The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JEvents Popular ComponentModulePlugin

This well known and loved Events Calendar for Joomla. JEvents consists of a Joomla component and a number of modules and plugins to manage and display your events on your website. JEvents is translated into 37 languages (with more tranlsations added regularily) so its probably available in your language.

Component
* One-off Events and complex repeating patterns of events can be created and viewed in an attractive calendar and a variety of list formats
* Multiple design layouts possible
* Fully compatible with Joomla MVC framework
* Ical imports/exports
* Repeat exception handling
* Events can be placed in multiple categories and calendar views can be customised to show all or some of these categories
* Layout editing tool to perfect the presentation on your site - you can even customise the event editing page.
* Optional checking for overlapping events globally or on a category specific basis

Modules
* Mini-calendar module (jevents_cal) which gives a quick overview of events which can be placed on any page
* Latest events module (jevents_latest) which gives a highly configurable summary of upcoming, recently created or popular events
* Events legend (jevents_legend) - displayed alongside the component gives you a summary of event categories and an easy way to limit the events shown to specific categories
* Filter module allows you to filter/search the events being displayed using a variety of criteria

Plugin
* A search plugin that enables the global Joomla search to return results from the events calendar

JEvents 3.1 is now available for general download - this is a Joomla 2.5-3.0 native component that takes JEvents to the next level. The old version of JEvents (2.2.9) for Joomla 1.5 is still available to download too.

Note that version 3.1.24 onwards removes the blue information icon linking to the JEvents website.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2012-07-12
Reviews: 9
This is a great events calendar and is very intuitive to use. Had a small permissions bug, but the developer without any complaint took the time to investigate the issue and released a fix.

The backend configuration could use a little clean up and organization, but for something that is free it is really superb and a great pice of work.

It is built properly allowing language & template overrides to be easily done!
2012-07-01
Reviews: 1
Just what I was looking for, nearly.
I need the front page summary public but the detailed body page secure.
Owner's reply

Hi Bob - there is a JEvents Club member addon that allows you to have the title/time of an event public but the details hidden from unlogged in users.

2012-05-31
Reviews: 4
There're several layouts to present your calendar of events depending on your needs. I really like its flexibility
2012-05-27
Reviews: 8
If I am looking for a Calendar for a site then this is the one I prefer to use. Jevents is simple to install, configure and use.
It can be updated from front and back and is easy to use for website visitors and registered users.
The modules for displaying events on other pages are very simple and easy to configure and fit nicely into the theme of my sites.
Recommended.
2012-05-03
Reviews: 5
Using JEvents calendar for a football site I'm building. It's great EXCEPT, in order to re-size the mini-calendar portion, you have to dig around in the CSS file, (unless I'm missing something, in which case, feel free to correct me here), This is kinda tough for some people.

Suggestion would be to add an option to automatically re-size the mini calendar without actually having to modify the CSS file. Otherwise, it's a great addition to my site. Thanks to the developersdevelopers
Owner's reply

Auto resizing the mini-calendar is not that easy given the huge variety of style settings from template providers. But it would be possible to set a config option where you enter the size you want in the module parameters.

We'll look into it - thanks for the suggestion.

2012-05-02
Reviews: 2
I run a number event styles across several sites. The support from the team to guide me where I went wrong has been outstanding.

Where I have requested additional little features, they have been forthcoming and worked first time!

Whilst I have used another events extension, which was also good, my future is with JEvents.

Well done Geraint!
2012-04-23
Reviews: 1
Being still new to Joomla I need extentions that are easy to understand and use. JEvents fits the bill wonderfully. Two linked calendars on one site with only a couple of minor compatibility problems that were resolved by Geraint and Tony P with minimal delay. Excellent support, thank you!! I recommend this as a flexible and fun extension to use.
2012-04-19
Reviews: 1
I initially tried 2 other highly rated calendars and neither worked with Joomla 2.5.1. After much frustration, I purchased a 6 month silver subscription to JEvents 2.1. The calendar worked very well, and support was excellent. I needed images on the calendar, both on the monthly calendar view and event descriptions, so I installed the JEvents File & Image Upload plug-in. That plug-in was great, and I'm using several other plug-ins too. My client loves her calendar. Jevents is a solid and a great product with excellent support. If you need a calendar for Joomla 2.5, use this one.
2012-04-11
Reviews: 2
I was looking for a good alternative to eventlist and with Jevents I foud that.
They have provided me a great support to create my own override template and for all my customization.
2012-03-30
Reviews: 9
Very easy to install. Loved the category extension. One suggestion for the next revision. A location category so you don't have to type in same locations over and over.
2012-03-23
Reviews: 1
- A good solution
- It's a little complicated but a good support (free version)
- One of the first extensions available for Joomla 2.5
- Good translation in French

