The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


GCalendar Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
  • This extension inserts a backlink to the developer.
GCalendar connects google calendars with your joomla powered web site. It is a suite of extensions to show your google calendar events smooth integrated into joomla.
Easy configuration, CSS based customization and performance gains through AJAX and advanced caching mechanism are the main targets of this extensions.

The whole suite contains different extensions which are listed here:

* The component is the heart of the GCalendar suite and shows different kinds of calendars in the main part.
* The Upcoming Events module shows the next events of your calendar as a list.
* The GCalendar module shows the google calendar at a module position.
* The Next module shows a countdown timer till the next events starts.
* The search plugin adds the functionality to search for events.
* The next plugin embeds upcoming events into articles.

So feel free to give it a try. Don't hesitate to post in the forum if you have a question or open a new issue if you need a feature!!

How google himself sees his calendar service:
Organize your schedule and share events with friends. With Google's free online calendar, it's easy to keep track of life's important events all in one place.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2009-08-28
Reviews: 4
If you would like to improve your Joomla site with a very well done Calendar extension, based in what nowadays there is of better in web Calendar solution (the Google Calendar), so GCalendar does the job easily e charmful. There are basically two view modes: the "GCalendar" and the "Google [Calendar]"; they are vere similar, but the second one is even better than the first. Enjoy it!
2009-08-18
Reviews: 1
Just installed this extension and it is working great on the site. Simple, easy to set up. Thank you!!!
2009-06-25
Reviews: 1
I like this extension very much and have used previous versions of it without any problem in joomla sites.

I tried now the 2.1.0 version and while I liked very much the new look and the bettered module mini-calendar, it has a problem in the month view (component and module), as it shows the day numbers shifted in one day with respect to day names (at least for the current month of june), This renders this useful extension un-usable, so this problem should be addresed as soon as possible.

Thanks very much to the developers for this useful extension.
I hope you can fix this and look forward for new versions.
2009-06-14
Reviews: 2
i use it in my site and it very easy and very visable for all browsers
Thanx a lot
TODA
2009-05-19
Reviews: 3
this extension was very easy to configure and flexible in the usage. for me it's the best free joomla calendar.
a big thank you to the developers for your great job and your patience!!
2009-05-18
Reviews: 1
Wonderful integration of Google Calendars. Quick and easy to use (especially for a novice like me), plus quite versatile.
2009-04-21
Reviews: 1
First, let me state that we should not EXPECT amazing support for free components. However, I had a problem with this component that was solved within hours (and it turns out it was me not entering the proper apps domain setting in the component).

Second, I am using the "unstable" version 2.1.0 M1, and it works FANTASTIC for what I want, and everything that is stated in the specs.

Third, don't get rude with any developer of a free component if your support needs are not met the way you want. The developer seems very nice and truly wants to help people that have issues, but since it is free, it is not his priority. I feel he goes above and beyond to help people with this truly excellent component.

Great job! Thank you! And a donation is on its way!
2009-03-25
Reviews: 1
This is a brilliant extension!
A very powerful integration of Google Calendar - the best calendar on the web!
New version is looking even better, with Apps integration and multiple calendar support - can't wait!
Fast response from the developer on any issues.

I'm looking forward to 2.1.0 being released!
2008-12-18
Reviews: 1
I've been using this add on for a while, and generally am pleased, though it has a few bugs. The most recent release, v2.0.0 has errors when installing the Component because files are missing or named incorrectly. You can't register in the forums on his website because you get a 404 error when clicking registration...
2008-08-28
Reviews: 2
Extension is well-built, but kinda tricky on IE7: The upoming events module is filling it's spae with Ajax data before the page has loaded, therefore creating an error on all pages. It's known, so maybe in 1.5.3 with a plugin at the bottom of the page loading the data so you don't get errors...
Anyway... nice component! rest needs work. Hey, it's free!
2008-08-13
Reviews: 11
good job, simple yet powerful integration of Google Calendar. I don't have much coding knowledge, yet I was able to follow simple instruction on the home page how to set up the component and how to embed the code.
What I am missing is the different color for different event
Alex
2008-08-09
Reviews: 2
..the upcoming calendar events module currently only works in FF and Opera, not IE7. The issue is in the bugtracker, and has a milestone attached to it.

However, I hope the workaround mentioned in their forums is not the developer's solution, 2 seconds delay is a no go for a module.

so, I'm waiting on 1.5.3 :)
2008-07-30
Reviews: 1
I have been trying to get GCalendar to show up on my web pages and it just doesn't work. The modules seem to work fine but when trying to implement the Google Calendar on the main section of the page it won't display. The documentation is reasonable, and I have been through it all on their site, but there isn't anything to fix my problem.

This is the first of many extensions I have come across that doesn't work for me.
2008-06-20
Reviews: 3
Works perfectly. I have the module working on the frontpage and it links back to the component. Awesome. Only thing is I had to disable sef in artiosef for the module to link correctly (you can disable sef for individual components), but this is a non-issue.

Great work!
2008-04-22
Reviews: 1
I am new to Joomla, and I just installed this extension and I can just say that it is very easy to install and configure. I created a site specific Google calendar and I had two of the modules up and running on my web site in 20 minutes. I agree with others, if you are used to using Google already this is a great extension.
2008-04-20
Reviews: 4
This native 1.5 calendar was simple to install and worked very well to display public events from a Google calendar in a Joomla site. During my time-limited investigation, I was not able to find the control to display private events. That is, I want to create private events in the calendar and show them to special members at the site. Until this is possible, the component is limited for me. I'll definitely track features over time and will switch to this when I can.
2008-03-13
Reviews: 10
If you use the Google Calendar this is a great add-on. No need to learn how to configure anything new. Just use what you already are using.

All I did was create a "site specific" calendar and I was off and running.

Thanks
2008-03-07
Reviews: 2
Installed component and all 3 modules. everything seem work as designed. But, since I have to use Google calendar to update events, and not directly from website, it is little hassel unless I am missing steps to add/edit events directly from web site not from google calendar.
2008-03-07
Reviews: 1
I have tried and tried to get this to work, but with no luck. I am trying to link to a private Google calendar and it just doesn't work even though I have the exact URL and XML for it and am even signed into Google. It looks like exactly what I need to integrate with a current Google calendar, but I just can't get it to display the calendar.
2008-02-25
Reviews: 9
its limitations are inherent in Google Calendar itself, and the wrapping of a completely separate component.

For example, to add an event or comment to a website's shared calendar you have to log in a second time to Google calendar itself, not just the website on which it's wrapped. And as far as I can figure out, it's impossible for group (i.e. website) members to RSVP for an event on the calendar unless they've all been individually invited to attend via Google -- even if they're members of the site.

These issues make it a lot clunkier to use than it otherwise would be. Too bad, because it's a good calendar and a well-done Joomla integration with the modules.
Page 8 of 9