The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JEvents Popular ComponentModulePlugin

This well known and loved Events Calendar for Joomla. JEvents consists of a Joomla component and a number of modules and plugins to manage and display your events on your website. JEvents is translated into 37 languages (with more tranlsations added regularily) so its probably available in your language.

Component
* One-off Events and complex repeating patterns of events can be created and viewed in an attractive calendar and a variety of list formats
* Multiple design layouts possible
* Fully compatible with Joomla MVC framework
* Ical imports/exports
* Repeat exception handling
* Events can be placed in multiple categories and calendar views can be customised to show all or some of these categories
* Layout editing tool to perfect the presentation on your site - you can even customise the event editing page.
* Layouts can be event category specific so your sports events can be laid out differently to your music events etc.
* Optional checking for overlapping events globally or on a category specific basis

Modules
* Mini-calendar module (jevents_cal) which gives a quick overview of events which can be placed on any page
* Latest events module (jevents_latest) which gives a highly configurable summary of upcoming, recently created or popular events
* Events legend (jevents_legend) - displayed alongside the component gives you a summary of event categories and an easy way to limit the events shown to specific categories
* Filter module allows you to filter/search the events being displayed using a variety of criteria

Plugin
* A search plugin that enables the global Joomla search to return results from the events calendar

JEvents 3.1 is now available for general download - this is a Joomla 2.5-3.0 native component that takes JEvents to the next level. The old version of JEvents (2.2.9) for Joomla 1.5 is still available to download too.

Note that version 3.1.24 onwards removes the blue information icon linking to the JEvents website.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2008-06-27
Reviews: 22
I have used this on several pages I have made. I love it and so do my customers.
Once configured its easy to use from front end and back.
Probably not important for most but there is a limit of about 30 years or so forward planning which I actually was using for a small project.
2008-06-25
Reviews: 7
I am putting together a new Joomla-1.5.3 site for a musician, and I was hesitant to use anything listed as "alpha" on the site, but, after trying about 5 or 6 other packages, this was the only one that worked well, and easily. I highly recommend the component.
2008-06-08
Reviews: 1
Match for all template neither 2 nor 3 column.
2008-05-03
Reviews: 2
I am a beginner to Joomla and found this extension to work flawlessly. I'm using Joomla v1.5.3 and have experienced no problems. It's easy to install and to get going. AAA! Look forward to the official release. :)
2008-04-29
Reviews: 2
I installed it on my 1.5 site without any problems.

One things i'm looking for is to skip a repeating event once
Now i set the end date before the date i should not repeat and crete a new repeating event after that date

I also finished the DUTCH translation but can't find an address to sent it to

keep up the good work
2008-04-25
Reviews: 2
I have tried a lot of calendars. Very complicated ones to overly simple, by which I mean almost useless. This was easy to install, easy to configure, and easy to use. I like the CSS tab that allows for easy color changes, etc. For something simple, yet still functional, this is it.
Wishlist** a module that simply lists a certain number of events.
Cons** the images across the top of the calendar (the Nav bar) are too large and awkward looking - would prefer a text option.
Module configuration is confusing because there are also settings for it in the component.
Pros** Easy - no strange errors or erratic behaviors. The option to limit groups that can publish from the frontend is nice. Being able to choose first day of the week is nice, too. Having categories is also a good point, and I like the backend color coding on the tables, so I can see at a glance which color is for which category. (and the color picker is so easy and fast!!)
Thank you!!
2008-04-18
Reviews: 2
Easy to configure and setup up. Adding and changing events is a snap, and changing the way they display to the user is similar to the way a professional calendar software works. You can 'skin' this thing using the css. Perfect.
2008-04-12
Reviews: 1
I am new to Joomla! and this was my first extension. I'm using Joomla 1.5.2 and initially downloaded the wrong JEvents version (I neede version 1.4.3RC). I posted a question on the JEvents forum and received a quick and helpful answer. Once I got the right version, everything worked perfectly. It is very easy to use and will allow me to have my users enter in their own events.

