The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


K2 Popular ComponentModulePlugin

The powerful awarded content extension for Joomla! with more than 1.2 million downloads so far (and counting!)


✔ WHAT IS K2?
========================
K2 provides an out-of-the box integrated solution featuring rich content forms for items (think of Joomla! articles with additional fields for article images, videos, image galleries and attachments), nested-level categories, tags, comments, a system to extend the item base form with additional fields (similar to CCK for those acquainted with Drupal), a powerful plugin API to extend item, category and user forms, ACL, frontend editing, sub-templates & a lot more!

Using K2, you can transform your Joomla! website to a news/magazine site with author blogs, product catalogs, work portfolio, knowledge base, download/document manager, directory listing, event listing & more, all this bundled under one package!

Give K2 a try & you'll instantly love it! It's easy to use and fun to develop websites with! If you need any help or want to contribute to the project, join us at the K2 community.


✔ FEATURES
========================
Since K2 is extensible with additional fields to its base item form, you can easily create category-specific content types, e.g. article, blog post, product page, directory listing.

K2 offers as standard:
- nested-level categories (no section/category restrictions)
- commenting, integrated with Google's reCaptcha & Akismet
- tags
- item image (useful for articles/catalogs)
- image galleries
- videos
- attachments
- user pages (author blogs/user profiles)
- smart ACL for frontend editing
- unique plugin system to extend item, category & user forms
- ajax-based frontend editing
- ajax-based comments moderation
- Google AJAX Search integration
- Rest-like JSON/JSONP content output
- Native advanced SEF options (added in K2 v2.6.4+)

K2 fully supports the Joomla! API, which means all Joomla! plugins will function properly within the K2 component & modules, either in the frontend or backend.


✔ AMAZING PERFORMANCE
========================
ImpactWrestling.com, NewsBomb.gr, Gorillaz.com, Groupama Transport, Harvard, the High Court of Australia, MTV Greece, Jaguar Greece are just some of the thousand "big sites" around the world, fully powered by K2.


✔ DEPENDENCIES & LICENSE
========================
To utilize the built-in video & gallery features you need to install AllVideos (free) & Simple Image Gallery Pro, both provided by JoomlaWorks.

K2 is developed by JoomlaWorks & licensed under the GNU/GPL license.


✔ WHAT NEXT?
========================
Try K2! Install it, hit the "import" button to bring your Joomla! articles inside K2, start playing with the component to see the flexibility it provides first-hand. Moreover? You no longer need a dozen of components & even more modules to do things like run a news site or a blog. Drupal & Wordpress have certainly met their match now!

Visit the K2 website & community: http://getk2.org

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2013-01-15
Reviews: 8
It`s simply one of the best Joomla extensions, facilitating the customization of my sites, integrating into the system cleanly.

Congratulations on this great extension, has been very useful for my work, I also bought other commercial extensions of this group of developers and are excellent!
2013-01-09
Reviews: 3
I have refrained from posting this review up until now, but seeing a year old serious SEO issue not addressed by the developers leaves me with no other choice.

K2 produces for any items, tags multiple, in fact endless duplicated URLs.

For over a year people were desperately trying to get help from the developers, but they simply didn't respond.

You can read everything in this thread: http://getk2.org/community/New-to-K2-Ask-here-first/6472-K2-SEO-issue---Can-it-be-fixed

The developer responded though to a bad review about K2 addressing these SEO issues, but all he had to say is praising K2 for its SEO (although he apparently lacks some SEO knowledge himself because there are tons of things to optimize SEO-wise) and saying that these duplicated URLs are Joomlas fault. Later he said that these duplicated URLs can be resolved by

a) making menu items for each item (meaning hundreds of menu items for each tag)

2) install a third-party SEO component.

So basically he admitted that a K2 vanilla installation is not usable for production sites because of the horrific SEO issues.

Ironically a user later submitted a K2 core hack that apparently resolves those issues, but it has some side effects on other parts of K2.

Other components such as flexicontent prove that those issues can be resolved without installing a 3rd party SEO extension.

Support is horrific, the developer makes false claims and people are loosing traffic due to the mentioned SEO issues.

So unless you are willing to pay for an SEO extension, I strongy discourage anyone from using K2. But even then, hundreds and thousands of duplicated URLs will be stored in the database.

I highly recommend the developer to overthink his attitude and finally address those duplicated URL issues. And please, if you don't have a clue, ask other developers for help.
Owner's reply

What you fail to understand is that K2 simply follows the Joomla! framework guidelines when it comes to URLs. For example, take this URL from a recent Joomla! announcement on joomla.org (it's the core Joomla! article system):

The URL is http://www.joomla.org/announcements/release-news/5471-joomla-3-0-2-released.html

But one can easily do this too:
http://www.joomla.org/announcements/release-news/5471-joomla-3-0-2-released-wow-some-extra-stuff-on-the-URL

Both URLs will render the same page of course. Now, this is not a bad thing SEO wise. SEO - which you fail to understand obviously - is not related in any way to how one or more users can manipulate a site's URLs. This is stupid if you think about it... SEO is about ordering/organizing a site's content so that search engines can pick up that content easily. The easiest the better for a site.

