The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


K2 Popular ComponentModulePlugin

The powerful awarded content extension for Joomla! with more than 1.2 million downloads so far (and counting!)


✔ WHAT IS K2?
========================
K2 provides an out-of-the box integrated solution featuring rich content forms for items (think of Joomla! articles with additional fields for article images, videos, image galleries and attachments), nested-level categories, tags, comments, a system to extend the item base form with additional fields (similar to CCK for those acquainted with Drupal), a powerful plugin API to extend item, category and user forms, ACL, frontend editing, sub-templates & a lot more!

Using K2, you can transform your Joomla! website to a news/magazine site with author blogs, product catalogs, work portfolio, knowledge base, download/document manager, directory listing, event listing & more, all this bundled under one package!

Give K2 a try & you'll instantly love it! It's easy to use and fun to develop websites with! If you need any help or want to contribute to the project, join us at the K2 community.


✔ FEATURES
========================
Since K2 is extensible with additional fields to its base item form, you can easily create category-specific content types, e.g. article, blog post, product page, directory listing.

K2 offers as standard:
- nested-level categories (no section/category restrictions)
- commenting, integrated with Google's reCaptcha & Akismet
- tags
- item image (useful for articles/catalogs)
- image galleries
- videos
- attachments
- user pages (author blogs/user profiles)
- smart ACL for frontend editing
- unique plugin system to extend item, category & user forms
- ajax-based frontend editing
- ajax-based comments moderation
- Google AJAX Search integration
- Rest-like JSON/JSONP content output
- Native advanced SEF options (added in K2 v2.6.4+)

K2 fully supports the Joomla! API, which means all Joomla! plugins will function properly within the K2 component & modules, either in the frontend or backend.


✔ AMAZING PERFORMANCE
========================
ImpactWrestling.com, NewsBomb.gr, Gorillaz.com, Groupama Transport, Harvard, the High Court of Australia, MTV Greece, Jaguar Greece are just some of the thousand "big sites" around the world, fully powered by K2.


✔ DEPENDENCIES & LICENSE
========================
To utilize the built-in video & gallery features you need to install AllVideos (free) & Simple Image Gallery Pro, both provided by JoomlaWorks.

K2 is developed by JoomlaWorks & licensed under the GNU/GPL license.


✔ WHAT NEXT?
========================
Try K2! Install it, hit the "import" button to bring your Joomla! articles inside K2, start playing with the component to see the flexibility it provides first-hand. Moreover? You no longer need a dozen of components & even more modules to do things like run a news site or a blog. Drupal & Wordpress have certainly met their match now!

Visit the K2 website & community: http://getk2.org

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2013-09-23
Reviews: 2
I have used K2 in quite alot of projects and i really love it. It is easy to configure, as also its templating system is excellent.

It will work for most of the cases, but i faced its limitations when i tried to built a quite complex content structure for one of my projects.

So i came up with ~20 content types (extra field groups), some of them with more than 40 or 50 extra fields.

This was a "disaster" since K2 become very slow for these content types (items) ... and now i am trying to find alternatives :( ....
Owner's reply

K2 is *THE* extension for pushing Joomla! to its limits. It's the very reason top Joomla! sites worldwide use K2.

K2 has richer content options compared to the default Joomla! article system and yet it's a lot faster compared it. Now, how did you manage to make a slow site out of K2 remains a mystery...

People some times confuse crappy hosts with Joomla's performance. I'm 100% certain that's the case we deal with here. And in this case, any CMS would perform slowly...

2013-08-11
Reviews: 7
Greate extension!
I really enjoying it :)

Thanks!
2013-08-07
Reviews: 6
First off, I like K2 as a Joomla extension. BUT, In my opinion, the trade-offs don't overcome the benefits. I'll admit I'm no high level developer or admin, but in my mind, K2 really doesn't add that much to Joomla. Back in the J! 1.X days, when you only had two layers of categories to work with K2 was a huge improvement. But these days, without that limitation in J! core, I don't see the big advantage to using it. Now, the disadvantage is that you lose the ability to integrate with a lot of extensions. By this, I mean that pretty much any extension will work with J! core articles, but they're hit or miss on whether they'll work with K2. So for me, the tradeoff isn't worth it. Other drawbacks include the performance hit you'll take by running another program within Joomla and the hassle of dealing with another stylesheet.
2013-08-03
Reviews: 2
I am pleased to have found, experimented and later implemented K2 in one of my clients website. It works wonderfully and extends Joomla content wisely. Third part extensions support K2 broadly. I am a happy guy now.

