The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JEvents Popular ComponentModulePlugin

This well known and loved Events Calendar for Joomla. JEvents consists of a Joomla component and a number of modules and plugins to manage and display your events on your website. JEvents is translated into 37 languages (with more tranlsations added regularily) so its probably available in your language.

Component
* One-off Events and complex repeating patterns of events can be created and viewed in an attractive calendar and a variety of list formats
* Multiple design layouts possible
* Fully compatible with Joomla MVC framework
* Ical imports/exports
* Repeat exception handling
* Events can be placed in multiple categories and calendar views can be customised to show all or some of these categories
* Layout editing tool to perfect the presentation on your site - you can even customise the event editing page.
* Layouts can be event category specific so your sports events can be laid out differently to your music events etc.
* Optional checking for overlapping events globally or on a category specific basis

Modules
* Mini-calendar module (jevents_cal) which gives a quick overview of events which can be placed on any page
* Latest events module (jevents_latest) which gives a highly configurable summary of upcoming, recently created or popular events
* Events legend (jevents_legend) - displayed alongside the component gives you a summary of event categories and an easy way to limit the events shown to specific categories
* Filter module allows you to filter/search the events being displayed using a variety of criteria

Plugin
* A search plugin that enables the global Joomla search to return results from the events calendar

JEvents 3.1 is now available for general download - this is a Joomla 2.5-3.0 native component that takes JEvents to the next level. The old version of JEvents (2.2.9) for Joomla 1.5 is still available to download too.

Note that version 3.1.24 onwards removes the blue information icon linking to the JEvents website.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2008-08-09
Reviews: 1
This is a great extension. The only thing that holds me back from giving it 5 stars is that it needs an RSS component that can syndicate events--preferably by category.
2008-08-01
Reviews: 1
First time I've ever written a review on here.

Up till now, I've loved this component. Have used it on our entertainment news website for our city, and one of the big advantages was allowing users to be able to add events to the calendar for approval.

Previously, users could upload their images by simply uploading a file via a Submit button. However, when we recently upgraded to the new version of this component, it defaults to a WYSIWYG editor.

And, the problem arises.

It came to our attention from one of our members that when they tried to upload their picture, they are actually using the same editor that we use on the backend, and they are able to directly access ALL of our website's image files with full editing capabilities.

All it would take is for one idiot to access our Media manager via this Calender and delete every single one of our images!

I've written to the developer's forum with no response, as of yet. However, based on comments from other users with this same dilemma, the developer states clearly they do not have any plans whatsoever to address this issue. And, all I can say is, "WHAT???"

To me, this is a HUGE security issue! Sure, we can remove the ability for users to Add Events to the calendar, but that completely defeats the purpose of why we liked this calendar till now.

Again, I used to love this component, but this security issue (and the apparent lack of concern from the developer) has led me to start looking for another option. I hope something gets done about this from the developer's side, because I can't believe they'd leave this issue unresolved.
2008-07-29
Reviews: 25
This calendar is a good-looking product, it is easy to use and fairly easy to configure. (If you want pretty calendar modules look for "Include Events Cal CSS" and set it to "YES") It produces a fine and usable calendar on your site in no time at all.

Don't let the developers website confuse you, it is a demo and nothing else. His site is difficult to navigate and not the best selling tool in the world. Nevertheless his product deserves a mention from me as being highly recommended.

Yereverluvinunclebert
2008-07-12
Reviews: 1
I dowloaded all the modules and extensions, and then installed them all and followed all the instructions on the site. When I made a JEvents page and went to it I got a message about an error on line 256 about 100 times.

