The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Community Builder Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
Community Builder (CB) is the most popular and flexible social community networking solution for all versions of Joomla! (3.2, 3.x and 2.5 with ACL support).

For over 9 years now the 500,000 and growing Joomlapolis members have made CB the most widely used (over 2,500,000 public installs per Google) social networking solution. It’s FREE and has always been GPL.

Social websites go far beyond Facebook look-alikes and CB has literally hundreds of built-in features and extra (free or commercial) add-ons from CB Team and other parties that will help you realize your very own - tailored to your specific needs - website.

CB also has a powerful built-in framework (CB API doc. is available on Joomlapolis) so it can be extended and enhanced.

There are hundreds of built-in features you can use to:

+ Create profiles for your members
+ Identify users with first/middle/last name fields
+ Add avatar photos to profiles
+ Add unlimited CB fields to your profiles (text, image, textarea, html editor, integer, checkbox, multi-select checkbox, drop-down, multi-select drop-down, radio, date, email, weblinks - more available with add-ons)
+ Use delimiter fields to put customized HTML code in profiles
+ Configure fields to be read-only, for profile viewing, displayed with title, to appear on registration form, etc
+ Control of core fields (email, username, etc), and ajax email and username checkers
+ Custom field validations
+ Organize fields in tabs that can be displayed in different built-in profile positions
+ Create extended registration form
+ Allow login using email address and password
+ Manage registration and profile image approval in frontend with CB Workflow module
+ Create unlimited CB User lists with powerful searching
+ Let members connect with each other (mutual consent or one way)
+ Display # of connections on profiles
+ Show connection path between profile viewer and owner up to 6th degree
+ Moderate your community with FE reporting, banning,
+ Let members interact (using email or PMS extension)
+ Built-in integration with Joomla articles (show article links in author profiles)
+ Built-in integration with Kunena forum
+ Use built-in integration with uddeIM messaging

Each CB distribution has:
+ component (universal for all J! versions and Mambo)
+ CB Login, Workflow and Online mods (also universal)
+ 43 page Install guide
+ Readme and Upgrade txt files

Joomlapolis hosts free community driven support forums.

Optionally, Advanced, Professional or Developer 12-months memberships can be purchased giving rights to priority or even same/next business day guaranteed forum support and access to many additional optional plugins and privileges.

PHP 5.0-5.4.x and MySQL 4.1+ database are prerequisites (PHP 5.2.4+ and MySQL 5.0.4+, same as Joomla 2.5, are recommended).

* Please do not use the reviews to post support issues. Use our free community forums or paid support system at https://www.joomlapolis.com/suppor

Report Extension

 

 

2008-08-23
Reviews: 2
This components is essential to any site to create a community. Its easy to install, lots of configuration options and works with so many other components such as Fireboard, AEC, Joomla!Comment etc.

Awesome, download, donate and njoy it ;o)

Ps. the manual really helps get the best out of this component.
2008-08-22
Reviews: 13
this was exactly what i was looking for. nicer user handling and captcha support. so i get rid of the spamed user registration!!
why joomla is not integrating some features in the core component, it would be really useful...
2008-08-13
Reviews: 4
Community Builder is a great component with a great team behind it. Having used it in the past, I would highly recommend it as a solution for community based sites.
2008-07-31
Reviews: 2
Great product, terrific support.

I had some minor problems with the code, and the developers delivered patches in less than 24 hours, something I've never experienced before in decades of programming. This is particularly impressive given that my problems were with controlling appearances - entirely cosmetic.
2008-07-23
Reviews: 1
I am a absolute newbie to Joomla and I am not a programmer so anything changes can be a challenge. I installed CB 1.1 with no issues at all. Very smooth. I was up and running very fast. I moved to 1.2RC2 yesterday and I had no issues at all. This has made my life so much easier. A much needed extension to core Joomla 1.5 and very easy to learn
Thanks!
2008-07-15
Reviews: 1
What else can I say, CB is pretty much the crux of my site. A bit of a learning curve involved, but well worth it. Thanks for this awesome component!
2008-07-03
Reviews: 1
I've been working with Joomla! for about 2 years now (Been in IT development for about 20 years) and have tried countless extensions for the Joomla! platform. This is a *must* extension to have on your Joomla! website. This extension will give you so much flexibility. Joomla! is a great content management system and Community Builder will give you the social network edge to your website and I've never had to use Community builder forums once in 2 the last 2 years. Simple to install and administer and very stable with Joomla! 1.5 (make sure you have legacy mode on). Can't emphasise how important this extension is to you website.
Owner's reply

Thank you for your very nice review. As general information update since this review, Community Builder 1.2 Stable is released and runs native on Joomla 1.5, Joomla 1.0, and even on Mambo 4.5.x and 4.6.x. Also CB Team plugins are now available universally native. So the legacy in Joomla 1.5 is now needed only if you have non-native third-party CB plugins.

