The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


K2 Popular ComponentModulePlugin

The powerful awarded content extension for Joomla! with more than 1.2 million downloads so far (and counting!)


✔ WHAT IS K2?
========================
K2 provides an out-of-the box integrated solution featuring rich content forms for items (think of Joomla! articles with additional fields for article images, videos, image galleries and attachments), nested-level categories, tags, comments, a system to extend the item base form with additional fields (similar to CCK for those acquainted with Drupal), a powerful plugin API to extend item, category and user forms, ACL, frontend editing, sub-templates & a lot more!

Using K2, you can transform your Joomla! website to a news/magazine site with author blogs, product catalogs, work portfolio, knowledge base, download/document manager, directory listing, event listing & more, all this bundled under one package!

Give K2 a try & you'll instantly love it! It's easy to use and fun to develop websites with! If you need any help or want to contribute to the project, join us at the K2 community.


✔ FEATURES
========================
Since K2 is extensible with additional fields to its base item form, you can easily create category-specific content types, e.g. article, blog post, product page, directory listing.

K2 offers as standard:
- nested-level categories (no section/category restrictions)
- commenting, integrated with Google's reCaptcha & Akismet
- tags
- item image (useful for articles/catalogs)
- image galleries
- videos
- attachments
- user pages (author blogs/user profiles)
- smart ACL for frontend editing
- unique plugin system to extend item, category & user forms
- ajax-based frontend editing
- ajax-based comments moderation
- Google AJAX Search integration
- Rest-like JSON/JSONP content output
- Native advanced SEF options (added in K2 v2.6.4+)

K2 fully supports the Joomla! API, which means all Joomla! plugins will function properly within the K2 component & modules, either in the frontend or backend.


✔ AMAZING PERFORMANCE
========================
ImpactWrestling.com, NewsBomb.gr, Gorillaz.com, Groupama Transport, Harvard, the High Court of Australia, MTV Greece, Jaguar Greece are just some of the thousand "big sites" around the world, fully powered by K2.


✔ DEPENDENCIES & LICENSE
========================
To utilize the built-in video & gallery features you need to install AllVideos (free) & Simple Image Gallery Pro, both provided by JoomlaWorks.

K2 is developed by JoomlaWorks & licensed under the GNU/GPL license.


✔ WHAT NEXT?
========================
Try K2! Install it, hit the "import" button to bring your Joomla! articles inside K2, start playing with the component to see the flexibility it provides first-hand. Moreover? You no longer need a dozen of components & even more modules to do things like run a news site or a blog. Drupal & Wordpress have certainly met their match now!

Visit the K2 website & community: http://getk2.org

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2011-11-08
Reviews: 5
I have installed K2 2.5.1 in Joomla 1.7.2 in my local system and also in my online server, but it is not displaying the dashboard. I am using the Joomlart T3 framework for their template JA Teline IV. I purchased the Joomlart membership after watching the recommendation video by Fotis Evangelou. But after installation of K2, the megamenu, headlines module etc. of the template are not working.
I replied my problem to a post in their forum dealing almost the same issue : "K2 items disappear in administrator Joomla! 1.7". But nobody is responding for the past one week.

I want the extension badly if it works as it promises.

My suggestion is that it would be better to have a scheme for paid support so that I can demand it, since these kinds of extensions are used for massive content based portals.
2011-11-06
Reviews: 2
K2 the whole component and its functionality is superb. K2 takes Joomla to the next level. Really happy with its function, power of article creation.

one thing bothers every K2 users is the Search function. Because Search provided by K2 does not work for the following

- cannot search with tags.
but filters the article by tag, when a tag that is displayed below the article is clicked. doesnt return any result when the same is used in search box.

- cannot search with user names
but filters articles by user when username is clicked

- cannot search with category names.

- and I couldnt find any fix for it

apart from this lag K2 is excellent. if developers of K2 improvise the search it would be the best component ever.

used applications
Joomla 1.7.2
K2 2.5.1
2011-11-02
Reviews: 6
The combination of subscribers and users viewing articles and comments - good idea. But, big but, K2 manages all of the articles and not related to articles of JOOMLA, so we must accept articles only from the application, and if working with multiple applications in various fields it is a problem. In addition, adding a article is problematic, and I could not for a long time to add new article.
the pop up window for new item looks bad .
Too bad, tha total is a good application.
Very difficult to get help.
In summary the application is good only for those who need just only that, his flexibility with other applications is very low. And if you could get more help at all that was excellen
Owner's reply

Dear "ginatnoy", K2 is a lot more flexible that the default Joomla! article system. In fact, the new Joomla! 1.7 release has been significantly influenced by K2 in many points, e.g. the use of "featured" articles, the use of "sub-templates" in the component and modules etc. The true difference remains however: K2 is still more flexible.

You have probably not understood K2's value yet. I recommend you dive into Joomla! a bit more and when your needs grow, then have a second look at K2...

2011-10-27
Reviews: 7
Simple, working good, really complete.
2011-10-27
Reviews: 1
just another "good looking extension ! the idea itself is good, the features just don't fit the really. No extra field can be used to filter content, unless you pay for it, and the result is not that good. Extra fields types cannot be edited, enhanced. You can't even cross categories, make sub-categories or add level inside an article. Stucked again, just like Joomla basic's article management. K2 IS NOT CSS compliant and goes way back in history in term of standards. Well, it's free ? ok. Should I write a review that says "great job" ? No because I won't help users who see's everywhere the great marketing adds, the good looking site. Oh and if you planned to ask question to support : make yourself to the idea that you be a master in everything. Answers will come with a very few explanation. So long K2. Do you you promised, or just go away !
Owner's reply

I really wonder... Did you even install K2? Cause if you did, you'd certainly see (to be more precise, it would poke your eye out) that K2 features NESTED level categories. So your claim that you cannot make sub-categories is utterly false.

