The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Community Builder Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
Community Builder (CB) is the most popular and flexible social community networking solution for all versions of Joomla! (3.2, 3.x and 2.5 with ACL support).

For over 9 years now the 500,000 and growing Joomlapolis members have made CB the most widely used (over 2,500,000 public installs per Google) social networking solution. It’s FREE and has always been GPL.

Social websites go far beyond Facebook look-alikes and CB has literally hundreds of built-in features and extra (free or commercial) add-ons from CB Team and other parties that will help you realize your very own - tailored to your specific needs - website.

CB also has a powerful built-in framework (CB API doc. is available on Joomlapolis) so it can be extended and enhanced.

There are hundreds of built-in features you can use to:

+ Create profiles for your members
+ Identify users with first/middle/last name fields
+ Add avatar photos to profiles
+ Add unlimited CB fields to your profiles (text, image, textarea, html editor, integer, checkbox, multi-select checkbox, drop-down, multi-select drop-down, radio, date, email, weblinks - more available with add-ons)
+ Use delimiter fields to put customized HTML code in profiles
+ Configure fields to be read-only, for profile viewing, displayed with title, to appear on registration form, etc
+ Control of core fields (email, username, etc), and ajax email and username checkers
+ Custom field validations
+ Organize fields in tabs that can be displayed in different built-in profile positions
+ Create extended registration form
+ Allow login using email address and password
+ Manage registration and profile image approval in frontend with CB Workflow module
+ Create unlimited CB User lists with powerful searching
+ Let members connect with each other (mutual consent or one way)
+ Display # of connections on profiles
+ Show connection path between profile viewer and owner up to 6th degree
+ Moderate your community with FE reporting, banning,
+ Let members interact (using email or PMS extension)
+ Built-in integration with Joomla articles (show article links in author profiles)
+ Built-in integration with Kunena forum
+ Use built-in integration with uddeIM messaging

Each CB distribution has:
+ component (universal for all J! versions and Mambo)
+ CB Login, Workflow and Online mods (also universal)
+ 43 page Install guide
+ Readme and Upgrade txt files

Joomlapolis hosts free community driven support forums.

Optionally, Advanced, Professional or Developer 12-months memberships can be purchased giving rights to priority or even same/next business day guaranteed forum support and access to many additional optional plugins and privileges.

PHP 5.0-5.4.x and MySQL 4.1+ database are prerequisites (PHP 5.2.4+ and MySQL 5.0.4+, same as Joomla 2.5, are recommended).

* Please do not use the reviews to post support issues. Use our free community forums or paid support system at https://www.joomlapolis.com/suppor

Report Extension

 

 

2013-03-02
Reviews: 7
I like this extension although it has bad code and is not programmed with the latest standard. Adjustments are not really easy.

Nevertheless, I give 4 stars because the extension does the job!
2012-12-23
Reviews: 1
CB is a SUPERB component.

It´s being 7 years now I´m using it, and like wine, it just got better and better with time.

CB is easy to install and configure, support forums are fantastic, and it´s out of the box functionalities is just what you need to create an online community.

Thanks, CB Team!
2012-12-09
Reviews: 10
Very heavy, impossible to uninstall (not in manager), and unnecessary in the absolute.
2012-12-06
Reviews: 2
One of the greatest extensions for Joomla. Really great and huge functions. It worth every dollar paid for it. Highly recommendable extension.
2012-12-03
Reviews: 3
Thank you for his great work, I hope that my English of little level understands himself, I am Spanish but I struggle to express the grateful thing that I sit down with you. Undoubtedly some COMMUNITY BUILDER is a component that gives level and quality to my web site, I have a commitment with his work and in the future I would like to collaborate nothing more scope my aims, fodder to share my achievements with people as you that without doubt someone they help to create big projects of a surprising quality, I hope that it follows this line of work and wish a lot of luck him in his project, attentivly, Interface of Soundkraken
2012-12-01
Reviews: 52
Where to start with this component. It's simply brilliant. Allthough I think the developers are german, and 'ordnung must sein' and they have quite a lot of politics towards joomla, and they are not all always the most subtle, they absolutely know what they are doing, and are extremely competent. Furthermore the component itself is only the foundation for the myriad of plugins, addons and tidbits you can add to it.
The price seems a bit high at first glance, yes, but they also respond within 3 days, and always with a sound foundation.
One of the best gems hidden in the higher subscriptions are the 'Auto Action', with that you can make all sorts of crazy and advanced automations for your users.
Their API is also quite well documented, and they are willing to help out if you need some sort of 'direct' access from another component to the CB data.
What can I say, in total, great job!
2012-11-22
Reviews: 2
I had used jomsocial in the past and frankly can't believe what I have been missing. In addition to the full feature set, the support is incredible from the Forums and community at Community Builder / joomopolis.

