The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JEvents Popular ComponentModulePlugin

This well known and loved Events Calendar for Joomla. JEvents consists of a Joomla component and a number of modules and plugins to manage and display your events on your website. JEvents is translated into 37 languages (with more tranlsations added regularily) so its probably available in your language.

Component
* One-off Events and complex repeating patterns of events can be created and viewed in an attractive calendar and a variety of list formats
* Multiple design layouts possible
* Fully compatible with Joomla MVC framework
* Ical imports/exports
* Repeat exception handling
* Events can be placed in multiple categories and calendar views can be customised to show all or some of these categories
* Layout editing tool to perfect the presentation on your site - you can even customise the event editing page.
* Layouts can be event category specific so your sports events can be laid out differently to your music events etc.
* Optional checking for overlapping events globally or on a category specific basis

Modules
* Mini-calendar module (jevents_cal) which gives a quick overview of events which can be placed on any page
* Latest events module (jevents_latest) which gives a highly configurable summary of upcoming, recently created or popular events
* Events legend (jevents_legend) - displayed alongside the component gives you a summary of event categories and an easy way to limit the events shown to specific categories
* Filter module allows you to filter/search the events being displayed using a variety of criteria

Plugin
* A search plugin that enables the global Joomla search to return results from the events calendar

JEvents 3.1 is now available for general download - this is a Joomla 2.5-3.0 native component that takes JEvents to the next level. The old version of JEvents (2.2.9) for Joomla 1.5 is still available to download too.

Note that version 3.1.24 onwards removes the blue information icon linking to the JEvents website.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2012-02-10
Reviews: 4
I have made about 100+ sites on Joomla over the years from j1.0 - j1.5 -j2.5 and used hundreds of different extensions so I think I am an informed commenter.
I have used the free version of jevents on a few sites that needed basic features. This week I had a beast of a site to make and needed a heavyweight solution to managing events so I turned to Jevents.
After reading at length all the features of the Gold package I decided to buy a subscription.
I needed to install many jevents plugins to get the desired results from the site and I ran into a problem with one of the plugins.
I posted on the forums and within two hours an answer was placed that solved the issue - my problem not the extensions.
Later on in the build I came across another problem, again posted on the forums - this time the author of the extension was replying to me within 3 hours. In that thread he helped me with 2 or 3 different unrelated problems in hours.
I have posted problems on so many different forums over the years and I have NEVER had service like this!
Thank you Geraint and Tony!
As for the extension itself - there is nothing better in Joomla that does what Jevents does. It is value for money considering all the plugins and integrations to other extensions they have available.

I must also say that the last couple of reviews I see here are negative - as a seasoned Joomla veteran I must say - you upgraded your site not Jevents, if you did not backup the site that was 100% working before the upgrade so you could roll it back if there was a problem - if you think everything is going to work 100% after a version update like the one between j1.7 and j2.5 - then you just learned an important lesson about Joomla ;)
As for being held to ransom - my view is that you pay for 6 months access not lifetime updates - it is clearly stated when you purchase...
2012-02-05
Reviews: 1
I like this extention and it worked well until I did the Joomla 2.5 upgrade. Now my site is broken and I cannot fix it because, although a patch is available to mend it, I'm not allowed to have it because I am not a club member. In other words, I have to pay to have access to a patch to mend the fault.

I can understand club members being given early access to new functionality and priority support; that seems fair.

But what seems very unfair is to penalise non-club members by witholding a ready patch when its not their fault that the official Joomla upgrade and the existing extention are incompatible. No warning was given about this.

The official answer given to a former poster below says the fix will be available to non-club members from Feb 8th. In the JEvent forum just now I was told 'several weeks'.

Please play fair JEvents. This is not in the spirit of open source. The extention says clearly it is non-commercial but you are applying commercial tactics when someone wants access to a patch to fix a fault that wasn't their fault in the first place.
Owner's reply

The Joomla upgrade mechanism does not provide a mechanism to check for version dependencies or for component providers to give a warning of incompatabilities :(. We therefore had no mechanism to warn site developers to check compatability before upgrading which is very unfortunate.

The changes required to support Joomla 2.5 affected a large number of files and classes so it was not practical to apply and test them in JEvents 2.0 and JEvents 2.1. We therefore made the decision to bring forward the public release of JEvents 2.1 to mid February expecting that the Joomla 2.5 upgrade process would encourage users to check and test compatability before upgrading.

