The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JEvents Popular ComponentModulePlugin

This well known and loved Events Calendar for Joomla. JEvents consists of a Joomla component and a number of modules and plugins to manage and display your events on your website. JEvents is translated into 37 languages (with more tranlsations added regularily) so its probably available in your language.

Component
* One-off Events and complex repeating patterns of events can be created and viewed in an attractive calendar and a variety of list formats
* Multiple design layouts possible
* Fully compatible with Joomla MVC framework
* Ical imports/exports
* Repeat exception handling
* Events can be placed in multiple categories and calendar views can be customised to show all or some of these categories
* Layout editing tool to perfect the presentation on your site - you can even customise the event editing page.
* Layouts can be event category specific so your sports events can be laid out differently to your music events etc.
* Optional checking for overlapping events globally or on a category specific basis

Modules
* Mini-calendar module (jevents_cal) which gives a quick overview of events which can be placed on any page
* Latest events module (jevents_latest) which gives a highly configurable summary of upcoming, recently created or popular events
* Events legend (jevents_legend) - displayed alongside the component gives you a summary of event categories and an easy way to limit the events shown to specific categories
* Filter module allows you to filter/search the events being displayed using a variety of criteria

Plugin
* A search plugin that enables the global Joomla search to return results from the events calendar

JEvents 3.1 is now available for general download - this is a Joomla 2.5-3.0 native component that takes JEvents to the next level. The old version of JEvents (2.2.9) for Joomla 1.5 is still available to download too.

Note that version 3.1.24 onwards removes the blue information icon linking to the JEvents website.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2007-03-29
Reviews: 1
First attempt at a calendar program. I was really quite shocked at how easy this was. And from a user perspective, its very simple to use. Great Job!
2007-03-08
Reviews: 1
I have added some pieces of code an a module in order to make reservations. For now the user have to be log in. It has just adding some piece of code, a sql table an a module. If someone could tell me how to publish it or to send it to JEvents Team I will appreciate it. If someone could need it, just write me to: evalenzuela80@yahoo.com.
Best regards,

Eduardo
2007-02-23
Reviews: 1
This is a very excellent extension. I have tried others and this has more than satisfied our needs. My compliments to the developer!
2007-02-19
Reviews: 1
I looked at all the calendars out there for Joomla!, and JEvents is the best. Highly customizable and with all the modules, highly configurable. Best part, it is a breeze to setup and start using. Content can be added by non-techie, too.
Thank you, and I look forward to updates!
2007-02-15
Reviews: 1
It works a treat, simple to administer and even easier for users to understand. Thanks very much and keep up the good work!
2007-02-10
Reviews: 1
As a relative beginner, JEvents was a breeze to install and setup. I'm still adding to it and will customize some of the colors in the css file but I'm excited with it's ease of use.
The modules are an excellent additon to help customize it's use
2007-02-07
Reviews: 2
The translation does not work. It's incomplete.
Also the 'latest events' part does not translate.
The file dutch.php has minor but annoying errors.
The code looks messy: date format strings belong in the translation files, in my opinion...
2007-02-06
Reviews: 18
After trying several other calendars this one did the trick.

Easy to install and configure.

Thanks!
2007-01-28
Reviews: 1
Nice extension.

Pros:
- Lots (LOTS) of features
- Powerful event creation
- Robust. It does the job smoothly

Cons:
- Look and feel could be better
- There are simplier solutions to help your users create events
- Lacks google maps integration

Thanks to the authors for this extension!
2007-01-26
Reviews: 1
Just as the title says.. this event calendar is excellent! There is one problem that I have and it is with IE 7. For some reason when you click on a latest event in the latest events module and you have seo friendly url's on. IE 7 doesnt seem to realize there are catids in the URL. Once I did a urldecode on the catids $_REQUEST then it worked in all browsers. I would report this on the sourceforge page, but it seldom seems to be working these days :( So hopefully the developer will see this comment! :)
2007-01-19
Reviews: 3
the software is really good. it has got rich functionalities. definitely if someone can put a good documentation, will help others. I am working on it. if I am done with one, I will provide it in the community. but the software is Excellent..!.. -Muthukumar
2007-01-08
Reviews: 19
Never mind this is a super product, the best thing I can say about the developers is they are extremely responsive if you encounter a problem. Keep up the good work!
2006-12-29
Reviews: 1
I installed this on a new website and use it in conjunction with Attend Events (another nice tool). I had a few hicups with Open SEF, but those has since been resolved. I'm sure that a bot will be developed so that links can goto the CB Profile instead of the email. Really, an excellent calendar system.
2006-12-16
Reviews: 3
Links to add and edit content are in a strange place... it would be better placed in a menu using standard menu classes used from the main style sheet.

Lots of customization options, including its own CSS! That's impressive. A disappointing selection of attribute values though... odd non-neutral colors and a calendar that doesn't stretch to width.

Category management is sort of confusing, since it uses its own categories a user can get confused with jooma categories.

This would be a great component if it allowed frontend content manipulation.

Overall this calendar extension is better than all the others I've seen.
2006-12-12
Reviews: 1
A lot of features. Very active and responsive team.
Only missing: single event editing in a series of events and integration of legend into main component.
2006-12-06
Reviews: 4
I tried every single (free) event manager usable on joomla and have finally settled on JEvents.

Very customisable and fits the bill for me.
2006-12-01
Reviews: 1
This is a great project that shows lots of promise. It appears to have an active team and in short order i would expect to give this project a 5 star rating.

The look out of the box is terrible. The color scheme needs improvement.

The calendar is also missing many useful features. one feature it is missing is the ability to repeat events based on "x' number of days. ie. Repeat an event evey 3 days, 10, days or what ever variable you select. This would give the repeat events more flexibility.

Also some features like ical would be nice. Great work.
2006-11-14
Reviews: 4
Seems to work just fine but this calendar looks awful. If it looked as good as extCalendar I would prefer it because it's less busy visually and has the nice javascript pop-up's for each event.

I got the colors looking better by editing the css file but had trouble positioning the main month calendar and getting it to expand 100% across the page.

If it looked at least decent I would have given it 5 stars.

If you're good at messing with css and other files that affect positioning, you should try it out.

Good luck,

wolfix
2006-10-23
Reviews: 4
With JEvents + Attend Event, it is almost perfect.
I held a website of a dog club and frequently organize functions for our club members. JEvents allows members to see all our events and Attend Event make it possible for members to join our activities by submitting all customised information I need. This combination is much better than Akoreservation. Highly recommended.
2006-10-04
Reviews: 2
I've tried various calendars for my small, non-profit organization's website. We have lots of events (usually 5 or more per day), so a very functional calendar was a must. This version of JEvents has added significant functionality and raises this project well above other non-comercial calendars for Joomla. Just as important, active development and support are ongoing.
With a little work, you can customize the color schemes of the modules and components to match your website, and you'll have a great calendar!
Page 19 of 20