(several websites in Joomla 2.5, JEvent with Last Events component ...)
2012-03-13
Reviews: 8
Very flexible for repeating events, good base templates that can be customised through overrides in the component itself and HTML overrides, and excellent support.

If you want to use it straight out of the box, it's pretty straightforward, working much as you'd expect a calendar component to work. If you want to get under the hood, there are plenty of hooks to hang your code onto for professional users too.

I've used this on a number of sites, and particularly like the fact that you can edit the output from the various components to put your own classes and ids on elements - makes CSS much easier, and you don't have to go searching through HTML override files to change things.

Some of the layouts are a bit table heavy - the main monthly calendar view couldn't be done any other way, mind - but the weekly, daily, today, and category views use tables quite heavily too. The iconic layout (a paid for add-on) uses them far less, if you are concerned about web standards and accessibility.

There's pretty good integration with JoomFish, with a free extension to provide translations of events themselves, and it's fairly easy to find how to tweak things to be able to translate categories too.

The third-party support is good. I've used DT Register to bolt on to jEvents to provide a simple ticket buying facility for a charity that puts on theatre productions.

I know I mentioned it at the top, but the support is awesome. Geraint seems to prowl the Forums pretty much constantly. I've yet to post a query that's not be answered within a few hours. Usually to find out it's a RTFM error on my part...

The additional (paid-for) additional plugins and templates are also well worth the subscription fee.
2012-03-03
Reviews: 52
Well, if a sixth star is ever introduced, this is definetely a candidate.
Support is excellent, the possibilities with the extension are extremely wide.
2012-02-10
Reviews: 4
I have made about 100+ sites on Joomla over the years from j1.0 - j1.5 -j2.5 and used hundreds of different extensions so I think I am an informed commenter.
I have used the free version of jevents on a few sites that needed basic features. This week I had a beast of a site to make and needed a heavyweight solution to managing events so I turned to Jevents.
After reading at length all the features of the Gold package I decided to buy a subscription.
I needed to install many jevents plugins to get the desired results from the site and I ran into a problem with one of the plugins.
I posted on the forums and within two hours an answer was placed that solved the issue - my problem not the extensions.
Later on in the build I came across another problem, again posted on the forums - this time the author of the extension was replying to me within 3 hours. In that thread he helped me with 2 or 3 different unrelated problems in hours.
I have posted problems on so many different forums over the years and I have NEVER had service like this!
Thank you Geraint and Tony!
As for the extension itself - there is nothing better in Joomla that does what Jevents does. It is value for money considering all the plugins and integrations to other extensions they have available.

I must also say that the last couple of reviews I see here are negative - as a seasoned Joomla veteran I must say - you upgraded your site not Jevents, if you did not backup the site that was 100% working before the upgrade so you could roll it back if there was a problem - if you think everything is going to work 100% after a version update like the one between j1.7 and j2.5 - then you just learned an important lesson about Joomla ;)
As for being held to ransom - my view is that you pay for 6 months access not lifetime updates - it is clearly stated when you purchase...
2012-02-05
Reviews: 1
I like this extention and it worked well until I did the Joomla 2.5 upgrade. Now my site is broken and I cannot fix it because, although a patch is available to mend it, I'm not allowed to have it because I am not a club member. In other words, I have to pay to have access to a patch to mend the fault.

I can understand club members being given early access to new functionality and priority support; that seems fair.

But what seems very unfair is to penalise non-club members by witholding a ready patch when its not their fault that the official Joomla upgrade and the existing extention are incompatible. No warning was given about this.

The official answer given to a former poster below says the fix will be available to non-club members from Feb 8th. In the JEvent forum just now I was told 'several weeks'.

