- This extension requires registration to download.
The approval workflow (including email notifications) provides a series of features which are very important for a daily usage like: view my articles, view pending articles, view article rejection reason, etc. This workflow includes also for the administrator a very easy and fast frontend approval system.
Administrators can set allowed HTML tags, number of links per article, word count restriction, etc. A Resource Box its provided for the author in order to make the publishing process faster.
Article Manager also includes a Notify System where the administrator receive an mail each time an article is pending for approval and the author upon publication.
For a detailed product description please check our Documentation section and our Demo Server (you can login at the frontend as well at backend area by using the login buttons for the different user types).
FURTHER DETAILED INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE ON THE PRODUCT HOMEPAGE!
- better frontend article management
- working frontend approval system enhancing the editorial workflow
- group management integration
- viewing and editing Articles waiting for approval
-rejection snippets, bad words list
- completely out-dated template design (tables etc.) - templates not suitable with responsive layouts
- templates not suitable with multi column layouts
- important features available in the joomla standard edit view are simply missing (like image management, for instance)
- no language packs and files (only
- weak css styling
- slow performance
- very high price
- insufficient customer support
So in the end this extension is not living up to its promises. Hopefully it will competely redesigned in the future. Because it has enough potential to become a "must have" for editorial focussed website.
It's very strange that you acquired a product for an older Joomla version, but you expect it to look like a J!3.x product. It is unfair that you felt the need for a bad review, just because you wanted some customizations that we could not provide due to our current schedule.
The support by the way, is perfect! If you need help with customising or configuring they help right away and with small tweaks they even write the code for you, if you ask nicely:)
They seem to have a wide range of products starting even from joomla 1.0, i may be using them for another project soon.
Found another one that seemed simple, like the Article Factory, bought it, but it caused some problems with displaying on the site. Waited about a week for them to solve the issue, then gave up.
Got Article Factory last night, set it up this morning, tested it. Was unhappy that the JCE editor didn't show in the front end, because I wanted people to be able to format their articles, add photos, etc..
Went to their forum, read several different posts including answers from their staff, had the problem solved in seconds.
I'm new to Joomla, so I want my extensions 'basic' as far as setup, but I also want them to work as described.
This one, so far, has met my expectations.
Support keeps telling me that I can't log onto their site because of a sql problem on my side. Really? I'm on a college campus and tried to log on with over 20 machines in the labs in addition to my linux laptop and my windows laptop.
At this point I just want my money back.
I really didn't care I couldn't log into the website if we could have handled the issues through email. But it's not cool when "The factory" website is not working and you get nasty via emails and refuse to help.
The sad thing is that I estimate that if you had just answered my question the first time we could have avoided 4 months of emails and I would probably had a glowing review for you component and your company.
I am sorry for the problems you had logging into our site.
As you know, we solved them as soon as we could (unfortunately not before you posted this review), and the problems were caused due to several attempts to log in with a wrong password (the system did automatically ban you for some hours)
These things can happen, and we tried to solve this issue as quick as possible.
I am glad that there were no issues with the product itself, and that we could find a common ground in the meantime.
Thank you for your review and feedback,
The Factory Team
The developers are awesome. They fix bugs and add features frequently. The best part is that it works with ease.
You can restrict categories to different user groups, assign users as article reviewers, connect it to community builder and attach user resource boxes. It also will send out emails to your authors letting them know their article is awaiting approval, was approved and reject emails when you find problems with their article allowing them to fix it and resubmit.
To my knowledge no other submission component has all these features. Most other do not have resource boxes or an article management facility on back-end to allow the admin to approve or reject articles.
If you want to develop a Joomla site that is like all the other article directory scripts out there I wouldn't look at anything other than Article Factory Manager. Its your all in one solution.
It may not have the ratings like the others and that's because it is commercial and they have their own support forum. I want them to add more advanced features to it so I wanted to give you some incentive to check it out because I think many people overlook this great extension.
I guarantee you won't look back once you try it out. Prove me wrong I dare you, But since you won't I will just say I told you so!!!