Here is a list of features the free DPCalendar version offers:
* Full responsiveness of all views
* ACL everywhere also who can view the content of events
* Nested calendars
* Ajax powered calendar with a smooth design
* Google map integration
* Batch editing of events
* Coloring individual events
* Upcoming events module
* Counter module
* Mini module
* Downloading events to google calendar and Outlook
* Search plugin
* Social share buttons
* Inclusion of Facebook Comments, Google Plus Comments and JComments
* Native joomla language support
* SEO optimized with rich snippets (structured data)
* Drag'n Drop and resize in the frontend
* Template override support
* Multiple locations per event
* Attachment support trough DPAttachments
Second, I am using the "unstable" version 2.1.0 M1, and it works FANTASTIC for what I want, and everything that is stated in the specs.
Third, don't get rude with any developer of a free component if your support needs are not met the way you want. The developer seems very nice and truly wants to help people that have issues, but since it is free, it is not his priority. I feel he goes above and beyond to help people with this truly excellent component.
Great job! Thank you! And a donation is on its way!
A very powerful integration of Google Calendar - the best calendar on the web!
New version is looking even better, with Apps integration and multiple calendar support - can't wait!
Fast response from the developer on any issues.
I'm looking forward to 2.1.0 being released!
Anyway... nice component! rest needs work. Hey, it's free!
What I am missing is the different color for different event
However, I hope the workaround mentioned in their forums is not the developer's solution, 2 seconds delay is a no go for a module.
so, I'm waiting on 1.5.3 :)
This is the first of many extensions I have come across that doesn't work for me.
For example, to add an event or comment to a website's shared calendar you have to log in a second time to Google calendar itself, not just the website on which it's wrapped. And as far as I can figure out, it's impossible for group (i.e. website) members to RSVP for an event on the calendar unless they've all been individually invited to attend via Google -- even if they're members of the site.
These issues make it a lot clunkier to use than it otherwise would be. Too bad, because it's a good calendar and a well-done Joomla integration with the modules.
However after seeing version 1.5.0 had been released I decided to install it again, as it was just what I was looking for for my community site. unfortunately I ran into some issues again!
I contacted the developer through the forum on the components website and got an instant reply. Within a couple of hours it turned out I had installed the old version again! #doh#
The new version was installed without error and worked first time. It is really easy to configure and the modules for upcoming events and moduled version of the calendar work great.
I have seen some comments about this just being a wrapper for gCalendar. To an extent your correct, but at the same time your wrong. As I mentioned the modules are really nice and the backend management makes things really simple.
And finally, the support is second to none! Great product highly recommended.
This is ok for me because I know I have to refresh constantly but for my customers who need to know my schedule it will be a pain.
It seems technology is moving so rapidly that software quality is becoming less and less an issue.
Also, it is a baby blue color which is annoying with no options to change format. Overall I have to say thumbs-down.
I have been using Google Calendar in a wrapper for a while is this any different?
If I can not do anything with the calendar within Joomla I might as well use an iCal reader like iwebcal
My first goof was to put an apostrophe in the title of the calendar within the component - this will NOT work with apostrophes in the calendar name!
Once I'd found the right HTML (Google Calendar was having a slow moment, so I had to figure it out manually), and put it all in I eventually got the calendar showing up.
A limitation of Google Calendar (not the component) is that it will only show a month's events in agenda view by default - a pain if you are trying to show school term dates for example - you want everything showing up!
Clicking an event in this opens a new window to give you more info, direct inside Google Calendar - a bit clunky IMHO.
I ended up resorting to using this component, linking on the menu to a blank static content item, and publishing the upcoming GCalendar events module in the inset position. The problem with the module is horrible date formatting (and an overly techy process of changing it), and the date being on a separate line form the event name (might look OK when I have some more events in there though).
Overall, it works, but don't expect to have it perfect in 5 minutes!
I've posted to the google calendar forum, but gotten no response. Hope this is something that can work out as I really like this module and component.
you can specify a timezone for your calendar in the google calendar settings. and you can specify a timezone for your google account, perpahs is the problem there .........