So are your other claims that extra fields cannot be edited, K2 is not CSS compliant and other crappy comments.

Jeeez, how do such reviews pass on from JED control?

2011-09-28
Reviews: 1
Great addition to Joomla. Makes it possible to build even better sites with Joomla. I used it for multiple sites already. Thanks guys!
Eagerly waiting for the stable release for Joomla 1.7 :)
2011-09-27
Reviews: 2
this is a very good content extension and it brings various features to Joomla!1.5 like extrafields, category plugins ecc.

but, I think it's time to release the J!1.7 version, we are all waiting for it! :)

Good job guys. ;)
2011-09-21
Reviews: 1
The potentiality of Joomla increases exponentially! I appreciate a lot the Extra Fields and the way you can filter articles by those. It's a bit complicated but just due to the features it has. Now I would say, Joomla without K2 is like a bycycle without pedals..
2011-09-18
Reviews: 1
For my latest site I needed commenting, social integration, smart photo resizing between items/article (in the component and module areas), smarter, and better tagging. K2 has all this out of the box, and is very powerful. It does require time to learn and set up for clients however, as all the features 'sit within k2', and the templates used will almost certainly require some tinkering to get it 'just right' for your site. I am glad I chose it.
2011-09-17
Reviews: 6
It is underdeveloped at this time, it is not user friendly, it very difficult to understand how create articles, it is easy to install but not at all easy once that is done, do not try this unless you have a tech person handy, I never got the articles to display correctly and it caused me to screw up the main article system already installed.
Owner's reply

Some misunderstandings on your review...

The K2 workflow is almost identical to the core Joomla! article system. Of course, it does not mess up with existing Joomla! articles (and that's the point in the first place). So if something happened to your Joomla! articles, that's your fault. K2 can only import Joomla! articles, it cannot write back to them.

K2 is of course actively developed. Don't forget it powers some of the biggest Joomla! sites worldwide.

2011-09-13
Reviews: 1
Hello All: Even though K2 may be a very nice extension, I want to warn those that are trying to convert large sites to K2. Most shared servers will only allow 30 seconds to perform the conversion of articles, etc. If your site is large, it will not convert in time and error out. There is no option to convert portions of the site at a time yet. Therefore, you may have to wait until that feature is added or a work around created. I posted this issue twice on the support site but nobody has replied with an answer to get around this problem yet. Thanks!
Owner's reply

If you run a large website, you are obvious using a hosting company/server that "supports" such a site. If that's the case, it's easy to tweak your server and avoid any import timeouts. In any case, importing can be simple if you do the process "locally".

99,9% of sites importing their Joomla content articles into K2 will not have any issue...

2011-08-01
Reviews: 2
I would have gave this an excellent rating, however there has been limited information about upgrading to Joomla! 1.6+

I love this component and use it on almost all my sites. That's the problem! Ive became accustom to this component, now some of my clients require functions of J 1.6+ What am I to do? Upgrade to 1.6+ and re submit all articles? Help JW, Help!!!
2011-07-29
Reviews: 2
This component is a must in many of my sites, and now there are many extensions for it.

I use it for blogs. I would prefer joomla-k2 than wordpress. K2 is very powerful component, I think that I have used only the 30-40% of it.

Thanks to Joomlaworks.
2011-07-13
Reviews: 29
Very useful component when you want to create advanced content with parameters instead of using templates for Joomla Articles. Component should have more types of custom fields and nice manager for images uploaded to gallery to be excellent.
2011-06-14
Reviews: 12
I'm a site builder and I use this extension on all of my sites.
2011-06-09
Reviews: 1
This was exactly what i was looking for and it's free! i design plenty of magazine portals and this by far was the best....there's only one problem! 95% of my site using k2 have bugs after i submitted over 200 articles this is really frustrating me because i love this component and now i'm limited!
2011-06-01
Reviews: 8
All the best.
Can´t find words how useful is this extension.

Code is very easy to read, and tweak. Template overide is excellent. Wish only this onecssperK2category would be a core feature. So we don´t depend of one person outside developers circuit.

Then, i know that primary goal is to make K2 fast, pageload, queries, etc..And i see many "open doors" to insert a plenty of new options and functionalities in K2. Just to play with settings for images (per one category) is enormous.

Good work, very good work.
2011-05-24
Reviews: 3
Very good extension, but version for joomla 1.6 is not available. Some bugs are if you use this in combination with sef components, i test with many - every time problems with encoding of links to tags in k2.
Owner's reply

We have tested K2 with the most popular SEF component in the Joomla! community, sh404SEF, and it works flawlessly. We also work closely with the sh404SEF to quickly adjust any changes to their codebase.

Regarding K2 and Joomla! 1.6... Version 2.5 will bring full support for 1.6. You can test drive the beta version of 2.5 (called SVN) on getk2.org (see link bottom right).

2011-04-11
Reviews: 2
i've been using K2 in most of my projects; from blog to staff directory. it's kinda hard to use at first, but once your know the basic concept, you can do so many things with this component. it's far from perfect, but it's the best cck for joomla.
2011-04-02
Reviews: 15
With some programming skills you can really make the most out of Joomla with this component!
Page 6 of 13