The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JEvents Popular ComponentModulePlugin

This well known and loved Events Calendar for Joomla. JEvents consists of a Joomla component and a number of modules and plugins to manage and display your events on your website. JEvents is translated into 37 languages (with more tranlsations added regularily) so its probably available in your language.

Component
* One-off Events and complex repeating patterns of events can be created and viewed in an attractive calendar and a variety of list formats
* Multiple design layouts possible
* Fully compatible with Joomla MVC framework
* Ical imports/exports
* Repeat exception handling
* Events can be placed in multiple categories and calendar views can be customised to show all or some of these categories
* Layout editing tool to perfect the presentation on your site - you can even customise the event editing page.
* Optional checking for overlapping events globally or on a category specific basis

Modules
* Mini-calendar module (jevents_cal) which gives a quick overview of events which can be placed on any page
* Latest events module (jevents_latest) which gives a highly configurable summary of upcoming, recently created or popular events
* Events legend (jevents_legend) - displayed alongside the component gives you a summary of event categories and an easy way to limit the events shown to specific categories
* Filter module allows you to filter/search the events being displayed using a variety of criteria

Plugin
* A search plugin that enables the global Joomla search to return results from the events calendar

JEvents 3.1 is now available for general download - this is a Joomla 2.5-3.0 native component that takes JEvents to the next level. The old version of JEvents (2.2.9) for Joomla 1.5 is still available to download too.

Note that version 3.1.24 onwards removes the blue information icon linking to the JEvents website.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2009-04-01
Reviews: 2
I have used the previous versions of JEvent for Joomla 1.0.x on my sites for quite some time after trying other options, some for quite a while (GCalendar, EventList, redEVENT, JCalPro when it was free). I have recently revisited it because of its integration with a registration component that I bought, which requires it. JEvents is still my favorite because it has a clean, straightforward interface, can show events in calendar format (month, week, year) or list events using categories. The new 1.5 version has also added hierarchies of categories, which add another dimension of flexibility that I don't think is matched anywhere else. Its amazing to have all of this and it still remain a free component. I am not sure about other comments about non-support. I made a suggestion to the forum earlier this morning and had a reply back within hours about how to fix the problem, with the code to use and where to put it. Looks like good support to me.
2009-03-31
Reviews: 1
I believe this would be a great addition to anyone's joomla site (I've watched other sites using their component), but the lack of documentation or support for configuration in Joomla is incredible!

Never had so many problems with a component. It's amazing how such a high ranking component can have such a poor support for non developers.
Installed : OK
But configuration is a disaster! No way to show events on front page and I've tried everything. "Not user friendly".
J.Events might be a great software but isn't intuitive at all, this should require some documentation.
Tried the forum but entire help and support forum IS Locked and everyone with the problem I have hadn't had any reply.

Otherwise, goodluck JEVENT!
Owner's reply

The forum is NOT locked - See http://www.jevents.net/forum/

2009-03-22
Reviews: 1
This is one of the best components I'm running on my page!
I need a calendar and this one is simply the best!
I use the latest version for Joomla 1.5 native.
Support is fantastic - a must have if you need a calendar on your page!
2009-03-21
Reviews: 3
We have used JEvents before, but after upgrading to 1.5 we had to use other alternatives for a long time. But now we are finally back on track, and the JEvents for 1.5 Native work just fine. Thanks to the developers!
2009-03-21
Reviews: 1
Congrats and huge thanks to the developers of this fine events calendar! Just spent an hour testing RC1 and so far its working great!
2009-03-12
Reviews: 2
simply a spectacular extension. Congratulations to the developers
2009-03-04
Reviews: 1
Following the instructions "to the letter" for the 1.5 Beta release, I seemed to get a successful installation in Joomla 1.5.9 but when trying to add it to a menu it doesn't work. I keep getting a 404: Component Not Found error. Sounds like an issue I can take to the forum, right? Wrong! The forum has zero support and is locked to new posts.

This component is not documented or supported in any acceptable way, and unless you have a few days to fugure it out I suggest you stay away. Far away.
Owner's reply

You must be trying the wrong forum - the jevents 1.5 forum (http://www.jevents.net/forum/viewforum.php?f=17) is not locked and is very active.

2009-03-03
Reviews: 7
Hi,
We've been using JEvents in native 1.5 mode for awhile now and it is working fine. Thanks for the great calendar program. Integrates very nicely with Mozilla Sunbird ics calendar files! This is a big plus - now our client calendars and web calendars are easily synched!
2009-03-01
Reviews: 6
You MUST go to their website and follow the instructions!! this isnt an upload/install/use extension. You have to follow the instructions or you will get Errors!! (beta version for joomla 1.5)
2009-02-24
Reviews: 3
I had been happy with previous versions of JEvents but went to install it on Joomla 1.5.9 and the latest production version failed horribly. It can't even be configured without spewing errors.

Posts to the support forum (me and another chap having the same errors) go unanswered.

Tried the new 1.5 version and it is broken too.