2008-06-07
Reviews: 1
Version 1.2 seems to have a bit of a different table structure. But the improvements are amazing. Only headache we had was to upgrade our S4J Profile Status Indicator to be compatible with the new version of CB 1.2
But it's all figure out now and can be downloaded at www.software4joomla.com

I'm defenitely looking forward to the final stable version of CB on J1.5 native.
2008-06-03
Reviews: 4
I really love it and it is perfect for my site (sf.connerpro.com), but I think it would be cool to have some Seyret integration where, instead of their videos showing up in CB, it'd be cool if their CB profile somehow showed up in Seyret under their videos. Just a thought, and thanks for the great component.
2008-05-30
Reviews: 1
I just started using this and have to say how good it is. Thank you for all the work on it.
2008-05-01
Reviews: 2
I thought Community Builder was not interested to bring out a 1.5 compatible version, but whoola!, there it is...

REMARKS:-
1. Valid XHTML
This Page Is Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional!
2. Valid CSS
Congratulations! No Error Found.
3. The power is still there

Thanks a lot guys
2008-05-01
Reviews: 1
Being a Joomla noobie, I found this really easy to install. It works seamlessly with my fireboard install and the rest of my site. I have been looking around at the plugins and thiers alot more features that I can't wait to check out! I am using it with Joomla 1.0.15 and the install was soo easy it was just the best install I have had so far. I have had alot of fun checking out the MANY ways that CB can add to and change and enhance my site. I love the way it all works together without any hacks to the original Joomla install.

If you are a noobie like I was, this should be the FIRST thing you install right after installing Joomla.
2008-04-30
Reviews: 1
Alot of time has been spent trying to make this work for J1.5 to no luck! Thinking it was everything but the CB componenet with all the visible bugs fresh from the install! I was sure It was my setup templates something! To find out this fantastic ext was not working properly. It should be made alot more clear this is not 100% compatable or finished for J1.5. Cant wait for more updates! And please let others know this is a beta and its not complete astheticly!
Lookin fwd to new releases!
Thank you Joomla and all developers!
Joomla is the best!
2008-04-27
Reviews: 1
I have found this component VERY useful, it changes the login form to a much better & bug-free form, enables more fields to be created for registration, and allows special pages for individual users, plus, community builder has extension-specific plugins.
I rate this component #1.
2008-04-11
Reviews: 2
This is a great application because it really expands your ability as a webmaster to control how users login, logout, and edit their profiles.

Although there is no version 1.5 support yet, I'm using it in legacy 1.0.x mode, and everything seems to be working OK.

The developer's financial model is to create free software, but charge for the user's manual. I still haven't figured out how to do the more detailed functions, so I wouldn't recommend this software if you get frustrated easily.

All-in-all, this is a good application that can take your website to new heights, but you have to be willing to shell out some cash, or wait days for answers on their forum.
2008-03-18
Reviews: 1
Switching to Joomla 1.0 with CB as the CMS for my Clans website was an excellent move. The site should be going live very soon, and I have had nothing but positive feedback from the clan members regarding all the cool features CB brings.

Thanks to the dev team!
2008-03-13
Reviews: 1
This is a wonderful add-on for versions of Joomla prior to 1.5 but it is not truly compatible with J1.5.x legacy mode or not. I have spent considerable time pouring through the forums at Joomlapolis and tinkering with the component and modules as best I can and have not been able to get it to work reliably with j1.5. At best, it crashed my site only about 60% of the time.

The bottom line is that version 1.1 of CB is NOT as compatible with J1.5 as it's description would have you believe.

I will wait for both the native version of CB AND a migrator tool before I consider migrating my site.
2008-03-12
Reviews: 1
No Matter What You Think Every Site Needs Community Builder...

When I first starting using Joomla i thought it was a great system with some problems with the user's side, until i found Community Builder with this simple and very easy to use tool you will never get any problems with users again!

i rate this component 10/10 for durability, installation, usability and support! they have a great community forum that is very helpful if you come across any problems, Community Builder integrates with all but everything, there are always new plug ins being made to keep your site members happy with fresh new tools and much more!

no matter what type of site you are running you will need Community Builder!

well done to all the creators!
2008-03-04
Reviews: 2
Community builder in my opinion is an essential addon component to Joomla for any community based site, giving users the ability to create their own 'personal profiles' based on fields administrators can set up. The forums are very active and the component itself is simple to use and set up. Whilst like in any component there are flaws, this one really extends the community nature of your site, by giving users their own personal space. And another testimonial to the component or package is the number of plug-ins available to community builder made my third party developers.... if it wasn't that good, you would not see this many plugins
2008-02-18
Reviews: 6
Hi Folks,

Not just a simple component, it is the corner stone of my site. I have looked around and I found many components working together with CB which allowed me to develop a great community site. www.blogynet.com - Take a look - If you want to see the features of Community Builder - you have to register. Worth doing it...

good work
M.
Page 8 of 12