The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


K2 Popular ComponentModulePlugin

The powerful awarded content extension for Joomla! with more than 1.2 million downloads so far (and counting!)


✔ WHAT IS K2?
========================
K2 provides an out-of-the box integrated solution featuring rich content forms for items (think of Joomla! articles with additional fields for article images, videos, image galleries and attachments), nested-level categories, tags, comments, a system to extend the item base form with additional fields (similar to CCK for those acquainted with Drupal), a powerful plugin API to extend item, category and user forms, ACL, frontend editing, sub-templates & a lot more!

Using K2, you can transform your Joomla! website to a news/magazine site with author blogs, product catalogs, work portfolio, knowledge base, download/document manager, directory listing, event listing & more, all this bundled under one package!

Give K2 a try & you'll instantly love it! It's easy to use and fun to develop websites with! If you need any help or want to contribute to the project, join us at the K2 community.


✔ FEATURES
========================
Since K2 is extensible with additional fields to its base item form, you can easily create category-specific content types, e.g. article, blog post, product page, directory listing.

K2 offers as standard:
- nested-level categories (no section/category restrictions)
- commenting, integrated with Google's reCaptcha & Akismet
- tags
- item image (useful for articles/catalogs)
- image galleries
- videos
- attachments
- user pages (author blogs/user profiles)
- smart ACL for frontend editing
- unique plugin system to extend item, category & user forms
- ajax-based frontend editing
- ajax-based comments moderation
- Google AJAX Search integration
- Rest-like JSON/JSONP content output
- Native advanced SEF options (added in K2 v2.6.4+)

K2 fully supports the Joomla! API, which means all Joomla! plugins will function properly within the K2 component & modules, either in the frontend or backend.


✔ AMAZING PERFORMANCE
========================
ImpactWrestling.com, NewsBomb.gr, Gorillaz.com, Groupama Transport, Harvard, the High Court of Australia, MTV Greece, Jaguar Greece are just some of the thousand "big sites" around the world, fully powered by K2.


✔ DEPENDENCIES & LICENSE
========================
To utilize the built-in video & gallery features you need to install AllVideos (free) & Simple Image Gallery Pro, both provided by JoomlaWorks.

K2 is developed by JoomlaWorks & licensed under the GNU/GPL license.


✔ WHAT NEXT?
========================
Try K2! Install it, hit the "import" button to bring your Joomla! articles inside K2, start playing with the component to see the flexibility it provides first-hand. Moreover? You no longer need a dozen of components & even more modules to do things like run a news site or a blog. Drupal & Wordpress have certainly met their match now!

Visit the K2 website & community: http://getk2.org

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2010-06-26
Reviews: 8
I have given up trying to find the best joomla e-commerce extension as none of those available here are good enough to stand up alone and offer enough tools to display and manage a catalogue of products.
Instead, I decided to combine the use of K2 for the catalogue and Tienda for the shopping cart. So far, so good. I would highly recommend K2 for an e-commerce website.
2010-06-26
Reviews: 1
I have been looking for an extension that gives me more options with the actual content management with sections and categories and found this.

It was generally a pain in the ass to setup. There is just too much in here that I will never use or even want to use but am required too. The user groups and extra modules needed for everything to work right are really just unnecessary.

Theres enough crap in here to call it its own CMS, but wait a minute Joomla is the CMS I want to use. I'm trying not to hand all of the joomla functionality over to some 3rd party extension with horrible documentation.
Owner's reply

Constructive criticism to the max, LOL. Anyway, you're obviously missing the point. So farewell to your ventures onto finding the right content management whatever for you.

2010-06-15
Reviews: 10
What a rock-solid component K2 is. I really can't say enough about it. When I have issues with it, I post to the forum and get help - it's as easy as that.

There are some who may experience similar issues that I have with this component, but it's really just a learning curve that takes patience to latch onto.

