The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JEvents Popular ComponentModulePlugin

This well known and loved Events Calendar for Joomla. JEvents consists of a Joomla component and a number of modules and plugins to manage and display your events on your website. JEvents is translated into 37 languages (with more tranlsations added regularily) so its probably available in your language.

Component
* One-off Events and complex repeating patterns of events can be created and viewed in an attractive calendar and a variety of list formats
* Multiple design layouts possible
* Fully compatible with Joomla MVC framework
* Ical imports/exports
* Repeat exception handling
* Events can be placed in multiple categories and calendar views can be customised to show all or some of these categories
* Layout editing tool to perfect the presentation on your site - you can even customise the event editing page.
* Layouts can be event category specific so your sports events can be laid out differently to your music events etc.
* Optional checking for overlapping events globally or on a category specific basis

Modules
* Mini-calendar module (jevents_cal) which gives a quick overview of events which can be placed on any page
* Latest events module (jevents_latest) which gives a highly configurable summary of upcoming, recently created or popular events
* Events legend (jevents_legend) - displayed alongside the component gives you a summary of event categories and an easy way to limit the events shown to specific categories
* Filter module allows you to filter/search the events being displayed using a variety of criteria

Plugin
* A search plugin that enables the global Joomla search to return results from the events calendar

JEvents 3.1 is now available for general download - this is a Joomla 2.5-3.0 native component that takes JEvents to the next level. The old version of JEvents (2.2.9) for Joomla 1.5 is still available to download too.

Note that version 3.1.24 onwards removes the blue information icon linking to the JEvents website.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2007-10-26
Reviews: 2
I installed this Component as I need an event manager to allow events to be submitted through the public Front End.
Unfortunatley this component generates erors when an attempt is made to publish an event and nothing gets recorded.
I cannot use this component as it doesnt work properly.
2007-10-11
Reviews: 3
This component and its add ons are great and, ccontrary to other so called "1.5 Joomla compatibe", it is really compatible! And no problem for installing. Great. Thanks. Bye
2007-10-05
Reviews: 2
If you are looking for an easy event calander that works in J1.5 look futher. This is not it.

There are to many bugs in EC 1.4.2 and 1.4.3 to make it work nicely in joomla 1.5. I would recommend that they erase the '1.5 compatible logo' because it is not compatible yet.
2007-10-02
Reviews: 3
I've tried a few calendar/events extensions. This one was easiest to set up, prettiest, and has the features I wanted.
2007-09-27
Reviews: 1
What an excellent extension. I am a total Joomla newbie and I was able to get this working very quickly. The features have worked flawlessly for me, but the best part is the ease of use. Nicely done.
2007-09-20
Reviews: 1
This is a cool extension. Easy of installar, very well integrated and flexible in configuration.
2007-09-18
Reviews: 2
Hi

For my money this is the best of the bunch of the event management modules. The main issue that I have with it is that it does not function with SEO enabled.

The backend works fine with SEO, but it is impossible to save from the front end with SEO enabled (save button does nothing).

Turn off SEO and front end submissions work fine.

Nigel
2007-08-23
Reviews: 8
This works as documented. I have also used it with some success with attend events.
2007-08-15
Reviews: 6
It's great to see that the (old) Events Calendar extension is continuing development as JEvents.

This is an excellent event/calendar extension for Joomla! I've tried some others, and they just aren't as comprehensive or flexible.

Easy to install and configure. Thank you and keep up the great work.
2007-07-31
Reviews: 2
Downloaded and installed like a chime to Joomla 1.0.10.
Very flexible in configuring towards our needs.
If the Today View can be extend to working hours, etc. (yah the Outlook-style), that'll make this module more competetive.

Thanks!
2007-07-20
Reviews: 5
I've always been disappointed that the core Mambo/Joomla did not contain the functionality of the enduring events component. I am thrilled to see it being updated and look forward to more. Thanks!
2007-07-09
Reviews: 1
I've use a few calendars and jevents is the one I've sticking with. Easy to install and integrate into your site. Really looking forward to the jcal and new templates of 1.5.
2007-07-07
Reviews: 1
That's really great component! Easy to work, and very well integrated. That's the best Calendar Events i installed till now, and i install lots of them!! Eh Eh!!

Continue the excellent work.

Rui
2007-06-11
Reviews: 4
One of the best event calendars ive downloaded. Its simple it works, and its very easy to use, none of that flashy complicated stuff. I love this thing. Thank you so much for making life easier
2007-06-01
Reviews: 5
I have been using this component for almost a year now and have only one wish... the ability to print a calendar with specified date ranges and the option to print in list or calendar view.
2007-05-30
Reviews: 2
I had no problems installing everything except the "Patch" was not an installer. I made the assumption that you just copy the files behind the scenes (probably not the best practice, but it works). I ran into a bug in the "Latest Events" bot that had something to do with having no events in the past but some in the future. I found the solution posted on the wiki associated with this plug in.

EVEN WITH ALL THAT - This is the best free calendar out there! It does everything I want. The color coding on the calendar, and the "Latest events" bot for showing the next events in the side bar was REALLY what the doctor ordered. Unlike some of the other event calendars, you can use images or other content in the event descriptions. Exactly what I wanted.

How they could improve:

The "latest events" display mode could be a tiny bit more intuitive.. I would like to have one field to show how many days in the past separate from how many days in the future. For example to show 30 days in the past but 90 days in the future.
2007-05-15
Reviews: 2
The calendar works. This is great. I didn't run into any errors, just some significant omissions. I provide Joomla! Websites for several non-profits

The greatest disadvantages for me are:
1. Usability - very difficult to explain to average internet users how to administer the calendar.
2. (the bigger one for me personally) - Unable to delete single occurances of repeating events. My palm did this 8 years ago, I created a PHPNuke Calendar 6 years ago that did this, why can't I find a Joomla calendar that does?

If a group has an event every Wednesday, and it is cancelled on week, you cannot delete that week's event. You have to end the repeating event the week before, and start a new copy of the exact same event to start repeating again the week after.

For now, looks like I'm just switching to the embedded google calendar for Joomla.
2007-05-13
Reviews: 2
I've just tried this component for about half an hour but I realize that I'm going to use this component very much. The only minor mistake has the swedish translator made: the short letter for Sunday is S (Söndag), not L, but its very simple to change: just open the language file swedish.php in /com_events/language and scroll down to the group Days letters and change L to S in _CAL_LANG_SUNDAYSHORT and it's all done.

This component also works excellent with Joomla Fish.

So as a conclusion can I say that my respect for those how built the component is very high. Many thanks

Best regards

Christer
2007-05-04
Reviews: 1
I have a number of Joomla sites that all require event handling, I have tried quite a few calendars and quite frankly none of them met my requirements.

Extremely easy install, nice clean configuration and allows no end of configuration without hacking any code or fudging something else to make it work.

I can seriously recommend this Calendar for Joomla.

Simply the best yet.

Thanks for making my life that bit easier.
2007-04-06
Reviews: 1
This calendar has (almost) everything anyone could want in a calendar, but it is missing a couple of things that would make it perfect:

1) Drop down lists in the backend for each entry, this would make multiple entries for the same location much better. For example, if you could select a location from the list and it would autopopulate address info, phone number, etc..

2) Support for custom display on Component page. Right now you are limited to displaying the title of the event and the category of the event on the component page, there is no way to add other categories (like location, contact info, etc.) to the list.

Other than those two issues I have no complaints. It has good support for repeating events, which is really nice, and you can change the way it looks through css.
Page 18 of 20