The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


GCalendar Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
  • This extension inserts a backlink to the developer.
GCalendar connects google calendars with your joomla powered web site. It is a suite of extensions to show your google calendar events smooth integrated into joomla.
Easy configuration, CSS based customization and performance gains through AJAX and advanced caching mechanism are the main targets of this extensions.

The whole suite contains different extensions which are listed here:

* The component is the heart of the GCalendar suite and shows different kinds of calendars in the main part.
* The Upcoming Events module shows the next events of your calendar as a list.
* The GCalendar module shows the google calendar at a module position.
* The Next module shows a countdown timer till the next events starts.
* The search plugin adds the functionality to search for events.
* The next plugin embeds upcoming events into articles.

So feel free to give it a try. Don't hesitate to post in the forum if you have a question or open a new issue if you need a feature!!

How google himself sees his calendar service:
Organize your schedule and share events with friends. With Google's free online calendar, it's easy to keep track of life's important events all in one place.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2012-11-05
Reviews: 2
This was my 1st attempt as integration of a Google Calendar for one of our Joomla sites and it worked exactly as described - very straight forward with lots of tailoring options for just the look and feel we were looking for.

I had a couple of questions about how best to proceed and each was answered within minutes with clear, consise and infomative answers - keep up the good work!
2012-10-18
Reviews: 3
I am very happy with the way GCalendar has been seamlessly incorporated into my website. I use about 10 different Google Calendars and GCalendar has made it easy to display individual calendars throughout my site and merging multiple calendars into one display. The "Upcoming Events" module has made a great little sidebar for my homepage. I am happy with the customization options available. I needed assistance getting the calendars setup and support was very quick and helpful.
2012-10-16
Reviews: 1
GCalendar has been a wonderful addition to our company website. It has allowed our users to know when our upcoming events are and see the full fledged calendar up on the main site at all times! It is very editable and just an overall amazing extension.
2012-10-03
Reviews: 5
I have used GCalendar for several years already and recently I bought the full package. The product does what it say and it's a must when you need to display and share multiple google calendars.
The support as always been very efficient and quick. I can only recommend you this tool.
2012-09-20
Reviews: 14
This is a great idea but trashed my site on intall, and my site did meet the requirements. Luckily i back up everyday so did't cause a major problem. Warning if your going to try this extension. Backup first then install.
Owner's reply

Instead of giving us a bad review you should try to ask for help in the forum where our team does an excellent job helping people in trouble. We have over 15'000 downloads a month and you are the first one who reported that the whole site break down. We hope you are getting in touch with us to sort out the problem....

2012-09-20
Reviews: 3
Our church has found this to be the most productive calendar option for a Joomla site available. Easy to setup, well maintained and updated, one of the best extensions of any kind we've used.
2012-09-19
Reviews: 2
I am using this across two separate sites (for completely different businesses). The functionality is simple to implement and makes Google's calendar fit the look and feel of my sites. I'm not sure I have another extension that was as easy and simple to implement. The functionality is great as well, and I've seen other extensions that do not do this half as well. Great work!
2012-09-16
Reviews: 1
Thanks so much for this amazing time-saver of a calendar functionality. I love having the different presentations. The main big Calendar via the menu items, and the 3 smaller ones through the modules. I admit getting stuck as a newbie 'cause I couldn't find the main one. But help was swift and to the point. So a good extension, with good support, and happy builder and users! Thanks guys!
Cheers!
Marjoline
2012-09-13
Reviews: 2
Great plug in. Easy to configure, feature rich. I had a conflict with another mod and got accurate and fast help through their support forum. Well done!
2012-09-13
Reviews: 4
Very simple to use, good documentation. Excellent module.
2012-08-31
Reviews: 2
Your customer support was wonderful. If I had read the directions more thoroughly I would not needed any customer support at all. I recommend this to anyone who wants to enhance their Google calendar on their website. I have been uploading Google calendar on individual pages the hard way for several months now and in a few moments I had everything I needed and more.
2012-08-28
Reviews: 2
This extension is unbelievable.
It queries the events over google api caches them and show them by javascript. Other extensions only show an iframe, this one a beautiful and fully customizable caendar, wth tool-tip and pop-out. All modules are working like a charm.
GCalendar is definetly one of my favourite extensions I recommend to everyone.
2012-07-11
Reviews: 7
I like this because I can just update the google calender and my website calender is updated too.

Negative is I have a problem with small preview mode which can use on top page does not show the date and time properly. Large calender was fine not preview one. (by Jul 2012)
2012-06-18
Reviews: 3
Have been using version for 1.5 for some time but have problems of spinning wheel on version for 2.5
Works on google calendar view but not gcalendar view and this seems to be a problem. Also was unable to registrar for owners forum so not able to report problem though it has been reported and nothing done to sort the problem out. Once sorted this would be rated as excellent
Owner's reply

Due a bug in community builder login it was not possible to create an account. This problem is fixed now....sorry for the trouble.

2012-05-12
Reviews: 18
This is a great extension if you need a calendar. GCalendar is only a standard event manager so no special features such as online registration or paid events, but you really need them?

GOOD:
- google calendar
- beatyfull frontend interface
- search through events
- nice modules (next events, mini overview calendar)
- tooltip on mouse-over
- events opened with lightbox effect

BAD:
- to add/change events from Joomla you need the paid addon GCalendar Action Pack
- from Google Calendar you can enter only plain text descriptions (or use HTML if you know it). Buy the Action Pack for WYSIWYG editor.
- to change date and time format you need to look the date function in the PHP manual (but is quite easy)
- no docs for plg_gcalendar_next, very difficult to use (I have disabled it). A button editor and a wizard would be very useful.
2012-04-21
Reviews: 5
I've always loved this extension and have used it on a few Joomla 1.5 sites. Now with 2.5 I had expected some improvements in this extension. It seems impossible to display an accurate time in 12 hour format. This is a deal-breaker for me and I'm afraid I'll have to look for something else. Too bad, this one has real promise as being a standard in many sites. But showing the proper time is a critical element.
Owner's reply

Sorry to say but it is not an issue. Since version 2.7.0 the 12 hours am/pm time format is the default one and believe me it works on thousands of GCalendar installations :-)
I hope you will reconsider your review.

2012-04-11
Reviews: 5
Very impressed with this component and modules, had it up and running in few minutes on a 2.5.4 site.

Will be purchasing the GCalendar Action Pack shortly.
2012-03-28
Reviews: 3
I am very impressed about how easy gcalender cam import google calendars. After that is done it is very easy to set up acalendar view in the component or in a module. This is realy perfect for our hockey club for showing calenders for 10 teams (4 calendars each).
However, I cannot use gcalendar as it is now, as the site is slowed down while ggalendar is loading the calendars. This may not be a problem if you just are handling few google calendars. Thus, I use googles embeded calendar view as iframe. With this solution the site loads fast and the calendar shows up a while after. If gcalendar could do it the same way - I would be a happy man.
Anyway - thanks for a great extension!
2012-03-15
Reviews: 2
Can't commend this highly enough. I have ran the 1.5 version for the last couple of years and it's been great, but recently I migrated my site to Joomla 2.5 and installed the latest version. The whole process was seamless and the result on the website is fantastic. Absolutely delighted. Keep up the good work
2012-03-14
Reviews: 1
Happy to say that after the update from 2.6.1 to 2.6.4 it started to work. Usin' it with Joomla 1.7. on my school's website.
Page 3 of 9