The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Community Builder Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
Community Builder (CB) is an extremely flexible and robust social networking solution for Joomla. CB has a huge user base, a long history and a great future.

Social websites go far beyond Facebook look-alikes and CB has literally hundreds of built-in features and can be extended with extra (free or commercial) add-ons from the CB Team and other parties that will help you realize your very own - tailored to your specific needs - social networking website.

The hundreds of built-in features will help you accomplish the following:

+ Gather important ** for your use-case ** profile data during or after membership registration
+ Delegate new member sign-up approvals and proper behavior reporting with extended workflows and frontend moderation
+ Configure awesome looking mobile ready profile pages for your members
+ Promote interaction between your members with configurable and searchable user lists
+ Provide powerful and engaging profile applications to your members
+ Continuously motivate and engage your members with great built-in Joomla, Kunena (forum), K2 (content) and uddeIM (private messaging) integrations
+ Keep your members involved with personalized and targeted ad-hoc mass mailings
+ Manage everything from your mobile device or tablet

CB also has a powerful built-in framework (CB API doc. is available on Joomlapolis) so it can be extended and enhanced.

There are hundreds of built-in features you can use to:

+ Create profiles for your members
+ Add unlimited CB fields to your profiles (text, image, textarea, html editor, integer, checkbox, multi-select checkbox, drop-down, multi-select drop-down, radio, date, email, weblinks - more available with add-ons)
+ Use delimiter fields to put customized HTML code in profiles
+ Configure fields to be read-only, for profile viewing, displayed with title, to appear on registration form, etc
+ Control of core fields (email, username, etc), and ajax email and username checkers
+ Custom field validations
+ Create extended registration form
+ Allow login using email address and password
+ Manage registration and profile image approval in frontend with CB Workflow module
+ Create unlimited CB User lists with powerful searching
+ Let members connect with each other (mutual consent or one way)
+ Show connection path between profile viewer and owner up to 6th degree
+ Moderate your community with FE reporting, banning,

Joomlapolis hosts free community driven support forums.

Optionally, Advanced, Professional or Developer 12-months memberships can be purchased giving rights to priority or even same/next business day guaranteed forum support and access to many extra add-ons and privileges.

PHP 5.3.3-5.6.x and MySQL 5.0.4+ database are prerequisites (PHP 5.4+ and MySQL 5.5+ recommended).

* Please do not use the reviews to post support issues. Use our free community forums or paid support system at https://www.joomlapolis.com/support

Report Extension

 

 

2008-10-16
Reviews: 7
I just tried 1.2RC3 and followed the instructions exactly and it works great on Joomla 1.57 . The only issue was the user registration page gets a 403 error if you're using sh404SEF & don't disable sh404SEF on the "By Component" tab to "skip" comprofiler. Also I highly recommend the CBPassphrase plugin by Franz Koessinger - it's a great way to restrict access, by first sending out a required passphrase to your community before they can register on the site.
2008-09-07
Reviews: 1
Awesome piece of work. No issues during installation and is working perfectly now.
Great team ! Thank you
J
2008-09-07
Reviews: 4
First time user of CB. Paid the 25 Euro (for the documentation and immediate download of RC2) not knowing what I was getting, other than everybody (and there's a ton of 'em) said "Y'all NEED this-here miracle elixir software stuff!"

Took me about 3 hours to glance at documentation, install CB, CB's plug-in's, Fireboard, Captcha plug-in, and configure this-and-that to my liking.

I've been programming since punch cards weren't something you saw only in museums and history books. I *AM* impressed!

Everything installed into Joomla! 1.5.6 without a hitch, hiccup, or a "Hold y'er horsies, sonny-boy!"

You can add my 15 stone (212 pounds US) to that metric ton of people who say you NEED this software! Fabulous user control and great, seamless integration with Fireboard.

THANK YOU! We are in control...
2008-08-26
Reviews: 2
Great product.

Seamless integration with website and easy to configure.
2008-08-23
Reviews: 2
This components is essential to any site to create a community. Its easy to install, lots of configuration options and works with so many other components such as Fireboard, AEC, Joomla!Comment etc.

Awesome, download, donate and njoy it ;o)

Ps. the manual really helps get the best out of this component.
2008-08-22
Reviews: 13
this was exactly what i was looking for. nicer user handling and captcha support. so i get rid of the spamed user registration!!
why joomla is not integrating some features in the core component, it would be really useful...
2008-08-13
Reviews: 4
Community Builder is a great component with a great team behind it. Having used it in the past, I would highly recommend it as a solution for community based sites.
2008-07-31
Reviews: 2
Great product, terrific support.

