The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JEvents Popular ComponentModulePlugin

This well known and loved Events Calendar for Joomla. JEvents consists of a Joomla component and a number of modules and plugins to manage and display your events on your website. JEvents is translated into 37 languages (with more tranlsations added regularily) so its probably available in your language.

Component
* One-off Events and complex repeating patterns of events can be created and viewed in an attractive calendar and a variety of list formats
* Multiple design layouts possible
* Fully compatible with Joomla MVC framework
* Ical imports/exports
* Repeat exception handling
* Events can be placed in multiple categories and calendar views can be customised to show all or some of these categories
* Layout editing tool to perfect the presentation on your site - you can even customise the event editing page.
* Optional checking for overlapping events globally or on a category specific basis

Modules
* Mini-calendar module (jevents_cal) which gives a quick overview of events which can be placed on any page
* Latest events module (jevents_latest) which gives a highly configurable summary of upcoming, recently created or popular events
* Events legend (jevents_legend) - displayed alongside the component gives you a summary of event categories and an easy way to limit the events shown to specific categories
* Filter module allows you to filter/search the events being displayed using a variety of criteria

Plugin
* A search plugin that enables the global Joomla search to return results from the events calendar

JEvents 3.1 is now available for general download - this is a Joomla 2.5-3.0 native component that takes JEvents to the next level. The old version of JEvents (2.2.9) for Joomla 1.5 is still available to download too.

Note that version 3.1.24 onwards removes the blue information icon linking to the JEvents website.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2007-11-26
Reviews: 6
This is the ideal calendar for PowwowTime.com. I also did some code mods to add additional fields, generate a Google Map and AccuWeather forecast for each event. Once I clean up my code additions a little, I'll submit my version back to Joomlacode as a derivative or hack in case anyone wants to add these features.
2007-11-20
Reviews: 1
JEvents is a really good component for a complicated topic "calender".
Some important advance features like import/export are still in work, but basically it is working really stable
2007-11-16
Reviews: 1
this is a great and functionable add for my Joomla Site. I would like Jevents to have an option for linking joomla contents to the events,like having an article that says: Party at home, this day! And be also published as an event
2007-10-26
Reviews: 7
JEvents does just about everything that you need out of a free calendaring system for Joomla. The calendar is clean, colorful, and effective. Lots of addon modules for displaying event information, such as a mini calendar for the front page, a list of "upcoming events" for showing teaser dates, etc. Lots of flexibility in everything. My only gripe is that you can't easily link calendar event content with existing content pages, although there are workarounds. Also, it doesn't support e-mail reminders of upcoming events, which is sorely missed. Other than that, a fantastic calendar system!
2007-10-26
Reviews: 2
I installed this Component as I need an event manager to allow events to be submitted through the public Front End.
Unfortunatley this component generates erors when an attempt is made to publish an event and nothing gets recorded.
I cannot use this component as it doesnt work properly.
2007-10-11
Reviews: 3
This component and its add ons are great and, ccontrary to other so called "1.5 Joomla compatibe", it is really compatible! And no problem for installing. Great. Thanks. Bye
2007-10-05
Reviews: 2
If you are looking for an easy event calander that works in J1.5 look futher. This is not it.

There are to many bugs in EC 1.4.2 and 1.4.3 to make it work nicely in joomla 1.5. I would recommend that they erase the '1.5 compatible logo' because it is not compatible yet.
2007-10-02
Reviews: 3
I've tried a few calendar/events extensions. This one was easiest to set up, prettiest, and has the features I wanted.
2007-09-27
Reviews: 1
What an excellent extension. I am a total Joomla newbie and I was able to get this working very quickly. The features have worked flawlessly for me, but the best part is the ease of use. Nicely done.
2007-09-20
Reviews: 1
This is a cool extension. Easy of installar, very well integrated and flexible in configuration.
2007-09-18
Reviews: 2
Hi

For my money this is the best of the bunch of the event management modules. The main issue that I have with it is that it does not function with SEO enabled.

The backend works fine with SEO, but it is impossible to save from the front end with SEO enabled (save button does nothing).

Turn off SEO and front end submissions work fine.

Nigel
2007-08-23
Reviews: 8
This works as documented. I have also used it with some success with attend events.
2007-08-15
Reviews: 5
It's great to see that the (old) Events Calendar extension is continuing development as JEvents.

This is an excellent event/calendar extension for Joomla! I've tried some others, and they just aren't as comprehensive or flexible.

Easy to install and configure. Thank you and keep up the great work.
2007-07-31
Reviews: 2
Downloaded and installed like a chime to Joomla 1.0.10.
Very flexible in configuring towards our needs.
If the Today View can be extend to working hours, etc. (yah the Outlook-style), that'll make this module more competetive.

Thanks!
2007-07-20
Reviews: 5
I've always been disappointed that the core Mambo/Joomla did not contain the functionality of the enduring events component. I am thrilled to see it being updated and look forward to more. Thanks!
2007-07-09
Reviews: 1
I've use a few calendars and jevents is the one I've sticking with. Easy to install and integrate into your site. Really looking forward to the jcal and new templates of 1.5.
2007-07-07
Reviews: 1
That's really great component! Easy to work, and very well integrated. That's the best Calendar Events i installed till now, and i install lots of them!! Eh Eh!!

Continue the excellent work.

Rui
2007-06-11
Reviews: 4
One of the best event calendars ive downloaded. Its simple it works, and its very easy to use, none of that flashy complicated stuff. I love this thing. Thank you so much for making life easier
2007-06-01
Reviews: 5
I have been using this component for almost a year now and have only one wish... the ability to print a calendar with specified date ranges and the option to print in list or calendar view.
2007-05-30
Reviews: 2
I had no problems installing everything except the "Patch" was not an installer. I made the assumption that you just copy the files behind the scenes (probably not the best practice, but it works). I ran into a bug in the "Latest Events" bot that had something to do with having no events in the past but some in the future. I found the solution posted on the wiki associated with this plug in.

EVEN WITH ALL THAT - This is the best free calendar out there! It does everything I want. The color coding on the calendar, and the "Latest events" bot for showing the next events in the side bar was REALLY what the doctor ordered. Unlike some of the other event calendars, you can use images or other content in the event descriptions. Exactly what I wanted.

How they could improve:

The "latest events" display mode could be a tiny bit more intuitive.. I would like to have one field to show how many days in the past separate from how many days in the future. For example to show 30 days in the past but 90 days in the future.
Page 17 of 20