The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


K2 Popular ComponentModulePlugin

The powerful awarded content extension for Joomla! with more than 1.2 million downloads so far (and counting!)


✔ WHAT IS K2?
========================
K2 provides an out-of-the box integrated solution featuring rich content forms for items (think of Joomla! articles with additional fields for article images, videos, image galleries and attachments), nested-level categories, tags, comments, a system to extend the item base form with additional fields (similar to CCK for those acquainted with Drupal), a powerful plugin API to extend item, category and user forms, ACL, frontend editing, sub-templates & a lot more!

Using K2, you can transform your Joomla! website to a news/magazine site with author blogs, product catalogs, work portfolio, knowledge base, download/document manager, directory listing, event listing & more, all this bundled under one package!

Give K2 a try & you'll instantly love it! It's easy to use and fun to develop websites with! If you need any help or want to contribute to the project, join us at the K2 community.


✔ FEATURES
========================
Since K2 is extensible with additional fields to its base item form, you can easily create category-specific content types, e.g. article, blog post, product page, directory listing.

K2 offers as standard:
- nested-level categories (no section/category restrictions)
- commenting, integrated with Google's reCaptcha & Akismet
- tags
- item image (useful for articles/catalogs)
- image galleries
- videos
- attachments
- user pages (author blogs/user profiles)
- smart ACL for frontend editing
- unique plugin system to extend item, category & user forms
- ajax-based frontend editing
- ajax-based comments moderation
- Google AJAX Search integration
- Rest-like JSON/JSONP content output
- Native advanced SEF options (added in K2 v2.6.4+)

K2 fully supports the Joomla! API, which means all Joomla! plugins will function properly within the K2 component & modules, either in the frontend or backend.


✔ AMAZING PERFORMANCE
========================
ImpactWrestling.com, NewsBomb.gr, Gorillaz.com, Groupama Transport, Harvard, the High Court of Australia, MTV Greece, Jaguar Greece are just some of the thousand "big sites" around the world, fully powered by K2.


✔ DEPENDENCIES & LICENSE
========================
To utilize the built-in video & gallery features you need to install AllVideos (free) & Simple Image Gallery Pro, both provided by JoomlaWorks.

K2 is developed by JoomlaWorks & licensed under the GNU/GPL license.


✔ WHAT NEXT?
========================
Try K2! Install it, hit the "import" button to bring your Joomla! articles inside K2, start playing with the component to see the flexibility it provides first-hand. Moreover? You no longer need a dozen of components & even more modules to do things like run a news site or a blog. Drupal & Wordpress have certainly met their match now!

Visit the K2 website & community: http://getk2.org

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2009-07-04
Reviews: 1
I have been waiting for this type of extension for going onto a year! I honestly believe the lack of this component is the only real reason for other CMSes to still exist-namely Drupal and CCK.

The Implementation shows a ton of foresight, evidenced by the use of Joomla's inherent User tables instead of creating new ones.

Unfortunately it is not perfect yet- Noticeable a BETA version.

The most frustrating bug is in front end submissions. If a user has authoring rights, but not publishing rights, it bombs out after the article is submitted.
Also, no matter who the author is, in the back-end it is listed as an administrator.

I cannot wait for this to be completed!!
Owner's reply

We're getting there, don't worry.

As you can imagine, K2 is not only a big component in terms of code but also in terms of functions and how all these combine together. It's natural that there will be bugs, but all will be fixed when v2.0.0 "final" is released. And we're very close to get there :)

2009-07-02
Reviews: 1
With what K2 is capable of doing, one can only give a positive feedback. I would request the developers to clarify if K2 supports pagination in content items. I have a few extremely long articles paginated in com_content. When i copy the same articles in K2, the articles appear without any pagination. It would be a real help if someone can tell me how to use pagination in K2 content items.
Owner's reply

K2 supports article pagination in both listing pages and inside the article page, by using the "page break" plugin. K2 parses all content plugins in Joomla! like native Joomla! articles do. :)

2009-06-30
Reviews: 2
I'm using version 2.0.0 pre-release found on K2 homepage.It's easy to use, easy to configure with a lot of Professional Features which aren't found in any other extension. Thanks JoomlaWorks for This great extension.
2009-06-12
Reviews: 5
This is probably one of the more promising extensions in Joomla. For its been one of Joomla's biggest issues, which is custom content. With K2 you can generate pretty much any content you want in any fashion/shape/form.