Anyone can read the URL you posted back to the K2 Community, but sorry, I'm not admitting anything.

As for the other claims...
a) "other extensions offer better URLs": if they are native extensions, no they don't
b) "K2 support is bad": define bad support for a free extension first. We're not elitists. If we were, we wouldn't have released K2, better yet, we wouldn't have launched a community.

You might wanna look for some other CMS perhaps. I strongly suggest Google's Blogger cause a) it's built by Google (= "beautiful" SEO for the paranoid ones) and b) it's free like K2.

Give us a break will ya?

2012-11-29
Reviews: 7
K2 is life saver tool!

You have well done categories, inherit of parameters, image fields, extra fields, many views, plugin events..

Everything that is missing in joomla articles.

I can't imagine to build new site without the support of K2!
2012-11-08
Reviews: 7
K2 is simple to use, and a great way to extend the functionality of your content. I disagree that it's hard to use if you plan out your content & requirements.

Great job to the DEV guys, thanks for keeping this one free.
2012-10-23
Reviews: 11
It seemed like a fantastic tool, but it is complicated and there is no help on how to manage this. This has taken me a lot of time and I have not managed to make this tool work properly. At the moment I will not use K2, because it take to much time to make this thing work without support.
Owner's reply

K2 has a very active forum monitored both by the dev team and by hundreds of pro/expert volunteers. I find it hard to believe you couldn't find help...

2012-10-14
Reviews: 19
Great component, a must for Joomla instalations where you will have categories and articles. It's so versatile and keeps everything neat and tidy. Thanks!
2012-09-21
Reviews: 3
I'll repeat the title. I will give my first born to the creators of K2. Never in my entire life with Joomla have I encounter a better coded component. It is so unbelievably well structured and named that I almost cried when I first saw it. It's so well created, that I was able to customise the layout in ways I didn't know how... K2 improved my coding. You might think this is an over exaggeration, but if you had the amount of experience with extensions that lack even basic structural coding... well... you would be in tears before you even knew what hit you.
2012-09-19
Reviews: 1
I worked with K2 since 1 year and a half. And I can honestly say, the experience has been excellent.

The user experience was easy and confortable. The firt days, I spend a couple of hours understanding the K2 panel. But it was so easy to work with, that I never asked the documentation. Also, the new demo page is very useful.

The support was (is) very good, whereas it is "free". Nowdays, the supports is much better than the past. You can go to the forum and check it yourself.

But, the BEST part is the features of the Content Consruction itself. The level of development and editing, to the way the articles are presented, is TOO FLEXIBLE. With only a few of html (most) and php knowledge, can create articles with custom extra fields, custom data, videos, images, and rich format content, like schema.org. The overriding of templates and modules, is REALLY SIMPLE and you can create unique styles.

The only CONS that I found is some things related of SEO, I mean there are a few of duplicates by page, and this is worse when using tags. But I bought the SH404SEF component, and this resolve my problems. Others things that lacks is an advance search (like live ajax finder), that include extrafields (but I think that there are some extensions that achieve this).

But I can't complain of K2... it's ismply THE BEST CCK out there... admit it
2012-09-11
Reviews: 1
I think everything has been said about K2's value. let's face it. Joomla with K2 beats wordpress and drupal. joomla without K2 simply lags behind.
When J!1.6 was announced, I though that many of K2's briliant workflow and usability features might had been incorporated (or even K2 itself replacing com_content). It didn't happen. When J!3 alpha was lauched, I hoped more of it was incorporated in the core. Not again.
K2 has been, by far, the best "off-the-shelf" com_content joomla has had in years - seblod is too complicated and Zoo is not integrated with many other extensions, standard com_content is really a usability challenge for customers both in the front and in the backend and the other CCK's are in between these.
K2 really adds value to Joomla and I simply feel it's getting further away from joomla in J's most recent releases: more and more extensions rely mostly on com_content (for example, multilanguage, native translation or light cck's) and if one has such needs for customers, well, then it's "plain vanilla Joomla com_content" or wordpress (which, by the way, customers love).
So I think this has been mostly a missed opportunity: a briliant content creation component that should have become part of J! core or at least most it's solutions incorporated. And joomla (apparently) becoming more and more like Drupal in terms of complexity and less "end-customer" friendly.
2012-08-29
Reviews: 8
I am a huge fun since the day that i found K2.
I think that without K2 Joomla! would be very poor.

