The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Community Builder Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
Community Builder (CB) is an extremely flexible and robust social networking solution for Joomla. CB has a huge user base, a long history and a great future.

Social websites go far beyond Facebook look-alikes and CB has literally hundreds of built-in features and can be extended with extra (free or commercial) add-ons from the CB Team and other parties that will help you realize your very own - tailored to your specific needs - social networking website.

The hundreds of built-in features will help you accomplish the following:

+ Gather important ** for your use-case ** profile data during or after membership registration
+ Delegate new member sign-up approvals and proper behavior reporting with extended workflows and frontend moderation
+ Configure awesome looking mobile ready profile pages for your members
+ Promote interaction between your members with configurable and searchable user lists
+ Provide powerful and engaging profile applications to your members
+ Continuously motivate and engage your members with great built-in Joomla, Kunena (forum), K2 (content) and uddeIM (private messaging) integrations
+ Keep your members involved with personalized and targeted ad-hoc mass mailings
+ Manage everything from your mobile device or tablet

CB also has a powerful built-in framework (CB API doc. is available on Joomlapolis) so it can be extended and enhanced.

There are hundreds of built-in features you can use to:

+ Create profiles for your members
+ Add unlimited CB fields to your profiles (text, image, textarea, html editor, integer, checkbox, multi-select checkbox, drop-down, multi-select drop-down, radio, date, email, weblinks - more available with add-ons)
+ Use delimiter fields to put customized HTML code in profiles
+ Configure fields to be read-only, for profile viewing, displayed with title, to appear on registration form, etc
+ Control of core fields (email, username, etc), and ajax email and username checkers
+ Custom field validations
+ Create extended registration form
+ Allow login using email address and password
+ Manage registration and profile image approval in frontend with CB Workflow module
+ Create unlimited CB User lists with powerful searching
+ Let members connect with each other (mutual consent or one way)
+ Show connection path between profile viewer and owner up to 6th degree
+ Moderate your community with FE reporting, banning,

Joomlapolis hosts free community driven support forums.

Optionally, Advanced, Professional or Developer 12-months memberships can be purchased giving rights to priority or even same/next business day guaranteed forum support and access to many extra add-ons and privileges.

PHP 5.3.3-5.6.x and MySQL 5.0.4+ database are prerequisites (PHP 5.4+ and MySQL 5.5+ recommended).

* Please do not use the reviews to post support issues. Use our free community forums or paid support system at https://www.joomlapolis.com/support

Report Extension

 

 

2013-08-05
Reviews: 4
Community Builder is a nice component. I used it as a basic component
because it is flexible, easy to install and configure. But it also have some problem
like it is very heavy component so that it is difficult to uninstall.
But I like this extension because it does help.
2013-07-05
Reviews: 19
Over the years the Joomla core was extended with some user profile fields. Yet, if you really want to dig into profile and/or community building you'll need an extension. Community Builder (CB) is one of two or three major players in this league. And CB is my favorite as it's structure is more transparent. I have it running on a handful of sites right now.

Having said this, I must add that I had some bad times with CB because of two things: (1) making it look a bit fancy takes a lot of work and (2) if you need to migrate from J.1.5. to J.2.5. then you're on your own. It seems that there used to be a CB plugin for jUpgrade but that it doesn't work anymore since J.2.5.6., end of story.

So here I am working a few days on the migration of one single CB install. And yes I need to do it as I don't see an alternative. But boy would I like to see an easier way to do this.
2013-03-31
Reviews: 1
I love this for Professional Communities. Keep in mind I have the Developer membership so this is a review for that. Normally I would not give an Excellent rating to a community extension if it was not 5 star for both professional and nonprofessional websites. It is lacking a little bit on the presentation for free flowing social sites like you would get with the other options that are out there. But Community Builder not only provides a professional web atmosphere my customers find that it can be used in place of some software they used to keep track of projects and schedule's. With that and the customer service being top notch and answers to questions coming much faster then advertised I had to give this five stars. Keep in mind for free flowing social websites you want to have look like a Facebook site there are better options out there. If you want a social environment for employees there is no better option that I have found out there other than high priced software programs.
2013-03-02
Reviews: 7
I like this extension although it has bad code and is not programmed with the latest standard. Adjustments are not really easy.

