The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Community Builder Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
Community Builder (CB) is the most popular and flexible social community networking solution for all versions of Joomla! (3.2, 3.x and 2.5 with ACL support).

For over 9 years now the 500,000 and growing Joomlapolis members have made CB the most widely used (over 2,500,000 public installs per Google) social networking solution. It’s FREE and has always been GPL.

Social websites go far beyond Facebook look-alikes and CB has literally hundreds of built-in features and extra (free or commercial) add-ons from CB Team and other parties that will help you realize your very own - tailored to your specific needs - website.

CB also has a powerful built-in framework (CB API doc. is available on Joomlapolis) so it can be extended and enhanced.

There are hundreds of built-in features you can use to:

+ Create profiles for your members
+ Identify users with first/middle/last name fields
+ Add avatar photos to profiles
+ Add unlimited CB fields to your profiles (text, image, textarea, html editor, integer, checkbox, multi-select checkbox, drop-down, multi-select drop-down, radio, date, email, weblinks - more available with add-ons)
+ Use delimiter fields to put customized HTML code in profiles
+ Configure fields to be read-only, for profile viewing, displayed with title, to appear on registration form, etc
+ Control of core fields (email, username, etc), and ajax email and username checkers
+ Custom field validations
+ Organize fields in tabs that can be displayed in different built-in profile positions
+ Create extended registration form
+ Allow login using email address and password
+ Manage registration and profile image approval in frontend with CB Workflow module
+ Create unlimited CB User lists with powerful searching
+ Let members connect with each other (mutual consent or one way)
+ Display # of connections on profiles
+ Show connection path between profile viewer and owner up to 6th degree
+ Moderate your community with FE reporting, banning,
+ Let members interact (using email or PMS extension)
+ Built-in integration with Joomla articles (show article links in author profiles)
+ Built-in integration with Kunena forum
+ Use built-in integration with uddeIM messaging

Each CB distribution has:
+ component (universal for all J! versions and Mambo)
+ CB Login, Workflow and Online mods (also universal)
+ 43 page Install guide
+ Readme and Upgrade txt files

Joomlapolis hosts free community driven support forums.

Optionally, Advanced, Professional or Developer 12-months memberships can be purchased giving rights to priority or even same/next business day guaranteed forum support and access to many additional optional plugins and privileges.

PHP 5.0-5.4.x and MySQL 4.1+ database are prerequisites (PHP 5.2.4+ and MySQL 5.0.4+, same as Joomla 2.5, are recommended).

* Please do not use the reviews to post support issues. Use our free community forums or paid support system at https://www.joomlapolis.com/suppor

Report Extension

 

 

2011-12-21
Reviews: 3
I have been using this component since the version for j1.0. I want to say that teh main reason for using it is that it is supported almost every single extension here in the JED. That is a very important thing as, it is the case for joomla! system, standardazation is a must.
The component has an easy and stable API, and this year with all the new add-ons, but most important, the Incubator‘s new plgugins the whole extension have become very very flexible, just limited by your creativity.
Suggestions: Tutorials for newbyes and just for reference. The forum is big, but a little difficult to find a proper answer from the knowledge base.
Lacks: offers from the joomla community for templates commercial or non-commercial.

In general, i recommend this extension, and want to thank for the work done.
2011-12-17
Reviews: 1
Hi,

I have been using it for one full year the best thing i liked is the free version, anyone can use it. Now I have benefits from it and I want other users to use it free in their beginning with joomla, i will go pro i will buy the membership and enjoy its membership benefits also.
I am very much thankful for creating bug-free perfect component for creating community websites.
2011-12-05
Reviews: 3
The functionality of CB is generally ok. The code behind is however so badly written that even fixing a simple redirect in the code or by a plugin override is several hours of work... Use CB if you aren't going to change anything in the component, but look for something else if you do.
Owner's reply

Hi bornakke,
Thanks for your review and rating. We need to address your remarks:
- CB has CB MVC and CB templating with CB template plugins (6 core free included with CB, and we offer separately optionally 3 commercial joomla & CB templates).
- For adding/changing redirects, there is the CB Auto Actions plugin (Incubator area for Pro members), that allows you to set workflows in 5 minutes without hacking: http://www.joomlapolis.com/cb-solutions/incubator
- CB is very flexible and versatile and suits many different needs by just configuration. Thus its code might appear more complex and using more design patterns than the average joomla extension. Thats why we created the CB plugins API which is much simpler to understand than CB core:
- In CB, to the contrary of many other extensions, there is no need to hack CB code, as there is a powerful and highly backwards- and upwards-compatible CB API with a CB Plugins installer. We do not recommend hacking core code for maintenance and security reasons, but using or creating CB Plugins instead. That way you can upgrade easily CB core without having to redo any changes.
- We have support: Free community forum; For Advanced members we have priority forum and for Pro and Developer members we even have SLA levels forums with guaranteed *same or next* business day answer (!) as well as private tickets) as well as consulting services should you have any questions or issues. More information on support here (general remark: please do not use the JED review system for support): http://www.joomlapolis.com/support

2011-11-28
Reviews: 2
Thank you developers for this extensions. It does help.
2011-11-26
Reviews: 6
Any 'newbie' starting a page should use this extension in my opinion. Users are the focal point of any webpage, and this easy to install & manage extension allows, like it says, for you to build your own 'community' within your site. I haven't purchased any of the plug-ins for CB, but they seem well worth the price for a newbie like myself who wants to give his users the best experience with limited knowledge and understanding of coding.
2011-11-16
Reviews: 1
good support for free memberships as well as for commercial membership
good free and commercial plugins
individual design options
You just need to know how it works ...
2011-11-16
Reviews: 2
If you want a community, this will do it. Other than that is terrible, to get access to more things you have to pay, there is almost no documentation and the support is very invective.
2011-10-29
Reviews: 8
Tendency to be rather complex.
Please, remain free otherwise we would switch to other good extensions
2011-10-06
Reviews: 6
CB is the only extension for profile management, and they know it.

