The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Community Builder Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
Community Builder (CB) is the most popular and flexible social community networking solution for all versions of Joomla! (3.2, 3.x and 2.5 with ACL support).

For over 9 years now the 500,000 and growing Joomlapolis members have made CB the most widely used (over 2,500,000 public installs per Google) social networking solution. It’s FREE and has always been GPL.

Social websites go far beyond Facebook look-alikes and CB has literally hundreds of built-in features and extra (free or commercial) add-ons from CB Team and other parties that will help you realize your very own - tailored to your specific needs - website.

CB also has a powerful built-in framework (CB API doc. is available on Joomlapolis) so it can be extended and enhanced.

There are hundreds of built-in features you can use to:

+ Create profiles for your members
+ Identify users with first/middle/last name fields
+ Add avatar photos to profiles
+ Add unlimited CB fields to your profiles (text, image, textarea, html editor, integer, checkbox, multi-select checkbox, drop-down, multi-select drop-down, radio, date, email, weblinks - more available with add-ons)
+ Use delimiter fields to put customized HTML code in profiles
+ Configure fields to be read-only, for profile viewing, displayed with title, to appear on registration form, etc
+ Control of core fields (email, username, etc), and ajax email and username checkers
+ Custom field validations
+ Organize fields in tabs that can be displayed in different built-in profile positions
+ Create extended registration form
+ Allow login using email address and password
+ Manage registration and profile image approval in frontend with CB Workflow module
+ Create unlimited CB User lists with powerful searching
+ Let members connect with each other (mutual consent or one way)
+ Display # of connections on profiles
+ Show connection path between profile viewer and owner up to 6th degree
+ Moderate your community with FE reporting, banning,
+ Let members interact (using email or PMS extension)
+ Built-in integration with Joomla articles (show article links in author profiles)
+ Built-in integration with Kunena forum
+ Use built-in integration with uddeIM messaging

Each CB distribution has:
+ component (universal for all J! versions and Mambo)
+ CB Login, Workflow and Online mods (also universal)
+ 43 page Install guide
+ Readme and Upgrade txt files

Joomlapolis hosts free community driven support forums.

Optionally, Advanced, Professional or Developer 12-months memberships can be purchased giving rights to priority or even same/next business day guaranteed forum support and access to many additional optional plugins and privileges.

PHP 5.0-5.4.x and MySQL 4.1+ database are prerequisites (PHP 5.2.4+ and MySQL 5.0.4+, same as Joomla 2.5, are recommended).

* Please do not use the reviews to post support issues. Use our free community forums or paid support system at https://www.joomlapolis.com/suppor

Report Extension

 

 

2007-05-21
Reviews: 1
This is an absolutely awesome extension. Out of the box it overrides Joomla's default user management system, letting you add extra fields, allowing users to edit their profiles and upload avatars. Users can talk to each other via email and view each other's profiles. There are a huge number of lovely little touches, for example you can hide fieds when the user first registers so the user is not overwhelmed by a massive form.

Installation was easy but not trivial. A helpful readme file was included which took me through the process of publishing the correct modules and disabling the standard user login functionality. Overall, this is a very impressive piece of work and I'm looking forward to playing with it further!
2007-05-21
Reviews: 16
I agree with many of the other users comments. Undoubtably it should be the de facto standard and incorporated into the joomla module from the start as boy!, is it scary to install.
Even practice loading it offline, prior to installing online did not give me much confidence when it came down to it. I had put a number of joomla extensions online over a 6 month period but this was the toughest mentally, though in the end, it wasn't so bad but I did end up posting a none existent problem to the joomopalis forum.
I haven't yet got the club secretary's go ahead to pay for the manual but I think it will be well worth it (and necessary) for the future. The loading of the plugins through the program was, in itself, something new for me. Why is it necessary to have separate plugins for a security capcha and registration feedback? as this combines to make the whole installation process even tougher. I've also installed the birthday module, which I'm stll working on and haven't quite sorted out, the option for it not to be displayed.
As yet I haven't used joomla 1.5, but certainly it would be a more powerful attraction if this was the standard user login.
Club members can now securely enter personal details and admin officials can easily access them. There are so many options, which is great but there are also awkward terms such as synchonise the database and other difficulties that frighten the newbie and may put off potential users. Once in place, the package appears excellent and it is likely, that more developers will create addins but the run up is very hard and I'm still pouring through the free manual and scared the package is going to turn around and bite me for my troubles
2007-05-18
Reviews: 1
Hello,
I love this component it make my work very simply.
Very simple to install and It work fine.
Just on suggestion try it.

