced SEF options (added in K2 v2.6.4+)

K2 fully supports the Joomla! API, which means all Joomla! plugins will function properly within the K2 component & modules, either in the frontend or backend.


✔ AMAZING PERFORMANCE
========================
ImpactWrestling.com, NewsBomb.gr, Gorillaz.com, Groupama Transport, Harvard, the High Court of Australia, MTV Greece, Jaguar Greece are just some of the thousand "big sites" around the world, fully powered by K2.


✔ DEPENDENCIES & LICENSE
========================
To utilize the built-in video & gallery features you need to install AllVideos (free) & Simple Image Gallery Pro, both provided by JoomlaWorks.

K2 is developed by JoomlaWorks & licensed under the GNU/GPL license.


✔ WHAT NEXT?
========================
Try K2! Install it, hit the "import" button to bring your Joomla! articles inside K2, start playing with the component to see the flexibility it provides first-hand. Moreover? You no longer need a dozen of components & even more modules to do things like run a news site or a blog. Drupal & Wordpress have certainly met their match now!

Visit the K2 website & community: http://getk2.org

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2009-10-09
Reviews: 2
We all need CCK modules because joomla doesn't have one integrated in the core system, so i used this one and anther one. nothing seem complete.
This CCK module will be great if its integrated with standard joomla article, but unfortunately its not. It has a special articles, so if i decide one day to move to anther cck or integrate other modules in my article i will not be able to do that without dropping all All my article made by K2 .
Owner's reply

K2 is a core content component replacement, not "just" a CCK. It's supported by a solid company and it was the result of professional needs. You obviously did not devote too much time, but I recommend having a look at the showcase section in the K2 community website, to see what people build with K2. Then come again and tell us if this is something you could build by just extending the Joomla article forms...

2009-10-06
Reviews: 1
Firstly, many thanks for the great work! A very good tool with the typical problem - documentation.
There is no documentation at all. I'm sure that a lot of people have problems to use the great functionalities without a documantation and tutorials like me.
Owner's reply

We devoted a lot of our time to provide this great free application that significantly improves Joomla. Very soon we plan to roll some video tutorials to help people utilize 100% of its power. But until then, a little "trial and error" didn't hurt anyone... ;)

2009-09-26
Reviews: 1
K2 component has much good functions and I like much functions of k2, especially image gallery function.

However, I think user comment function is not so good.

In the K2 comment, users can reply to other user's comment.

I hope this would be improved.

Thank you.
2009-09-25
Reviews: 1
component looks like powerfull content construction component but have some negative points. there are two big problem of using this component. if you are not an expert user u can't make your own layout easy. component must have template or layout support. may be it can be with donation. and the other point is component must have integration with other powerful components like jomcomment, jomsocial, etc. or user can be able to select which commenting or rating component K2 use.
2009-09-22
Reviews: 1
This COULD be a great extension. It is a CMS inside a CMS and basically any other Joomla extension will not work. You can only use K2. So if you decide to change systems or you already have a site built you will have to do it all over again. The forum dosen't get much support. It also has user groups but you cant restrict the user groups to certain categories. Then what is the point of user groups? If it integrated into the core then I would use it because it has many of the features I need. But until then moving on. . . . .
Owner's reply

You obviously haven't fully grasped the potential of K2. Replying to what you said:
"You can only use K2. So if you decide to change systems or you already have a site built you will have to do it all over again."
This goes for Virtuemart too. If you build a catalog because it's more powerful compared to joomla's articles and then expect to rebuild the same with joomla articles on another site, you don't understand or don't know how to plan your work.

"The forum dosen't get much support." Not true. It's very vibrant especially compared to other more established components that are been around for more than a year (compared to K2's 5 month life). People have understood the benefits and now you can find any help you want in the forum.

"It also has user groups but you cant restrict the user groups to certain categories. Then what is the point of user groups?" User groups are for restricting content editing to specific categories and more. In v2.3 we plan to add an option to restrict content viewing, thus enabling its full ACL potential.

"If it integrated into the core then I would use it because it has many of the features I need." You cannot integrate such an application with the joomla core article system. You don't need to. K2 is as standalone as com_content is. It just has one menu item in the components and not a whole set of menu links in the backend and this is what confuses people that com_content is absolutely needed, but it's not.

2009-09-14
Reviews: 2
This component is very powerful and at the same time, flexible and very comfortable
2009-09-14
Reviews: 4
I have installed K2 in 2 sites in the last couple of months, and I am amazed by its possibilities. For an online magazine sites it is unbeatable by my knowledge!
2009-09-12
Reviews: 7
K2 is the component waited by all, powerful, free, in constant development and good attended by his developers. The easy way to create a catalogue on line and much more.