BTW i dont understand the bad critics that i read... strange people! Theres nothing, and i mean NOTHING wrong with K2. It came to make our life easier.
2012-08-16
Reviews: 3
Great job guys. This is a great extention to any Joomla websites.

Some people are concerned about URLs for items and categories. They shouldn't. Simplly publish menus for K2 items/categories and it will work like a charme.

Keep up the good work.
2012-08-06
Reviews: 1
I have heard only good things about K2.But this is ridiculous, all images are hashed with MD5 and look like this 0fgdf5sdffdg8fdg4f1gf5.jpg. This is a SEO disaster and I'm surprised that only a few people have noticed this. All the good points that K2 has are worthless because of this. I do not recommend the use of K2 until they change the way K2 works with images.
Owner's reply

I assume your knowledge on SEO is either non-existent or you haven't checked the HTML the K2 outputs...

K2 uses the "alt" and "title" attributes in images and wrapping links to either include image captions or if no image captions are entered by the user, then just the title. This is the best SEO possible. Waaaay better than any image filename which can contain from bad characters to cryptic numbers or word that have no relation to the real content of the article.

But here's another surprise!

If you're wondering why your images are not being indexed by Google, then I'm afraid Joomla is to blame. You see, by default, Joomla's robots.txt definitions block Google from indexing the /media folder which is used by K2 and every Joomla component known to man to store media files...

Simply delete that line in robots.txt and you should be fine.

K2 was designed to be SEO friendly since day 1.

And for that, K2 is priceless for many developers out there.

2012-08-04
Reviews: 2
K2 made ​​my life easier.
With this component, making sites is 10 times faster and easier.

Now I'm so addicted to the component that I can't go back to com_content.

The first thing I do after installation of Joomla! is to install the latest version of K2.

I love you JoomlaWorks, thank you for K2!
2012-07-29
Reviews: 10
I really like and love this extension as it gives you thousands of possibilities and it really extends joomla!

Reccomended for review-sites.
2012-07-24
Reviews: 46
If your looking for masses of flexibility
easy to customize and style, K2 is one of the best CCK's for Joomla.
Been using it for 1 day and now it will become part of all my new sites.
Very user friendly.
Loads of videos available on how to use it.
You can do so much with this extension.
Yes there is a small learning curve, put in the time and you will accomplish great things with K2.
Its very fast too.
SEO is good.
3rd party extensions for it are fabulous.

Such an awesome extension and its free !
Nice job Developer, you guys ROCK !!!
2012-07-18
Reviews: 1
If you're new to joomla as I am, this one might take awhile to wrap your head around. Once you understand all it's switches and settings, it's very good.

Some of the documentation seemed outdated if your using Joomla 2.5.
Owner's reply

Actually, OSTraining.com - the premier training company on everything Joomla! related - has recently done a series of training videos that walk you through K2 on Joomla! 2.5.

This K2 Class is available on the K2 site at: http://getk2.org/documentation/k2class2012

2012-07-15
Reviews: 5
'Very poor' may seem harsh, but K2 misleadingly advertises as 'integration available with Community Builder'.

This is incorrect. You'll soon find that if you try to add a menu link to "create item" you'll get a 403 page, this is because K2 needs you to register/login as a K2 user.

It'll integrate as far as having your username on a K2 article point to your CB profile, but CB users cannot create or edit articles because there's no way for K2 to automatically add new users registered through CB to the K2 usergroups.

A huge disappointment indeed.
Owner's reply

Yes there is, you just haven't configured this properly. We've even gone one step further and automated the process even for sites that previously didn't use K2. Have a look at the K2 main configuration options and you'll see one that allows you to assign any new or orphan user to a specified K2 group. Have you set this up correctly?

If you do that, K2 and CB will work just fine together. If it didn't work, that because you "may" have deleted all K2 groups or didn't assign new/orphan Joomla users to the right (in terms of permissions) K2 group...

2012-07-01
Reviews: 1
K2 is a great extension it transform complitly joomla in our site LeNews is very usefull
2012-06-08
Reviews: 2
K2 is simply the best CCK for me because it's doing what we expect first with a CCK, add custom fields to category of content.

And of course it has a lot of specific extensions.

Thanks!
2012-06-07
Reviews: 5
First of all thank thank you K2 dev team for a lot of time spent on creating free extension for Joomla! community. My previous speaker said that K2 SEO is bad - everybody who know's anything about search engins optimisation will dissagree with this kind of opinion. K2 provide great SEO compatibility and gives users everything they need to be seo friendly. You can always adjust the script to your needs! Do not forget that SEO is difficult subject and and sometimes expensive work. Please to think twice before adding a review and remember about Joomla community values: freedom, equality, trust, community, collaboration and usability! Grreetings from Poland :)
Owner's reply

"Please think twice before adding a review and remember about Joomla community values: freedom, equality, trust, community, collaboration and usability!"

Couldn't agree more!

Page 3 of 13