The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JEvents Popular ComponentModulePlugin

This well known and loved Events Calendar for Joomla. JEvents consists of a Joomla component and a number of modules and plugins to manage and display your events on your website. JEvents is translated into 37 languages (with more tranlsations added regularily) so its probably available in your language.

Component
* One-off Events and complex repeating patterns of events can be created and viewed in an attractive calendar and a variety of list formats
* Multiple design layouts possible
* Fully compatible with Joomla MVC framework
* Ical imports/exports
* Repeat exception handling
* Events can be placed in multiple categories and calendar views can be customised to show all or some of these categories
* Layout editing tool to perfect the presentation on your site - you can even customise the event editing page.
* Layouts can be event category specific so your sports events can be laid out differently to your music events etc.
* Optional checking for overlapping events globally or on a category specific basis

Modules
* Mini-calendar module (jevents_cal) which gives a quick overview of events which can be placed on any page
* Latest events module (jevents_latest) which gives a highly configurable summary of upcoming, recently created or popular events
* Events legend (jevents_legend) - displayed alongside the component gives you a summary of event categories and an easy way to limit the events shown to specific categories
* Filter module allows you to filter/search the events being displayed using a variety of criteria

Plugin
* A search plugin that enables the global Joomla search to return results from the events calendar

JEvents 3.1 is now available for general download - this is a Joomla 2.5-3.0 native component that takes JEvents to the next level. The old version of JEvents (2.2.9) for Joomla 1.5 is still available to download too.

Note that version 3.1.24 onwards removes the blue information icon linking to the JEvents website.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2009-05-31
Reviews: 2
I'm new to Joomla and needed a good calendar program that my client could use to update his performance schedule. This was very straightforward and exactly what I needed! I have tried some other extensions that were not this easy to use. Thanks!
2009-05-24
Reviews: 2
I was nervous because I'm new and did not want to mess my joomla (which I love). This Calendar was dulcito to install, easier than I though, complete, totally joomla style. The situations were being solve by themselve just following joomla logic. It does even more than I expected. A big thank you to the people who developed it. I know very well how hard it is to make something work and then others don't even notice. A+
2009-05-15
Reviews: 3
i am using it for my websites and its serving me very well. I also like the support and Its quite easy to customise
2009-05-12
Reviews: 3
Very nice component. All the erros on the prev. version was solved an this actual version works fine. I had little trouble changing the php time code but after a little reads I was able to custom the events time on the module. Good work!
2009-05-12
Reviews: 2
I installed JEvents because it was the only thing that worked with DTRegister (and some of the neater extensions like RSEvents and RedEvents hadn't come out yet). I think it's very disappointing.

Yes, it's very robust. And more mature than some others. But the UI is antiquated at best. My users all agreed: it's ugly. And none of them could figure out how to use it very well.

And I know the devs have been spending a lot of time just bringing it up to 1.5 Native. But 1.5 is not new. Other calendar/event extensions are moving way beyond such hurdles.
2009-04-30
Reviews: 1
Installed fine, but changing things is a nightmare, from the word 'go' the image handling did not work and support on the forum is very poor. Users cannot upload an image they can only use existing images and it has a very complex front end of which an ordinary PC user would struggle with.

Otherwise works well and its the only extension we could find that still works on 1.0.

Good luck, would be nice to see some big improvements
2009-04-13
Reviews: 1
JEvents is the best calendar component I've found yet. It's not perfect, but the developer is obviously working on it and it continues to improve.
On the down side, customization isn't very straightforward in some cases. Also, the repeating events functionality is a bit quirky.
All in all, however, this is an outstanding extension. Support through the forum is fantastic, and all of my questions have been answered quickly and thoroughly.
The issues I listed above are minor, and I expect they'll be resolved in future releases (development is active at the moment). Congrats to the developer for a great extension!
2009-04-09
Reviews: 2
Great Event calendar works well and easy to install and configure. Had it up and running very quickly and once the user permissions are set multiple administrators can add events from the front end so no need to login to the admin area to create new events.

