The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


GCalendar Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
  • This extension inserts a backlink to the developer.
GCalendar connects google calendars with your joomla powered web site. It is a suite of extensions to show your google calendar events smooth integrated into joomla.
Easy configuration, CSS based customization and performance gains through AJAX and advanced caching mechanism are the main targets of this extensions.

The whole suite contains different extensions which are listed here:

* The component is the heart of the GCalendar suite and shows different kinds of calendars in the main part.
* The Upcoming Events module shows the next events of your calendar as a list.
* The GCalendar module shows the google calendar at a module position.
* The Next module shows a countdown timer till the next events starts.
* The search plugin adds the functionality to search for events.
* The next plugin embeds upcoming events into articles.

So feel free to give it a try. Don't hesitate to post in the forum if you have a question or open a new issue if you need a feature!!

How google himself sees his calendar service:
Organize your schedule and share events with friends. With Google's free online calendar, it's easy to keep track of life's important events all in one place.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2011-02-04
Reviews: 1
If you are using Joomla 1.5, you should be good to go - provided you follow instructions.
HOWEVER
If you have upgraded to Joomla 1.6, the current release is NOT native to 1.6 and you will get errors. Wait for the update to 2.3.X
Owner's reply

At the moment GCalendar is in beta stage, which means it can have some errors. But it is 100% joomla 1.6 native. Please use the G4J forum to solve your joomla 1.6 problem.....

2011-01-22
Reviews: 1
Guys, great work, best free extension so far. Took me a bit to find the magic cookie, but once I found it this extension exeeds expectations.

Great work!
2011-01-05
Reviews: 3
This is a good way to use your Google calendars on your Joomla! site. The calendars from Google are not the best looking colors, but that is the breaks.

The install is easy and works great. There is ONE thing. Follow the directions for the install exactly and do each step in order. Do not assume that you know what to do next. Watch the video about the magic key so that you do not have to make your calendars public. If you follow the instructions step by step and don't try doing it your way, it will be ready in ten minutes or less and will work perfectly. I wandered and wasted half an hour wondering what was wrong. I then followed the steps and it suddenly worked great and made sense.

I will be using this to handle my org's calendar needs. Edit on Google and display on my site. Even maps to the events provided by Google.
2010-12-27
Reviews: 5
This extension offers exactly the kind of integration I needed with Google Calendar. I manage my neighbourhood's sports club website, and this way the coaches and staff keep the fixtures up to date on Google Calendar (a tool they are used to) and the website gets all the info from there. It makes my job so much easier!

I use it for a "next match" module on the frontpage, as well as for a list of upcoming fixtures with 25 items.

And the look and feel is fully customizable with html!
awc
2010-12-14
Reviews: 1
I rarely review components because I usually don't have anything good to say.

At first I had a hard time with this component. I run google apps with about 15 different calendars that I wanted to integrate on our public site. I read other reviews saying they could not get it to work, but after about two hours of figuring things out (probably would have been much less if I read the documentation first) I got it to work and it is exactly what it says it is and more, and is beautiful to boot.

Hints for Apps users:
There's a video on how to find your magic cookie code, watch it.
Apps admin has to set the calendar permissions to allow public to access and modify (not preferable, but worth it).
There are additional configuration items in the menu link to the component, so set those, and adjust the configuration on the back end of the component so it has your apps account there.

That should get you started.
2010-12-05
Reviews: 1
I wish i could get this working, but somehow it does not see my google apps domain. Looking around on the net other people have had similar experiences.

It really sounds like a good extention with everything that i need. But after struggling for one week, im afraid I have to go look for antoher extention that will do the job.
2010-12-04
Reviews: 2
I like this extension. the one I wanted. one question, I want to adjust the width of the gcalendar module. I try to place this my joomla site's left position. but last column is not displaying. how can I change the width?
2010-11-23
Reviews: 3
This is a great component that let you integrate your existing google calenders into your joomla site. It fits for my requirement as I need a calender with event list function for multiple calenders, and I can combine the different calenders from different contributors, the workload could be distributed as well~

If you are a google fans and wanna to let others to input their events in their own calender, this one is the best!! But in case you want to have more flexible control and keep the calender details in your own site, then I think you should select JEvents.
2010-11-21
Reviews: 11
Flawless installation and integration. Exceeded my expectations.
2010-09-23
Reviews: 5
Works exactly as described, there is CLEAR documentation, video tutorials, and a very resourceful forum. LOVE IT!
2010-09-10
Reviews: 4
I moved in the last few days my self coded web site to joomla and this component is my last piece I had to integrate. Some jQuery troubles were solved with the G4J support quick and now my site is running...
Good job!!
2010-08-24
Reviews: 1
Works great! It was just what I was looking for. Much more functionality than simply imbedding Google calendar. I love the upcoming events with icons!!
2010-08-15
Reviews: 5
A plugin that works... !!! you have no idea how hard it is to find such thngs. It JUST WORKS. A couple bugs with Google calendar versus his own but nothing to not download it and use or not enough to even rate it anything less than a 5+ Stars.

Thank you and I will donate.
2010-08-01
Reviews: 1
This is a great extension! With modules and plugins available, this extension makes it super easy to show a GMail calendar on your Joomla! page or module. You can also configure the extension to provide upcoming events! Thanks!!!
2010-07-10
Reviews: 2
As a Joomla greenhorn,
I was looking for a calendar.
I was using a subscription based calendar and it worked for what it is.
GCalendar is better designed, super easy to configure and I have the ability to add events from my phone. No subscriptions, donation based.
If you have a Google account, this is a great addition to your site.
Thank you for creating this component!
2010-07-06
Reviews: 4
My client really wanted to use Google Calendar on a new Joomla site and I was excited to find this extension which looked to do a good job rendering the calendar, plus it has the module for displaying events, a major requirement.

The only problem was that I could not get it to work reliably. It would not display the 2 calendars from Google that I needed to display on the site. The modules would work sometimes and then not work other times.

I paid the $50 for the paid support, but unfortunately, that was a waste of time, after the developer logged into the site, I received no feedback from him. Disappointing. Back to JCal for me.
2010-06-23
Reviews: 4
GCalendar is just terrific if you really want to use a Google Calendar. I also have to say that if you have difficulty.... It is well worth paying for support. Friendly, Prompt, Professional ...
2010-06-14
Reviews: 5
Simple but comprehensive add-in that just works! Setup was clear and simple, and formatting blended into my template perfectly. A brilliant solution to get a calendar onto Joomla without needing to give multiple users login access to Joomla - just what I wanted.
2010-05-26
Reviews: 3
Thanks for the extension. Nice work. I will recommend it.
2010-05-19
Reviews: 1
I really like the look of this plugin but I am limited to only using Google Calendar rather than GCalendar's own extensions because GCalendar does not support Joomla sites that are behind Proxy Server.

If anyone know how to fix this please let me know. :)
Page 6 of 9