The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Community Builder Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
Community Builder (CB) is the most popular and flexible social community networking solution for all versions of Joomla! (3.2, 3.x and 2.5 with ACL support).

For over 9 years now the 500,000 and growing Joomlapolis members have made CB the most widely used (over 2,500,000 public installs per Google) social networking solution. It’s FREE and has always been GPL.

Social websites go far beyond Facebook look-alikes and CB has literally hundreds of built-in features and extra (free or commercial) add-ons from CB Team and other parties that will help you realize your very own - tailored to your specific needs - website.

CB also has a powerful built-in framework (CB API doc. is available on Joomlapolis) so it can be extended and enhanced.

There are hundreds of built-in features you can use to:

+ Create profiles for your members
+ Identify users with first/middle/last name fields
+ Add avatar photos to profiles
+ Add unlimited CB fields to your profiles (text, image, textarea, html editor, integer, checkbox, multi-select checkbox, drop-down, multi-select drop-down, radio, date, email, weblinks - more available with add-ons)
+ Use delimiter fields to put customized HTML code in profiles
+ Configure fields to be read-only, for profile viewing, displayed with title, to appear on registration form, etc
+ Control of core fields (email, username, etc), and ajax email and username checkers
+ Custom field validations
+ Organize fields in tabs that can be displayed in different built-in profile positions
+ Create extended registration form
+ Allow login using email address and password
+ Manage registration and profile image approval in frontend with CB Workflow module
+ Create unlimited CB User lists with powerful searching
+ Let members connect with each other (mutual consent or one way)
+ Display # of connections on profiles
+ Show connection path between profile viewer and owner up to 6th degree
+ Moderate your community with FE reporting, banning,
+ Let members interact (using email or PMS extension)
+ Built-in integration with Joomla articles (show article links in author profiles)
+ Built-in integration with Kunena forum
+ Use built-in integration with uddeIM messaging

Each CB distribution has:
+ component (universal for all J! versions and Mambo)
+ CB Login, Workflow and Online mods (also universal)
+ 43 page Install guide
+ Readme and Upgrade txt files

Joomlapolis hosts free community driven support forums.

Optionally, Advanced, Professional or Developer 12-months memberships can be purchased giving rights to priority or even same/next business day guaranteed forum support and access to many additional optional plugins and privileges.

PHP 5.0-5.4.x and MySQL 4.1+ database are prerequisites (PHP 5.2.4+ and MySQL 5.0.4+, same as Joomla 2.5, are recommended).

* Please do not use the reviews to post support issues. Use our free community forums or paid support system at https://www.joomlapolis.com/suppor

Report Extension

 

 

2006-11-27
Reviews: 1
It's the best. Mix it with AEC for (free|paid) (time-limited|lifetime) memberships and JACLPlus for controlling who gets to do what. And use CB to tie it all together

And basically, you've got the very core of what you need for any Dotcommunity or Dotcompany. Whether you need e-store, forums, classifieds, yellow pages, blogs, photo album, pm, newsletter ... whether you need any or all (yes: all) of the above in any combination, any advanced usr mgmnt scheme starts with the very best winning team .. which, I'll say it again, say it out loud: CB + AEC + JACLPlus !!

So dearest and most valued (CB|AEC|JACLPlus) devs? Any chance on the three of you enjoying a close encounter of the pleasant and productive kind sometime? I would love to see you get together and can only imagine what you could accomplish. Probably something far more exciting than my wildest dreams I guess.

For now you leave me gasping, trying to get my breath back. Exhausted by the passion and still wanting more. Thank you thank you thank you.

Fare (meaning: Sail) Well, Greets, Dylan
(note: naturally posted this review at the other two extensions as well)

Se dearest and most valued dev's? Any chance of you three getting together for some close encounters of the sweet and productive kind?
2006-11-24
Reviews: 1
I've just updated Community-Builder on two different Joomla 1.0.11-Sites from version 1.0.1 to 1.0.2 and up to now there seem to be no problems at all. Congratulations!
2006-11-13
Reviews: 1
This component should be called "Best Free Joomla component EVER!" CB lays the framework for endless possibilities; member profiles and user lists are just job one. It integrates with many other components (Simpleboard, myPMS, zOOm Gallery, and dozens of others). I will recommend to any person wanting to build a community.
2006-10-27
Reviews: 1
I still can't believe that people are using Joomla without Community Builder. This is by far the best component for Joomla. It, tied with its plugins, makes a website a web community building ties between members and developing a great website presence. Every site I build starts with Joomla and then I install CB... you should too.
2006-10-06
Reviews: 3
Unlike other posters I appreciate all the work put into CB. Not everything is easy to do (but most things are), and it can build a community for you. These guys obviously know the community business. The "Community" button on the profile page can easily "not appear", but you shouldn't do that unless you've paid something. Just so that you can look at yourself in the morning. Your alternative is to spend a few hundreds on a ready made proprietary package or a few thoussands on a made to measure one.
CB is the best tool, even at a higher price.
2006-09-15
Reviews: 1
This Component is very Nice,
and usefull(-:
2006-09-10
Reviews: 1
Thanx a lot for this extension!
Very simple, very power, very usefull!
2006-08-27
Reviews: 1
Very nice component.But Profile page is very hard to edit. If you want to change profile design it is very hard. If you have a lot of users you have to use CB.
Thanks CB Team.
2006-08-23
Reviews: 1
Yes, I agree that this is not the most user friendly component BUT... when you consider what it does and all the options it gives you, you should be tolerant of a little learning curve.