Most importantly, my clients love the features and functionality and I am happy to be a proud CB user.
2012-10-31
Reviews: 6
In trying to decide which Community Component that I wanted to use, I kept seeing complaints about one provider's support system and little but praise for Community Builder. That was one of the major factors that made me choose CB. I had some issues with the CB Quickstart Pro. I posted on the forum and had a quick response. It took a little effort on their part but they were able to get everything working like a charm. The support is excellent and so is the product. I look forward to getting my community set up. It appears that there is a bit of a learning curve, but I know if I stumble a bit - support will be right there to guide me on.
2012-09-18
Reviews: 8
Having been asked for help with a club site, I was looking for a way to extend the Joomla user management system. We needed to display in the front-end a listing of all the club members with additional fields such as address, phone, member number etc. We also needed to give the possibility to the club administrators to edit each member profile from the front-end.
Community Builder provided exactly what we needed and much more!
It also integrates seamlessly with Kunena forum which is a big plus.
Now come a few negative points:
- The code behind CB is messy and far from following the MVC architecture. It becomes time consuming to make even a small adjustment.
- The language files don't follow either the Joomla specs (using simple ini files). Creating a translation plugin is a whole story! As there is no Swedish plugin for CB 1.8... We will have to make one ;)
- The admin interface could also benefit some clean-up. You can't have more than 4 columns in the list view? I agree that 4 columns should suffice in most cases, but more flexibility would be welcome here.
- I couldn't find a way to list the fields created in Joomla user profile plugin. Maybe my lack of experience with CB?
Despite the few cons mentioned, I think CB is a very good extension, and it did exactly what we needed. Thanks a lot for developing this and making it available to the Joomla community.
2012-08-07
Reviews: 3
I have been using CB for the past 3 years and CBSubs since it was released. We are a membership based organization that has struggled with customized member management systems. We converted to CB and CBSubs 3 years ago and haven't looked back. It has streamlined our business process and provided functionality that we could never have afforded to build.

CBSubs is just absolutely amazing! We are able to manage all of our membership plans and upgrade our sponsored membership plans all programmatically. The Mailer function within this extension is exceptional. We send renewal notices to our members 60 and 30 days before there expiration which was all done manually before. Now, we sit back and watch.

If you are in need of a user management database and a membership subscription system this is the way to go! The value that you receive for the price is just unbeatable. Oh and by the way, the support that you receive from the Joomlapolis team is unmatched!

Regards,
Joe Rebele
2012-06-01
Reviews: 32
Using Community Builder in Joomla 2.5 and 1.5. Using it since Community Builder 1.4 (February 2011).
Advantages: lots of options, good integration with different extensions, great opportunities for creating online communities.
Disadvantages: no built-in CAPTCHA, you can not change the appearance of letters registered users.
Technical support - do not used.
Functional expansion, convenient user manager and flexible configuration of the registration form will create almost anything you want. From personal account by the company site to social networks. Translated into Russian.
Using Community Builder to create a form of registration and personal account on the site of postgraduate study and in my own blog.
Engaged in web technologies since March 2007. Use Joomla since December 2009.
2012-05-22
Reviews: 3
Worth every penny for the Advanced Membership. I received super quick personalized help with installation and am very happy with what it can do for my members area. Thanks Nick!
2012-05-07
Reviews: 6
If you need a gallery, you have to pay for it, or use an older version of CB, because just the version 1.2 of CB profile gallery (commercial) will work with the latest version of CB in Joomla 2.5.

In CB almost every extension is payed, and the minimum membership value is 1 year for € 65 / $ 87 / Fr. 80. Don't know about you, but I think that's very expansive.

That's the first time I see a social extension without a photo gallery by default, that's the basic of every social extension/cms.