Thank,
Richard
2007-05-11
Reviews: 1
Community builder is a necessary feature of any joomla site trying to have a community (not just content driven) feeling. I needed to create a daily coaching media component for our website and ol' faithful Community Builder allowed me to gather the required information about the user (which I needed to determine gender and their fitness level) by just adding fields to the profile. I also found the plethora of plugins tailored to work with community builder like Mamblog and CB Profile Gallery to be just what I needed. They all integrate into the person's profile, so it feels like a cohesive unit. This is more than a component, it is like myspace within joomla because it has so many plugins available for it
2007-05-03
Reviews: 1
But when it doesn't you're out of luck. Unable to get any response from the community board over on Joomlapolis. A quick look around shows a LOT of questions with no responses. Very disappointing service.

I'd be willing to pay them for support if they'd just answer my question.
2007-04-30
Reviews: 1
great component ..!! keep wondering what would ma site be without it :) keep up the good work ;)
2007-03-30
Reviews: 1
I found it took a while to find my way around but once that initial learning curve is overcome CB is a very capable component.
2007-03-27
Reviews: 1
First I have to say that this is an excellent extension of Joomla! It has everything you need - EXCEPT for ONE very important thing... Documentation.

I know that I will get hammered for this, but this is my opinion. I completely agree with the Open Source Movement. Open Source was supposed to be where you could either pay less for software or get it for free. It seems now that the skewed view of Open Source has crept into the Joomla! community with this plugin.

They contend that you should have to pay for their documentation of their "free" software - but the software itself is "free". I am sorry but if you make software and tout it as being "free", the documentation should be free as well. Either you make it a paid propreitary product, or you offer it for free - no strings attached.

I am a classically educated software engineer and I have no problems with paying for products put out by the big corps like Adobe because that is what they do and they do not claim to have free software.

I am not going to spend 35.00US for a pdf file when I can go out and buy a real book for that amount with a pretty cover and a free tacky-looking bookmark.

With all this said - they have a very good extension here. Its functionality is unsurpassed and I love the customization - if you can figure it out. You will need to play with it for about three hours before you get the hang of it - unless of course you decide to pay an outrageous amount of money for a limited time PDF file.
2007-03-27
Reviews: 3
I've been using CB on several of my sites for almost the last year. I have no complaints and think that anyone who takes the time to learn it will be glad they did. I recently upgraded which was also quite easy and didnt take very long. Highly recommended!!! I think I'll go become a CB subscriber. Been meaning to give the developers some financial support and really would love to have the user guide!!!
2007-03-15
Reviews: 1
The newest version does seem to improve performance..ours was outdated so we just updated ours.

We've written a plugin (or two) into the CB system and I have to say that this feature is very handy for extending the cb component.
Only suggestion is to clarify to new users some of the first steps to it.
Other than that, thanks for a great component!
2007-03-09
Reviews: 1
I like the extension because it works and also without documentation (readme is sufficient) it's possible to set a very good user profile.

The CB plugin logic is great.
2007-02-28
Reviews: 18
Registration extended ought to be the name of this component or login extended. The only usefull function is adding extra fields in the registration form. But these fields don't show in the userlist!? The usermanagement functions are zero.
I can't organise my users into interest groups, can't sort them out.
2006-12-30
Reviews: 1
This component is a "must have" component for everyone who wants a community-style site. I have been using it for quite a time now and it has always been working perfekt.

