The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

Post by Email Component

New: Added are Video import and Scraper functions, CSV import functions and Kunena 3 support! Post by Email support SSL and attachments, can post on User Walls in JomSocial, in Kunena, K2, Ignite Gallery and Agora Forum, can post in selected by id topic in Kunena, can recognize exact match name of topic and automatically reply to right topic in Kunena.

Post by Email for Joomla automatically post in joomla websites, retrieves all your emails from a mailbox and automatically place them as content in Joomla!

Post by Email allows sending content to your Joomla via email or cellphone and can work with many configured email addresses.

New options:
- Ignite Gallery support in Joomla 3 version;
- Video import and Scraper options;
- Iphone mode setting;
- Publish up date;
- Sender filter (allowed and forbidden emails filter);
- You can have single email parsed into multiple articles. It retrieves the articles author, title and intro for each article in email so that each article is published separately.
- Duplicate content protection function for com_content;
- Supported are pictures and others attached files;
- Option to configure when in content will be posted attachment. Post anywhere in content tag with name of attachment and attachment will be posted at this place in HTML code.
- Support for ssl encryption and base64 encoded e-mails. If received email is encoded, is automatically decoded.
- Strip HTML tags option - to strip or not html in email content.
- Allowed HTML tags - to strip only selected html tags.
- Subscribing email address for Kunena forum;
- Component can post in selected by id topic in Kunena forum. If email is with same subject (include Re:, Fw:, Re, Fwd, etc.) email going automatically to the same thread.
- Automatically subscribe to thread email poster and Allow posts by guests (Kunena only);

Post by Email standart features (every option is individual for every email):
- Associate email address with a specific section and category.
- Where to put content: In Joomla content, in K2, on JomSocial Walls, in Kunena or in Agora forum.
- If post in forum, in which forum email will be posted.
- If is checked to post in JomSocial, on wall of which user content will be posted.
- In which content section email will be published.
- In which content section email will be published.
- Title of the content-subject line in email.
- Set users with specific email addresses.
- Specify specific Joomla category based on receiving email address or based on sending email address .
- Default author alias of content.
- Publish content automatically.
- Publish content on Frontpage.
- Option to delete processed email.
- Cronjobs to automate all.

Report Extension




Reviews: 1
If you're looking for a way to have others email articles to a preset email address, and then from there you can manually import them from the Joomla admin, this component works just fine.

However, if you want a fully automated system that will post articles as soon as they are emailed (technically within a minute or two), you have to set up a cron job on your server (they do provide instructions), and this cron job has to function properly (if your host is worth a darn they will test it for you), and then even if the cron job does function (as my hosts confirmed), the component may still not work, at which point you have to rely on spotty email correspondence and a developers site that is 90% in Russian.

I would love for this to have worked right out of the box, but even after several emails back and forth, I am stuck with a component that can only be used manually. It sure seems like there must be a more reliable way to accomplish what this component promises.
Owner's reply

Isurfedthere, you have only one support question in support forum ( and inside your request you only want to add one new feature to our component. Is not good to post here such a review without any support request to fix your problem (if you have real problem).

Reviews: 2
I needed a tool to automatically publish HTML emails as content. This seemed to fit the bill, but after installing, I could not get it to work properly.

I contacted the developer and received prompt and specific support regarding our php setup. They troubleshooted it for me and advised me on what settings our server needed to have. I could not have done it without their help.

Works perfectly now!
Thank You!!!
Reviews: 1
Very simple but very useful tool.I'm lucky to have purchased this extension.
The most fantastic part is the assistance offered by PBM team. I appreciate their friendly and co-operative interaction with their customers. I had a very bad experience before with a similar tool published here, which I purchased but couldn't even get it to work due to lack of guidance.
I advice every body here to try this extention.. Thanks PBM Team for this fantastic tool, and thanks dear pavelKukov for your continuous help.
Reviews: 1
I love this extension. It's a huge timesaver for me, since I manage 4 sites which are updated daily.

I found one bug, however, that makes me less productive - if I email more than one article to post, it will only post the last one, and the others appear to be lost. I hope this can be fixed soon.

I also am quite interested in some of the features he noted, such as iPhone mode, but I don't know how to access the settings for that. I wish there was better documentation.