What is a social network without pictures?
2012-04-26
Reviews: 12
With so many reviews it is hard to say something new about community builder... We use this extension for years, it is flexible and there are numerous plugins one can use with community builder.
We have a thriving community using CB every day. Fact is: it simply works!
Find your way around it by using the excellent documentation.
There are many great additions to CB provided by the developers that we use too.
So, nothing really new in this review. See this review as a big Thank You for the amazing product, the excellent coding and the wonderful support.
Thank you for making the Joomla World a better place!
2012-03-30
Reviews: 3
I have Community Builder used on several websites as a basic component because it is so very flexible. Support is in one word: amazing. CB I can therefore warmly recommend!
2012-03-24
Reviews: 2
I use Community Builder and some of the adons for a buy&sell site.
I am not a coder, nor a programmer, designer or anything like that and I was able to make it work just as I needed.

The extension is free, but paying a yearly rate you get lots of adons and stuff that were really helpful to meet my needs.

As I am not a coder, I had to ask in the support forum some questions that were rapidly answered and I got very useful and clear suggestions to do things I didn´t know how to.
Before paying the yearly rate I asked for a budget to do what I needed, it costed like U$10.000, proffesional membership costs Eur 95, nothing more to say.
2012-03-02
Reviews: 3
I have used CB for some years now. Doesn't mean I am an expert - far from it - but the functionality and support that the CB team have delivered make me very confident in delivering complex registration and communication solutions for my clients.
I recently completed a project for a labour union, which required a robust pre-registration verification process, which the CB team helped me develop.
That doesn't sound very special on its own but having the confidence to have the team behind you when you are doing something for the first time just means everything.
2012-02-12
Reviews: 4
I love CB. It's been a perfect tool for a number of community group sites and fansites that I've created. The website and official forums are also generally very helpful in resolving issues.

I gave it a 4/5 only because some critical updates are late in arriving or becoming available for the free version. Captcha was a pay only feature for a while. Also, I know the 2.5 version is coming later this month, but ...

Having said that, the 1.7 version does appear to be stable on 2.5, so I'm moving forward with that in my development/test environment until the official 2.5 stable version of CB is released.

Overall, CB is great extension and highly recommended. If I was doing more professional projects that create revenue streams, I would probably do one of the pay subscriptions.
2012-01-02
Reviews: 11
CB seems on the front cover to be exactly what every joomla developer needs.

But its so buggy its unreal - heck its not even really compatable with JFBConnect which joomla.org themselves use.

Reading through there forums - unless you are a paid subscriber (which considering there awful free support i will not become) they just dont really seem to care and ask half empty open ended questions all aimed to direct you to purchsing paid support.

My advice - if you need a community solution THAT WORKS - forget community builder till they sort out there customer service and support issues and use the money you would have for there support for a more professional extension.
Owner's reply

piprees,
1) Regarding your review subject:
You have posted 2 threads on Joomlapolis.com *free* community support forum areas, both addressed politely and professionally within *hours*. First one 3 year ago was addressed within hours requesting additional clarifications which you did not reply to:
https://www.joomlapolis.com/forum/70-cb-12-rc4-general-discussions/88885-kunena

Second, recent, thread, started on a global holiday (New Years Day) and was responded to *within hours* and got *resolved within 2 holidays days*!
https://www.joomlapolis.com/forum/149-usage/186859-j17-users-not-being-authorised-and-database-sync

2) Regarding the content of your review:
Your conclusion on the 1.1.2012 thread was that problem is *not in CB*, but due to *a bug in a third party CB plugin* (and that wasn’t in the list you gave in your original post!):
https://www.joomlapolis.com/forum/149-usage/186859-j17-users-not-being-authorised-and-database-sync?limit=6&start=18

And you also write in the thread “i never had a problem in the past”. Thus we can only guess that your review above was written while in troubleshooting mood and before even having the problem solved.

It should be noticed that if you would have had a professional membership, our support team would have gone to troubleshoot your issue for you on your site and to find the culprit third-party plugin for you. But you can easily understand that it is materially not possible to offer such personalized service to free members, unless it is a confirmed problem in CB itself, which you did and could not confirm as it wasn't a CB bug.

In the light of the above, your words “lousy support” of an issue in a third-party plugin (not CB nor JFB Connect) on New Year and statement “so buggy its unreal” while having “never had a problem in the past” should be put in perspective.

2011-12-24
Reviews: 2
I have been using CB on various sites, and it does work well. Extensions are plentiful, and functionality is great.

Installation is relatively complex on an existing site, but the documentation is detailled and support is provided even to the non paying suscribers.

The only major downside I found is that the latest version (1.7) still doesn't use the Joomla update system and has to be done manually. It is worth the time for major updates, but it's a waste of time during minor / security releases.
Page 2 of 12