The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

JEvents Popular ComponentModulePlugin

This well known and loved Events Calendar for Joomla. JEvents consists of a Joomla component and a number of modules and plugins to manage and display your events on your website. JEvents is translated into 37 languages (with more tranlsations added regularily) so its probably available in your language.

* One-off Events and complex repeating patterns of events can be created and viewed in an attractive calendar and a variety of list formats
* Multiple design layouts possible
* Fully compatible with Joomla MVC framework
* Ical imports/exports
* Repeat exception handling
* Events can be placed in multiple categories and calendar views can be customised to show all or some of these categories
* Layout editing tool to perfect the presentation on your site - you can even customise the event editing page.
* Layouts can be event category specific so your sports events can be laid out differently to your music events etc.
* Optional checking for overlapping events globally or on a category specific basis

* Mini-calendar module (jevents_cal) which gives a quick overview of events which can be placed on any page
* Latest events module (jevents_latest) which gives a highly configurable summary of upcoming, recently created or popular events
* Events legend (jevents_legend) - displayed alongside the component gives you a summary of event categories and an easy way to limit the events shown to specific categories
* Filter module allows you to filter/search the events being displayed using a variety of criteria

* A search plugin that enables the global Joomla search to return results from the events calendar

JEvents 3.1 is now available for general download - this is a Joomla 2.5-3.0 native component that takes JEvents to the next level. The old version of JEvents (2.2.9) for Joomla 1.5 is still available to download too.

Note that version 3.1.24 onwards removes the blue information icon linking to the JEvents website.

Report Extension




Reviews: 2
We have been using this calendar for some time now and I have to say it is excellent; the amount of customization that can be done is simply amazing. This calendar can work for many different applications and the best part about this component is the support from its creator.

We registered for a Gold level member since we wanted all the best features for our clients. We have used this Calendar now for many different types of sites and when the features we asked for were not currently available the creator listened to our needs and then within a month or so the new features were made available.

As a corporate user of this calendar system we have no problems paying a yearly fee for this software and absolutely incredible support.

Keep up the great work!
Reviews: 1
JEvents is a very good calendar and events solution. It has a good bunch of parameters to customize and many ways to change it behavior to suit your needs.
Reviews: 5
JEvents is a good calendar and events solution. It has a good bunch of parameters to customize and many ways to change it behavior to suit your needs.
But "non-commercial" is a misconeption for JEvents. You will be able to use it free, but just completeley barebones and not the last version. If you want some extras, more documentation, translations or just the last updated version, you will have to become a club member. And that costs money.
Reviews: 2
I am running this extension for some weeks and I am totally satisfied.
It is easely to install, very straight to be configured and you can simply change the layout of the most things.
Location management is a snap, even with google maps integration.
One can export to iCal easily and connect your outlook calendar with a free plugin. Mozilla thunderbird/sunbird connects by build in features.
It has, for me, the best implemented RSVP an Reminder management and function the way I expect.
JEvents relies on a club model for support, but the money is worth to spend, at least to ensure that the coder can spend his time for enrichments and support. :-)
Any Question I placed has been responded by the team and/or leads to a fixing/enhancement in time.
Reviews: 1
Thank You! this component saved my life, it's great easy to use and free!

Thanks again.
Reviews: 2
The software looks like it may work if you are blessed with infinite time, patience and a standard application, but be careful, very careful, if you actually want it to work.

It may work for you, I am not blessed with infinite time or tolerance for poorly written code.
Owner's reply

Based on your forum posts you are only encountering problems with the calendar module with one specific template. The javascript error you are seeing suggests a conflicting javascript function name in your template (or a template module). This does not mean the code is badly written and if you were running your site at a webhost we could have resolved this issue quite easily.

Reviews: 1
hi.. this is really super extension...
Reviews: 1
I would suggest the Jevents team to change the licence to commercial since the only free thing in this component is the download. You have to deal with many many settings that are not documented in their site unless you pay them. I tried it and had many problems and also found many bugs, so my only option to se whether the component and the modules are working or not was to pay them for a simple answer that ought to be documented elsewhere. Completely useless in my opinion
Owner's reply

Did you try asking in the JEvents 1.5 forum? Most questions there are answered quickly.

Reviews: 4
I have been using JEvents for almost a year now with no hassle/issues at all. To those who help develop this com/mod/plugin great job! Thank you so much.
Reviews: 8
I started using Eventlist and this was fine, but there is no support and therefore also no development. Luckily I found out in time and have changed to JEvents which has many more possibilities and incredibly fast forum help.
The site has also a lot of documentation (especially for members, which is paid for but it is absolutely worth every 'penny').
Reviews: 1
I have been using this extension for a while now and is working well, hence giving him good rating. csv import facility to be included here would be nice. However, thanks for all the efforts.
Reviews: 1
JEvents has been nothing but a pleasure to work with since I signed up a week ago. I have my calendar looking exactly how I wanted without any problems.