If it weren't for those two issues, however, I'd give it an excellent rating. Even still, I use it almost every day.
Reviews: 2
This is a very promising extension and exactly what I was looking for. However, I didn't manage to get any support. The developer offered to help, but then ignored my six follow up requests over a two week period. I offered to pay for their time on top of the extension's price, but received no response. Then I asked them if they could refer me to a third party that could help, but received no reply.

The extension is now useless and I have no way of getting support. I would ask for a refund but I suspect I would not get a response to that either.
Owner's reply

I don't know exact case, but if you ask for support in last week, i can say only one: we are overloaded and our support is slow. If you want to help you, send me email with your problem and we wil do the best to resolve your problem in next days.

Reviews: 2
I am coming to this extension after using MMS blog for joomla 1.5. Now, on my Joomla 2.5 site this was the only option with the same characteristics. It works after 2 hours of setting up - for some one with little experience. You have to set a cron job to make it run automatically (that was easy, instructions are on the support page).
On the cons side
1. There are no modules - something like 'latest images' or 'latest posts'
2. It only attaches images. Would be nice if it would attach youtube or sound cloud scripts for example.
Otherwise, I am happy wiht it, it works.
Owner's reply

hhproducer, you can attach in imported from email content not only images. You can use pdf, zip, rar or any other document - you have setting in component.

Reviews: 7
This extension provided just what I was looking for, an easy to setup and use piece of software that did what it advertised. The developer was quick to respond on his forum and added a feature request in a single day. Money well spent. Works well with both articles and in Kunena.
Reviews: 1
This is worth the money. They give very good response on request. They added my request for the extension in about a day. There is just a medium good "guide/documentation" for this extension, but I did manage to get through with it. Post by Email works great!
Reviews: 1
Excellent program! Most things that I need, I could get with this program.
Reviews: 3
This extension is well worth it. Very well made, I tried others and was never impressed and to be honest when I bought it, it was not yet completely finished, but the developer literally added every thing I asked of him and fixed every bug as though he was doing it just for me. Many of the lower ratings you see above I believe are because the extension initially did not support html emails (this they fixed for me!), now though the extension is very polished. I can't thank them enough and highly recommend this extension.

I will warn you, the developers website is half russian (I think) and you can get lost there. But the install is straight forward and it handles pretty much everything like a charm. Also the documentation isn't all that great, but most Joomla users will have no probs.

So you all know, I bought the pro version.
Owner's reply

Tekno_boy, thank you! We alway listen our users and in this way is just added new integration of "Post by Email" with Ignite Gallery. We are not russian, our site is 50% on Bulgarian, 50% in English. For this extension not exist Pro version - this was a old title from Joomla 1.5 years, is very popular name and is added to product description to find them in Google. Now product name is only "Post by Email" for Joomla - this is actual product that support both J15 and J25. Older version is "Post by Email Old" - only for J 1.5 in combination with very old versions of Kunena and Jomsocial.

Reviews: 3
The product is very good so five star. Documentation is a little sparse in the site: it should be gathered all in one doc to make it easier. Still, it's there.
I wished they clean a little the site: many of the conditions are sparse and not immediate to go through - but all needed is clearly stated.

Support - rated 4 stars. At the beginning I was a little angry for download rules: only 2 download for the price paid instead of the usual 1 year. After discussion, team accepted to change and relax rules bringing this to 4 times, so covering a year. Considering reaction, I improved my ratings.
Reviews: 12
We run a Joomla 2.5 Community Builder 1.8 driven site and a kunena forum.
The idea was to have certain mails published in the forum using a certain user account.
Post by Email does exactly that. It is well worth the price.
Is there anything that could be improved? The component itself "just" works. A+
There is no documentation within the install package, while it does exist in their support forum. If you look for it, you will find it.
Our forum is a private forum, so the Cron Job needed a login to work. We contacted the support team who sorted the issue within HOURS! A+

So the only thing I would recommend the developers should think about:
Stop answering support mails on sunday and spend more time with your family :)

Thank you for your excellent job!
Reviews: 7
That extension save me a lot of time and headache as one of my client wanted to update his site remotely and adding a new PDF every day that would be downloadable from within an article. The support team found the way to do it very fast and sent me an updates version of the component in less than 24 hours!
Now that's what I call support!
Thank you guys.
Reviews: 1
DID NOT WORK FOR my joomla 1.7 and it was a waste of money and time!
The developer tried for a full week to help but could not resolve the issue. Spent over 5 hours in correspondence, creating ftps, temp admin access, testing, playing with different configuration, etc. and at the end it still would not work.
No refund at the end of this and Paypal does not protect non-tangible items.
issues were:
1- One email gets posted and the rest would not post anymore so i had to delete the account and recreate it only to pull another email

2- When the 1 Email was posted, the title did not make sense, even after after turning their recommended instructions on and off

3- Password field saved in is in plain text format!!! big security risk!

