The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JCal Pro Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

Editor's Note
  • Access to this GNU GPL-licensed archive requires a subscription fee
JCal Pro is a W3C-validated, multi-language events calendar component with a gorgeous, CSS-based front-end display. Feature highlights include, native Joomla! permissioning for event creation/management and event viewing, location management and event geolocation, nested categories, custom fields for events and and event registration, private or public events, WYSIWYG event descriptions, administrative theme installation and management, back-end event management, re-captcha support, an integrated search plugin, feature-rich mini-calendar and latest events modules, the all new FLEX module, a convenient content editor plugin, RSS feeds, SEF URL support, robust print-views, JomSocial plugins and Community Builder plugins.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2009-10-09
Reviews: 2
We have been looking for a well featured calendar for our simracing site. We have a lot of events, and a lot of Event Managers needing to be able to announce their events. JCal makes it easy - and it looks good too.

I had a query about a small issue with the component (caused by our SEF component, not by JCal), and this was quickly looked into and solved via the JCal support site.

Can't ask for better than that really.
2009-09-08
Reviews: 3
Love JCAL - and Google seems to like it too.
2009-07-02
Reviews: 1
Seems like a very stable and well-thought out extension. We have it in service now with six months plus of events on it. Good clear event entry screens.

One drawback is that the event descriptions can be formatted any way the user wishes, WYSIWYG, and if everyone does it differently we'll end up with a very sloppy looking calendar (especially the flat view which is our default, as we need the full information on each event to be visible initially). Maybe there could be a way to optionally force the use of a chosen font and color.

Thanks for a great extension!
2009-06-01
Reviews: 1
I was a casualty of Thyme calendar closing down so I subscribed for my non profit school. Installation was very easy and features looked fine but I soon discovered that their is no feature to print a calendar. Many of my users like to print the current month for a physical hard copy. The only solution within jcal (despite many users asking for this feature in the forum) was a hack which did not work well with the latest version. In the end I am using Gcalendar (google calendar bridge).
2009-05-23
Reviews: 5
what can i say, smooth installation, default theme fits perfect to my template, easy configuration, fair price (29$).
for me, jcal pro 2 is THE event calender!
good job !!!

cheers!
2009-04-19
Reviews: 1
This is easily the most user-friendly extension I have ever installed/configured for Joomla. The back-end is laid out simply and obviously, the settings and parameters were clearly described and easy to use. Had to upgrade to 1.5.10 for the modules/plugin to work correctly.

If only all extensions worked this well!
2009-04-16
Reviews: 1
The truth is that this component was not as spectacular as it sounds, includes a single theme, and certainly the most ugly, and have almost nothing special compared to Jevents that is free, another thing, you need at least PHP 5.2
2009-02-04
Reviews: 3
After fighting with jevent, since my upgrade to 1.5, I switched to jcal pro. I was up and runnning within 15 minutes. Simple easy and it works.
I would like to see more than 1 theme included but for $20 I am glad I have calendar that works right.
Owner's reply

keep it simple ... that's our mantra but it's tough sometimes with such a complicated, powerful application. Glad you had a smooth transition.

2009-01-24
Reviews: 3
I've been a user of this component for almost a year. It's implemented seamlessly. I've had nothing but great support from developer. Very pleased with how much it can do, especially with ability to post multi colour events, so that just by looking at the monthly calendar you can see the types of events planned. I am looking forward to the new release (2.0).

From practical stand point, I find it very easy to use and install. It took me maybe 30 mins to set it up originally when I was still adjusting it to my site with all the features it has. And it took me less than 5 minutes to upgrade from version 1.6 beta version to current 1.5 stable version and will be upgrading to 2.0 when it's stable.
Great part of this upgrade was that I didn't lose any events. I simply uninstalled 1.6 beta, installed 1.5, enabled modules and was up and running.
How is that for a smooth backward upgrade compatibility!


Regards,
Dmitri Ivanenko
Owner's reply

Glad it's going smooth. Satisfied subscribers don't always return to write a review...Cheers!

2009-01-21
Reviews: 1
I REALLY love the JCal extension. It's everything I've been looking for. The only trouble I'm having is finding out how to use the Remote Calendar feature. The documentation hasn't helped me to understand what I'm doing wrong. I have 10 sites that I'm building and would love to test out this much needed feature.
Owner's reply

Thanks for the kind words. We are finalizing the new JCal Pro 2.x and then we will hopefully find time to get our event server sorted.

2009-01-19
Reviews: 1
The product itself is decent, especially the full calendar view, and at face value it's worth the $20 for the sub.

However, if you run into trouble you are required to pay for support - or hope that someone on the forums can and is willing to help out. This might be a relatively small issue, but there is almost no documentation (the link provided by the developer in these comments returns a 404 error [http://dev.anything-digital.com/JCal-Client/Documentation.html]) and if you're not using it "out of the box" you can spend a *lot* of extra time trying to work it out.