I had some minor problems with the code, and the developers delivered patches in less than 24 hours, something I've never experienced before in decades of programming. This is particularly impressive given that my problems were with controlling appearances - entirely cosmetic.
2008-07-23
Reviews: 1
I am a absolute newbie to Joomla and I am not a programmer so anything changes can be a challenge. I installed CB 1.1 with no issues at all. Very smooth. I was up and running very fast. I moved to 1.2RC2 yesterday and I had no issues at all. This has made my life so much easier. A much needed extension to core Joomla 1.5 and very easy to learn
Thanks!
2008-07-15
Reviews: 1
What else can I say, CB is pretty much the crux of my site. A bit of a learning curve involved, but well worth it. Thanks for this awesome component!
2008-07-03
Reviews: 1
I've been working with Joomla! for about 2 years now (Been in IT development for about 20 years) and have tried countless extensions for the Joomla! platform. This is a *must* extension to have on your Joomla! website. This extension will give you so much flexibility. Joomla! is a great content management system and Community Builder will give you the social network edge to your website and I've never had to use Community builder forums once in 2 the last 2 years. Simple to install and administer and very stable with Joomla! 1.5 (make sure you have legacy mode on). Can't emphasise how important this extension is to you website.
Owner's reply

Thank you for your very nice review. As general information update since this review, Community Builder 1.2 Stable is released and runs native on Joomla 1.5, Joomla 1.0, and even on Mambo 4.5.x and 4.6.x. Also CB Team plugins are now available universally native. So the legacy in Joomla 1.5 is now needed only if you have non-native third-party CB plugins.

2008-06-07
Reviews: 1
Version 1.2 seems to have a bit of a different table structure. But the improvements are amazing. Only headache we had was to upgrade our S4J Profile Status Indicator to be compatible with the new version of CB 1.2
But it's all figure out now and can be downloaded at www.software4joomla.com

I'm defenitely looking forward to the final stable version of CB on J1.5 native.
2008-06-03
Reviews: 4
I really love it and it is perfect for my site (sf.connerpro.com), but I think it would be cool to have some Seyret integration where, instead of their videos showing up in CB, it'd be cool if their CB profile somehow showed up in Seyret under their videos. Just a thought, and thanks for the great component.
2008-05-30
Reviews: 1
I just started using this and have to say how good it is. Thank you for all the work on it.
2008-05-01
Reviews: 2
I thought Community Builder was not interested to bring out a 1.5 compatible version, but whoola!, there it is...

REMARKS:-
1. Valid XHTML
This Page Is Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional!
2. Valid CSS
Congratulations! No Error Found.
3. The power is still there

Thanks a lot guys
2008-05-01
Reviews: 1
Being a Joomla noobie, I found this really easy to install. It works seamlessly with my fireboard install and the rest of my site. I have been looking around at the plugins and thiers alot more features that I can't wait to check out! I am using it with Joomla 1.0.15 and the install was soo easy it was just the best install I have had so far. I have had alot of fun checking out the MANY ways that CB can add to and change and enhance my site. I love the way it all works together without any hacks to the original Joomla install.

If you are a noobie like I was, this should be the FIRST thing you install right after installing Joomla.
2008-04-30
Reviews: 1
Alot of time has been spent trying to make this work for J1.5 to no luck! Thinking it was everything but the CB componenet with all the visible bugs fresh from the install! I was sure It was my setup templates something! To find out this fantastic ext was not working properly. It should be made alot more clear this is not 100% compatable or finished for J1.5. Cant wait for more updates! And please let others know this is a beta and its not complete astheticly!
Lookin fwd to new releases!
Thank you Joomla and all developers!
Joomla is the best!
2008-04-27
Reviews: 1
I have found this component VERY useful, it changes the login form to a much better & bug-free form, enables more fields to be created for registration, and allows special pages for individual users, plus, community builder has extension-specific plugins.
I rate this component #1.
2008-04-11
Reviews: 2
This is a great application because it really expands your ability as a webmaster to control how users login, logout, and edit their profiles.

Although there is no version 1.5 support yet, I'm using it in legacy 1.0.x mode, and everything seems to be working OK.

The developer's financial model is to create free software, but charge for the user's manual. I still haven't figured out how to do the more detailed functions, so I wouldn't recommend this software if you get frustrated easily.

All-in-all, this is a good application that can take your website to new heights, but you have to be willing to shell out some cash, or wait days for answers on their forum.
2008-03-18
Reviews: 1
Switching to Joomla 1.0 with CB as the CMS for my Clans website was an excellent move. The site should be going live very soon, and I have had nothing but positive feedback from the clan members regarding all the cool features CB brings.

Thanks to the dev team!
Page 8 of 13