Stay away or look for another extension.
Owner's reply

About point 1: You know that we test in your admin. Extension work with one of our email boxes, with other gmail based also, only with your email not. I dont know what problem have your host and email box. You can use other email, right?
About point 2: Subject of email going to title of content item. Joomla 1.6/1.7 have duplicate content protection based on titl alias. You have tested many times with only one message and only one title. Would not work in this way.
About point 3: Yes, you have right for this point, will be fixed in next week.

Reviews: 8
This software have all necessary parameters to give you full control over posting and is automated. Using of this extension is perfect for big communities to give users possibility to post from your phone or frome email. I have over 1000 registered users in my forum and they are very satisfied with this. Continue developing this great product!
Reviews: 2
The application is very good, really worth to try to publish it. In the beginning it difficult to work with him, but then I read the documentation of the forum. And you can really save a lot of unnecessary work. I congratulate you guys for a job well done!
Owner's reply

Thank You for Your good review! We work to make component more and more flexible and will add new features to him. I recommend You to try higher version that support SSL and attachments - version for Joomla 1.7 that have separate parsers for different site types pending in next week.

Reviews: 7
This extension is great. Thanks to the authors!
I've applied my many sites.
Reviews: 4
I do SEO optimization. A lot of it. With the Pro version of the component, which is quite better than the free one. When I write an article all I have to do is post it to an email address, known only to me, and here it goes: it is posted in all my J1.5 sites.

It not only supports HTML - I have full control upon which tags to allow in my content and which tags gets stripped (when importing RSS like e-mails). It supports attached files, so I am able to put some images on the right place in my articles! I do love this option!

Frankly I've never tested with Kunena or other joomla based forum engine. Nevertheless it does what I need it to do - it makes my life easier saving me time and efforts.
Reviews: 2
I'm giving two stars rather than one star because it was my mistake to buy this...I should have made use of the demo site to test the functionality. It's a shame there's no demo site for the pro version though.

If you want plain text only article submission by email, this seems to do the job - it doesn't seem to handle html formated emails well, stripping the code but leaving a few random characters.

I had hoped you could control the category/section choices through codes in the email body or title, but it requires multiple mailboxes if you want to submit to different categories and sections.

The cron job set-up might be a stumbling block for some users...I don't think that's really the fault of this component though, Joomla itself probably needs a scheduling framwework...

The English in the support forums is pretty hard work far as I can understand only the pro version supports collecting emails from Gmail mailboxes (because of the bespoke ports and SSL traffic encryption), but I couldn't get it to successfully import an email from a non-Gmail mailbox, when the email was sent to it from Gmail either...not even when using the developers own test mailbox - it inserted the title but stripped the body text. Gmail seems to encode (not encrypt!!!) the email such that the component can't read it properly. I couldn't seem to explain my issues in simple enough English to find a solution...just kept getting told that encryption wasn't supported and to read the product descriptions

Responses on the forum were quick though, but ultimately I personally found that the level of English was inadequate for my support needs.

It's also worth noting that their licensing policy seems to have changed since the comment below from "Seeraj" - once you've bought the component you're then only allowed two further downloads.

I think it has potential and if your needs are pretty basic, you probably won't be disappointed.

Personally, I was disappointed, but mostly with myself I guess...I could have avoided wasting my money by properly testing the component on the developer's demo site.
Reviews: 7
I would like to work with this extension but can't get any reply or input via forum or email contact to determine how it manages unsolicited email to account, which loads all content. Hopefully we'll get some feedback. The email is an important issue.
Owner's reply

We answer of all questions in our support forum, but question about this is not received. You can post Your questions in support forum here:

About unsolicited email: extension can work with many email boxes. If you want to post only your own content, use secret name for mail box that is not known from another person. This work in exact way in wordpress and any other cms supporting post by email. Instead of this Your idea to import emails only from certain authors is good and will be included in next version.

Page 1 of 2