Thank your very much.
2013-08-02
Reviews: 2
I have used K2 for a long time, this is excellent com. Next time I hope K2 Team documentation of K2 version.

Thanks
2013-07-30
Reviews: 3
I've using k2 for several years for my projects. This is the first extension I used to add after installing joomla. The content templating is easy and there are lot of useful functions as commenting and rating system, gallery and extra fields for your items. There are tons of useful extension for it.

BUT THERE IS ONE VERY SERIOUS PROBLEM!!!

If you create catalog system with lots of extra fields (40+) it will dramatically slow down your site in category view. Even if you create custom template to show only few extra fields in category view. The reason of this (I think) is the way extra fields are stored in the database. All of the extra fileds for an item is stored in one database field. If you display for example only 5 extrafields from 40 for each item in category view the system will looping through all extra fields because they are stored in one database field. I tried to get help from developers but there is no answer and no solution. The extra fields would give the real power of a CCK but this way it unusable for items with lots of properties. I hope this will be fixed if so this will be the number one extension.
2013-07-23
Reviews: 1
The extension is almost perfect, if I would only find the way to auto-archive old items, i.e. Items more than 12 months old.
Owner's reply

K2 doesn't have (and doesn't need) an auto-archive feature. The "archive" feature was originally implemented in Joomla!'s default article system as a way to lighten up the database from old articles. K2 is better optimized and so it doesn't need that.

Additionally, you can use the K2 Tools module to list K2 content by month created, similar to a blog archive, as it's usually found in such platforms.

2013-07-16
Reviews: 11
K2 seems stable, looks good, tons of capabilities but I couldn't get past a simple problem. And worse yet, except for a few instances, there remains many users counting myself that have never found a solution and are simply being ignored on the support forums. K2's own registration system seems to conflict with Joomla's own default reCaptcha system. I and others have followed every single piece of advise available, yet the issue remains. So, you end-up with two choices: turn off reCaptcha (not acceptable), or uninstall K2 and go with another system to manage your advanced content ... huge disappointment!!! ... no doubt a dev will respond to this and tell me how much I didn't do.
Owner's reply

Your question is probably answered on the forum already, as it's too simple. Either disable the Joomla! reCaptcha plugin and enable K2's built in or the opposite. Both will work. If they didn't, then maybe some other system or user plugin is to blame. If I were you, I'd disable Joomla! reCaptcha, because K2's can also be hooked up with StopForumSpam, in which case, real human spammers are 95% of the times caught and blocked.

2013-07-13
Reviews: 5
according to the description "out of the box" I was quiet surprised how much i had to learn about php and css. I realy put great effort and time in tutorials and learning how to style. Unfortunately I ended up in the lots of forums trying to find ways how to tweak it and make it work in general. Beside the conflicts with images and a responsive template the issue with item view in the subcategory listings listings (that were showing in the category) - and the only solution to get into the php file again ....gave me the rest ...gave up.
Conclusion: if you have knowledge in coding and css ... should be a great component ... for someone who wants a solution out of the box ...stick with joomla itself.
Owner's reply

If you thought K2 was difficult, wait till you try the default Joomla! article system (com_content) templating. We get lots of Joomla! newbies digging into K2 first, instead of com_content and believe K2 is hard to work with. It's not hard, it's how Joomla!'s templating works and these people soon find out when they use com_content. K2's templating is simpler and easier to work with. Most of the times you won't even need to touch the PHP code blocks. Just switch off any elements you don't want per category or even per item. Want to move things around (re-order the item elements)? Just move the marked PHP blocks. Can't get any simpler than that and com_content is far more difficult to work with. That's the reason why we built K2 in the first place...

A final note. Don't expect to get into a proper CMS like Joomla! and NOT learn a few things on HTML, CSS, JS or even PHP. Try modifying a WordPress theme. Joomla! templating will then seem like a walk in the part. Try Drupal. Hell is colder that Drupal theming...

