The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JEvents Popular ComponentModulePlugin

This well known and loved Events Calendar for Joomla. JEvents consists of a Joomla component and a number of modules and plugins to manage and display your events on your website. JEvents is translated into 37 languages (with more tranlsations added regularily) so its probably available in your language.

Component
* One-off Events and complex repeating patterns of events can be created and viewed in an attractive calendar and a variety of list formats
* Multiple design layouts possible
* Fully compatible with Joomla MVC framework
* Ical imports/exports
* Repeat exception handling
* Events can be placed in multiple categories and calendar views can be customised to show all or some of these categories
* Layout editing tool to perfect the presentation on your site - you can even customise the event editing page.
* Layouts can be event category specific so your sports events can be laid out differently to your music events etc.
* Optional checking for overlapping events globally or on a category specific basis

Modules
* Mini-calendar module (jevents_cal) which gives a quick overview of events which can be placed on any page
* Latest events module (jevents_latest) which gives a highly configurable summary of upcoming, recently created or popular events
* Events legend (jevents_legend) - displayed alongside the component gives you a summary of event categories and an easy way to limit the events shown to specific categories
* Filter module allows you to filter/search the events being displayed using a variety of criteria

Plugin
* A search plugin that enables the global Joomla search to return results from the events calendar

JEvents 3.1 is now available for general download - this is a Joomla 2.5-3.0 native component that takes JEvents to the next level. The old version of JEvents (2.2.9) for Joomla 1.5 is still available to download too.

Note that version 3.1.24 onwards removes the blue information icon linking to the JEvents website.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2009-01-21
Reviews: 5
Having not upgraded this component in quite a long time (Previous version was doing just fine for me), I decided to grab a new download for a new install on a site, and all I can say is WOW!

First off, out of the box, everything installs quickly and it's Joomla 1.5 Native Ready!!! Big Plus these days...

Getting around in the new layout takes a few seconds, and you wind up with a few "what is this for?" thoughts, but as soon as you play, you have this thing figured out quickly and easilly...

Not sure what the other complaints about it is, as you can configure just about every aspect of this now, and it's pretty easy to do so. (Granted, having some CSS knowledge helps in making it look the way you want it to, but then again - you can't please everyone Hasslehoff!)

I highly recommend this to those looking for a fast and simple calendar system for their site... it covers just about all the bases... have a few suggestions for features, but this neither the time nor the site to post that...

Kudos Guys! Keep up the great work!
2009-01-18
Reviews: 1
This component is still as butt ugly as ever. I've watched it grow for over five years and although the functionality has come a long way, the interface is still utterly horrible. The list view is absolutely ridiculous. I realize most of the elements can be controlled with the stylesheet, but the average user doesn't possess the necessary css skills to "re-skin" this thing.

I strongly suggest that someone give this thing a new look...something more corporate or professional...to give it the boost it deserves. It would also be a great idea to provide a "skin pack" with the component which consists of a variety of stylesheets and graphic elements.
Owner's reply

Have you looked at version 1.5 recently - see the demo at www.jevents.net or try out the alpha3 version (http://www.jevents.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1154&p=3083#p3083).

2009-01-12
Reviews: 3
I’m very disappointed in this product (I wish I had a chance to try it!). I know it’s free (thank god) but it’s a prime example of getting the programmers to double up as the people who write the instructions and setup the download site.

What are you supposed to download? At least give us a clue guys? You have to go here and then there and than back to here and then your presented to a list of files which mean nothing using you work for M15!

To say that I am frustrated with trying to get the necessary files (I didn’t even get to the installation stage).

So unless you like a challenge, I would suggest going for another Event extension that actually has all the files in the same place, or at least, tells you which files to download without have alpha/beta/1.01RC etc.
2009-01-10
Reviews: 1
I installed JEvents for Joomla! 1.0.x under the impression that it was a decent calendar component. Unfortunately it wasn't. The most annoying bug was that if I defined an event as recurring yearly, JEvents ignored its settings completely and only showed the event once. I took extra care to make the proper changes at the settings - and no matter what, there was absolutely no way to successfully set an event to occur yearly.

In addition besides the monthly view, no other view actually worked. The browser error was always the same "the request is being done in such a way that it will never complete". There were search indexing problems, sef problems and events problems. In addition there was absolutely no support at the developer's forum, as anyone can see with a simple visit.

I had to uninstall it and chose JCal instead which actually works. What a waste of time...
2008-12-25
Reviews: 1
I looked at the work in SVN recently. Wau the new 1.5 compatible version is really nice. The MVC concept is implemented well and the new features with ICAL integration is very useful.

Together with the existing features of links to articles and other things, this is on a very good way for becoming again an important extension for J! 1.5 - go on this way. Thanks for the hard work.

Alex
2008-12-12
Reviews: 1
This is a well evolved, comprehensive component. No argument there. I'm using it on a government website with very few issues.

However, be cautious if you're not a confident self-hacker. There are unanswered requests for help on their support forum which are more than a month old.