Make sure you read all of the reviews and pay a visit to the forums at AnythingDigital before you commit to this product. When you're billing a client hourly for custom layout, the cost in time can quickly outweigh the benefits of a low initial subscription fee.
Owner's reply

I have updated the links for documentation, I appreciate the heads up.

As for support, you get what you pay for, and $20 doesn't go very far given the average fee for programmers is USD $75/hour.

2009-01-17
Reviews: 2
I tried a couple other calendars and finally settled with this one. Definitely worth the investment for the website. I look forward to seeing what version 2 has to offer. Events by Venue would be nice to see added to the Category features. I highly recommend this one. Save yourself the trouble of trying all the free ones and just pay the little bit of cash for this.
Owner's reply

Thnaks for the note. We are looking into a solution for venue management but have not settled on the best solution as yet.

2009-01-12
Reviews: 1
After trying every other option available...we settled on jCal...It's inteface is flawless...
Owner's reply

Glad it worked for you.

2008-12-17
Reviews: 4
Overall I thought this was a pretty good product. Coding wise and ease of use seem near perfect. It's solid, easy to setup and easy to manage.

I don't like that it's damn near impossible to customize the look/layout - and almost no real themes for it. But for $20 - you can't beat it.

If you need a calendar, this is the one. I had nothing but problems with JEvents, but JCal Pro was a breeze and continues to work near perfect.
2008-11-23
Reviews: 4
The features of this calendar are some minimal compared to JEvents, which is free. I would expect a feature rich application if I have to pay for it.
Owner's reply

I think most users would agree that the features are comparable, and with the upcoming 2.0 version will far surpass JEvents.

2008-10-23
Reviews: 1
Used calendar on kid's basketball team site
So easy to create different set of calendar view's for specific basketball teams.
Just need more themes, which I subscribe to as well.

Thank you for your other plugins as well, which are all great use of joomla code.
2008-10-16
Reviews: 1
Unfortunately, I've subscribed to Jcal pro 1.5.8 (build 373), wish was confirmed as a non-working version (problems with dates, etc); I didn't had access to the forum before subscribing to the service (or at least I wasn't aware of this bug). So, I subscribed to a non-working version (that developers were confirming on the forum);

One sugestion, since there's posts that confirm these bugs (developers were aware of it); Please, don't let people subscribe to a service that they cant use.
Owner's reply

The forum is public, so no reason you could not have browsed in advance.

As for bugs, these are normal parts of development. That's why we cycle through alpha, beta, RC, etc...

The current release is "Release Candidate 2".

2008-10-08
Reviews: 2
We used JEvents on Joomla 1.0, and made a site decision when we upgraded to Joomla 1.5 to not enable legacy support, so we started looking for a new calendar for Joomla 1.5.

We started with event list, which seems to have decent community support, and was free, but we didn't like the way it did reoccuring events, or archiving, so we kept looking.

JCal Pro was a great value. The 48 hour subscription is chump change, (I pulled it out of pocket rather than fill out the paperwork for and the software works perfectly. We'll sign up for a more extensive subscription in a heartbeat if we have any trouble with it.

Minor bug: End dates for reoccuring events in the front end must be set before 2022 or else a bug occurs in the back end.

Feature missing: no support for reoccuring event exceptions (not that EventList or JEvents supported that either, just something we could really use.)
Owner's reply

Thanks for the kind words. We'll be adding recurring event exceptions after the Joomla 1.5 version goes stable.

2008-10-03
Reviews: 2
At the time I write this, JCal Pro's version for the Joomla! 1.5 compatible release is 1.5.9 RC. Note the RC, it means "Release Candidate." This means that the extension, while it works in version 1.5 is not a final, stable release but rather still in development. Despite this, however, I'm impressed at how well it works overall and how consistently the developer responds to problems, even if it's only to let you know that he's aware of them.

I mention this both because I've been very satisfied at how usable JCal Pro has continued to be despite its pre-release status, and in light of the possibility that others might notice reviews complaining of bugs in this or prior pre-release versions.

There have been a couple of problems, and they have been frustrating at the time. But hey, that's the risk of beta and other pre-release software and--quite honestly--they are to be expected, which is why the developer warns people to think twice before deploying a pre-release version of the extension to a production site.

The simple truth is, in my opinion this is currently the best calendar available for Joomla and I'm excited about the fact that it's now out of the beta stages and into the release candidate cycle, because the only thing keeping me from using it everywhere I can (everywhere it fits) is its production-ready status.

Kudos to the dev for an awesome product.
Owner's reply

Cheers mate. It's starting to look like the all the show stoppers have been sorted, and now it's down to the nitty gritty bugs (usually hard to find but easier to solve).

2008-10-01
Reviews: 1
Jcal Pro is so good that up until today, I've never had a reason to contact them. However, I did today and received a response within MINUTES!

Just an FYI - the issue was that the Quantcast mambot was causing a conflict so once it was uninstalled, all was well.
Page 3 of 7