I was using the alpha product so keep working I would love this extension to work
2008-07-08
Reviews: 2
I have found this extension really useful on my site, and the help forums that the producers provide are of top quality; I asked a question and it was answered politely and helpfully within 24 hours by one of the admins... Can't recommend highly enough.
2008-06-27
Reviews: 22
I have used this on several pages I have made. I love it and so do my customers.
Once configured its easy to use from front end and back.
Probably not important for most but there is a limit of about 30 years or so forward planning which I actually was using for a small project.
2008-06-25
Reviews: 7
I am putting together a new Joomla-1.5.3 site for a musician, and I was hesitant to use anything listed as "alpha" on the site, but, after trying about 5 or 6 other packages, this was the only one that worked well, and easily. I highly recommend the component.
2008-06-08
Reviews: 1
Match for all template neither 2 nor 3 column.
2008-05-03
Reviews: 2
I am a beginner to Joomla and found this extension to work flawlessly. I'm using Joomla v1.5.3 and have experienced no problems. It's easy to install and to get going. AAA! Look forward to the official release. :)
2008-04-29
Reviews: 2
I installed it on my 1.5 site without any problems.

One things i'm looking for is to skip a repeating event once
Now i set the end date before the date i should not repeat and crete a new repeating event after that date

I also finished the DUTCH translation but can't find an address to sent it to

keep up the good work
2008-04-25
Reviews: 2
I have tried a lot of calendars. Very complicated ones to overly simple, by which I mean almost useless. This was easy to install, easy to configure, and easy to use. I like the CSS tab that allows for easy color changes, etc. For something simple, yet still functional, this is it.
Wishlist** a module that simply lists a certain number of events.
Cons** the images across the top of the calendar (the Nav bar) are too large and awkward looking - would prefer a text option.
Module configuration is confusing because there are also settings for it in the component.
Pros** Easy - no strange errors or erratic behaviors. The option to limit groups that can publish from the frontend is nice. Being able to choose first day of the week is nice, too. Having categories is also a good point, and I like the backend color coding on the tables, so I can see at a glance which color is for which category. (and the color picker is so easy and fast!!)
Thank you!!
2008-04-18
Reviews: 2
Easy to configure and setup up. Adding and changing events is a snap, and changing the way they display to the user is similar to the way a professional calendar software works. You can 'skin' this thing using the css. Perfect.
2008-04-12
Reviews: 1
I am new to Joomla! and this was my first extension. I'm using Joomla 1.5.2 and initially downloaded the wrong JEvents version (I neede version 1.4.3RC). I posted a question on the JEvents forum and received a quick and helpful answer. Once I got the right version, everything worked perfectly. It is very easy to use and will allow me to have my users enter in their own events.

I didn't like the default colors, but they were easy to change by editing the CSS file. The new version they are working on will have a choice of color schemes built in, which will be nice.

I recommend this product, even for a newbie like me.
2008-04-05
Reviews: 4
All round one of the best tools - easy to install, easy to configure, easy to use! Great job! Thank you
2008-03-31
Reviews: 1
We are starting an events road tour for our products and found your Calendar to be hot and very cool for our site as we found in our testing and will soon be publishing it. Keep up the great work.
2008-03-28
Reviews: 1
Very easy to install.
Easy configuration and maintenance of the component.
To summarize, this is a great extension.
I am trying to figure out how to add multiple images to the event.(Like event pictures)
2008-03-22
Reviews: 1
Installed easily. Setup easily. Very customizable. I am looking forward to 1.5 release for Joomla! 1.5 and the improvements I see there.
2008-03-14
Reviews: 19
the download page is way too complex! Why no simple one piece installer like other add-ons?
2008-03-04
Reviews: 1
For the newest version for J 1.5

Simple to install and set up, easy to configure and set categories. The one draw back is the need for iCal to make repeating events. When I tried to set on up there was no table in my database for it, and I'm unable to find the iCal that works with this. (I'm still looking for it, though.)

I'd recommend this to people that need to list events, with the suggestion that they find the iCal first, or be ready to input repeating events multiple times.
Owner's reply

Did you follow the installation guidelines for 1.5 at http://www.jevents.net/content/view/32/5/lang,en_GB/
This will create the necessary tables for you.

2008-03-04
Reviews: 3
Geraint has struck gold here! v1.4.3 was amazing, but if you see what is in store with v1.5 you simply can't deny that this is the best calendaring option for Joomla out there! Get this extension and be patient as the 1.5alpha is developed... it is more than worth it!
Page 16 of 20