I wasted far too much time trying to get this working.
2009-02-05
Reviews: 1
I would rate this a 4.5, but that's not available so I went with the good as I can't say its a perfect 5. The main downsides to this extension are:
1. it only runs in legacy mode
2. Repeating events cannot have exceptions
3. the instructions aren't great

I do need to say this that this extension is FREE and VERY powerful. I love that I can alter the colors and images, I wish it was a little easier, but that's okay. I had to pull it from one site only because of the problem of not being able to have exceptions in recurring events....that's IT. The client was freaking out about that. So, I am hoping this is addressed in the next release, and thank you, thank you for all your hard work.
2009-02-04
Reviews: 3
I have been running jevents for a couple years. Not a fancy events calendar but very functional and worked well.
Then I upgraded my site to joomla 1.5.8. Jevent never worked. I definately is not running in native mode as the button suggests.

Requests for help, in the forums went unanswered. So, I gave up and moved to jcal, and never looked back. I have better things to do than try and get a simple calendar working.
2009-01-26
Reviews: 6
and is BAD it doesn't have it.
This is a _G_R_E_A_T_ extension.

I'm still using the "compatible" version for Joomla 1.5 (llegacy mode) and I'm looking forward the next release. I could have a glance at it... and I WANT IT. unfortunately I do not have a test site, just on_roductions sites. but if I could help in any way, please let me know !
2009-01-21
Reviews: 5
Having not upgraded this component in quite a long time (Previous version was doing just fine for me), I decided to grab a new download for a new install on a site, and all I can say is WOW!

First off, out of the box, everything installs quickly and it's Joomla 1.5 Native Ready!!! Big Plus these days...

Getting around in the new layout takes a few seconds, and you wind up with a few "what is this for?" thoughts, but as soon as you play, you have this thing figured out quickly and easilly...

Not sure what the other complaints about it is, as you can configure just about every aspect of this now, and it's pretty easy to do so. (Granted, having some CSS knowledge helps in making it look the way you want it to, but then again - you can't please everyone Hasslehoff!)

I highly recommend this to those looking for a fast and simple calendar system for their site... it covers just about all the bases... have a few suggestions for features, but this neither the time nor the site to post that...

Kudos Guys! Keep up the great work!
2009-01-18
Reviews: 1
This component is still as butt ugly as ever. I've watched it grow for over five years and although the functionality has come a long way, the interface is still utterly horrible. The list view is absolutely ridiculous. I realize most of the elements can be controlled with the stylesheet, but the average user doesn't possess the necessary css skills to "re-skin" this thing.

I strongly suggest that someone give this thing a new look...something more corporate or professional...to give it the boost it deserves. It would also be a great idea to provide a "skin pack" with the component which consists of a variety of stylesheets and graphic elements.
Owner's reply

Have you looked at version 1.5 recently - see the demo at www.jevents.net or try out the alpha3 version (http://www.jevents.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1154&p=3083#p3083).

2009-01-12
Reviews: 3
I’m very disappointed in this product (I wish I had a chance to try it!). I know it’s free (thank god) but it’s a prime example of getting the programmers to double up as the people who write the instructions and setup the download site.

What are you supposed to download? At least give us a clue guys? You have to go here and then there and than back to here and then your presented to a list of files which mean nothing using you work for M15!

To say that I am frustrated with trying to get the necessary files (I didn’t even get to the installation stage).

So unless you like a challenge, I would suggest going for another Event extension that actually has all the files in the same place, or at least, tells you which files to download without have alpha/beta/1.01RC etc.
2009-01-10
Reviews: 1
I installed JEvents for Joomla! 1.0.x under the impression that it was a decent calendar component. Unfortunately it wasn't. The most annoying bug was that if I defined an event as recurring yearly, JEvents ignored its settings completely and only showed the event once. I took extra care to make the proper changes at the settings - and no matter what, there was absolutely no way to successfully set an event to occur yearly.

In addition besides the monthly view, no other view actually worked. The browser error was always the same "the request is being done in such a way that it will never complete". There were search indexing problems, sef problems and events problems. In addition there was absolutely no support at the developer's forum, as anyone can see with a simple visit.

I had to uninstall it and chose JCal instead which actually works. What a waste of time...
2008-12-25
Reviews: 1
I looked at the work in SVN recently. Wau the new 1.5 compatible version is really nice. The MVC concept is implemented well and the new features with ICAL integration is very useful.

Together with the existing features of links to articles and other things, this is on a very good way for becoming again an important extension for J! 1.5 - go on this way. Thanks for the hard work.

Alex
2008-12-12
Reviews: 1
This is a well evolved, comprehensive component. No argument there. I'm using it on a government website with very few issues.

However, be cautious if you're not a confident self-hacker. There are unanswered requests for help on their support forum which are more than a month old.

Again, this is a great component but you need to be in a position to solve your own problems should they arise.
2008-12-10
Reviews: 2
I switched from Event list to Jevents and I just think it was a perfect decision.

What I like in Jevents:
- The event creator's username appears (which was not an option in Event List!) and it links to his email, but I have made a modification and now it links to cb profile!
- Adding an event is much more easier and simple (it was more complicated in EventList, also the venues people adds in EventList can be used by other persons when adding an event!!).
- I could easily integrate it with jComments after adding some code. (note: EventList was already integrated with jComments)
- Very easy to customize.
Page 14 of 20