The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Community Builder Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
Community Builder (CB) is the most popular and flexible social community networking solution for all versions of Joomla! (3.2, 3.x and 2.5 with ACL support).

For over 9 years now the 500,000 and growing Joomlapolis members have made CB the most widely used (over 2,500,000 public installs per Google) social networking solution. It’s FREE and has always been GPL.

Social websites go far beyond Facebook look-alikes and CB has literally hundreds of built-in features and extra (free or commercial) add-ons from CB Team and other parties that will help you realize your very own - tailored to your specific needs - website.

CB also has a powerful built-in framework (CB API doc. is available on Joomlapolis) so it can be extended and enhanced.

There are hundreds of built-in features you can use to:

+ Create profiles for your members
+ Identify users with first/middle/last name fields
+ Add avatar photos to profiles
+ Add unlimited CB fields to your profiles (text, image, textarea, html editor, integer, checkbox, multi-select checkbox, drop-down, multi-select drop-down, radio, date, email, weblinks - more available with add-ons)
+ Use delimiter fields to put customized HTML code in profiles
+ Configure fields to be read-only, for profile viewing, displayed with title, to appear on registration form, etc
+ Control of core fields (email, username, etc), and ajax email and username checkers
+ Custom field validations
+ Organize fields in tabs that can be displayed in different built-in profile positions
+ Create extended registration form
+ Allow login using email address and password
+ Manage registration and profile image approval in frontend with CB Workflow module
+ Create unlimited CB User lists with powerful searching
+ Let members connect with each other (mutual consent or one way)
+ Display # of connections on profiles
+ Show connection path between profile viewer and owner up to 6th degree
+ Moderate your community with FE reporting, banning,
+ Let members interact (using email or PMS extension)
+ Built-in integration with Joomla articles (show article links in author profiles)
+ Built-in integration with Kunena forum
+ Use built-in integration with uddeIM messaging

Each CB distribution has:
+ component (universal for all J! versions and Mambo)
+ CB Login, Workflow and Online mods (also universal)
+ 43 page Install guide
+ Readme and Upgrade txt files

Joomlapolis hosts free community driven support forums.

Optionally, Advanced, Professional or Developer 12-months memberships can be purchased giving rights to priority or even same/next business day guaranteed forum support and access to many additional optional plugins and privileges.

PHP 5.0-5.4.x and MySQL 4.1+ database are prerequisites (PHP 5.2.4+ and MySQL 5.0.4+, same as Joomla 2.5, are recommended).

* Please do not use the reviews to post support issues. Use our free community forums or paid support system at https://www.joomlapolis.com/suppor

Report Extension

 

 

2011-01-11
Reviews: 1
After scouring the extensions library for a program that would allow me to build a user-searchable member list for paid-members only, I was pointed to CB. For my purposes, it seemed like overkill because I was not creating a social networking site and scalability concerned me. I have very rudimentary web-building skills; hence I use Joomla! and I was concerned that the CB component would cause problems for the site I built.
I installed it - carefully following the installment instructions and it works wonderfully. No glitches; no conflicts - just pure performance. I couldn't be happier and my hat's off to the team at CB for the fine product they created!
2011-01-06
Reviews: 1
I am using the CB since Mambo times. After the change to joomplapolis the component is developed continuously. It offers a lot of useful functions for community buildung.
The support by the developers and the community is excellent.
2010-12-07
Reviews: 1
Several hours of unsuccessful attempts to install and configure where met with continual error messages. Instructions supplied were followed to the letter, without success.
Expectations of the ease of install and configuring were dashed. Not recommended for anyone not willing to re-invent the wheel.:(
Owner's reply

Related support requests of this user on our forum, posted simultaneously as "review" here:
http://www.joomlapolis.com/component/option,com_joomlaboard/Itemid,38/func,view/catid,143/id,147956/ (answered precisely within 30 minutes by the CB community!)
http://www.joomlapolis.com/component/option,com_joomlaboard/Itemid,38/func,view/id,147954/catid,143/limit,6/limitstart,6/ (answered by the CB developers within 1 hour and 20 minutes during night time)

2010-12-04
Reviews: 10
I have been a long time user of CB for some time. Whilst the interface, especially the user profile editor, is a little messy, I regarded it as a good component.

Unfortunately the last update (1.3) seems to be focused on let's see what we can break. My test site stopped working, presenting blank forms and error dialogs, especially on the frontend. I spend nearly eight hours working my way through things, and finished up having to remove a swag of modules and components, many not remotely related to CB.

