The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


GCalendar Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
  • This extension inserts a backlink to the developer.
GCalendar connects google calendars with your joomla powered web site. It is a suite of extensions to show your google calendar events smooth integrated into joomla.
Easy configuration, CSS based customization and performance gains through AJAX and advanced caching mechanism are the main targets of this extensions.

The whole suite contains different extensions which are listed here:

* The component is the heart of the GCalendar suite and shows different kinds of calendars in the main part.
* The Upcoming Events module shows the next events of your calendar as a list.
* The GCalendar module shows the google calendar at a module position.
* The Next module shows a countdown timer till the next events starts.
* The search plugin adds the functionality to search for events.
* The next plugin embeds upcoming events into articles.

So feel free to give it a try. Don't hesitate to post in the forum if you have a question or open a new issue if you need a feature!!

How google himself sees his calendar service:
Organize your schedule and share events with friends. With Google's free online calendar, it's easy to keep track of life's important events all in one place.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2008-01-22
Reviews: 2
I originally installed an older version of GCalendar and unfortunately could not get it to work.

However after seeing version 1.5.0 had been released I decided to install it again, as it was just what I was looking for for my community site. unfortunately I ran into some issues again!

I contacted the developer through the forum on the components website and got an instant reply. Within a couple of hours it turned out I had installed the old version again! #doh#

The new version was installed without error and worked first time. It is really easy to configure and the modules for upcoming events and moduled version of the calendar work great.

I have seen some comments about this just being a wrapper for gCalendar. To an extent your correct, but at the same time your wrong. As I mentioned the modules are really nice and the backend management makes things really simple.

And finally, the support is second to none! Great product highly recommended.
2007-11-23
Reviews: 1
Well if my events would not appear and disappear in front of me it would help. Sometimes the events show up and other times they do not. If I refresh then they show up then disappear randomly.

This is ok for me because I know I have to refresh constantly but for my customers who need to know my schedule it will be a pain.

It seems technology is moving so rapidly that software quality is becoming less and less an issue.

Also, it is a baby blue color which is annoying with no options to change format. Overall I have to say thumbs-down.
2007-11-19
Reviews: 1
excellent app, fast and friendly support, allon is da man
2007-10-18
Reviews: 4
Got excited but then was unable to find any details on their site that kept me excited.

I have been using Google Calendar in a wrapper for a while is this any different?

If I can not do anything with the calendar within Joomla I might as well use an iCal reader like iwebcal
2007-10-04
Reviews: 8
Well, it works, eventually!

My first goof was to put an apostrophe in the title of the calendar within the component - this will NOT work with apostrophes in the calendar name!

Once I'd found the right HTML (Google Calendar was having a slow moment, so I had to figure it out manually), and put it all in I eventually got the calendar showing up.

A limitation of Google Calendar (not the component) is that it will only show a month's events in agenda view by default - a pain if you are trying to show school term dates for example - you want everything showing up!

Clicking an event in this opens a new window to give you more info, direct inside Google Calendar - a bit clunky IMHO.

I ended up resorting to using this component, linking on the menu to a blank static content item, and publishing the upcoming GCalendar events module in the inset position. The problem with the module is horrible date formatting (and an overly techy process of changing it), and the date being on a separate line form the event name (might look OK when I have some more events in there though).

Overall, it works, but don't expect to have it perfect in 5 minutes!
2007-08-01
Reviews: 8
I don't know if this a problem with this component / module or a problem with google calendars. Both of these installed well, and I've used them in multiple joomla installs, but the problem I have is that the times reported for events vary widely depending on a) if I'm currently logged into my google account or not b) If I'm looking at the upcoming events module or the calendar module.

I've posted to the google calendar forum, but gotten no response. Hope this is something that can work out as I really like this module and component.
Owner's reply

you can specify a timezone for your calendar in the google calendar settings. and you can specify a timezone for your google account, perpahs is the problem there .........

2007-07-04
Reviews: 1
Makes it easy to set modules for different calendars! The only problem I had was with the date. I had to find it in a .js file as it was set for date.month.year instead of month/date/year that my viewers are accustomed to. I wouldn't call that a problem however and so far, have had no issues with the component or modules! Great job!
2007-06-28
Reviews: 5
I've been using JEvents for a few months now, although it is also a good component, I must say GCalendar is far better and easier to use... First of all, using the Google Calendar gives me the ability to streamline the excessive need to enter all my dates into the computer. With this I can enter my dates once and have it already imported to my website calendar. I absolutely love this!!!
2007-06-16
Reviews: 2
Great package was a snap to install and get working. At last my site has a great calendar nicely integrated.
2007-05-21
Reviews: 1
Got the thing up and running but how the hell do I add and edit events directly on the implemented calendar on my site?
Did I miss something? Because that is the actual reason one could use a shared calendar for...
keep it up!
2007-05-14
Reviews: 1
It does what it supposed to do and
integrates very nicely into my site. I can
add/edit events right on my site without having
to go to Google calendar. Fantastic job!
To the guy who was complaining about the
dots in the upcoming events, it is not a bug.
You have to make your calendar fully accessible for the
events to show up. Follow the setup instructions.
2007-05-11
Reviews: 1
This extension has HUGE potential. The gcalendar component works fine but there seems to be a bug in the latest 1.4 version of latest events and upcoming events. They just show a lot of dots instead of the events. This would also be fantastic if it could handle multiple google calendars. Im really looking forward to being able to use the upcoming events module if it gets fixed.
2007-05-10
Reviews: 101
I like the idea of integrating Google Calendar into Joomla. This is really a good component. But when I try to translate your component into Chinese, I couldn't find the language folder.

The author said we should use JoomFish to get multilingual support but he has not realized that JoomFish is not a must for every user. Sometimes a language folder containing language files can solve this issue easier than JoomFish. Especially when the user just want a site of single native language NOT a multilingual site.

I suggest the author release the 1.4.1 version with a language folder. You can only put english.php file there and we translators will do the rest.
2007-04-27
Reviews: 4
like it a lot!!
It takes time to configure but a guide shows it all.
http://allon.ch/content/gcalendar-component-15.html
2007-04-13
Reviews: 1
This module works really well and does exactly what it claims to do. By now it is also customizable how man events are shown.
However, one more wish: it would be great if one could also access Google calendars that are not entirely public, i.e. that are only shared with specific users.

thanks!
Owner's reply

i think you can. for example my calendar is not public. when somebody is showing it the appointments are shown as busy and are not readable....
for the upcoming events module the calendar must be shared fully, thats true

i hope it helps ;-))

2007-03-03
Reviews: 1
Does what it says it does.
Page 9 of 9