No support unless you pay.
It's not easy, unless you pay.

The application should be called "Commercial"
2011-10-03
Reviews: 11
I think CB wanted, to make everything difficult for not paying customers. CB does not work with joomfish for example, and you might ask yourself, why is that? CB without multilanguages is not a good program, but a waste of time. And if you ask for support, nobody cares, and they answer with very few words indeed. If they want people to pay, than stop telling people that is a functional program that works well, because it does not.
2011-09-29
Reviews: 2
CB is one of the most long lasting extensions in the Joomla (and Mambo) world, and that time was not wasted. You can see the huge amount of work that was poured into this product. Well thought, professional approach. Thanks !
2011-09-26
Reviews: 19
installed on the following - clean 1.57, clean 1.63-1.7 and a fresh install of 1.7 all separate. the report? perfect every time. when rating, i also keep in mind that there is no way COMMUNITY BUILDER can integrate and test every template, every version with specific extensions installed in every language. that is why they are forced to rely on feedback from people like us with basic coding skills and a genuine heart for opensource. this is a smart business move on COMMUNITY BUILDERs part and the fastest way to extension perfection. as for the juicy details of this exceptional extension? all the templates installed are just a simple border color change and tab style which do nothing for the integration of the component into the template. the templates are more than likely thrown together to give you a general idea where things are gonna go. so if you have no css/html skills, expect to shell out for developer exclusivity or the add-on COMMUNITY BUILDER extensions that install with one click like magic. if you have some programming and coding knowledge, you will get the most out of this extension FOR FREE and those people are the ones that appreciate COMMUNITY BUILDER and all the add-on plugins that come along. thank you CB, for keeping this opensource and beautiful! xx den
2011-09-24
Reviews: 5
I have been building Joomla sites for about 4 years, and have used a lot of extensions in that time. You quickly get a feeling for the good ones and not so good. Although CB isn't perfect ( I think too many options are hidden away inside other options etc, and the interface is perhaps a little dull, plus there are huge numbers of plugins etc to install ), I have found it to be stable, reliable and enormously powerful. You really can get this software to do what you want it to, as long as you take the time to read the documentation and work through the various options properly.
I noticed a couple of reviews complaining about paying for the add-ons/priority support. How can anyone expect an extension as huge and comprehensive as Community Builder to thrive without a proper revenue stream? Practically all the good extensions out there now are commercial ones. Programmers have to eat, just like everyone else! At least you get a chance to try out the main component, which is free, before paying for any of the commercial extras, most of which add really valuable functionality to what is, in my view, a first class extension.
2011-09-19
Reviews: 2
CB is by far one of the best components for Joomla. I've been using it for years and it's the best social profile system that can be offered.
2011-09-10
Reviews: 2
The extension is great. I had no problem implementing it on my client website. However there are some things that can be improved. I had to do some customizations to make it look right but in the end everything was ok.
2011-09-09
Reviews: 2
I've used Community Builder off and on for many years now, and have never had any problem with it. Easy to install, manage and delete if that's what you want! I give it 10 out of 10!!
2011-09-06
Reviews: 16
They need to simplify, the very busy website, the documentation is so complicated and time consuming, I would suggest getting someone who's not a programmer or rocket scientist to read it first before offering downloadable docs.
I also think the overal design is really bad and ugly , so it needs a lot of hacking the css, overal its just to hard, I give up:-(
2011-08-13
Reviews: 1
I have not had any problems with this great extension. I needed a community for a football website and CB is working perfectly. Not sure why others have bad reviews for such a powerful extension, maybe they just don't know what they are doing. I do wish that all add-ons were free but I can't expect too much. Now if I could figure out how to organize my tabs I would be really happy.
Bottom Line is it is a great and powerful extension!

Thanks!
2011-08-02
Reviews: 6
I noticed some negative comments and that has spurred me to actually review this product, which is about time because I've been using it for a couple of years.
I don't understand the criticism. It has always installed OK for me - over 4 versions. The only problem I have ever had was with database corruption after a server outage - and the tools supplied sorted it out in no time.

I do see that the amount of free offerings on the JoomlaPolis cite are much reduced with the latest version, but that cannot seriously be complained about - the wonder was it being free previously.
It is a stable, well written and well supported system which is simple enough to use in quick sticks and yet complex enough to offer the experienced developer plenty of scope.
It is the first component (after Akeeba backup) that I install on any new Joomla setup - that is the highest praise I could possibly give it :-)
2011-08-02
Reviews: 1
I installed this component and immediately had problems with user logins (after install, NO-ONE could log into my site). I followed the install instructions to the letter but don't have time to waste on components that don't work "out-of-the-box". Although it is a free version, it broke my site. I would have paid for the addons but was suspicious that my logins would still be broken.
Page 3 of 12