Thanks team.
xzc
2009-08-30
Reviews: 2
I just intalled the K2 component, generally speaking, it is very good (version 2.0 build 20090806).
While after some futher use, I think the module features still need to be enhanced:
I saw there are menu options for Item listings of K2, and DO have rich options such as Category,
Tag, and User Page (blog). I think all these are very useful filtering rules... BUT I checked the K2 Content module, seems only have Category filtering rule, and this is the same situation in K2 Comments module. If the K2 Content module can have all the filtering rules (including Category, Tag, and User page. Also need to add the "AND"/"OR" logic options among all the filtering rules), which will make the module much more powerful!! And this is also what I need eagerly, so may be other users as well...
If the featured item can also be a option in the module along with the items filered by all those rules, and the featured item can have customized css or color/font selection, it will be perfect...
2009-08-29
Reviews: 1
I really like what JW is trying to do with K2, and I like the way it integrates so many different options into one package. However I see a few problems that really need to be addressed.

1. I set the comments section to "registered only", which is what I wanted...but only for posting comments. But now they are completely invisible to guests, which I didn't want.

2. You can enable article voting...but there is no way to organize or display your articles by the results of those votes. I was hoping to display the best rated articles in a module, but cannot find one that works with K2.

3. I've posted 4 or 5 different questions on the forum in the past week or so and have yet to be answered or even acknowledged once.

When using K2, you have to abandon pretty much all other 3rd party Components, Modules and Plugins, and I understood that going in, but I'd really like it if the developer would at least acknowledge the previously mentioned concerns of mine as I'm pretty much at his mercy. All of the work I've done so far I'm not able to export the articles from K2...in case I have to go back to the regular Joomla! core.
2009-08-24
Reviews: 1
This is the best feature rich,flexible and user friendly component.After using it all content creation and displaying problem will be solved.I will highly recommend to use this component, it will save your at least 40% time and give you 100% mental peace so you will able to do more work.
I would like to congratulate Joomlaworks for giving such a good component to community.
Keep it up.With best wishes
2009-08-24
Reviews: 6
The concept was good. it was very difficult understand the layout. like where create sections, cat, and it should be easy to convert joomla sections and categories for big websites using default procedures.
2009-08-23
Reviews: 2
Maybe I say this for the second time, but as a developer of an other component I must say that this is a real good job. It is a clear designed and easy understandable component. I like people who innovate software with the implementation of own ideas.
2009-08-21
Reviews: 10
At first I was skeptical, knowing Fotis from his posts on Twitter. I said to myself "someone that proud cannot produce something good". I then tried, in a moment of "weakness" the component. I must admit that if I would have created such a component, I would be twice more infatuated!

By far the best content organizing component, it has everything that a website needs to get success. I haven't tested it yet for SEO but if that part is as well done as the rest of the component, than I cannot say something else but that I bow to the creator and wish them all the best in the world for giving the community their great work.
2009-08-20
Reviews: 1
Well first of all this component is great,but why so low rating,well like someone said this is cms in cms.If u install this 98% of all plugins,components,modules u simply cant use, and whole your website now depends of only this developer.Its easy u can import all text,but what if u choose to not use k2 anymore,u will be in problem.If u use k2 for some small site that later dont need much modification k2 is excellent choice but if u need for site u want to upgrade all time,then is bad.If this was joomla core modification then this component would be one of best ever,but with this idea, to completely replace something that joomla is all about,is soo wrong.But ether way joomla developers have much to learn from this component.
2009-08-08
Reviews: 53
If I had a way to replace all the core Joomla 1.5 functions with this I would do it. Awesome content management system...

What would make this even better is if we had an admin template which was K2 aware and would allow you to select K2 functions to replace the core Joomla content functions. That would be way cool!
2009-07-30
Reviews: 10
This component is perfect for me, having to create a separate area of my site that serves as a database with nested categories and custom content types. Until this extension came along, I was forced to use a Wiki for this purpose, which is excellent and easy to use, but I really wanted this database to be a part of my site and manageable through the site directly. This extension does that for me and I couldn't be happier with it.

Not only does it function as I need it to, it's also pretty, which is a plus since I am trying to retain visual appeal on my site as well as a wealth of knowledge.

The support community is also excellent and the developer addresses concerns immediately. This is to be expected from JW, who has consistently maintained an excellent reputation as a developer.

This extension will do exactly what I need it to until Joomla 1.6 is released, which (hopefully) should have both nested categorization and a built-in CCK. I hope anyway. If not, we will still have K2!
2009-07-28
Reviews: 1
it is a great product except it has problems in IE8. Also the main site appears to be down today.

I get an error : HTML Parsing Error: Unable to modify the parent container element before the child element is closed (KB927917)

Works great in Fire Fox. I don't use K2 as the main page, I use it as link pages (for reviews) how do you fix that?

I have asked questions on the forum a few times since June and no one has replied yet to them.
2009-07-24
Reviews: 4
I think this component is really good, but, as others said this is a cms in a cms. It does not strongly integrate but it works in parallel. I have to leave a lot of extensions I've installed first (eg. comments..)and import all of my articles. This extension is better for who starts a new website.
This should be the one and only core of joomla.
Great job, anyway!
2009-07-20
Reviews: 1
I am pretty sure I will someday be able to change my rating to Excellent.

There is stil room for enhancement. A couple examples:
- possibility whether or not we want to use the differnet sizes of image
- possibility to keep the original image without resizing
- possibility to choose to display the category image instead of item image
- in admin list the items under the categories instead of seperate tab
- possibility to link 1 item to different categories
Page 12 of 13