Big thanks!
2006-12-27
Reviews: 2
I am using Community Builder for something different than what it's original intent might be, as somewhat a promotional tool where members of my site can promote themselves and their businesses. I decided to try CB as a solution and found that it was fairly simple to modify for my intended purposes. Which certainly demonstrates it's flexible architecture.

The ability to add an unlimited number of tabs and fields, I find to be a big plus. To use it as advertised, it installs very easily and is ready to go right out of the box.

I did run into a challenge displaying a complete user list, not just those the happened to be logged in, but I put in a workaround for that. It would have been nice if it came with that functionality, perhaps there is some plug in however I was unable to find one. It also would be a big plus to allow users the ability to add additional fields to their own profiles. For example many of my users have more than one web site, give them the ability to add additional URL fields without having to define a set number from the back end.

All in all a very good, robust, and thought out extension.
2006-12-23
Reviews: 10
How could it be possible to build a community without the Community Builder? I really don't know !!!

From my point of view the first MUST HAVE after installing Joomla himself! Do you know sozial Network sites like openBC.com / XING.com ? You can rebuild the same functionality´s with Joomla AND Community Builder like i Have done. You can create a Community Builder based Business Club with all these amazing features like the well known big players. Take Joomla and the Community Builder and you are able and free to build your dream of a living community site!

Sunny regards to the Joomlapolis community !!!

Kurt Steiner
2006-12-17
Reviews: 4
Ive been using CB for some time now and on thw whole im very impressed. As with everything for Joomla it does have some things that some users wont need and it does lack some things users want, but most of these can be found on the CB forums(But be warned the forum is a nightmare to navigate and finding what you want is not as easy as it sounds).
I would recomend this package to anyone who uses Joomla and wants to have users.
2006-12-11
Reviews: 1
Stable and feature rich.
With so many excellent features, its hard to write a review for this extension in one paragraph.
My advice ...get it you wont regret it.
2006-11-29
Reviews: 4
Community builder is pretty great for making a mini-myspace community site. It also offers many new options for interacting with other plugins and components. Hopefully it will become the hub for all personal component ties and developers will always make a cb plug when they make thier component.

I would not mind paying for this component if it ment the development would speed up. Myspace is a pile of crap and there is no reason why there should not be a viable opensource alternative...

I would really like to see a comprehensive CRM and groupware add on!
2006-11-27
Reviews: 1
It's the best. Mix it with AEC for (free|paid) (time-limited|lifetime) memberships and JACLPlus for controlling who gets to do what. And use CB to tie it all together

And basically, you've got the very core of what you need for any Dotcommunity or Dotcompany. Whether you need e-store, forums, classifieds, yellow pages, blogs, photo album, pm, newsletter ... whether you need any or all (yes: all) of the above in any combination, any advanced usr mgmnt scheme starts with the very best winning team .. which, I'll say it again, say it out loud: CB + AEC + JACLPlus !!

So dearest and most valued (CB|AEC|JACLPlus) devs? Any chance on the three of you enjoying a close encounter of the pleasant and productive kind sometime? I would love to see you get together and can only imagine what you could accomplish. Probably something far more exciting than my wildest dreams I guess.

For now you leave me gasping, trying to get my breath back. Exhausted by the passion and still wanting more. Thank you thank you thank you.

Fare (meaning: Sail) Well, Greets, Dylan
(note: naturally posted this review at the other two extensions as well)

Se dearest and most valued dev's? Any chance of you three getting together for some close encounters of the sweet and productive kind?
2006-11-24
Reviews: 1
I've just updated Community-Builder on two different Joomla 1.0.11-Sites from version 1.0.1 to 1.0.2 and up to now there seem to be no problems at all. Congratulations!
Page 10 of 12