The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

JEvents Popular ComponentModulePlugin

This well known and loved Events Calendar for Joomla. JEvents consists of a Joomla component and a number of modules and plugins to manage and display your events on your website. JEvents is translated into 37 languages (with more tranlsations added regularily) so its probably available in your language.

* One-off Events and complex repeating patterns of events can be created and viewed in an attractive calendar and a variety of list formats
* Multiple design layouts possible
* Fully compatible with Joomla MVC framework
* Ical imports/exports
* Repeat exception handling
* Events can be placed in multiple categories and calendar views can be customised to show all or some of these categories
* Layout editing tool to perfect the presentation on your site - you can even customise the event editing page.
* Optional checking for overlapping events globally or on a category specific basis

* Mini-calendar module (jevents_cal) which gives a quick overview of events which can be placed on any page
* Latest events module (jevents_latest) which gives a highly configurable summary of upcoming, recently created or popular events
* Events legend (jevents_legend) - displayed alongside the component gives you a summary of event categories and an easy way to limit the events shown to specific categories
* Filter module allows you to filter/search the events being displayed using a variety of criteria

* A search plugin that enables the global Joomla search to return results from the events calendar

JEvents 3.1 is now available for general download - this is a Joomla 2.5-3.0 native component that takes JEvents to the next level. The old version of JEvents (2.2.9) for Joomla 1.5 is still available to download too.

Note that version 3.1.24 onwards removes the blue information icon linking to the JEvents website.

Report Extension




Reviews: 13
My title says it all. If you need a calendar, you should use this. Plenty of features. Good support. It works.
Reviews: 2
To be very honest, this is by far the best extension I've ever used and purchased (gold membership) with the best support I've ever experienced.

We are creating a platform for events, locations and bands to support local music, and I never thought that there's ONE existing solution for all that, which I can customize to my wishes so freely, it is simply amazing.

In my eyes JEvents is developed somebody who knows better than others (e.g. SobiPro - I hated it). Of course, when you want to have everything exactly how you wish it to be, you'll need some CSS skills and understanding, but with those overrides it's so well made...

The support always helps you very very kindly in every situation you're going through. Every beginners question is treated like any pro question, you always feel that your subspription money is taken so seriously and kindly unlike from every other support I've ever experienced. Support answers from "directly" to normally "some little hours" so you can always be sure to go on..

I never used the free version, I purchased gold-membership after some pre-sales questions in their (superb!) forum, and I never regretted it. I'm really thankful for this solution as it makes my private dream project possible and affordable. Thank you Geraint and TonyP for everything.

Best Regards,
Reviews: 1
JEvents already in the free version provides outstanding features. It fully supports Joomla 3 ACL and multiple categories, which was the main reason for me using it.

Surely, I haven't grasped half of all that is possible with JEvents. Considering that even more addons are available to subscribers I should think there's nothing that this extension cannot do.

Also, I can only praise their forum support. Even in the free forum it is very kind, fast and helpful.

Altogether - thank you kindly, folks! Keep up your great work!
Reviews: 1
We've used various versions of this product over the past few years with great success. It has proved to be a great favorite with our customers.
When our Joomla inexperience shows we have found their support and assistance to be exemplary.
We thoroughly recommend this product.
Reviews: 1
I needed more than a calendar. I needed an event package that could handle all aspects of creating and managing an ongoing meeting/event service for my community. Jevents provided options that couldn't be found in other applications - custom templates for various payment arrangements, various payment gateways, location manager so locations can be entered once, saved and used again and more. I'm amazed at how well the group knows their product when it comes to posting questions and getting issues resolved. I recommend this product very highly.
Reviews: 1
Great extension. Until now it was the best out there. And it is free. Many thanks to the developers. Nice job!
Reviews: 2
This component is very powerful, you'll be able to configure all the stuff you need.
And it's free!
After trying a few others, this one works great!
Reviews: 1
I was searching for an event manager for my soccer clubs new website. I'm not a specialist and for me it was very important to be able to see what i get before buying something. So i installed the free version and i liked what i much, that i bought the silver membership. All the additionals you get there are really worth...and the best part is their support: i had some small issues and espacially needed to customize something. They answered very fast all the time and helped me every time the way i needed it! One wish couldn't be fulfilled, but they promised to consider it for the next update! Absolutely excited about their passion!
Reviews: 1
I've been using JEvents for a few years now and I am very happy with it. Support is great, these guys are very fast to help you to solve your problem.
I had a problem with upgrading my website from Joomla 2.5.20 to Joomla 3.3 and I did not see my events in the upgraded website. They suggested to export the events to ical and import them in the upgraded site and that was the solution.
JEvents is simple to use.
Reviews: 5
It was a bit of a learing curve but the support I received from Tony was excellent. And now jEvents works nicely on our church website for room and event bookings.

