The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JEvents Popular ComponentModulePlugin

This well known and loved Events Calendar for Joomla. JEvents consists of a Joomla component and a number of modules and plugins to manage and display your events on your website. JEvents is translated into 37 languages (with more tranlsations added regularily) so its probably available in your language.

Component
* One-off Events and complex repeating patterns of events can be created and viewed in an attractive calendar and a variety of list formats
* Multiple design layouts possible
* Fully compatible with Joomla MVC framework
* Ical imports/exports
* Repeat exception handling
* Events can be placed in multiple categories and calendar views can be customised to show all or some of these categories
* Layout editing tool to perfect the presentation on your site - you can even customise the event editing page.
* Layouts can be event category specific so your sports events can be laid out differently to your music events etc.
* Optional checking for overlapping events globally or on a category specific basis

Modules
* Mini-calendar module (jevents_cal) which gives a quick overview of events which can be placed on any page
* Latest events module (jevents_latest) which gives a highly configurable summary of upcoming, recently created or popular events
* Events legend (jevents_legend) - displayed alongside the component gives you a summary of event categories and an easy way to limit the events shown to specific categories
* Filter module allows you to filter/search the events being displayed using a variety of criteria

Plugin
* A search plugin that enables the global Joomla search to return results from the events calendar

JEvents 3.1 is now available for general download - this is a Joomla 2.5-3.0 native component that takes JEvents to the next level. The old version of JEvents (2.2.9) for Joomla 1.5 is still available to download too.

Note that version 3.1.24 onwards removes the blue information icon linking to the JEvents website.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2009-09-20
Reviews: 1
Have downloaded and used on my first 1.5 site and have to say this extension has met all my expectations. I have been trying to link the calendar events to an external article without success but maybe that is me not investigating all the options. Great work from the developer, once I get the link prob sorted I will be making a donation, thanks Tigerdoom.
2009-09-18
Reviews: 11
I've had this add-on since Joomla 1.0 and have nowupdated to 1.5.2 for my Joomla 1.5 sites.

There's no other extension quite as functional - nor one that's as easy to re-style. It's well worth visiting the forums for help and tips ;-)
2009-09-09
Reviews: 2
The component is good. However, I would like to suggest some improvements:

1) It would be good if there would be tool tip on the calendar module

2) the calendar module should show difeerent colors for defferent event categories. At the moment it defaults to the default color
Owner's reply

The calendar module is designed to show if there is an event on a specific day. If there is more than one then it would not be possible to decide which tooltip to show or which category colour to choose.

2009-09-01
Reviews: 98
Jevents is an excellent Joomla extension. Thanks to the author(s).

However, I noticed that there are very limited date format options in the settings. And no one matches our Chinese people's tradition. For example, we want a date format as: %Y 年 %b 月 %d 日。I tried to define such a format in the language file but failed.

Hope the author will add full customization option to date format in next release. Thanks.
Owner's reply

Can you raise this point (with a little more detail) in the Jevents 1.5 forum and we'll see what can be done.

2009-08-17
Reviews: 7
I must have tried about 50 different extensions in different categories. All in all this one was the best looking and the most intuitive!

Good job folks!
2009-08-17
Reviews: 2
I only started using Joomla 3 days ago, and this was my first ever Extension. It fits my criteria to the letter and was very easy to install.
Very Feature rich - much more than I could have hoped for.
Thanks Very much for this

Andy
2009-08-16
Reviews: 2
So far this exceeds the capabilities of the similar components I've paid for in the past. I can make it look how I want, it has a calendar view as well as event lists. Its great.
2009-08-06
Reviews: 3
Great extension. Easy to use and modify. Will definitely use again.

Thank you!
2009-08-02
Reviews: 1
Really easy to get going and good functionality.

One improvement, I reckon, would be to allow the option to choose a different editor to the default (don't know if that's possible) because a complex editor can take up a lot of real estate in the popup window and a lot of people won't really need the full editor functionality for events.
2009-07-19
Reviews: 2
I considered a number of options when I decided to implement a calendar on my website and I've not been disappointed with Events Calendar. I find that most of the problems described by other people can be fixed quite simply - however I have also had a couple of problems finding ical functionality. Apart from that, a great calendar!
2009-07-14
Reviews: 1
It works for most of the needs of who works with events.

Has some issues on design (at least on version made for Joomla 1.0), but easily improvable through CSS.

Also It´s not hard to change the code for specific needs.

Recommended!

Congrats,
Alexandre.
2009-07-12
Reviews: 3
I love the look, functionality (especially the hover over pop-up window!) and numerous adjustments of this calendar system... but... now that I see a Google maps included in another Joomla calendar extension and he MAJOR benefits from its' inclusion, I'm hoping JEvents adds one too so I don't have to switch.
Owner's reply

Google maps and geocoding is built into an addon that is available for JEvents. You can see this in action in the JEvents demo (see http://www.jevents.net/en/demo/all-events-150/icalrepeat.detail/2009/07/15/36306/-/MGJlZThhODBmMjA4NDY2MWE4NDdlNzI2YzJlN2M1NmY= for an example)

2009-07-02
Reviews: 2
This is by far the best event calendar i found, I've tested a lot of events calendars but this one has the best features of all, and is pretty easy to install, configure and use.

Congrats for the developers great Work.
Regards.
Carlos Ortiz.
2009-06-28
Reviews: 2
This is a great calendar. Together with the module for latest events, it makes a great solution. It also has a RSS feed option that works nicely.

If you manage to be to allow integration with clients such as thunderbird (ical/caldav) it would make it almos perfect.

Not to thrilled about the templates and the categories, but all in all is great work.
Thanks!
2009-06-26
Reviews: 2
I love JEvents... have used it for quite a while... however, in v. 1.5.1, there are NO controls for iCal import or manaagement... don't know why... just not there.
Owner's reply

I'm not sure I understand what your problem is about the iCal import functionality. Did you ask about this in the JEvents Forum?

2009-06-15
Reviews: 1
to install try FTP unzipped file to /tmp/ folder and install from there.
Make sure User login module has been created and working.
create a new module, about user login, and place on every menu.

Then jevents is great. Love it.
2009-06-11
Reviews: 6
Initially I downloaded and installed EventList, but it seemed too crude for me so I decided to try JEvents, especially when I read that I could import iCal events into it.
The extension was easy to install and use, navigation excellent and overall performance fantastic! Thanks for making it free guys!
2009-05-31
Reviews: 1
The newest version 1.5 adds great functionality to an already great calendar. Have used it on several sites. It is easy to install and use. The upgrade from 1.4.3 to 1.5 is different than most other Joomla extensions but works well if you read the instructions carefully.
2009-05-31
Reviews: 2
I'm new to Joomla and needed a good calendar program that my client could use to update his performance schedule. This was very straightforward and exactly what I needed! I have tried some other extensions that were not this easy to use. Thanks!
2009-05-24
Reviews: 2
I was nervous because I'm new and did not want to mess my joomla (which I love). This Calendar was dulcito to install, easier than I though, complete, totally joomla style. The situations were being solve by themselve just following joomla logic. It does even more than I expected. A big thank you to the people who developed it. I know very well how hard it is to make something work and then others don't even notice. A+
Page 13 of 20