The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

ohanah Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
  • Changes MySQL database to MySQLi.
The most popular and most loved event management extension for Joomla!

With 99% of satisfied customers, premium support & powerful options, Ohanah is the right choice for you when it comes to deal with events. Fully compatible with any Joomla! version.

Over 1 million events have been created using Ohanah in just 3 years. People from all over the world are using Ohanah every day to organise their seminars, community gatherings, music shows and any type of event that you can imagine.


Ohanah will let you fully manage all aspects of your events.

* event management (recurring events included)
* venue management (geolocation included)
* attendee management (notifications included)
* and much more…

All at your fingertips, easy to use also for your clients, and with a beautiful interface. A great user experience is guaranteed.


No need to be a CSS expert in order to have an amazing looking site. Ohanah will automagically blend in with your existing layout and design, and your events will have the same look & feel of your site.


Let your visitors browse and access all your events on their smartphones. With Ohanah you get a fully customisable jQuery based Mobile app, which can even be converted into a native app.


Ohanah truly speaks your language. Translated into 36 languages and used in more than 100 countries, Ohanah is one of the few extensions on the JED that is really multilingual. Check the list of available languages here


Ohanah is developer friendly and provides a full REST API and a JSON output that let you take control over its customisation.

Have additional questions? Visit our website or check out our the demo

Report Extension




Reviews: 4
While there are a couple improvements on my wish list (see below), this is one of the best components/apps I've ever used on a Joomla website!! Even the support is A+

Some kind of Facebook Connect or Facebook Events integration

Virtuemart, Paypal functionality for "paid" events.
Reviews: 2
The extension looks great! I have experienced a few technical issues here and there but the support that comes with this component is second to none. I asked 3 questions in a matter of minutes and had them solved within the hour.

The biggest criticism I hear is that it is very young. To me that's what makes it so good. I want to be part of something new, the developers are the ones that are happy to answer your questions whereas other extensions your questions are going to be answered by other users and often that is a bad thing because they don't understand the ins and outs.

Well worth the money, by far the best events extensions on Joomla (trust me i tried them all).
Reviews: 5
I had high hopes for this extension because the developers clearly have high graphical and layout design standards. The advertised feature set is unique in the JED, and if the software worked, it has a LOT of potential. I will continue to re-evaluate as time goes on, but as of June 29, 2011, this extension is too buggy to use. In Joomla 1.6.3 and 1.6.4, this is simply the buggiest of any extension I've ever used. Required workarounds at every step, php.ini adjustments, multiple support requests, and lots of effort - and with all that effort, it still doesn't work. Error messages at every turn, non-functioning menu items, non-functioning modules. at first the support was quick to blame my host - Rochen - but once their issue with Rochen was fixed, even more unrelated issues popped up.

I'll gladly adjust this review if the component developers fix these issues, but sadly I suspect they won't have any time to work on the component, because they are busy providing support.

As far as their support goes, expect 3-8 hours to get a one line, unhelpful response. They wasted quite a bit of my time stringing me along when they could have just written a complete answer to my issue in the first response. Not particularly polite, slow responses without a lot of depth. Waste of my time and money.

P.S. this is the first negative review I've ever written, and my library contains over 300 Joomla extensions.
Owner's reply

I'll be streight to the topic:
- php.ini adjustments are not needed, there are no work around needed and in joomla 1.6.3 and 1.6.4 it works.
- we do have time to work on the component and that's the thing we love doing the mos, and facts prove it: > 8 releases in 8 weeks ;-)
- We offer immediate refunding policy so if you think ohanah is not for you, don't need to waste your money/time, just ask for a refund and we will do it within a day.

Reviews: 1
I am new to Joomla and I did an extensive search to find an event calendar to post events for a network marketing team.

As soon as I found the Ohanah Event Calendar I knew this was the one! I was particularly impressed that they took the time to configure their product to match up with several popular Joomla templates. They had a version that matched the template I am using which made it a breeze to merge it into my website.

I had a few problems configuring the event calendar to work exactly right but Nick on the support staff was responsive and very helpful with all of my issues.

There are a few things that this event calendar does not yet do however the personel on the support staff are open to suggestions and are working on adding more features and functionality to this extension.

In my opinion, the features it already has make it far superior to other event calendars for Joomla 1.6 that I have researched. Good Job!
Reviews: 1
I hunted around for an event component for my site and stumbled upon ohanah. I took a look at their demo and I especially noticed the thought and consideration that went into Ohanah's site design (something that all Joomla developers should consider doing), and I was immediately impressed.

I purchased the component and had a few problems with the install, but Flavio and Romano stepped me through those *minor* problems with ease and aplomb.

They are new, but growing. I've received 3 updates since my purchase a week ago.

Folks, ohanah is hot... the next big thing for Joomla, right up there with JomSocial, OSE & RocketTheme. I'd give it 6 stars if I could. :)
Reviews: 1
I just started a new event site and was looking for a good j-extension that can handle my events. I found ohanah and it is really good.

What really impressed me is the incredible fast support. I found a minor bug in the administration tool, which did not really matter, but these guys at beyounic replied within 30 minutes in the middle of the night (2 a.m.) and solved the issue within a working day. I never experienced a better support.

thx guys!
Reviews: 2
What can I say, I bought this app for Joomla as i was looking for the best way to display events on my site and I couldn't be more happy to have chosen Ohanah. The extension is not feature blown, but the features that are there are really well thought of and made my life so much easier.

Occasionally I had few small questions but their support system and team was amazingly quick and helpful.