I didn't like the default colors, but they were easy to change by editing the CSS file. The new version they are working on will have a choice of color schemes built in, which will be nice.

I recommend this product, even for a newbie like me.
2008-04-05
Reviews: 4
All round one of the best tools - easy to install, easy to configure, easy to use! Great job! Thank you
2008-03-31
Reviews: 1
We are starting an events road tour for our products and found your Calendar to be hot and very cool for our site as we found in our testing and will soon be publishing it. Keep up the great work.
2008-03-28
Reviews: 1
Very easy to install.
Easy configuration and maintenance of the component.
To summarize, this is a great extension.
I am trying to figure out how to add multiple images to the event.(Like event pictures)
2008-03-22
Reviews: 1
Installed easily. Setup easily. Very customizable. I am looking forward to 1.5 release for Joomla! 1.5 and the improvements I see there.
2008-03-14
Reviews: 19
the download page is way too complex! Why no simple one piece installer like other add-ons?
2008-03-04
Reviews: 1
For the newest version for J 1.5

Simple to install and set up, easy to configure and set categories. The one draw back is the need for iCal to make repeating events. When I tried to set on up there was no table in my database for it, and I'm unable to find the iCal that works with this. (I'm still looking for it, though.)

I'd recommend this to people that need to list events, with the suggestion that they find the iCal first, or be ready to input repeating events multiple times.
Owner's reply

Did you follow the installation guidelines for 1.5 at http://www.jevents.net/content/view/32/5/lang,en_GB/
This will create the necessary tables for you.

2008-03-04
Reviews: 3
Geraint has struck gold here! v1.4.3 was amazing, but if you see what is in store with v1.5 you simply can't deny that this is the best calendaring option for Joomla out there! Get this extension and be patient as the 1.5alpha is developed... it is more than worth it!
2008-02-09
Reviews: 1
As almost all of my events will be repeating events, I need a calendar that will provide a lot of flexibility for repeating events. This looks like it does that with a couple of exceptions.

When scheduling an event the repeating part only lets you specify repeating events if you have the start and end dates of the event span multi-day.

This results in the events showing up in the caledar as multi-day events even though they are only an hour long.

It also doesn't provide for true multi-day events that repeat (e.g. a 3 day event that happens every month.
It is trying to provide repeating capability with too little controls.

It should have controls for how long the event is and separate controls for how often the event repeats and for how long the repetition occurs (# of repeats or start and end dates for repeats).
Owner's reply

JEvents 1.5 enables you to do all this and more.

2008-02-05
Reviews: 3
I am using this calendar on my site, but there are a few things I'd like to see -- primarily I'd like the mini calendar to allow one to scroll to the next month (and show the next month on the mini-calendar rather than just changing the large calendar on the page.) My main complaint is a lack of support for the program. I am new to Joomla and a novice at much of this. I had a few little difficulties and questions come up & I found little or no support from the developer. On the forums, I found it difficult to get an answer to my questions. With other Joomla extensions, I found much more willing helpers.
2008-02-02
Reviews: 1
I thought this component is absolutely excellent but it is pretty much useless to me without a way of storing venues. Ideally it would work just like categories, but with venue name, address, phone number etc that you can select from a drop down when entering a new event.

Don't suppose anything like that is planned for the future?
2008-01-21
Reviews: 1
Unfortunately the reoccurring events are unusable when the particular event has the begin time en end time on the same day. I also could not found an option to let the event occur e.g. exactly every 4 weeks. Very big disappointment. Please take a look to WebCalendar.
Owner's reply

Try Jevents 1.5 - it offers far more flexibility in the management of recurring events.

2008-01-16
Reviews: 1
I tried a few different event calendars... JEvents is the best and least amount of fuss for getting the job done. It also integrates well with other extensions.
Page 16 of 20