Great work by all who developed this product and a big thank you!!
2010-06-07
Reviews: 1
This is an absolutely amazing component. I recently came across it when the standard Joomla articles just fell short. This combines many different fantastic content add-ons like ratings, comments, author bio, and more to create an absolutely excellent component. It's a part of almost all of my websites now.

Only minor issues that I could come up with so far are that items are not able to be placed in multiple categories, and the css for the overall layouts is a bit spaced out and way too big for my liking. I've modified a lot of the CSS files, so it's working great now.

Overall it's a fantastic program. I'm so glad for it.
2010-06-07
Reviews: 10
For those of you that are considering downloading K2, please do so.

For those of you that instant trash this extension because you cant get it to work, then consider these options first.

1) Go to http://simon.getk2.org for extensive K2 documents, guides, tips and tricks.
2) K2 has a very vibrant user and support community. Pop in to http://getk2.org and ask a question.
3) More specifically, you can now Ask Simon, the creator of simon.getk2.org
4) With those three pieces of support alone, you can easily gain access to dedicated support if you need it.

As with all extensions there is a learning curve, but if your stuck and you dont ask questions, then you will never get the answers.
2010-06-06
Reviews: 8
Just incredible what can be done with it. The only limit here is imagination. Guys you rock!
2010-06-03
Reviews: 1
I would like to congratulate the whole joomlaworks team including the lead developer Fotis for the best "Joomla! component of 2010" ever. I've fallen in love with K2 and I use it all in my joomla websites since that moment. Keep improving it more and more. Best regards from Hungary! Robert
2010-05-31
Reviews: 7
Not worth the headache.
Authors email shows up under the article. Allows for spam. Couldn't find a way to remove it.
Installed the other plugins that work with it, however, they still showed up as not installed in K2. So yeah uhh... Epic Fail....
Owner's reply

Let's see...
1. The author email can be hidden of course if you'd saw the related option in the K2 component parameters. It is also "cloaked" as we say in Joomla! lingo, which means that even if it shows up, bots cannot pickup the email address.
2. When you install a K2 plugin (which is a regular Joomla! plugin, that's why it's called "plugin" and not "pepper" or "addon" or whatever) you have to go into the Extensions >> Plugin Manager and simply enable it. I'm sure most K2 extension developers clearly define that.

Last but not least, this "headache" has just won the J!OSCARS award for component of the year... What where people thinking, right?

2010-05-25
Reviews: 1
I installed both K2 and Simple Image Gallery Free just fine, but immediately ran into what appears to be a problem dating back to last year. The two, though made by the same company, have problems recognizing each other. After a couple hours of searching and trying the fixes suggested by other users, I'm looking for another component.
Owner's reply

First of all, both can be installed on your Joomla site, but K2 requires SIG Pro for the moment if you want to make use of proper galleries within K2. That doesn't mean that K2 will not function without SiG Pro, it's an addition, that's all.

Aside that, your comment is not really helpful. Neither you mention any specific problem, nor you're suggesting anything. All in all, pointless...

I really wonder why the JED team published this comment... if it's of any use, really...

2010-05-21
Reviews: 8
that's cool i really need it for my site
2010-05-16
Reviews: 9
I have been using K2 in some capacity since beta. I thought it was pretty good early on, but JoomlaWorks has really done a great job implementing the features that the community wants. The latest version is a fantastic replacement for the Joomla com_content. It works well as a CCK, a blog, or anything else you can imagine.

There are a few features that would be nice, but they seem to be coming in the next version which is already in beta.

Overall this is a great piece of software and one that I use on virtually all of the sites I build.
2010-05-08
Reviews: 1
A great catalog tool with many useful features and a clean front and backend. Documentation may be limited but anyone with a decent understanding of the native J! section/category/article paradigm shouldn't run into too much trouble.

I'm very happy with the templating ability. The CSS is well written and commented and once you set up your own K2 style it's easy to get in and customize extensively.

Extra fields are a nice feature and combined with some CSS edits for the front end can make for very convenient data entry for your front end authors.

Tagging feature is also great and helps a lot for intelligent searches.

