The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

ohanah Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
  • Changes MySQL database to MySQLi.
The most popular and most loved event management extension for Joomla!

With 99% of satisfied customers, premium support & powerful options, Ohanah is the right choice for you when it comes to deal with events. Fully compatible with any Joomla! version.

Over 1 million events have been created using Ohanah in just 3 years. People from all over the world are using Ohanah every day to organise their seminars, community gatherings, music shows and any type of event that you can imagine.


Ohanah will let you fully manage all aspects of your events.

* event management (recurring events included)
* venue management (geolocation included)
* attendee management (notifications included)
* and much more…

All at your fingertips, easy to use also for your clients, and with a beautiful interface. A great user experience is guaranteed.


No need to be a CSS expert in order to have an amazing looking site. Ohanah will automagically blend in with your existing layout and design, and your events will have the same look & feel of your site.


Let your visitors browse and access all your events on their smartphones. With Ohanah you get a fully customisable jQuery based Mobile app, which can even be converted into a native app.


Ohanah truly speaks your language. Translated into 36 languages and used in more than 100 countries, Ohanah is one of the few extensions on the JED that is really multilingual. Check the list of available languages (


Ohanah is developer friendly and provides a full REST API and a JSON output that let you take control over its customisation.

Have additional questions? Visit our website ( or check out our demo (

Report Extension




Reviews: 2
the extension is great and its each cent worth! BUT
it's nothing in relation to the great 24/7 support. i needed them so often, cause i want to personalize this app and they were always here for me.

Thats my imagine of SUPPORT!!!
Reviews: 2
Double purchased this extension by mistake and requested for a refund for one purchase. No hassles at all from prompt and friendly customer service. Thank you Romano; I really appreciate your cooperative and fast response. In regards to the extension; looks great on the site; design and layout wise, and works great as well! Would love to see a way of distinguishing 2 or more related events beyond the one categories option eg: how to differentiate 2 or more types of events in the one category, and then having them displayed uniquely in the "Events List" and "Calendar List" (maybe colour coded). Also, to have the option to hide the start and end time in the Events List. Besides this, a great component with many uses and a lot of potential. Cannot wait for V2!
Reviews: 4
This compoenent is a few features away from taking over the JED calendar and rsvp. It sucks in your css and makes the calendar look good in any template. Its super easy to install once you read the instructions and the user interface is better than all the rest. We will make this our default calendar system once the ics import and payment gateways are in place.
Reviews: 1
Bought this component a few days ago and could never get it working. Contacted the team and they were quick to respond Gave them access to my site and they came back and said I had to upgrade my IonCube loader. And then all works perfectly.
About the component, does what is says and I'm quiet well looking forward to more reporting features for admin.
For any events management system, the key is to report on their events. At the moment I dont believe there is a way to get a report on how many people are atteding an event and also there is no way of contacting attendees of an event.
This component also misses payment integration which is in their roadmap.
So overall this is a good component, however requires a few more key enhancements very soon.
Considering that the team is very active (at the moment) I dont see any issues in that happening soon.
Owner's reply

Ho Feroz, thanks for the review, happy to see you like it sofar.

Probably you missed it, but you can indeed export all the list of your attendees per each event, just look in the event list view in the backend and you'll see number of attendees and CSV.

You can also send an email to all of them or few of them buy entering the attendees list view per event, form there select the one you like and click the send email button on the toolbar ;-)

If you prefere you can also use mailchimp to manage attendee mailing list. just install the ohanah mail chimp extension ;-) (

We are working hard to push everything even forward , as you says few thing still missing, but those should be all solved with the upcoming V2.

For anything else, just let us know.

Reviews: 18
It looks great, one of the best designed joomla extensions ever. Its the right choice for many needs.

Unfortunately you will miss the most usual features, if you want to use it for commercial websites.
Reviews: 1
Ohanah looks good and has potential, but:

- Lacks several important features such as; payment integration and the ability to allow non-joomla users to register for an event.

- There should be an FAQ on the website along with an admin side demo to prevent people from paying and requesting a refund after finding out Ohanah doesn't do what one would expect.

- An FAQ and an admin demo will also help Ohanah with support since many questions will be answered preventing the need to send a support/sales request.

The only way I found out what Ohanah doesn't do is by reading other's post here on the forum. I sent a support request with functionality questions and have yet to get a response. Granted, I sent the request just 3 days ago, but that's 3 days wasted when an FAQ and admin demo would have saved all of us time.
Owner's reply

we implemented in the v2 all the features you were looking for. We also intorduced a mobile app, a full frontend, mobile and backend demo; together with a comprehensive faq sections and features list on the website.

Reviews: 1
Good quality extension, beautiful and simple. It has room for improvement but new features are added every week and the support is great.
If the component does not suit your needs, they refund you quickly.
Reviews: 2
Great extension and great support!
We have used this one for a client and i am very pleased with our choice. Very easy to use, has the spot-on features needed.
I worried a little about support, but my worries were not confirmed, Nick is very helpful and there is clearly a lot of effort put into the development.
Intuitive interface, smooth installation, nice outcome.
Thumbs up!
Reviews: 2
Looks good (but hé, this is 'only' css) but misses some essentials:
1. Ohanah has nó register form: visitors first has to register as a joomla user (..!). Than they can attend to an event. Not good, to much steps.
Create a configurable Ohanah form and let the administrator decide the usergroup for the attenders, with it's own ACL settings.

2. Ohanah has nó (!) possibility for an admin-email adress or to disable sending admin emails. It automaticly sends all admin-emails (for example: when people attend an event) are send to the email adres that you put in when you installed your joomla 1.7 package.

