The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JEvents Popular ComponentModulePlugin

This well known and loved Events Calendar for Joomla. JEvents consists of a Joomla component and a number of modules and plugins to manage and display your events on your website. JEvents is translated into 37 languages (with more tranlsations added regularily) so its probably available in your language.

Component
* One-off Events and complex repeating patterns of events can be created and viewed in an attractive calendar and a variety of list formats
* Multiple design layouts possible
* Fully compatible with Joomla MVC framework
* Ical imports/exports
* Repeat exception handling
* Events can be placed in multiple categories and calendar views can be customised to show all or some of these categories
* Layout editing tool to perfect the presentation on your site - you can even customise the event editing page.
* Layouts can be event category specific so your sports events can be laid out differently to your music events etc.
* Optional checking for overlapping events globally or on a category specific basis

Modules
* Mini-calendar module (jevents_cal) which gives a quick overview of events which can be placed on any page
* Latest events module (jevents_latest) which gives a highly configurable summary of upcoming, recently created or popular events
* Events legend (jevents_legend) - displayed alongside the component gives you a summary of event categories and an easy way to limit the events shown to specific categories
* Filter module allows you to filter/search the events being displayed using a variety of criteria

Plugin
* A search plugin that enables the global Joomla search to return results from the events calendar

JEvents 3.1 is now available for general download - this is a Joomla 2.5-3.0 native component that takes JEvents to the next level. The old version of JEvents (2.2.9) for Joomla 1.5 is still available to download too.

Note that version 3.1.24 onwards removes the blue information icon linking to the JEvents website.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2012-10-24
Reviews: 4
JEvents is a powerful component for Joomla to easily make announcements on your website as well as sophisticated scheduling in various ways including rights-management for a specified circle of users.

Moreover I appreciate the outstanding support by the developer in helping me to implement the brand new version of JEvents for Joomla 3.0. Quick, friendly and VERY competent. Commendable!

Many thanks to Geraint & Team for this great work!
2012-10-23
Reviews: 1
This component is well written and seems to be able to do all tasks asked of it. The forums have been a pleasure. I usually get a reply in less then a 12hrs. I will continue to use it on all my sites.
2012-10-16
Reviews: 3
I tried various event date extensions and this one is in my oppion the BEST work done for Joomla 2.5! You have a very wide range of addons for it by the use of the provided subscription plan! So you be able to fit almost every need. Thanks guys for your excellent support work and for this really nice extension!
2012-08-29
Reviews: 1
Guys, what a fantastic job on this one! This extension has all you can think of related to calendar management and it is unbelieveable simple to install and use.
2012-08-28
Reviews: 7
This extension has a LOT of options to help you do what you need, or it can be used out of the box for simpler needs.

I've used it in several ways on a few different sites and am impressed as I learn more of its features each time.

Support has been great as well, the community forum is active and responsive to suggestions and issues, with frequent updates to their downloads.
2012-07-23
Reviews: 2
Jevents is very versatile - I've used it in several websites I've built and had different configurations and uses for each. Their support is also excellent, and fast!
JT
2012-07-16
Reviews: 4
Used this component on some recent projects and I must say it is great. Lots of features, best among all free alternatives.

I gave it 4 stars because little more work could be done on back-end UX but do not be mistaken this is a great calendar component and I highly recommend it!
2012-07-12
Reviews: 9
This is a great events calendar and is very intuitive to use. Had a small permissions bug, but the developer without any complaint took the time to investigate the issue and released a fix.

The backend configuration could use a little clean up and organization, but for something that is free it is really superb and a great pice of work.

It is built properly allowing language & template overrides to be easily done!
2012-07-01
Reviews: 1
Just what I was looking for, nearly.
I need the front page summary public but the detailed body page secure.
Owner's reply

Hi Bob - there is a JEvents Club member addon that allows you to have the title/time of an event public but the details hidden from unlogged in users.