Nevertheless, I give 4 stars because the extension does the job!
2012-12-23
Reviews: 1
CB is a SUPERB component.

It´s being 7 years now I´m using it, and like wine, it just got better and better with time.

CB is easy to install and configure, support forums are fantastic, and it´s out of the box functionalities is just what you need to create an online community.

Thanks, CB Team!
2012-12-09
Reviews: 10
Very heavy, impossible to uninstall (not in manager), and unnecessary in the absolute.
2012-12-06
Reviews: 2
One of the greatest extensions for Joomla. Really great and huge functions. It worth every dollar paid for it. Highly recommendable extension.
2012-12-03
Reviews: 3
Thank you for his great work, I hope that my English of little level understands himself, I am Spanish but I struggle to express the grateful thing that I sit down with you. Undoubtedly some COMMUNITY BUILDER is a component that gives level and quality to my web site, I have a commitment with his work and in the future I would like to collaborate nothing more scope my aims, fodder to share my achievements with people as you that without doubt someone they help to create big projects of a surprising quality, I hope that it follows this line of work and wish a lot of luck him in his project, attentivly, Interface of Soundkraken
2012-12-01
Reviews: 51
Where to start with this component. It's simply brilliant. Allthough I think the developers are german, and 'ordnung must sein' and they have quite a lot of politics towards joomla, and they are not all always the most subtle, they absolutely know what they are doing, and are extremely competent. Furthermore the component itself is only the foundation for the myriad of plugins, addons and tidbits you can add to it.
The price seems a bit high at first glance, yes, but they also respond within 3 days, and always with a sound foundation.
One of the best gems hidden in the higher subscriptions are the 'Auto Action', with that you can make all sorts of crazy and advanced automations for your users.
Their API is also quite well documented, and they are willing to help out if you need some sort of 'direct' access from another component to the CB data.
What can I say, in total, great job!
2012-11-22
Reviews: 2
I had used jomsocial in the past and frankly can't believe what I have been missing. In addition to the full feature set, the support is incredible from the Forums and community at Community Builder / joomopolis.

Most importantly, my clients love the features and functionality and I am happy to be a proud CB user.
2012-10-31
Reviews: 6
In trying to decide which Community Component that I wanted to use, I kept seeing complaints about one provider's support system and little but praise for Community Builder. That was one of the major factors that made me choose CB. I had some issues with the CB Quickstart Pro. I posted on the forum and had a quick response. It took a little effort on their part but they were able to get everything working like a charm. The support is excellent and so is the product. I look forward to getting my community set up. It appears that there is a bit of a learning curve, but I know if I stumble a bit - support will be right there to guide me on.
2012-09-18
Reviews: 8
Having been asked for help with a club site, I was looking for a way to extend the Joomla user management system. We needed to display in the front-end a listing of all the club members with additional fields such as address, phone, member number etc. We also needed to give the possibility to the club administrators to edit each member profile from the front-end.
Community Builder provided exactly what we needed and much more!
It also integrates seamlessly with Kunena forum which is a big plus.
Now come a few negative points:
- The code behind CB is messy and far from following the MVC architecture. It becomes time consuming to make even a small adjustment.
- The language files don't follow either the Joomla specs (using simple ini files). Creating a translation plugin is a whole story! As there is no Swedish plugin for CB 1.8... We will have to make one ;)
- The admin interface could also benefit some clean-up. You can't have more than 4 columns in the list view? I agree that 4 columns should suffice in most cases, but more flexibility would be welcome here.
- I couldn't find a way to list the fields created in Joomla user profile plugin. Maybe my lack of experience with CB?
Despite the few cons mentioned, I think CB is a very good extension, and it did exactly what we needed. Thanks a lot for developing this and making it available to the Joomla community.
2012-08-07
Reviews: 3
I have been using CB for the past 3 years and CBSubs since it was released. We are a membership based organization that has struggled with customized member management systems. We converted to CB and CBSubs 3 years ago and haven't looked back. It has streamlined our business process and provided functionality that we could never have afforded to build.

