The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JEvents Popular ComponentModulePlugin

This well known and loved Events Calendar for Joomla. JEvents consists of a Joomla component and a number of modules and plugins to manage and display your events on your website. JEvents is translated into 37 languages (with more tranlsations added regularily) so its probably available in your language.

Component
* One-off Events and complex repeating patterns of events can be created and viewed in an attractive calendar and a variety of list formats
* Multiple design layouts possible
* Fully compatible with Joomla MVC framework
* Ical imports/exports
* Repeat exception handling
* Events can be placed in multiple categories and calendar views can be customised to show all or some of these categories
* Layout editing tool to perfect the presentation on your site - you can even customise the event editing page.
* Layouts can be event category specific so your sports events can be laid out differently to your music events etc.
* Optional checking for overlapping events globally or on a category specific basis

Modules
* Mini-calendar module (jevents_cal) which gives a quick overview of events which can be placed on any page
* Latest events module (jevents_latest) which gives a highly configurable summary of upcoming, recently created or popular events
* Events legend (jevents_legend) - displayed alongside the component gives you a summary of event categories and an easy way to limit the events shown to specific categories
* Filter module allows you to filter/search the events being displayed using a variety of criteria

Plugin
* A search plugin that enables the global Joomla search to return results from the events calendar

JEvents 3.1 is now available for general download - this is a Joomla 2.5-3.0 native component that takes JEvents to the next level. The old version of JEvents (2.2.9) for Joomla 1.5 is still available to download too.

Note that version 3.1.24 onwards removes the blue information icon linking to the JEvents website.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2014-05-06
Reviews: 1
It is a complex extension for events. Calendars, customizable layouts, filters...
And perfect, fast support!
I can only recommend!
2014-05-04
Reviews: 1
i decide to use this extension because my old one was not good for joomla 3.0

This extension is easy to use.

i ask for support for a problem of setup and i get anwser in less than 24hours and i get the solution. Very good relation from the support. I recommend this extension
2014-04-26
Reviews: 1
When I am trying to upgrade one of the component, there is a problem that prevents the process. I wrote a post regarding this problem and the team replied in hours. The problem is now solved and I am very satisfied. I asked for support a couple days ago and the issue was addressed quickly, too. Good job and please keep it good!
2014-04-23
Reviews: 18
JEvents is one of my favourite extensions for a reason. I've been using it for years now and have seen it grow. Support is great, Geraint and Tony are very fast to react to any question and help as long as you need to solve your problem.
The past few years I've been using the paid version, so I can offer my clients events subscription and all the other good stuff. It's well worth it!

The backend gives you endless options to configure and I am very happy with that because I'll avoid coding at any cost ;-)

The one thing that could be improved I guess are the themes, but with a bit of styling that's easy to fix.

I was ashamed to see I hadn't reviewed it yet; it deserves better, so I'll remedie that now :-)

Thanks guys and keep up the good work!
kim
2014-04-23
Reviews: 1
I've been using this component for many years now, from the free version to Gold membership. That really says it all: Great addons, excellent support.
2014-04-22
Reviews: 2
It does the job well and when you need support, you are not alone in the free forum.
2014-04-14
Reviews: 1
Pros of this extension is, that it’s free and they seem to offer good support. Probably, it’s still the best calendar-extension, which you get for free.

The software-developement, however, is a bit, let’s say: maverick. I mean, don’t look a gift horse in the mouth, but the following aspects are huge drawbacks, when you want to customize the component:
* Heavy use of inline-CSS instead of offering a decent class system. It’s a pain to customize the standard-themes
* Not-native admin interface (in the backend.)
* Poor rights management: Support for the native usergroups is lacking at all. This approach is very confusing – in the end you have a completely separated and thus redundant rights structure.
* It’s a huge effort to unravel their file structure and naming conventions (e.g. for creating an override).

Like I said: for a free extension all this is fairly okay! – But I would not be willing to pay anything for this.
Owner's reply

* We are constantly reducing our inline CSS and try only to use it for things like event specific colours. We are always open to suggestions in the support forums to add helpful CSS class and id selectors.
* We use the standard Joomla backend interface
* We offer full Joomla ACL support with an optional ability to manage permissions on a user by user basis if you prefer
* We use the Joomla MVC system for our presentation but with the ability to switch themes - so standard Joomla template overrides work. Because of the ability to switch themes there is one extra folder name in the template override path - we have free documentation articles that explain this and are always happy to answer questions in the support forum.