So far the ONLY really issue I have is that unlike systems such as VirtueMart, you CANNOT have the same item (product, article, etc.) in multiple categories. This is a big problem for catalog sites that want to reference the same piece of information in multiple locations for ease/method of search.

I really hope this feature can be added soon!
2010-04-12
Reviews: 1
An excellent addition to Joomla, with an great community full of support and wealth of knowledge. I use it on my personal site and have recomended a redesign of my companies site to incorporate this as its so powerful and user friendly.
2010-04-03
Reviews: 8
Amazing! K2 adds so much functionality and new features it's hard to describe. It's like Joomla on steroids. Check it out!
2010-03-30
Reviews: 1
Since K2 appeared, i have used in many of my clients websites and websites from my own. With V 2.2 a big change was made and now it's so flexible that you can use K2 for almost any kind of website. The CSS in the template folder its now another way to customize more the look and feel of the component without loosing its source files.

The support from the developers its also great (considering its a FREE and Open Source component) and the community behind is creating new plugins each day.

Im really glad that someone comitted to create such a wonderfull extension for the Joomla Community.

Thanks a lot guys!
2010-03-28
Reviews: 3
The best component I have ever seen. Great job. It has a lot of options, so you can twist your layout as you want. The only one minor disadventage is that you can not limit words when you do "Latest items from (one or more) users or categories". I hope in the next update it will be added as an option! Thans a lot again!
2010-03-16
Reviews: 1
I discovered this plugin less than a week ago and have since rebuilt my site around it. I won't name names but K2 replaced two other commercial products on my site (a comment system and a blogging system) as well as the built-in content system. Out of the box, K2 has virtually everything a publishing web site could need. This begs the question: Why wasn't all this stuff in Joomla in the first place? All developers and wanna-be developers should give this a try. However, non-technical people might want to stay away, especially if your time is limited. Although the free support forum is pretty good, there is almost no formal documentation for this product.

One more thing. Someone mentioned below that you will "probably" have to buy add-on products for videos and photo galleries. That's only half true. You will need add-ons, but they are totally free and open source.
2010-03-09
Reviews: 1
Unless you are willing to spend hours and hours just figuring K2 out on your own, don't bother installing and using K2. Even the quick start guide did not make a lot of sense unless you already know the K2 lingo. Too bad, because I thought this would really be my answer, but I don't have the weeks it will take to understand how to use and deploy it.
2010-03-08
Reviews: 2
It is a free extension...at least it says it is...

But If you whant to use images, video, etc... You will probably have to pay for one of Joomla Works compenents to do that...

I tought this was ready out of the box. But if you whant it with all it's functions you will have to buy other plugins...

But the thing which dissapointed me most was the fact that they do not have a "decent" search module. If you need some sort of serach module to fiulter results by specific extra fields... Just forget this.

I had to pay more that 100 euros to a joomla programer just to do that. At the end of the day I got it working and I would give it an excelent. But not before I've spent more that 150 euros between freelance programars and extra joomworks plugins...

It is unbeleivable such a "modern" cck does not have at least a decent search module!!! I feel it so unforgivable that I give K2 a "Average" Rating.

I just hope the new ZOO, wich will also be free, has a decent search module, so I can substitute my K2...
***Editors Note***: K2 Does have a built in search module as standard.
2010-03-01
Reviews: 4
Extension is really great with all the "extended" features that offers...BUT!

One of the reasons I wanted to have this extension was for my members being able to use the K2 interface on the frontend, but if you are using Joomfish this is not an option.
Owner's reply

The coming 2.3 version will enable frontend editing functionality with Joom!Fish on. Those with access to our SVN server can grab a 2.3 SVN release now and take advantage of these changes.

http://code.google.com/p/joomlaworks/source/checkout

If you are a Mac user, you can download a friendly Mac application we created to ease the process of downloading the latest SVN release of K2 right on your Mac. This version can be downloaded here:
http://joomlaworks.googlecode.com/files/GetK2LatestFromSVN.app.zip

Page 9 of 13