CBSubs is just absolutely amazing! We are able to manage all of our membership plans and upgrade our sponsored membership plans all programmatically. The Mailer function within this extension is exceptional. We send renewal notices to our members 60 and 30 days before there expiration which was all done manually before. Now, we sit back and watch.

If you are in need of a user management database and a membership subscription system this is the way to go! The value that you receive for the price is just unbeatable. Oh and by the way, the support that you receive from the Joomlapolis team is unmatched!

Regards,
Joe Rebele
2012-06-01
Reviews: 32
Using Community Builder in Joomla 2.5 and 1.5. Using it since Community Builder 1.4 (February 2011).
Advantages: lots of options, good integration with different extensions, great opportunities for creating online communities.
Disadvantages: no built-in CAPTCHA, you can not change the appearance of letters registered users.
Technical support - do not used.
Functional expansion, convenient user manager and flexible configuration of the registration form will create almost anything you want. From personal account by the company site to social networks. Translated into Russian.
Using Community Builder to create a form of registration and personal account on the site of postgraduate study and in my own blog.
Engaged in web technologies since March 2007. Use Joomla since December 2009.
2012-05-22
Reviews: 3
Worth every penny for the Advanced Membership. I received super quick personalized help with installation and am very happy with what it can do for my members area. Thanks Nick!
2012-05-07
Reviews: 6
If you need a gallery, you have to pay for it, or use an older version of CB, because just the version 1.2 of CB profile gallery (commercial) will work with the latest version of CB in Joomla 2.5.

In CB almost every extension is payed, and the minimum membership value is 1 year for € 65 / $ 87 / Fr. 80. Don't know about you, but I think that's very expansive.

That's the first time I see a social extension without a photo gallery by default, that's the basic of every social extension/cms.

What is a social network without pictures?
2012-04-26
Reviews: 12
With so many reviews it is hard to say something new about community builder... We use this extension for years, it is flexible and there are numerous plugins one can use with community builder.
We have a thriving community using CB every day. Fact is: it simply works!
Find your way around it by using the excellent documentation.
There are many great additions to CB provided by the developers that we use too.
So, nothing really new in this review. See this review as a big Thank You for the amazing product, the excellent coding and the wonderful support.
Thank you for making the Joomla World a better place!
2012-03-30
Reviews: 3
I have Community Builder used on several websites as a basic component because it is so very flexible. Support is in one word: amazing. CB I can therefore warmly recommend!
2012-03-24
Reviews: 2
I use Community Builder and some of the adons for a buy&sell site.
I am not a coder, nor a programmer, designer or anything like that and I was able to make it work just as I needed.

The extension is free, but paying a yearly rate you get lots of adons and stuff that were really helpful to meet my needs.

As I am not a coder, I had to ask in the support forum some questions that were rapidly answered and I got very useful and clear suggestions to do things I didn´t know how to.
Before paying the yearly rate I asked for a budget to do what I needed, it costed like U$10.000, proffesional membership costs Eur 95, nothing more to say.
2012-03-02
Reviews: 3
I have used CB for some years now. Doesn't mean I am an expert - far from it - but the functionality and support that the CB team have delivered make me very confident in delivering complex registration and communication solutions for my clients.
I recently completed a project for a labour union, which required a robust pre-registration verification process, which the CB team helped me develop.
That doesn't sound very special on its own but having the confidence to have the team behind you when you are doing something for the first time just means everything.
Page 2 of 13