Again, this is a great component but you need to be in a position to solve your own problems should they arise.
2008-12-10
Reviews: 2
I switched from Event list to Jevents and I just think it was a perfect decision.

What I like in Jevents:
- The event creator's username appears (which was not an option in Event List!) and it links to his email, but I have made a modification and now it links to cb profile!
- Adding an event is much more easier and simple (it was more complicated in EventList, also the venues people adds in EventList can be used by other persons when adding an event!!).
- I could easily integrate it with jComments after adding some code. (note: EventList was already integrated with jComments)
- Very easy to customize.
2008-12-05
Reviews: 11
Ok, so here it is:

5 stars for the component. It is simply great and the fact that it's free makes it better!

0 stars for the support in the forums. NO SUPPORT WHATSOEVER!

(5+0)/ 2= 2,5 ~ 3

3 star rating from me.
2008-11-27
Reviews: 1
Good extension buuut nooo support in forums....
2008-11-22
Reviews: 2
This calender is great.
Runs with out any problems, and it's simple and clean.
Just perfect!
2008-11-09
Reviews: 1
This extension is very good. Run without errors.
TBZ
2008-11-06
Reviews: 1
Tried the others, and I absolutely love this calendar/event system. It has alot of options and does everything I need.
Great stuff.
2008-10-20
Reviews: 1
I was searching for a really good Joomla 1.5 calendar. I started using the com_events_1.5.0alpha2 build and I originally scrapped it, because it didn't create the db correctly upon install. I then noticed the two devel links on the left hand side that correct the db problem.

After that it works awesome. I was able to change the output of the latest mod and I was able to do everything that it advertised. I would say that this is the best Calendar component out there for Joomla 1.5.
2008-09-12
Reviews: 2
This compoent did the job and wasn't buggy, but we were not too sad to leave it behind when upgrading to Joomla 1.5. Despite the 1.5 Native icon, the installation instructions require you to turn on legacy mode, which we declined to do.
Owner's reply

It is Jevents 1.5 that is Joomla 1.5 native. This version is currently in alpha release.

2008-09-11
Reviews: 4
I'm an amatuer Joomla user, and this was very easy to install and use! Just a little glitch - I first tried installing v.1.4.2 which didn't work w/ Joomla 1.5. I then installed v.1.4.3RC2 and it is working beautifully. I love the access level functionality. Thanks for a great event calendar!
2008-08-26
Reviews: 2
I installed this module first time and had it configured in minutes.
A breeze to use.
It would be handy if there could be a notification function / reminder function built in to the events, that could automatically be sent to subscribed users.

All in all simple software that works.
2008-08-26
Reviews: 41
Hi,

I've just installed 1.5alpha2 on a J1.5.6 site and it didn't work. I then read the installation instructions and lo-and-behold, it seems to be working fine! I do hope development on this continues; expect a donation when my next production site is complete :)

1. Install the component as a normal Joomla 1.5 component.
2. After installation change the config to replace the admin email address
3. You must then click the following links in the 'Development' tab in the JEvents control panel in order (VERY IMPORTANT)
1. Migrate admin menus and update databases (this will make sure your tables are up to date - the sql in the xml install file is more difficult to maintain during development and is therefore out of date!)
2. Migrate All Events to IcalEvents (this will copy all your existing events into the new format, if you have any - without removing them)
4. You MUST create at least one category before doing anything else
2008-08-19
Reviews: 1
this went tits up on me... I tried the alpha version first... messy as hell... reverted to the "stable" version with legacy enabled... just couldn't get it working... I'm sure i must be doing something wrong here, but this is not straightforward, and is not what I would expect from a plugin with this rating...
2008-08-09
Reviews: 1
This is a great extension. The only thing that holds me back from giving it 5 stars is that it needs an RSS component that can syndicate events--preferably by category.
2008-08-01
Reviews: 1
First time I've ever written a review on here.

Up till now, I've loved this component. Have used it on our entertainment news website for our city, and one of the big advantages was allowing users to be able to add events to the calendar for approval.

Previously, users could upload their images by simply uploading a file via a Submit button. However, when we recently upgraded to the new version of this component, it defaults to a WYSIWYG editor.

And, the problem arises.

It came to our attention from one of our members that when they tried to upload their picture, they are actually using the same editor that we use on the backend, and they are able to directly access ALL of our website's image files with full editing capabilities.

All it would take is for one idiot to access our Media manager via this Calender and delete every single one of our images!

I've written to the developer's forum with no response, as of yet. However, based on comments from other users with this same dilemma, the developer states clearly they do not have any plans whatsoever to address this issue. And, all I can say is, "WHAT???"

To me, this is a HUGE security issue! Sure, we can remove the ability for users to Add Events to the calendar, but that completely defeats the purpose of why we liked this calendar till now.

Again, I used to love this component, but this security issue (and the apparent lack of concern from the developer) has led me to start looking for another option. I hope something gets done about this from the developer's side, because I can't believe they'd leave this issue unresolved.
Page 15 of 20