2012-05-31
Reviews: 4
There're several layouts to present your calendar of events depending on your needs. I really like its flexibility
2012-05-27
Reviews: 9
If I am looking for a Calendar for a site then this is the one I prefer to use. Jevents is simple to install, configure and use.
It can be updated from front and back and is easy to use for website visitors and registered users.
The modules for displaying events on other pages are very simple and easy to configure and fit nicely into the theme of my sites.
Recommended.
2012-05-03
Reviews: 5
Using JEvents calendar for a football site I'm building. It's great EXCEPT, in order to re-size the mini-calendar portion, you have to dig around in the CSS file, (unless I'm missing something, in which case, feel free to correct me here), This is kinda tough for some people.

Suggestion would be to add an option to automatically re-size the mini calendar without actually having to modify the CSS file. Otherwise, it's a great addition to my site. Thanks to the developersdevelopers
Owner's reply

Auto resizing the mini-calendar is not that easy given the huge variety of style settings from template providers. But it would be possible to set a config option where you enter the size you want in the module parameters.

We'll look into it - thanks for the suggestion.

2012-05-02
Reviews: 2
I run a number event styles across several sites. The support from the team to guide me where I went wrong has been outstanding.

Where I have requested additional little features, they have been forthcoming and worked first time!

Whilst I have used another events extension, which was also good, my future is with JEvents.

Well done Geraint!
2012-04-23
Reviews: 1
Being still new to Joomla I need extentions that are easy to understand and use. JEvents fits the bill wonderfully. Two linked calendars on one site with only a couple of minor compatibility problems that were resolved by Geraint and Tony P with minimal delay. Excellent support, thank you!! I recommend this as a flexible and fun extension to use.
2012-04-19
Reviews: 1
I initially tried 2 other highly rated calendars and neither worked with Joomla 2.5.1. After much frustration, I purchased a 6 month silver subscription to JEvents 2.1. The calendar worked very well, and support was excellent. I needed images on the calendar, both on the monthly calendar view and event descriptions, so I installed the JEvents File & Image Upload plug-in. That plug-in was great, and I'm using several other plug-ins too. My client loves her calendar. Jevents is a solid and a great product with excellent support. If you need a calendar for Joomla 2.5, use this one.
2012-04-11
Reviews: 2
I was looking for a good alternative to eventlist and with Jevents I foud that.
They have provided me a great support to create my own override template and for all my customization.
2012-03-30
Reviews: 9
Very easy to install. Loved the category extension. One suggestion for the next revision. A location category so you don't have to type in same locations over and over.
2012-03-23
Reviews: 1
- A good solution
- It's a little complicated but a good support (free version)
- One of the first extensions available for Joomla 2.5
- Good translation in French

(several websites in Joomla 2.5, JEvent with Last Events component ...)
2012-03-13
Reviews: 8
Very flexible for repeating events, good base templates that can be customised through overrides in the component itself and HTML overrides, and excellent support.

If you want to use it straight out of the box, it's pretty straightforward, working much as you'd expect a calendar component to work. If you want to get under the hood, there are plenty of hooks to hang your code onto for professional users too.

I've used this on a number of sites, and particularly like the fact that you can edit the output from the various components to put your own classes and ids on elements - makes CSS much easier, and you don't have to go searching through HTML override files to change things.

Some of the layouts are a bit table heavy - the main monthly calendar view couldn't be done any other way, mind - but the weekly, daily, today, and category views use tables quite heavily too. The iconic layout (a paid for add-on) uses them far less, if you are concerned about web standards and accessibility.

There's pretty good integration with JoomFish, with a free extension to provide translations of events themselves, and it's fairly easy to find how to tweak things to be able to translate categories too.

The third-party support is good. I've used DT Register to bolt on to jEvents to provide a simple ticket buying facility for a charity that puts on theatre productions.

I know I mentioned it at the top, but the support is awesome. Geraint seems to prowl the Forums pretty much constantly. I've yet to post a query that's not be answered within a few hours. Usually to find out it's a RTFM error on my part...

The additional (paid-for) additional plugins and templates are also well worth the subscription fee.
2012-03-03
Reviews: 52
Well, if a sixth star is ever introduced, this is definetely a candidate.
Support is excellent, the possibilities with the extension are extremely wide.
Page 7 of 20