The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JEvents Popular ComponentModulePlugin

This well known and loved Events Calendar for Joomla. JEvents consists of a Joomla component and a number of modules and plugins to manage and display your events on your website. JEvents is translated into 37 languages (with more tranlsations added regularily) so its probably available in your language.

Component
* One-off Events and complex repeating patterns of events can be created and viewed in an attractive calendar and a variety of list formats
* Multiple design layouts possible
* Fully compatible with Joomla MVC framework
* Ical imports/exports
* Repeat exception handling
* Events can be placed in multiple categories and calendar views can be customised to show all or some of these categories
* Layout editing tool to perfect the presentation on your site - you can even customise the event editing page.
* Layouts can be event category specific so your sports events can be laid out differently to your music events etc.
* Optional checking for overlapping events globally or on a category specific basis

Modules
* Mini-calendar module (jevents_cal) which gives a quick overview of events which can be placed on any page
* Latest events module (jevents_latest) which gives a highly configurable summary of upcoming, recently created or popular events
* Events legend (jevents_legend) - displayed alongside the component gives you a summary of event categories and an easy way to limit the events shown to specific categories
* Filter module allows you to filter/search the events being displayed using a variety of criteria

Plugin
* A search plugin that enables the global Joomla search to return results from the events calendar

JEvents 3.1 is now available for general download - this is a Joomla 2.5-3.0 native component that takes JEvents to the next level. The old version of JEvents (2.2.9) for Joomla 1.5 is still available to download too.

Note that version 3.1.24 onwards removes the blue information icon linking to the JEvents website.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2008-02-02
Reviews: 1
I thought this component is absolutely excellent but it is pretty much useless to me without a way of storing venues. Ideally it would work just like categories, but with venue name, address, phone number etc that you can select from a drop down when entering a new event.

Don't suppose anything like that is planned for the future?
2008-01-21
Reviews: 1
Unfortunately the reoccurring events are unusable when the particular event has the begin time en end time on the same day. I also could not found an option to let the event occur e.g. exactly every 4 weeks. Very big disappointment. Please take a look to WebCalendar.
Owner's reply

Try Jevents 1.5 - it offers far more flexibility in the management of recurring events.

2008-01-16
Reviews: 1
I tried a few different event calendars... JEvents is the best and least amount of fuss for getting the job done. It also integrates well with other extensions.
2008-01-08
Reviews: 1
Eventlist is another clean one but JEvents has more to offer can't wait for the new release.
2007-12-28
Reviews: 6
We have used JEvents in many joomla sites for a long time. It is solid and provides all of the calendar and events functions that we need for our client websites. Almost all of our church clients have JEvents in their websites. Thanks!
2007-12-16
Reviews: 3
This is a great Events Management tool - I found it easy to setup and easy to use.

Two items that would help it get an 'excellent' rating in the future:
1. Enable RSS feed abilities e.g. DS-Syndicate can recognise content that feeds into Joomla Categories but because JSEvents has its own Category system, its not recognised for RSS feeds.
2. Enable links within the fields: Location, Contact and Extra Info.

Thanks for a great tool otherwise.
Cheers,
B.
2007-12-10
Reviews: 1
I'm using the Events Calendar component with joomla 1.5
component appears to work well. However if you set up a weekly reccurance and then go back in to edit the details it seems to switch to a daily recurrance!
However this is not a huge issue and it is only an alpha for J1.5
One thing I have noticed (which i don't know if it is a bug or something that I have not done?) is that the Calendar module and the legend module both repeat themselves (i.e. there are 2 calendars appearing instead of the one I was expecting! (will submit this in the bug tracker too when I can log on)
2007-12-06
Reviews: 1
THe calendaring script installed fine but I have a problem with the actual size of the calendar on the screen. it's too big and overwrites the righ side menu. Any way to reduce the size of this?

I'd love to use it.

Nic
2007-11-30
Reviews: 1
Great stuff! - been trying to get gigcalendar tyo work with no luck. Jevents installed with no effort. I need to polish a little with css and all that BUT - it worked basically our of the box. One thing I would liek to see is an sef_ext file for it.
2007-11-26
Reviews: 6
This is the ideal calendar for PowwowTime.com. I also did some code mods to add additional fields, generate a Google Map and AccuWeather forecast for each event. Once I clean up my code additions a little, I'll submit my version back to Joomlacode as a derivative or hack in case anyone wants to add these features.
2007-11-20
Reviews: 2
JEvents is a really good component for a complicated topic "calender".
Some important advance features like import/export are still in work, but basically it is working really stable
2007-11-16
Reviews: 1
this is a great and functionable add for my Joomla Site. I would like Jevents to have an option for linking joomla contents to the events,like having an article that says: Party at home, this day! And be also published as an event
2007-10-26
Reviews: 7
JEvents does just about everything that you need out of a free calendaring system for Joomla. The calendar is clean, colorful, and effective. Lots of addon modules for displaying event information, such as a mini calendar for the front page, a list of "upcoming events" for showing teaser dates, etc. Lots of flexibility in everything. My only gripe is that you can't easily link calendar event content with existing content pages, although there are workarounds. Also, it doesn't support e-mail reminders of upcoming events, which is sorely missed. Other than that, a fantastic calendar system!
2007-10-26
Reviews: 2
I installed this Component as I need an event manager to allow events to be submitted through the public Front End.
Unfortunatley this component generates erors when an attempt is made to publish an event and nothing gets recorded.
I cannot use this component as it doesnt work properly.
2007-10-11
Reviews: 3
This component and its add ons are great and, ccontrary to other so called "1.5 Joomla compatibe", it is really compatible! And no problem for installing. Great. Thanks. Bye
2007-10-05
Reviews: 2
If you are looking for an easy event calander that works in J1.5 look futher. This is not it.

There are to many bugs in EC 1.4.2 and 1.4.3 to make it work nicely in joomla 1.5. I would recommend that they erase the '1.5 compatible logo' because it is not compatible yet.
2007-10-02
Reviews: 3
I've tried a few calendar/events extensions. This one was easiest to set up, prettiest, and has the features I wanted.
2007-09-27
Reviews: 1
What an excellent extension. I am a total Joomla newbie and I was able to get this working very quickly. The features have worked flawlessly for me, but the best part is the ease of use. Nicely done.
2007-09-20
Reviews: 1
This is a cool extension. Easy of installar, very well integrated and flexible in configuration.
2007-09-18
Reviews: 2
Hi

For my money this is the best of the bunch of the event management modules. The main issue that I have with it is that it does not function with SEO enabled.

The backend works fine with SEO, but it is impossible to save from the front end with SEO enabled (save button does nothing).

Turn off SEO and front end submissions work fine.

Nigel
Page 17 of 20