The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

Wall Factory ComponentModule

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
Wall Factory is a Joomla! extension which allows developers to create a community website where users can collaborate, share messages, news, videos and images freely.

The best part about Wall Factory is that it makes the world a smaller place and it is free to download and use. No encryption and no limitations whatsoever.

Key Features

Every user can create his own wall
Post messages on walls along with attached media files (photos, audio, documents, embedded videos)
Users can watch or download media files
Guest posting
Commenting system
Email notifications
Reporting system for offending posts and comments
Follow and manage followed walls
User avatars
Bookmarking websites (Digg, Facebook, Twitter, etc.)
Quick search module and plugin


Multi-language support, UTF-8 support, comes default with English INI language files
SEO/SEF friendly
Default integration with Joomla! user profile, allowing a single login for Joomla! and component
Easy transition to RTL
Simple installation, configuration and updating process

User Profile

Configurable profile details (name, gender, birthday, about me)
Wall name and settings (pagination and notifications)
Customizable avatar (upload own avatar or use Gravatar or CB avatar)

Main Settings

Enable/disable available media types (images, videos, mp3 files, URLs, document files)
Enable and set up avatars
Allow guests to view or to post on walls
Enable and set up notifications
Enable/disable bookmarks
Enable/disable Gravatar
Set displayed user title (Joomla! username, wall alias or Joomla! name)
Enable and set up commenting system
Restrict certain user groups from creating blogs
Define the list of banned words
Allow CB avatars
Enable and set up ReCaptcha

3rd Party Integrations

Community Builder integration including a Wall Posts tab plugin
Social media sharing (Facebook, Twitter, Delicious)
Embedded video integration (Youtube, MySpace, Vimeo, Metacafe, Howcast)


4 email notifications (new post, new reported post, new comment, new reported comment)
Customizable email templates

Backend Management

User management
Reports management
Customize bookmarking website
Dashboards containing several statistics and information


Joomla! 3.x
PHP (min. 5.3.0)
MySQL (min. 5.1 + )
cURL, GD2 libraries enabled

Report Extension



Reviews: 2
This is an awesome piece of software. However, for some reason on the demo site and my site, when i embed a video link from youtube, it does not show up in the post???
Owner's reply

They are some limitation on the demo-server, due to security issues.

Also when posting a YouTube video, you should use the URL link, not the embedded code!

Always make sure you are running the latest available version of the component and for any encountered issues, use our pages, not JED pages!

Reviews: 12
The review facility will not let you submit a comment without a rating - so sorry for that... but...

I am on Joomla 2.5 and i just can't suss a way to install this component. There is no Package for 2.5, only 1.5 - the 2.5 just has a load of files but no install log or doc to advise how to install it, or if to copy the files somewhere - to where.
Basically its a tease - I agree with the other reviews - there are no docs, FAQ's or install instructions for 2.5.. I would be happy to change the review after I had had a chance to look at the component but without paying to ask for help.. there is nothing we can do. Frustrated as on paper it looks good.. Oh well !
Owner's reply

JED requested to have both versions in the zip files (since we had this product for 1.5 too). This is why the zip was called "unzip_me_first". This is no longer an issue since we archived the Joomla 1.5 version and do no longer support it. Since you never used the extension I see no reason to rate it in any way...

Reviews: 2
Works great in my Joomla 1.5 and Joomla 2.5 websites.
have managed to customize the output fairly easy on my own.
overall a good app
Reviews: 1
Broke my website. Real nice.
Owner's reply

As mentioned on our Forum your issue was caused by a 3rd party template, not developed 100% according to the Joomla standards.

We are glad you sorted this out and can use the component further.

Reviews: 4
The idea itself could be valid, but unfortunatelu there is no way to get it work in Joomla 2.5.4
After a couple of hours of tries, the best I could achive was installing the package and beeing able to see the dashbord of the component but nothing else.
Congifuration page ( as well as others ) results in a blank page.

Let's hope developers will fix this issue in the next release...
Owner's reply

The Extension has now full support for Joomla 2.5.x.

Most probably you tried to install the version for Joomla 1.5 on Joomla 2.5 and this aren't compatible.