A very professional system - I can't speak highly enough about jEvents.
Reviews: 1
Great extension that already had most of what we needed.

What impressed me the most is how responsive Geraint and the the team were to incorporate suggestions and develop new features so we are really getting close to have all the functionalities we want which are rather complex.

Great job!
Reviews: 1
I am a complete newbie, just finishing my first joomla site, I needed a calendar extension and JEVENTS was perfect - all the functionality I needed, my language, and easy to use. Fantastic!
Reviews: 5
I have a client who wanted a cosmetically attractive display, complex options for recurring events, and SIMPLE front-end event entry so his customers could enter their own events. A very tough combination. I looked at every possible component/module/package. I even bought a couple. In the end, the flexibility of JEvents (custom fields, custom event entry, and custom display)coupled with their excellent and timely support (and patience with me) won the day.
Reviews: 1
It is a complex extension for events. Calendars, customizable layouts, filters...
And perfect, fast support!
I can only recommend!
Reviews: 1
i decide to use this extension because my old one was not good for joomla 3.0

This extension is easy to use.

i ask for support for a problem of setup and i get anwser in less than 24hours and i get the solution. Very good relation from the support. I recommend this extension
Reviews: 1
When I am trying to upgrade one of the component, there is a problem that prevents the process. I wrote a post regarding this problem and the team replied in hours. The problem is now solved and I am very satisfied. I asked for support a couple days ago and the issue was addressed quickly, too. Good job and please keep it good!
Reviews: 18
JEvents is one of my favourite extensions for a reason. I've been using it for years now and have seen it grow. Support is great, Geraint and Tony are very fast to react to any question and help as long as you need to solve your problem.
The past few years I've been using the paid version, so I can offer my clients events subscription and all the other good stuff. It's well worth it!

The backend gives you endless options to configure and I am very happy with that because I'll avoid coding at any cost ;-)

The one thing that could be improved I guess are the themes, but with a bit of styling that's easy to fix.

I was ashamed to see I hadn't reviewed it yet; it deserves better, so I'll remedie that now :-)

Thanks guys and keep up the good work!
Reviews: 1
I've been using this component for many years now, from the free version to Gold membership. That really says it all: Great addons, excellent support.
Reviews: 2
It does the job well and when you need support, you are not alone in the free forum.
Reviews: 1
Pros of this extension is, that it’s free and they seem to offer good support. Probably, it’s still the best calendar-extension, which you get for free.

The software-developement, however, is a bit, let’s say: maverick. I mean, don’t look a gift horse in the mouth, but the following aspects are huge drawbacks, when you want to customize the component:
* Heavy use of inline-CSS instead of offering a decent class system. It’s a pain to customize the standard-themes
* Not-native admin interface (in the backend.)
* Poor rights management: Support for the native usergroups is lacking at all. This approach is very confusing – in the end you have a completely separated and thus redundant rights structure.
* It’s a huge effort to unravel their file structure and naming conventions (e.g. for creating an override).

Like I said: for a free extension all this is fairly okay! – But I would not be willing to pay anything for this.
Owner's reply

* We are constantly reducing our inline CSS and try only to use it for things like event specific colours. We are always open to suggestions in the support forums to add helpful CSS class and id selectors.
* We use the standard Joomla backend interface
* We offer full Joomla ACL support with an optional ability to manage permissions on a user by user basis if you prefer
* We use the Joomla MVC system for our presentation but with the ability to switch themes - so standard Joomla template overrides work. Because of the ability to switch themes there is one extra folder name in the template override path - we have free documentation articles that explain this and are always happy to answer questions in the support forum.

Page 1 of 20