There were a couple of queries I had and a number of modifications that I wanted to make, so I posted my questions on the forum. Within a couple of hours, Geraint had replied and given me the answers I needed. HE has been extremely helpful and he should be very proud of the product he supports.

I purchased JCal Pro a few months ago and thought it would suit my requirements but after spending countless hours and many uninstall/reinstalls, I finally gave up. Just the simple fact that you cannot add a custom field to JCal Pro is a major drawback. As for the support....

I would recommend JEvents to anybody who wants a calendar that they want to work the first time without any stress.

Five Stars!!!
Reviews: 1
We have bought gold membership - really good.

And it was best choise for our website for students, companies and academics.

But in jevlocations - we cannot add multipple google api codes! We need multipple domains but it accept just one code.. What to do?
Reviews: 41
I have been using JEvents for several years (way back to Joomla 1.0.x) in my site development. I have seen and tried numerous other calendar components, but not one can match JEvents in any category - functionality, ease of use, solid and clean code, customizability, continued development, and last but NOT least - developer support. All this, and the core component and modules are FREE!!!

JEvents has become one of the few extensions that I install in nearly every site I develop. The only time I do not use JEVents is because my client did not need a calendar. The simple reason is that this extension JUST PLAIN WORKS as intended, right away. No tweaking, no messing around, just install and go.

The administrative user interface is very clean and easy to understand. You will have no trouble setting up a very robust calendar for your site without even reading a support doc. The configuration options are many, but the most standard options are already set, leading to expedites roll-out. An extremely helpful feature is the interface between the core component and the Latest Events and MiniCal Modules. You can set all display defaults for each of these modules in the configuration, making the addition of these modules on different pages very easy to manage. All of the basic display settings are already configured - all you need to do is choose which calendar categories to display. Simple! You can, of course, change the settings at the module end as well, overriding the config defaults. Another win!

While this core extension is free, the meager cost of a subscription with JEvents is absolutely the best money you will spend. The add-ons available to subscribers are extremely powerful and well worth the cost. Please, please support Geraint so that he can continue providing this necessary component!!

Speaking of Geraint, I would like to address support for JEvents. I would be surprised if you could find a more responsive, accurate, or KIND developer of any Joomla extension. At least I have not in 4 years. No matter what idiotic mistake I've made (and I've made my share), Geraint always guided me through a solution without condescension. If you think this is the norm, you have not been around the Joomla community long enough! My queries in the forums are answered so quickly that I am unsure if Geraint even sleeps!!

To sum up, this extension is the best of its kind you will find - PERIOD. The developer is extremely active and committed to this product, and is continually adding new features. Do yourself a huge favor and buy a subscription at the JEvents site. Download, install, and feel the love!!!

Reviews: 4
Ive been using Jevents calendar for 2 years - no problems... and just got paid membership for the extra addons. It was well worth it and when I had a problem the developer fixed it immediately - my fault as I missed installing one of the plugins. Even without membership the support has always been good.

It seems like the development is moving ahead at a fast pace and nothing compares to it if you want TOTAL event management from a calendar. I cant find anything better.
Reviews: 8
This calendar is the best one that I have found in Joomla. It is easy to install, set-up and use, and we would be lost without it. Thank you for creating and sharing your work with all of us!
Reviews: 5
In terms of features there is no equal and the support is fantastic. Geraint has provided the best calendar and events system for Joomla period.
Reviews: 4
This is my very first review, and I must say that I totally love this component! It has EVERYTHING that you could possibly need to manage events! The support form is awesome. I got it installed and running with 5 minutes... while doing a seminar on how to install it! Thats how easy it is! A feature that I would like to see in the next release would be functionality for ACL to be more deeper. Apart from that, this is a number one extension for use within Joomla! I'm currently using it on one of my clients websites for their event calendar. They are a church, and I must say, this is TOTALLY a must have in that enviroment! Thanks JEvents!!
Reviews: 1
With outstanding help from the owner, I realised a training or team calendar where different teams can register team members for a specific training. Only 9 "seats or positions" are available (this is flexible, for a soccer team you can have 11 "seats" of course).

With a single click team members can reserve a "seat or position" to attend the training! They can only reserve their own place and only one time. One can see a list of all the other attendees and positions for a specific training and/or team. There is a special "admin" view where an admin can add or remove all team members from a drop down list (regular can't do that, they can only add their own name).

I've search for this solution a long time and with the outstanding help of the head developer of Jevents, it was all done within 3 days! I am still amazed by that..
Reviews: 2
I have been using JEvents, in various forms over several years now, and I am very happy that I did not have to do any coding to get all of its functionality on multiple sites that I maintain from non-profit groups. In short: It WORKS! It has been regularly maintained, and it continues to improve in both looks and extra functionality. But it sticks to its roots, which is that it maintains a calendar of events. It has allowed for, and supported extension of this concept. One of the biggest such extensions allows you to add registration to those events for your users.

The developers of this tool have kept it free to download - even after continuing to toil over additional improvements and functionality. My hat's off to this group, and I will join their new club, so that I can get early access to whatever else they're cooking up.
Page 12 of 20