Well Done!
2009-04-03
Reviews: 2
The module itself is great, but the support was exceptional, i had a couple of teething problems at first but Geraint was there very quick to help and even had time to sort out the problem on my site which was beyond the call of duty. Thank you for this great module and your fantastic support.
2009-04-02
Reviews: 2
I looked for a calendar extension for my private site and found Jevents. Jevents give me all needed functionality to create a private / common calendar for my site.
I thinks that some small enhancement will increase Jevents usability:
- For event edition/add in frontend, define which calendar to use in back-end (no more selection in the front end if used)
- For event edition/add in frontend, get in account the list of category defined in back end when displaying a full calendar

I also tried to translate Jevents in french, but some label seem missing in the english file (for repeating event). When the final version will be released, I could translate the language file in French for you.

Thanks a lot for your extension
2009-04-01
Reviews: 2
I have used the previous versions of JEvent for Joomla 1.0.x on my sites for quite some time after trying other options, some for quite a while (GCalendar, EventList, redEVENT, JCalPro when it was free). I have recently revisited it because of its integration with a registration component that I bought, which requires it. JEvents is still my favorite because it has a clean, straightforward interface, can show events in calendar format (month, week, year) or list events using categories. The new 1.5 version has also added hierarchies of categories, which add another dimension of flexibility that I don't think is matched anywhere else. Its amazing to have all of this and it still remain a free component. I am not sure about other comments about non-support. I made a suggestion to the forum earlier this morning and had a reply back within hours about how to fix the problem, with the code to use and where to put it. Looks like good support to me.
2009-03-31
Reviews: 1
I believe this would be a great addition to anyone's joomla site (I've watched other sites using their component), but the lack of documentation or support for configuration in Joomla is incredible!

Never had so many problems with a component. It's amazing how such a high ranking component can have such a poor support for non developers.
Installed : OK
But configuration is a disaster! No way to show events on front page and I've tried everything. "Not user friendly".
J.Events might be a great software but isn't intuitive at all, this should require some documentation.
Tried the forum but entire help and support forum IS Locked and everyone with the problem I have hadn't had any reply.

Otherwise, goodluck JEVENT!
Owner's reply

The forum is NOT locked - See http://www.jevents.net/forum/

2009-03-22
Reviews: 1
This is one of the best components I'm running on my page!
I need a calendar and this one is simply the best!
I use the latest version for Joomla 1.5 native.
Support is fantastic - a must have if you need a calendar on your page!
2009-03-21
Reviews: 3
We have used JEvents before, but after upgrading to 1.5 we had to use other alternatives for a long time. But now we are finally back on track, and the JEvents for 1.5 Native work just fine. Thanks to the developers!
2009-03-21
Reviews: 1
Congrats and huge thanks to the developers of this fine events calendar! Just spent an hour testing RC1 and so far its working great!
2009-03-12
Reviews: 2
simply a spectacular extension. Congratulations to the developers
2009-03-04
Reviews: 1
Following the instructions "to the letter" for the 1.5 Beta release, I seemed to get a successful installation in Joomla 1.5.9 but when trying to add it to a menu it doesn't work. I keep getting a 404: Component Not Found error. Sounds like an issue I can take to the forum, right? Wrong! The forum has zero support and is locked to new posts.

This component is not documented or supported in any acceptable way, and unless you have a few days to fugure it out I suggest you stay away. Far away.
Owner's reply

You must be trying the wrong forum - the jevents 1.5 forum (http://www.jevents.net/forum/viewforum.php?f=17) is not locked and is very active.

2009-03-03
Reviews: 7
Hi,
We've been using JEvents in native 1.5 mode for awhile now and it is working fine. Thanks for the great calendar program. Integrates very nicely with Mozilla Sunbird ics calendar files! This is a big plus - now our client calendars and web calendars are easily synched!
2009-03-01
Reviews: 6
You MUST go to their website and follow the instructions!! this isnt an upload/install/use extension. You have to follow the instructions or you will get Errors!! (beta version for joomla 1.5)
2009-02-24
Reviews: 3
I had been happy with previous versions of JEvents but went to install it on Joomla 1.5.9 and the latest production version failed horribly. It can't even be configured without spewing errors.

Posts to the support forum (me and another chap having the same errors) go unanswered.

Tried the new 1.5 version and it is broken too.

I wasted far too much time trying to get this working.
Page 14 of 20