I got this when they just released it about a month ago, and is such a delight to see that every week they release regularly a new improved version that I just receive in my email inbox ready to be installed, awesome job guys. I wish all the extensions’ developers out there follow the way this guys work: agile, quick and fast release. If you keep rolling things out like that, you'll probably get Eventbrite knocking on your door soon ;)

There is no frontend submission yet nor ticketing -payment capability, but looking from their roadmap it won’t take much until this will be covered.

This extension is based on Nooku framework, and from looking around seems to me that this is one of the first extensions adopting this technology, so thanks Nooku and thank Beyounic to bring this new breed of people, mind, product, code and style to work into Joomla world!
Reviews: 1
The only Joomla component I've ever bought. Completely worth it... beautiful and the support is really unparalleled
Reviews: 2
This component is good but the description is abit tricky!
In their homepage the first paragraph says "Easy to use" and there is an image which makes you think that there is a front-end module to add events but there is not!
Also the creation of subcategories OR the option to assign an event to a more than one category is very importat.

Otherwise the component is ok.
Owner's reply

Hello kyriacoullis, frontend submission is in the work and should be rolled out in the upcoming releases, so stay tuned;-) Based on your nice feedback we just updated the description as it was not our intention to be tricky, thanks for that and hope it's more clear now.

For subcategory and the possibility to add events to more then a category we have marked that down. Thanks for the nice input as we are always looking at ways to improve the app.

Reviews: 2
Ohanah is without question the best event extension availiable. What makes it so great is its simplicity. It does everything you need it to do but in a user friendly straight forward way. Ohanah is not overpopulated with hundreds of confusing options. The code is clean and straight forward and at such an early age i think it will be the thing to have. in saying that it lacks a few things but hey its at version 1.0.3 so its just a baby.

Definatly gonna be an extension i always have on board and will always poot forward to friends.

Best thing about Ohanah though....IT WORKS!!!!!
Reviews: 2
quick response,professional support.
keep the good job guys...
in the future, please add-facebook automatic publish and twitter also!!!!
Reviews: 4
Wow! This is one slick piece of work!! Only at version 1.0.2 and already it whips the pants off most of the other competitors.

And it's such a joy to use too! Not only is beautiful on the front-end but the back-end is clean, fast and well thought out. Totally worth the price of admission (& then some).

If Ohanah is representative of what Nooku can do, then all I can say is with quality apps like this, the outlook for Joomla is very bright indeed.

Looking for Event management in Joomla? Get on board and get a sneak peak at the future of Joomla apps.
Reviews: 1
This is a great component, and it's just getting started! I purchased it when it first came out and was impressed by how easy it was to use, and the flexibility it offered.
They have fast, helpful support which made dealing with whatever difficulties I did run into a lot easier.

Overall, couldn't recommend a component or company better than these guys! I look forward to using Ohanah a lot in the future!

Great job!
Reviews: 4
I have been using and testing Ohanah since beta, helping the team behind it to iron out some bugs along the way. Not only is the team very responsive and forthcoming (as another reviewer also points out), they have also delivered a software that is very useful and downright comfortable to use. It really stands out from the rest of the pack to be honest.

I am very much looking forward to future releases too; upcoming new featues look very promising. Keep it up Beyounic team!
Reviews: 4
This extension make promoting events simple. I in turn simply love it.

The pros:
Maps of the event venue? Check!
Event registration? Got it, and more!
Event list? Sure thing!
Multiple category? Yupp!
Easy to configure and skin? Yes!
Even got mailchimp integration!

The cons:
Since it uses the Nooku framework, if your server is running suhosin, you may need to make adjustments to your php.ini. (I did, but it's really simple)
Your database driver will be changed to MySQLi. (which is actually the recommended driver to use for MySQL server 4.1.3 and newer, so not really sure if it's a minus)
It loads JQuery. (again, not really a minus)

A little problem I faced,
I got a fatal error when first trying to create an event. This is due to the extension requiring the TinyMCE plugin to be enabled (which I didn't).
I contacted support and the problem was fixed in less than an hour. Thankee!

Sum it all up,
Ohanah is a new and promising extension with a great future. I really recommend this rising star.
Reviews: 5
I looked so long time ago for a tool like that!
A great alternative & more for some others, of corse also great, components arround events behind Joomla!1.5 and now we found a possibility for Joomla! 1.6, thanks a lot and hold on that good work!
Reviews: 9
I have to say that this extension is extremely good. First of all it is very well coded. If you have some experience using CSS, HTML and other languages you can profit very much of this extension. Myself, just having enough CSS and HTML knowledge I figured I can do almost whatever I want with it, achieve de look and feel I need; and if there is something you don't know, just send a support request and within minutes -not hours or days!- you will receive support.

Even before buying the extension I received superb support and -since I was a beta tester- I was encouraged to first try the beta before buying.

So far I really don't see any cons. It was depends on how much experience you have at coding. But for those who do not need to perform high levels of customizations this extension fits perfectly out-of-the-box. It has several ways to present the information and it's ridiculous how easy it is to use!

This extension is developed with website builders and final users in mind.

I have quite a lot of experience using Joomla! and EventList for displaying events, which is also a good component, but this is superior. It's just so easy to customize!

Of course there will people who need some features that are not implemented quite yet, but you must keep in mind that (at the time I'm writing this) the extension is just in v.1.0 and it's already very good.

Looking forward to see what this extension will become in future versions! Developers listen their customers, that I could see during the beta period. That is and will be key for the success of this extension.

And btw, it is Joomla! 1.5 and 1.6 compatible out-of-the-box and in one installation package.
Reviews: 1
I was waiting for an events management system for Joomla 1.6, and I have to say that this one fits my needs.
Page 12 of 12