The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JEvents Popular ComponentModulePlugin

This well known and loved Events Calendar for Joomla. JEvents consists of a Joomla component and a number of modules and plugins to manage and display your events on your website. JEvents is translated into 37 languages (with more tranlsations added regularily) so its probably available in your language.

Component
* One-off Events and complex repeating patterns of events can be created and viewed in an attractive calendar and a variety of list formats
* Multiple design layouts possible
* Fully compatible with Joomla MVC framework
* Ical imports/exports
* Repeat exception handling
* Events can be placed in multiple categories and calendar views can be customised to show all or some of these categories
* Layout editing tool to perfect the presentation on your site - you can even customise the event editing page.
* Optional checking for overlapping events globally or on a category specific basis

Modules
* Mini-calendar module (jevents_cal) which gives a quick overview of events which can be placed on any page
* Latest events module (jevents_latest) which gives a highly configurable summary of upcoming, recently created or popular events
* Events legend (jevents_legend) - displayed alongside the component gives you a summary of event categories and an easy way to limit the events shown to specific categories
* Filter module allows you to filter/search the events being displayed using a variety of criteria

Plugin
* A search plugin that enables the global Joomla search to return results from the events calendar

JEvents 3.1 is now available for general download - this is a Joomla 2.5-3.0 native component that takes JEvents to the next level. The old version of JEvents (2.2.9) for Joomla 1.5 is still available to download too.

Note that version 3.1.24 onwards removes the blue information icon linking to the JEvents website.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2009-12-31
Reviews: 5
In terms of features there is no equal and the support is fantastic. Geraint has provided the best calendar and events system for Joomla period.
2009-12-29
Reviews: 4
This is my very first review, and I must say that I totally love this component! It has EVERYTHING that you could possibly need to manage events! The support form is awesome. I got it installed and running with 5 minutes... while doing a seminar on how to install it! Thats how easy it is! A feature that I would like to see in the next release would be functionality for ACL to be more deeper. Apart from that, this is a number one extension for use within Joomla! I'm currently using it on one of my clients websites for their event calendar. They are a church, and I must say, this is TOTALLY a must have in that enviroment! Thanks JEvents!!
SRV
2009-12-11
Reviews: 1
With outstanding help from the owner, I realised a training or team calendar where different teams can register team members for a specific training. Only 9 "seats or positions" are available (this is flexible, for a soccer team you can have 11 "seats" of course).

With a single click team members can reserve a "seat or position" to attend the training! They can only reserve their own place and only one time. One can see a list of all the other attendees and positions for a specific training and/or team. There is a special "admin" view where an admin can add or remove all team members from a drop down list (regular can't do that, they can only add their own name).

I've search for this solution a long time and with the outstanding help of the head developer of Jevents, it was all done within 3 days! I am still amazed by that..
2009-11-29
Reviews: 2
I have been using JEvents, in various forms over several years now, and I am very happy that I did not have to do any coding to get all of its functionality on multiple sites that I maintain from non-profit groups. In short: It WORKS! It has been regularly maintained, and it continues to improve in both looks and extra functionality. But it sticks to its roots, which is that it maintains a calendar of events. It has allowed for, and supported extension of this concept. One of the biggest such extensions allows you to add registration to those events for your users.

The developers of this tool have kept it free to download - even after continuing to toil over additional improvements and functionality. My hat's off to this group, and I will join their new club, so that I can get early access to whatever else they're cooking up.
2009-11-25
Reviews: 1
This is a very nice extension to add to any website. It was easy to setup and add events to. I especially like the way there are multiple views of the calenders the users can select from. This makes it nice for any user to pick how they want to view the event calender.

Good work!
2009-11-12
Reviews: 3
This is an excellent tool! This does everything and more. The support and extras with membership are awesome! Very solid product.
2009-11-09
Reviews: 16
Great module. I need something to display a work Paramedic rotating work schedule and this met my needs perfectly. Willing to pay for other extension components. Well done. Thank you for the versatility. One option needed, mini-calendars displayed side-by-side or on-top-off-eachother.
2009-10-09
Reviews: 4
It is a good and free extension, the only problem is that it doesn't meet the W3C standards.
Owner's reply

Can you raise a topic in the forums highlighting where you feel w3c standards are not met and we'll seek to address this.

2009-09-26
Reviews: 1
This is an excellent component if you're doing an intranet based calendaring system. Great add-on joomla..
2009-09-22
Reviews: 8
Easy to install and easy to use. With everything I need. Thank you very much.
2009-09-20
Reviews: 1
Have downloaded and used on my first 1.5 site and have to say this extension has met all my expectations. I have been trying to link the calendar events to an external article without success but maybe that is me not investigating all the options. Great work from the developer, once I get the link prob sorted I will be making a donation, thanks Tigerdoom.
2009-09-18
Reviews: 10
I've had this add-on since Joomla 1.0 and have nowupdated to 1.5.2 for my Joomla 1.5 sites.

There's no other extension quite as functional - nor one that's as easy to re-style. It's well worth visiting the forums for help and tips ;-)
2009-09-09
Reviews: 1
The component is good. However, I would like to suggest some improvements:

1) It would be good if there would be tool tip on the calendar module

2) the calendar module should show difeerent colors for defferent event categories. At the moment it defaults to the default color
Owner's reply

The calendar module is designed to show if there is an event on a specific day. If there is more than one then it would not be possible to decide which tooltip to show or which category colour to choose.

2009-09-01
Reviews: 98
Jevents is an excellent Joomla extension. Thanks to the author(s).

However, I noticed that there are very limited date format options in the settings. And no one matches our Chinese people's tradition. For example, we want a date format as: %Y 年 %b 月 %d 日。I tried to define such a format in the language file but failed.

Hope the author will add full customization option to date format in next release. Thanks.
Owner's reply

Can you raise this point (with a little more detail) in the Jevents 1.5 forum and we'll see what can be done.

2009-08-17
Reviews: 7
I must have tried about 50 different extensions in different categories. All in all this one was the best looking and the most intuitive!

Good job folks!
2009-08-17
Reviews: 2
I only started using Joomla 3 days ago, and this was my first ever Extension. It fits my criteria to the letter and was very easy to install.
Very Feature rich - much more than I could have hoped for.
Thanks Very much for this

Andy
2009-08-16
Reviews: 2
So far this exceeds the capabilities of the similar components I've paid for in the past. I can make it look how I want, it has a calendar view as well as event lists. Its great.
2009-08-06
Reviews: 3
Great extension. Easy to use and modify. Will definitely use again.

Thank you!
2009-08-02
Reviews: 1
Really easy to get going and good functionality.

One improvement, I reckon, would be to allow the option to choose a different editor to the default (don't know if that's possible) because a complex editor can take up a lot of real estate in the popup window and a lot of people won't really need the full editor functionality for events.
2009-07-19
Reviews: 2
I considered a number of options when I decided to implement a calendar on my website and I've not been disappointed with Events Calendar. I find that most of the problems described by other people can be fixed quite simply - however I have also had a couple of problems finding ical functionality. Apart from that, a great calendar!
Page 12 of 20