If you don't learn the basics of HTML, CSS, JS & PHP, you'll always feel stuck. And then the only solutions you'll end up with are Tumblr or Blogspot. Even those may require HTML editing as well sometimes... But they'll only be a blog and nothing more.

Can't/don't want to learn the web's languages? Then hire a pro developer.

Things are most of the times simpler than we think.

2013-07-11
Reviews: 9
I am building websites using K2 for blogging, news, magazine and product portfolio sites for some time.

Template override and creating new templates per categories are absolutely lights my my.

A Note To Developers : Multi image, Multi Category and Multi extrafiels would be great move for K2 in the future.

and if only you can create thumbs using crop and zoom for equal photos in category blog.
2013-06-21
Reviews: 2
I love K2 and have used it for many years without any issues. However, I have run into my first problem and decided to register on the K2 forum. I received the activation email and clicked on the link to activate the accout, but I cannot get in. The site reports that my account is blocked or has not been activated. Hopefully someone can assist me with this because without support, I am dead in the water with this issue.
Owner's reply

The K2 website is one of the most popular in the Joomla! community and thus it gets hit by lots of spammers.

Because we prefer to provide help to K2 users and not chase spam posts all the time (we're talking about human spam here, not bots et al), we recently had to take additional measures by deploying anti-spam checks using the StopForumSpam.com global database.

This means that from the thousand logins and signups we get per month, from time to time, legitimate users may get caught on as well.

So please either email us (use the site's contact forum) or send a tweet to us at @k2devs so we can whitelist and enable your registration.

If you tried to login using a social network account and got caught by our anti-spam system, try creating a standard Joomla! account. Or vise versa.

2013-05-29
Reviews: 5
This extension is installed in every single Joomla! Website that I ever delivered, because it's so elastic and complete that it makes it fundamental.
2013-05-17
Reviews: 1
Works perfect. Just download this component and you don't need anything else.
Great!!!!
★★★★★
K2
2013-04-26
Reviews: 9
The templates are so perfect. If you are designer or make custom templates you will know what I'm talking about.

Everything has a class and ID, you can have multiple templates, overrides. Get extrafields where you want...

Best extensions!
2013-04-08
Reviews: 7
K2 will save you a lot of time and work.

If you build complex sites with different views and etc. then this is best tool for you.

Thank you joomlaworks.
2013-04-07
Reviews: 15
K2 is really nothing special on its own.

All it does is that it allows you to add extra fields to its own articles called items (which is something that should exist in joomla on its own, but no, they're more concerned about making a responsive back-end, like someone is gonna run their website from a mobile).

Now, when you couple that with a good filter for k2 and a related items filter, you get something.

But its also missing guest article submission with extra feilds (the one for reg users exists but sucks) that an admin could approve and it would appear in selected category.

All these things are simple and should be in Joomla core but they're not, which keeps joomla from being a great CMS.
2013-04-05
Reviews: 23
I have been using K2 for years. The is a small learning curve but intelligence usually prevails. Its well structured and easy to manage once you use it extensively. My customers love the ease of use through the front end. A very powerful component that should get the respect it truly deserves! Thanks for the hard work on such a brilliant component.
2013-03-27
Reviews: 1
Great Extension. I love it and I cannot wait for updates.

I installed k2 on a domain I was experimenting with. I found it to be very buggy. I even paid a developer to help me with my issues. I then just got fed up and uninstalled everything including joomla. I did a fresh and clean install of both Joomla and K2. That fixed the problems I was having except that I noticed that there were still some issues with SEF extensions. Not anything that worries me too much. I don't absolutely have to have them right now and I'm sure soon there the issue will be resolved...

I must say though I am completely turned off by the owners replies he/she are giving. Free extension or not, hold a professional demeanor. You are doing JoomlaWorks a great disservice. Maybe you should see how other developers respond and aide and take notes.
2013-03-01
Reviews: 1
I have tried this extension,and this is good to use.I feel that it is also easy.
GOOD Extension!
2013-01-26
Reviews: 11
K2 is my best buddy when I buld joomla sites.

I can't live without K2 anymore.

Thank you JoomlaWokrs!!!
Page 2 of 13