3.It is very little configurable so like many components you have to follow the choices of the developer, for eventlists you may want to configure many things.

So: a bit beta (I hope) but I guess I can live with that. It looks very good.

Something I do nót like is the fact that you techies ask 32,00 euro for software that is still in a development state. It's your development, not our's...Aks $79,00 when it's finished. When it's good people buy it. (like Jomsocial)
Secondly you only hand some sort of 'wishlist website'and give poor support. Not good.

Ohanah has great potential, I sometimes wonder though if the developers are developing just to develop stuff' or to really create something usefull, for the long run. I really hope though that Ohanah becomes a good configurable eventlist.
(and not like Nooku multilangual component, wich was also great but expensive ($350,00) and poorly supported by the developers, saddly become's a thing of the past...)
Owner's reply

Hello suityoursite,
Thank you for your review :-) To answer your points:
1) Ohanah for the moment uses the joomla built-in registration system so that you can easily extend upon this without having to reinvent the wheel, optionally you can point the event registration to your predefined url so that you can use whatever form management extension you prefer.
2) In the next version we will have a better email & notification system in place and
3) We design and develop ohanah to have as few configuration setting as possible. While this may result in something that doesn't fir any scenario, the ones who does are well supported and suffer from less compromises. Developing good software is all about making decision so that our users don't have to struggle to much with them.

We do charge money in order to being able to keep improving the software and this is exactly because we don't develop stuff but we try to solve real people problems.

if we didn't solve yours because other products suit better your needs, well we have absolutely no problem in refunding you, just ask:)

About support we don't have a wish list website but a full support system trough private tickets where we can help solving issues on a case by case way, so if you need support, just ask ;-) we try to answer all our ticket within a day.

Reviews: 7
Beautifully put together, this comes with additional modules and plugin. My only gripe is that you cannot create a repeat event (but the team is working on it). There was a small hiccup with the installation at my end because the component needs the 'System - Mootools Upgrade' plugin enabled but the support is fantastic so overall it's a five star from me!
Reviews: 1
This extension is awesome! It does what it says it does and it does it well. Blends right in with the template so there is not much tinkering necessary. I had a minor issue with a plugin interfering with ohanah scripts and the support was quick. The guys at ohanah went to great lengths to find and fix the issue. Highly recommended!
Reviews: 1
I am a total rookie and the guys behind ohanah helped me loads with installation. Once I had it sorted I started using it and was happy with the results, however I needed a full search facility for my site which they havent got at the moment and they were happy to refund me. So I would definatly recommend them to anyone and they are helpful and trustworthy which is brilliant for the consumer :)
Reviews: 4
This is set to soon be the best joomla event package available with great flexibility and presentation options.

Its young and the updates are coming thick and fast but the support is first rate with all of the minor issues I had being effectively addressed within 24 hours.

I'm pretty sure that in the next update or so, my review will go from good to excellent as minor missing features such as date formatting are added by the responsive and very productive guys at ohanah.

I love the event map!
Reviews: 2
This is by far the best extension I have used for both support and usability. I have had very few problems and the support has been exceptional when I needed it. If you want an event extension this is the one!
Reviews: 1
I paid for this extension thinking it had a way to pay for events...but so far it doesn't.

This looks like it has promise but I can't tell if/when a payment plug in will become available.

As the developers don't respond to questions...I've wasted my $$'s and will need to find another solution.
Owner's reply

Hello HRZ75034,
We are really sorry that you thought we had a full payment gateway in place yet but neither here or on the extension website we state this. Although we have this in our roadmap we cannot give an exact ETA on it (goal is for september).
We do reply to questions non-stop, and, if you think you waisted your $$, don't worry, just ask for a refund, we will do it on the same day as we have a really friendly refund policy.

Reviews: 1
Ohanah is in it's development stage but already proven to be clean, fresh, and exciting calendar product.

This product is built upon Nooku Framework which is one of the best development foundation for Joomla I have seen in a long time.

Flavio and Nick are working hard to keep up with the Rapid advancement in Joomla and among the very first to master Joomla 1.7.0 massive changes along with improvements on their own product.

If you don't like frequent improvement updates and willing to accept a few minor problems as Ohanah goes through development, then please wait to buy.

BUT... I strongly recommend buying now and be a part in development of this exciting and clean product. When Ohanah reaches full maturely It will be worth twice it's current price.
Reviews: 5
For such a new product, I'm impressed at what it can do and am looking forward to its future growth. Support is great and the extension itself is clean and simple.

Keep up the good work!
Reviews: 1
This was the exact product I was looking for for my organisation. here you can plan events, remark them, place how many people may join, price, location etc. etc.
unfortunatly I had some issues which I discuessed with the Support department, and I find them very, very good. Not only quick response, but also thinking with you! And when posible, add some extra input for the website.
GREAT WORK GUYZ, keep the good job, and thx for all the work you already done for me!!!
Reviews: 1
Installed this component (version 1.0.8) on Joomla 1.6.3 on a HostGator account.

==> Installation without any problems (Changed DB to MySQLi prior to installation)
==> Very good documentation
==> clean and simple backend and frontend.
==> Adding events easy and fast
==> NO issues so far. Everything is working fine so far.

As far as I have tested it, it is quite impressive! Please keep up the good work!

Reviews: 4
While there are a couple improvements on my wish list (see below), this is one of the best components/apps I've ever used on a Joomla website!! Even the support is A+

Some kind of Facebook Connect or Facebook Events integration

Virtuemart, Paypal functionality for "paid" events.
Page 11 of 12