And as far as a donation link goes, it can be disabled from the admin in about 2 seconds (depending on your connection speed ;-)
2006-08-15
Reviews: 1
Adds some great functionality to the default Joomla User Profile, Integrates pretty seamlessly with Joomlaboard, (couple of kinks I think still need worked out) other than that, great component!
2006-08-14
Reviews: 4
If the makers of this component really need money so much why don't they make this a comercial plug in, I really do not want a component on my site where you see somebody begging for money when you happen to push the wrong button.
I could not find where to shut down this part of the component so I think I will not use this for my site.
Thank you but no thanks.
2006-08-04
Reviews: 1
It seems very attractive, being displayed as the most popular extension, but I deleted it soon after I installed it. The names given to the features are so awkward that I have to read the explanations carefully before I do anything. But then the explanations of the functions are so poor and incomprehensible.

I had a hard time figuring out how the tabs work - because they don't work well. User interface is not friendly and is not fully customizable.

Why does it have to be so inefficient and unnecessarily complicated when all I'm looking for is extensible, customizable and searchable user profiles?

Functions: 3 stars
Appearance: 1 star
Admin-friendliness: 1 star
User-friendliness: 2 stars
Support: 2 stars
2006-08-03
Reviews: 1
The amount of work that has gone into this extension is unbelievable. The level of customisation which can be achieved is unsurpassed.

Exactly what I was looking for. Simple to use and administer, yet elegant and powerful.

And, no I'm not one of the authors! I've worked with Drupal in the past, and Drupal has nothing to compare to this.

Excellent work.
2006-07-28
Reviews: 2
I can't tell you how awesome this suite is. And regardless of what some people may say, there is no fee required. You don't need documentation at all for it.

My only suggestions is to make it so one can approve profile images through the backend without having to go through the frontend module. The other, and it will probably come in due time, is to add Jim PM to their PM integration lists.
2006-06-30
Reviews: 3
Respect for the developers!

Great usermanagement tool, adds a lot of extended capability, very userfriendly, and a lot potential!

In development are some great (already (stable) working) plugins like for phpbb forum and galleries etc.
Takes over the usermanagement from joomla without affecting anything, cooperating perfectly.

Extend your user profiles, users can easily edit them theirselves. If preferred optional fields keep oversight of actions under userprofiles (like users' articles, posts, etc).
Adds a manageable memberlist. Easy to define extra tabs with info about the user like; a curriculum vitea; car-details; company info; software info; etc. etc.

I definitly would recommend it, especially for those who want to have more specialized usermanagement!
Cheer, compliments!
2006-06-09
Reviews: 1
I just installed Community Builder on one of my sites (a homeowners association site), and it REALLY works well! The installation documentation did have a couple quirks, but I was able to get things up and running in due course. I now have a site that provides secure moderated self-registration, full forum integration, and most importantly, the ability of users to manage their profiles themselves (specifically passwords.) Excellent addon!
2006-05-30
Reviews: 1
I have used RC2 for a while on several of my sites. I have several church sites and "building community" is what we do best. Thus our fascination with CB.

Since the stable release, we have been even more pleased. Of course you will never please everyone, no matter what you do. But this has to be one of the best if not the best addition to Joomla.

There are several things a Joomla site must not be without, and this is at the top of the list. It has so many uses. Keep up the good work! We are looking forward to using it for many years to come.
2006-05-23
Reviews: 1
I disagree with a few of the past post. This is a great addition to Joomla. As far as support goes, yeah it might take a little while to get support but we have to realize everyone is spread-out around the world. The issues with the delayed releases, I applaud them for not releasing a buggie program. So it took a few days more, at least it saved alot of people alot of headaches.

The component / module is more then user management. It is exactly what it says. It builds communities. Take a look at the user sites in the forum at the Community Builder homepage. There are some very nice Joomla/community builder sites that rivial many of the myspace-style sites.

Hats off to the CB team and supporters. Great program. Keep up the good work.
2006-05-16
Reviews: 1
This component/module does not allow much customization. If you want to get rid of the annoying icons on the registration page, you have to hack the code. You can't remove the title from the registration page either. I don't see how this is any better than the user management component that comes standard with Joomla.
2006-05-12
Reviews: 1
Great, but check the joomlapolis site cos the 1.0 stable release is out and much better install and support

*****
Page 11 of 12