Since I am now at the point of probably having to rebuild the site from scratch I'll be looking to alternatives for CB

Very disappointing.
Owner's reply

Sorry to hear such a different story of all positive feedbacks we got on CB 1.3 this far, and understanding that finally it seems "not remotely related to CB" on your "test site" as you conclude. We are not be able to relate *any* single forum post or feedback from any user elsewhere to this experience with CB 1.3 (nor latest CB 1.3.1 which fixes all known bugs of CB 1.3, which were all minor).
Sorry that you decided to spend eight hours on your own, without community help, not browsing our FAQ (e.g our blank screen FAQ), forums, or request free support on our forums. Very frustrating for the very dedicated CB community to not have a chance to help another community member. Specially for a free extension with free community support. We would much prefer to be able to help you, but with literally no information on the errors you got and your environment, it's impossible. We invite you to use our CB forums for CB support - instead of the JED.

2010-10-13
Reviews: 8
I'm new to Joomla; install and setup went well, very happy with this extension. Thanks! Keep up the great work!
2010-10-08
Reviews: 3
CB is an awesome extension with a helpful, courteous and newb-friendly team. As a pro developer, I have only rarely needed to ask for support on their forum and every time I had my issue resolved promptly and without the "you should be happy we even support this" attitude too many opernsource developers put out today. You can tell that CB Team genuinely loves opensource and "gets" why it's valuable (for them and for their users). Over the years, their documentation has improved tremendously and now subscribers can get a comprehensive, newb-friendly PDF that takes you from ZERO knowledge to a functional community site in a just a couple hours (even if you are very new to Joomla). Keep up the good work CB team!
2010-10-01
Reviews: 3
I've been playing around with CB for one year, and I can say it's very powerfull for building on-line comunities. The only bad thing is that it's a bit complicated if you are novice, but with a lot of patience you can build up a very big comunity, and customize every aspect of it.
Thanks a lot for the massive job to all the developers!
2010-09-27
Reviews: 1
Thank you for this extension. It is a good extension and thk for joomla.org
2010-09-16
Reviews: 1
I am very happy with this plugin and the support given. The documentation is good and if you get stuck they're quick to help out on the joomlapolis forums.

Joomla + CB + Profilemanager + UDDIM give an excellent foundation to build your site upon
2010-09-15
Reviews: 7
I thought I was having issues getting it working till I gave up and tried the other free ones. Didn't take long to realize this one wasn't difficult at all. It's simply excellent, I love it. So much in fact that I decided to become a Doc subscriber and support it. Forums are amazingly informative and supported. I had a css problem that had everything to do with my limited knowledge and my template. Krileon went above and beyond to help me resolve it. Amazing product, amazing support, what more can you ask for?
2010-09-14
Reviews: 2
I had a bit of trouble signing up and getting my confirmation email to the Joomlapolis site, so I contacted the authors, as I couldn't find a more appropriate site help/issues link, and I was very impressed, even though I was just trying out the free CB Joomla extension, they got right on getting things working for me and I was able to download and install the extension - I haven't used it yet but I just wanted to give them kudos for prompt response!
2010-09-12
Reviews: 2
The interface is a little clunky and a few more templates would be nice, but overall, it works great and plays nice with Joomla, Kunena and uddeIM.
2010-08-14
Reviews: 2
Hello folks! Easy to install and use. I am in an early fase of developing my portal, but I needed to upgrade my membership fast. Not because it vas nessesary, but because it felt like a crime just to use it without contributing to the project. Upgrading is really cheap too, and opens even better opportunities.

Thank you! :)))
2010-08-08
Reviews: 5
Works straight out of the box!!!
I used the 1.2.2 version. The code is hard coded and complex because it has been designed to work on MAMBO in addition to J!. That is the only reason why I am giving it 4 stars other-wise, its a 5-star component..!!!

But I guess thats a small price you pay for such functionalities. A BIG HUG from my side to the developers for doing such Fantastic work..!!!

Add to it the fact that the support forum is very well maintained and the fact that CB has the most number of 3rd party extensions available in comparison to its competitors. That tells you why CB is such a great extension to use..!!!
2010-07-30
Reviews: 1
Easy to install, works straight away, well worth paying for the document subscription, amazing support and so quick. Don't often write reviews, and there are some other great extensions out there, but I had to go to the bother for these guys as they deserve it so much.
2010-07-27
Reviews: 3
Community Builder has got to be the best free extension out there. The functionality it adds to Joomla is invaluable. I would like a little more polish to some things as well as more integrated features (gallery, PM, image handlers,etc.) but overall I have to say it's a GREAT extension. Keep up the great work!
2010-07-19
Reviews: 5
Top ratings from me, an excellent addition to any site.
2010-07-11
Reviews: 99
I find this to be my personal favorite extention of joomla. It's very customizable, and I use this for all my sites. Easy to use, unique, and I love the tabs. What can I say, its a great extention!
2010-07-10
Reviews: 1
Thanks for sharing this free and very use full component.
2010-07-09
Reviews: 3
Simply the best - subscription well worth the $$
Page 5 of 12