Given the problems non-club members have encountered from upgrading theirs sites automatically we have brought this forward again to 8th February.

This is more than a month earlier than the JEvents 2.1 public release was planned for. This will give you Joomla 2.5 compatability and also you will get the benefit of the new features of JEvents 2.1 earlier than would normally be the case.

2012-02-02
Reviews: 1
this product works great until it comes time for an update, upgraded to 2.5 today and everything works perfectly (all ex tensions provided 2.5 versions) but jevents attempts to force you into paying them for some 6 month subscription (at a minimum) in order to make your calendar work again, very disappointing after having their product work so well beforehand
Owner's reply

This description page did not claim that JEvents is compatible with Joomla 2.5 and the home page of JEvents.net links prominently to an article stating that JEvents 2.0 is not compatible with Joomla 2.5 and that it is always sensible to test your components compatability before you perform a version upgrade of your site to Joomla 2.5.

JEvents for Joomla 2.5 will be available for free download on 8th February thanks to invaluable testing feedback from club member (bronze and above).

2012-01-29
Reviews: 2
The Good:
Wonderful, though very basic, calendar module. If all you are looking for is a simple way to list events in a basic calendar, this is the module for you... when it works.

The Bad:
If it breaks, unless you pay for the Gold version, its entirely on your shoulders to make it work again. The fixes are likely already in the Gold version too.. but if all you want is the basic to work, either pay for Gold (which is value-added to those who need the extra toys that come with it) or wait with a broken site.

Rating Reasoning:
I updated to 1.7.4 and it broke. This was the version specified on JEvents website. I tested against 2.5 and it broke worse. On asking for how to fix either one, I was told the fixes are in Gold, and either wait a month with a broken site or pay them. Since it did work for a while, I'm rating it fair.
Owner's reply

Basic calendar : JEvents offers multiple presentation options, 4 built in themes, a layout editing tool, complex repeating event handlers, repeat exception handling and ical import/export. That is more than basic in most people's views.

Support for non-paying users : The JEvents free access forums are actively supported and most problems resolved very quickly.

Joomla 2.5 clashed with the view class naming convention used in JEvents which requires a large number of files to be changed - a new release that resolves this is issue will be out very soon.

2012-01-26
Reviews: 7
New to Joomla, like my extensions uncomplicated, easy to configure, and do everything they say. Jevents was not that hard to configure out of the box using the documentation, had a basic calendar AND latest events modules up and running in no time. Changing layouts and looks was a little challenging, until I broke down and asked for help in the forum....and wished I had done so much sooner.

Forum support was awesome, EVERY question answered in detail. When I told them to 'dumb down' the explanation a bit for a newbie like me, they did just that and I was able to make the changes.

I don't have another calendar extension to compare it to, but I do have to say that once you get a hang of it, this one is great.

Becoming a Gold Member was SO worth the price, not just for the awesome support, but for the great plugins:
Image and File Upload Plugin
Facebook Share Plug In
Additional Calendar Layouts
User Authorization Plugin
I can't list them all, and there are WAY more than I have even tried, waiting until I feel more comfortable with the ones I have.

Absolutely recommend this extension!
2012-01-08
Reviews: 6
Nice Component!! I really love this Event calendar..One of the best in its kind..AWESOME!!!!!!!!
2011-12-14
Reviews: 7
I have tested and used on live sites many calendar and event extensions, and for my last project I picked jEvents for the following reasons:
* a great set of features
* several built-in styles
* ability to create own layouts in admin UI
* flexibility via multiple calendars vs categories
* permission control at category level
* import and sync with external calendars via iCal
* export/download to external calendar

The developer responds quickly to support requests and is open to enhancements. Some of the cool features are available to club members only but I felt it was way worth the $$ spent.
2011-12-14
Reviews: 8
Very good calendar tool. Thank you!
2011-10-21
Reviews: 1
A really fine piece of work, it worked immediately on installation - good job
2011-10-19
Reviews: 9
My site had Jevents installed when I took it over and I didn't know much about it.

The component was easy to con-fig and the modules worked fine.
I want to make make my site a bit more interesting so I joined the Club as a silver Member and WOW all the add-ons, plug-ins and modules that it has just made everything come to life.