2014-04-11
Reviews: 1
I can only say EXCELLENT in capital letters. The JEventes not only covers all my needs for publishing and managing events, their directories from locations and categories make it the best tool I know of to publish directories without having to resort nor envy any other tool of the market.

Thanks to the developers for their great work and support,always with a very rapid and effective response to each question or suggestion that sent to them.
2014-04-09
Reviews: 1
This ext is very helpful and well developed. I set it up for our company's internal website and have no regret! Great choice for those who looking for event management extension.
2014-03-25
Reviews: 2
I have looked at the options for a Calendar for my site - even bought the latest version of a well-known commercial pro calendar.
The fact that I am using jEvents free version (over one I've paid for) speaks volumes for jEvents.
I just love the fact that I can tailor the output/layout/format to suit my site - and if/when I get stuck the support is second to none!
5 star product :-)
2014-03-18
Reviews: 2
I am using the silver subscription and it is worth every single penny!
The support is friendly and quick, they really strive to solve whatever problem concerning jevents.
There are some very useful addons like "Managed Locations", the "Standard Image & File Uploads", some social features an other goodies which are not included in the free version. That's the reason why I subscribed and I don't regret it. But even in the free version, jevents works very well.
The layout / design... well, it is not quite up to date and need some "aesthetic corrections" which can be done by working directly within the style-sheets or by using the layout settings manager. That means if you want to adapt the design, it is better to know some css and to have some time to spare. ;-)
Jevents might not have the coolest design, but it is highly customizable and - apart from the excellent support - that is the reason, why I strongly recommend this extension.
They really deserve those 5 stars!
2014-03-14
Reviews: 2
Installed and go! That is how simple it was. I was looking for a simple calendar to display events but I didn't need to have registration system. Just a way to post events and link to details and then link to the external registration pages. This was easy to figure it out. No conflicts and looks really nice. Thank you!
2014-03-08
Reviews: 11
Great and nice component. Just what i needed. Easy to use in the fronted (with a little knowledge of creating articles)and in the backend. Nice modules . Easy to alter colors etc.
one (small)minor point. Maybe you can make europian likeable. by creating a 24h clock instaed of am and pm. And not the 12h checkbox.

But stil EXCELLENT (in capitals)
Owner's reply

There are configuration options to choose 12h/24h time input and also for the display of times to site visitors.

Please follow up in the support forum at www.jevents.net/forum if you'd like assistance on how to configure this.

2014-03-03
Reviews: 5
Thank you for this great extension.

For me, one of the most important factors is a quick and good support. That's why I ranked it as well.

Thank you very much,
Ofer.
2014-03-01
Reviews: 5
I can not tell if this is a good component! Maybe yes, maybe no! But impossible to register or to login and no form to contact them ... wouhhh it really be motivated to join this website!
Owner's reply

I'm very sorry to hear of your problems registering in our support forum. We are looking into the issue to see what may have been the issue.

We did have a problem on a couple of days last week with spammers/hackers hitting our site so hard that it became almost unresponsive - I wonder if this is when you encountered these problems.

2014-02-26
Reviews: 2
Have been using JEvents for a little while now, and am absolutely delighted by it. Installation is a breeze, and the component can be customized quite a bit without touching a line of code. Support is also quite responsive, the developers seem genuinely interested in their users getting the most out of their product.
Definitely encourage anyone looking for an events management extension to check this one out.
2014-02-24
Reviews: 1
Downlaos, install and work with it. Perfect-thats the way it has to be!!
2014-02-21
Reviews: 1
Hi, it s a pleasure to work with jevents and i want to review this extension because of the great support
2014-02-13
Reviews: 3
It is a user friendly and with this extension you can easily track all the important happenings of your event.
2014-02-10
Reviews: 1
Having used the free version of JEvents for a number of months now, I've been extremely happy with how it's performed.

Recently, however, I ran into a problem when my preferred editing extension suddenly stopped working with JEvents following the upgrade to Joomla 3.2. To keep this short and to the point, Geraint (lead developer of JEvents) took the time to identify that the editor was at fault and THEN wrote a fix for it when the developer of that extension was unable to do so.

Let me restate that: Geraint all-but fixed somebody else's extension so that an unpaying user of his software could get back to work.

Thank you, Geraint. Best service I've ever received. I'll be taking another close look at your membership subscriptions soon - and if I'm even slightly on the fence, I daresay that I'll sign up on the strength of goodwill alone.
Page 2 of 20