While this is very easy for a Joomla Backend Administrator to use, there's really no use for most Joomla websites because it lacks front-end content submission - which is the biggest downside to it.

Most Joomla websites have multiple front-end users whom need to submit content from the front-end with ease. To make this a truly awesome extension, the following functionality would be great: Front-end content submission functionality and completely customized submission pages (Like ChronoForms).

Overall I think its a good extension. If you have a site that is maintained purely by Backend Administrators, this is a fantastic component, and I recommend everyone to use it because you can do anything backend!
Owner's reply

Actually there is Frontend submission, you just didn't look at the component "global parameters".

However, in v2 coming in a few days, we extend frontend submission even further to allow add/edit access to specific categories and for specific users. More soon.

2009-06-01
Reviews: 2
I give this five stars, allowing for the fact it is in beta (if this was finished product 3 stars). This component is simple to install, joomla user friendly. It seems kind of bizarre to have what is effectively a content management system inside a content management system, but it certainly fills some gaps, and has helped me to expand an online magazine that I am migrating slowly but surely to joomla.

There are a few "fine details" in the beta version, which are assured are to be resolved in the stable release, which is scheduled we are told any day now.

I highly recommend getting to know K2, I had hundreds of articles in many sections and categories, I have migrated everything structure intact using a script freely available from the community. If you download the beta, scout around the forum for a patch which fixes a few oddities, save yourself a few hours of 'what am I doing wrong?" followed by the sore forehead you find it LoL

Download, install and have a play, it has a very shallow learning curve, well worth the little effort required. Kudos to joomlaworks
2009-06-01
Reviews: 17
This incredible extension adds new features to Joomla core:
. ordering the site like magazine
. adds comments
. integrates Allvideos and Simple Image Gallery plugins on articles
. add user groups for articles
. API support
. etc...

I think this extension could replace the sections and categories system from joomla.

Thanks!!!
2009-05-29
Reviews: 1
Hi,
just stumbled upon it on your website - where i already use some modules ...
anyway - biggest advantage - no more fiddling around with sections and categories, comment system, download manager, various modules to display whatever content. I am sure, when it comes to a stable release and documentation ( for plugin developers too ) is published - it can be the killer application for joomla.

saludos
André
2009-05-26
Reviews: 13
Just what I've been looking for for a major new project. It's easy to use, easy to configure and looks easy to hack the code. Time will tell but this looks like the Joomla! extension which will propel Joomla! forward.
2009-05-24
Reviews: 1
I was very amazed with the capabilities of K2 so I decided immediately without even thinking of looking around to other options and I'm pretty happy on my decision.

I have read everything about the requirements and I have overlooked potential bugs, so I made sure to have all the right requirements before I install it as following:
Joomla 1.5.10 , PHP 5.2.5 , MySQL 5.0.45

but .. after installing everything successfully with no issues , I have came across a Fetal Error and have posted it after many tries of figuring out the problem in the support forums since 10 days now.

I understand that the Tech Support face load of reports and I'm sure they are doing their best to figure out the problems and respond to them, but I will absolutely appreciate if there was even a response to wait or so .. All I Asked -and other users- was a referral to what may caused the problem .. it's unfortunate that we didn't receive a single response yet.

It will be unfair to rate the component at this point so I decided to give it an average -since I'm forced to rate-.

Until I use it, I will give a quality review upon that experience with corresponding rate.
Owner's reply

You'll be happy to know that we've resolved all bugs in 1.1 stable which we are releasing in less than 10 days.

K2 1.1 stable features many new additions, it is totally re-written from the ground up, fully compatible with PHP 4 & 5.

More to be announced soon on the K2 forum! Hang in there a bit with the beta while we roll the stable release! Thanks!

Fotis
JoomlaWorks

2009-05-17
Reviews: 11
The only reason for giving it Excellent is that it is sure to be a powerful asset to any developers tool box.