The basic version is good but that €40.00 was the best money spend and now it has some relly great addons, with the Managed Locations Addon, Simple Events Registration, Standard Image Uploads plus lots of other stuff

My members can add events, add photos and now add maps.
I just sit back and watch.
The support is first class and now I am adding my own little coding to it

Get the basic component BUT get the Silver Downloads and make life and your site better
2011-10-14
Reviews: 18
I used it in 1.5., 1.6. and 1.7. and had no problems at all. Solid work.
To fit it to your needs you do not have a stylish graphical backend interface and you have to use code expressions - but every code used and every step is explained in tooltips beside. Design needs a fresh breeze.
2011-10-10
Reviews: 1
I have worked with both the Commercial and Non-Commercial version of this component and have had to hack every single aspect of it to do what I need it to do.

This Component will be extremely frustrating to use unless you are a programmer with a thorough knowledge of the inner workings of Joomla components.

Terrible forums and useless support. Replies to your questions will be cryptic, highly technical and in programmer jargon. Not user friendly at all.
Owner's reply

I'm sorry your experience with JEvents was disappointing. We pride ourselves on responsive support in the forums.

If you can follow up in the forum to describe the problems you have encountered we will do our best to help, and if our answers are too technical just let us know and we'll provide more detail as required.

2011-10-07
Reviews: 2
This is one of the best or i think the only best stop by for people who want event component for joomla. It requires no or very small technical knowledge and even the one first time with joomla can very easily set it up.

Beautifully organized and designed. I used this for my personal site.

Level of difficulty is nothing... you can set it up without even reading any manual.

I am advanced level user and manager or joomla.
2011-10-01
Reviews: 3
Geraint strives to make this the best events system out there... and he does it! not only is the software great his support is second to none. Adds the features you want! the software works really well couldnt be happier and suggest enough the Gold membership.
2011-09-26
Reviews: 2
I have used Jevents on my Joomla sites for event management, registration and reminders. The extension is very powerful and I would strongly recommend becoming a Gold Member to access the RSVP Pro plug in that enables members to register to attend and be reminded of your events.

The support from Geraint and gwesystems is second to none. I have received assistance and even custom functionality to meet my needs. This is a fantastic Joomla! extension and I highly recommend it for your calendar and event needs
2011-09-18
Reviews: 8
This extension together with additional modules and plugins almost can do anything you would expect from a calendar / events extension.

It is very easy to set up and use, but I think you need to have at least some tech background (css, html, js, php) to use it to its fullest potential.

If you decide to buy one of the support packages, you definitely get the best service around! Geraint is on top of every questions in the forums and just solved my last problem this Sunday, within 24 hours.
2011-09-15
Reviews: 7
To amir777

1. Is it true that Jevents 1.5.5g does not work with J1.6.6+? Based on personal experience, I kept getting errors with installation on J1.6.6 until I tried version 2 which worked.

Work with my website. If you have any problem, you are gonna receive an answer very quickly.

-------------------

Anyways, first review for this extension.

What can be said about this component. Nothing is perfect but every time a programmer finds a flaw, Geraint is there to correct it. In addition, if you need help to change a few source code, Geraint will be there to assist you.

For the price of this component, I wonder how he manages to eat:)

Christians have Jesus, programmers have Geraint!
2011-08-26
Reviews: 4
Just had to take a minute out of a busy day to remark on the amazing support offered by Geraint. I'm working on my first JEvents install and it's for a large client with very specific wants & needs. I've been firing off the support tickets, and each time without fail I have received a response within less than one day. It has definitely exceeded my expectations. I'm also thrilled with the component itself, which offers more options and flexibility than other Joomla event management tools I've used.
2011-08-25
Reviews: 1
Hi,

I have looked everywhere on the site, but there is no place to contact/interact before buying membership packages. This is the last resort.

I am planning to use Jevents and the addons offered in Gold membership package for an upcoming project. The site is based on Joomla 1.7, and therefore, I need to use Jevents v.2. To that end, I have the following questions:

1. Is it true that Jevents 1.5.5g does not work with J1.6.6+? Based on personal experience, I kept getting errors with installation on J1.6.6 until I tried version 2 which worked.
2. when do you expect the stable version of 2 to be released?
3. Specifically which of the addons currently work with Version 2?

thanks
2011-08-08
Reviews: 3
The support is just perfect. I had th pleasure to meet the JEvents teams personally and I can't be more happy about JEvents.

JEvents itself gives you a powerful Events component right out the box. The best thing about JEvents is that you can customize every single thing.

Another great thing is that JEvents team listen to your requests.

Last but not least, they have documentation :D

Very proud about JEvents and the result.
Page 8 of 20