Reviews: 1
This one looked good initially although it comes with no documentationn, no forum, no support. It's advertised as free extension, but if you need something of the above you are expected to join a "club" for wich you have to pay. So my first advise to the developers is this: Don't try to fool people into thinking they will get a non-commercial extension when in fact sooner or later they have to fork out money in order to join your "club". If you want to earn some money with your goods say so from the beginning. In this case your extensions should be good enough to be paid for, which brings me to my point: This extension is no good at all if you need it to speak a language other than English. I couldn't find otrher language files but hey, nothing against editing one based on the provided English language files. This way I could have been even contributing to the product... Unfortunately even after translating the quite big language file half of the front end still speaks English. That means editing the source files... After half a day I gave it up. It's just to much.
Owner's reply

Your statements are purely FALSE and unfortunately can mislead other users, which are searching for a good and FREE component!

1. Wall Factory is FREE for download!

2. For FREE extensions, we do provide Forum support (but of course after paying a minimal fee - our beer money).

3. Also to all our extensions we provide only the English language file. This is clearly mentioned and we never stated we are providing other languages. Especially at a free component, you can translate it on your on and even place the translation in a forum to share it with the others.

Reviews: 1
Just installed the wall factory and it is working great! I'm a little of a Joomla Newbie but was able to get it working in a couple of hours. I'm sure that I would have been faster if I knew what I was doing.
This is just what I was looking for without having to succumb to Jomsocial, because I only needed the wall for comments.
Thanks for a greatly needed app!
Reviews: 1
Good component but I would love to have integration of Community Builder and ability to have everything submitted unpublished until I approve it.

But again good work and I can see it doing well in the future.
Owner's reply

Thank you for your appreciation. We are constantly improving our components and the FREE to download, like this one, are making no exception.

Reviews: 19
this is a decent extension which can become very popular if there was some sort of FAQ or documentation. i understand the developer wants money in order to give any support at all, but the developer should at least provide some sort of basic FAQ and documentation. i'm sure there are at least a handful of common questions that they could have answered in an FAQ like "is it possible to change the number of characters in a single posting?".
Owner's reply

I think your question has nothing to do with the documentation. On a free to download component you can check yourself if the option is or not available at the extension backend!

Reviews: 4
This looks like an abandoned project, at least as far as Joomla 1.5 is concerned. Several features don't work at all (eg avatars) and there is no way to get any kind of help. Documentation is zero, and there is not even a Wall Factory subforum in their forum, where one could at least get help from other users.

It's a pity, it must have been nice on its day.
Owner's reply

The project is not abandoned.

As it is clearly stated in our webpage (product page) the product had 6 months of free support when it was launched, after that period we have only payed support. The extension is FREE (as free beer) but unfortunately we can not afford to support it for free. So as stated in the product page all support is available for Club Members only. Club Members have also access to other (non free) downloads too.
The subforum is visible only for club members.

The updates resulted of the payed support are made available to the community, so i think there is a benefit to it even for non paying users.

Rating the product 2 stars is in my opinion pretty harsh, since the extension is fully functional in Joomla 1.5 and 1.6 and without any known issues. if you like a support session for your installation we would gladly do it.

Reviews: 2
Just what I wanted. Fast and Flexible! Thanks!
Reviews: 3
I'm using WallFactory on my site and I and my users love it! It's easy to use as a user (on frontend) because it's almost like the facebook wall that many people know already and the settings in the backend are easy to manage.

The issues I had to have fixed were fixed by the support team in a fast, professional and friendly way.

I think it's a wonderful idea to have this wall as a means to let one's users get better acquainted and expand their network!

For these reasons I give this product the highest rating and warmly recommend it to anyone who wants to build a community or network on their site :)
Reviews: 1
Great and fast support! Ease to install and work with! en great features...good job!!
Reviews: 4
The product seems to work with version 1.1.7, but there is no documentation available on how to upgrade to version 2.0.1
Their website is useless, as there is absolutely no information about Wall Factory available.

I understand that this is a free application, but some sort of document about how to upgrade should not take too much time to make.

I would seriously hesitate to buy a product from them as it is unclear how much support you will get.
Owner's reply

Upgrade from 1.1.7 to 2.x is impossible since the 1.1.7 is a Joomla 1.5 version and 2.x is a Joomla 1.6 version.

The extension is FREE (as free beer) but unfortunately we can not afford to support it for free.) The product had 6 months of free support when it was launched, after that period we have only payed support.

Rating our extension with 2 stars because of a supposed upgrade problem is not so fair, since the product is FULLY functional, FREE available and being upgraded FOR FREE.

Reviews: 1
Easy to install...
Problems corrected quickly and professionally!!!
Great extension!!!
I'm looking forward to more releases from these guys!!!