Please play fair JEvents. This is not in the spirit of open source. The extention says clearly it is non-commercial but you are applying commercial tactics when someone wants access to a patch to fix a fault that wasn't their fault in the first place.
Owner's reply

The Joomla upgrade mechanism does not provide a mechanism to check for version dependencies or for component providers to give a warning of incompatabilities :(. We therefore had no mechanism to warn site developers to check compatability before upgrading which is very unfortunate.

The changes required to support Joomla 2.5 affected a large number of files and classes so it was not practical to apply and test them in JEvents 2.0 and JEvents 2.1. We therefore made the decision to bring forward the public release of JEvents 2.1 to mid February expecting that the Joomla 2.5 upgrade process would encourage users to check and test compatability before upgrading.

Given the problems non-club members have encountered from upgrading theirs sites automatically we have brought this forward again to 8th February.

This is more than a month earlier than the JEvents 2.1 public release was planned for. This will give you Joomla 2.5 compatability and also you will get the benefit of the new features of JEvents 2.1 earlier than would normally be the case.

2012-02-02
Reviews: 1
this product works great until it comes time for an update, upgraded to 2.5 today and everything works perfectly (all ex tensions provided 2.5 versions) but jevents attempts to force you into paying them for some 6 month subscription (at a minimum) in order to make your calendar work again, very disappointing after having their product work so well beforehand
Owner's reply

This description page did not claim that JEvents is compatible with Joomla 2.5 and the home page of JEvents.net links prominently to an article stating that JEvents 2.0 is not compatible with Joomla 2.5 and that it is always sensible to test your components compatability before you perform a version upgrade of your site to Joomla 2.5.

JEvents for Joomla 2.5 will be available for free download on 8th February thanks to invaluable testing feedback from club member (bronze and above).

2012-01-29
Reviews: 2
The Good:
Wonderful, though very basic, calendar module. If all you are looking for is a simple way to list events in a basic calendar, this is the module for you... when it works.

The Bad:
If it breaks, unless you pay for the Gold version, its entirely on your shoulders to make it work again. The fixes are likely already in the Gold version too.. but if all you want is the basic to work, either pay for Gold (which is value-added to those who need the extra toys that come with it) or wait with a broken site.

Rating Reasoning:
I updated to 1.7.4 and it broke. This was the version specified on JEvents website. I tested against 2.5 and it broke worse. On asking for how to fix either one, I was told the fixes are in Gold, and either wait a month with a broken site or pay them. Since it did work for a while, I'm rating it fair.
Owner's reply

Basic calendar : JEvents offers multiple presentation options, 4 built in themes, a layout editing tool, complex repeating event handlers, repeat exception handling and ical import/export. That is more than basic in most people's views.

Support for non-paying users : The JEvents free access forums are actively supported and most problems resolved very quickly.

Joomla 2.5 clashed with the view class naming convention used in JEvents which requires a large number of files to be changed - a new release that resolves this is issue will be out very soon.

2012-01-26
Reviews: 7
New to Joomla, like my extensions uncomplicated, easy to configure, and do everything they say. Jevents was not that hard to configure out of the box using the documentation, had a basic calendar AND latest events modules up and running in no time. Changing layouts and looks was a little challenging, until I broke down and asked for help in the forum....and wished I had done so much sooner.

Forum support was awesome, EVERY question answered in detail. When I told them to 'dumb down' the explanation a bit for a newbie like me, they did just that and I was able to make the changes.

I don't have another calendar extension to compare it to, but I do have to say that once you get a hang of it, this one is great.

Becoming a Gold Member was SO worth the price, not just for the awesome support, but for the great plugins:
Image and File Upload Plugin
Facebook Share Plug In
Additional Calendar Layouts
User Authorization Plugin
I can't list them all, and there are WAY more than I have even tried, waiting until I feel more comfortable with the ones I have.

Absolutely recommend this extension!
2012-01-08
Reviews: 6
Nice Component!! I really love this Event calendar..One of the best in its kind..AWESOME!!!!!!!!
2011-12-14
Reviews: 7
I have tested and used on live sites many calendar and event extensions, and for my last project I picked jEvents for the following reasons:
* a great set of features
* several built-in styles
* ability to create own layouts in admin UI
* flexibility via multiple calendars vs categories
* permission control at category level
* import and sync with external calendars via iCal
* export/download to external calendar

The developer responds quickly to support requests and is open to enhancements. Some of the cool features are available to club members only but I felt it was way worth the $$ spent.
Page 7 of 20