As it is still in beta, I do not understand why anyone would care to write a negative review about what it does not do? The freedom this component offers over the Joomla core should not be overlooked.

The K2 team has set this extension up for a great future. As well as a serious contender for the ZOO extension.

I feel so strongly that this will become a powerhouse extension. I am developing with it on a live site. The fact that the joomlaworks team does not know failure is good enough for me.

Great work guys!
2009-05-17
Reviews: 10
I installed and configured this myself (without documentation because it's THAT easy) in one day including CSS edits. I now have a custom looking site that my site's editor can easily edit and add to. I am thinking of revising some of my clients sites to use this component as well. The options seem endless in what you can do!
There are still some small bugs, but it's a brand new component and the support over at JoomlaWorks is great!
2009-05-17
Reviews: 2
It makes me sad to give this plug-in a low rating, but I have no other choice.

This component sets the user up for disappointment because it is so very promising, but falls flat when it comes to using it.

You can't edit anything. This includes items that you create. Once they are created, the settings won't change no matter how many times the cache is cleared. I've had to delete items and re-create them again.

This component comes with what seems to be at least 100 configuration options, but the component doesn't listen to any of these options.

This is mentioned repeatedly in the K2 forums, but the only support response that I can find after days of searching is "did you check all the parameter settings?"

If you can edit .css or php without any real assistance you might be able to use this component, but if you can't its too buggy to use without pulling your hair out.

now that I'v said all that I want to say that I'm not giving up on K2 yet. It really is an awesome component that will do everything I want once they get the bugs straightened out and get some documentation together.
2009-05-16
Reviews: 1
Well, first I thougt 'yes, another great component of joomlaworks'.I watched the review of it. I installed it and then I realised that it has its own css layout. For me it made that component simply useless.
I set up my own joomla template and after hours of work I dont want to rewrite the code of components, so that it matches my own layout. They should fit into my side not 'make there own thing'.
Good idea but thats nothing to work with.
2009-04-21
Reviews: 1
FINALLY, exactly what I'm looking for! I stumbled upon this after weeks of searching for what this component does.
I love the simple but elegant look of the items and categories when displayed. It's great how the comments and tags come all in one because my site was starting to look patchy with all the different things I was using. Thanks so much!
2009-04-15
Reviews: 1
This is an excellent extension, very versatile, comprehensive and I would like to see it replace the main article/section/category in Joomla. However, there are a few things I would suggest.

Rather than creating a whole new way to submit articles, and even re-creating the article section why not just utilise the current article section and category section and integrate the additional functionality into the core. Also, I have a great menu system installed on a test site that this extension completely breaks. Again, with correct core integration this would be an amazing extension.
2009-04-14
Reviews: 1
I've been using this for 1 week now. I've been really satisfied with what it can do. Never been so easy to add and edit articles, but don't know how and why it stopped functioning properly.

1. Getting buggy articles' intro (image captions showing even if disabled.
2. When disabling photo gallery and related video, still showing in front-end.

Would be better if you could add a plugin or module to be able to display intro articles on joomla frontpage itself.

Waiting for a stable version .
Owner's reply

Regarding the display of elements in the frontend, make sure you've set both the global parameters in K2 and the params of each menu item you create. It's essential to properly display things. ;)

The current module is pretty powerful to do what you ask already.

2009-04-14
Reviews: 19
Wow, a CMS within a CMS. That's all there is to it. This must be the best content related extension for Joomla 1.5. It is very easy to use, I installed it with the sample data and felt right at home with this component. Setting up a Blog on Joomla has never been easier. This component leaves o wishes open! The only thing that I can not believe is that it is GNU/GPL. Keep up the good work JoomlaWorks. This onenis staying on my site!
2009-04-14
Reviews: 10
Thats what many were surely waiting for for a long time ! This component might be able to replace the category view of Joomla as well as the many "news-list" modules and components swirling around !
Install this component first and then think if you need any other extension !
One small flaw that I couldnt figure out - after posting a comment the message "Page reloading..." appears but nothing happens. Hope that could be solved as well to make this component the no.1 in content news display. Thanks for your work !
Owner's reply

Comments use Mootools, which is the default javascript framework for Joomla! Check if it's disabled for some reason. ;)

Page 13 of 13