The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Community Builder Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
Community Builder (CB) is the most popular and flexible social community networking solution for all versions of Joomla! (3.2, 3.x and 2.5 with ACL support).

For over 9 years now the 500,000 and growing Joomlapolis members have made CB the most widely used (over 2,500,000 public installs per Google) social networking solution. It’s FREE and has always been GPL.

Social websites go far beyond Facebook look-alikes and CB has literally hundreds of built-in features and extra (free or commercial) add-ons from CB Team and other parties that will help you realize your very own - tailored to your specific needs - website.

CB also has a powerful built-in framework (CB API doc. is available on Joomlapolis) so it can be extended and enhanced.

There are hundreds of built-in features you can use to:

+ Create profiles for your members
+ Identify users with first/middle/last name fields
+ Add avatar photos to profiles
+ Add unlimited CB fields to your profiles (text, image, textarea, html editor, integer, checkbox, multi-select checkbox, drop-down, multi-select drop-down, radio, date, email, weblinks - more available with add-ons)
+ Use delimiter fields to put customized HTML code in profiles
+ Configure fields to be read-only, for profile viewing, displayed with title, to appear on registration form, etc
+ Control of core fields (email, username, etc), and ajax email and username checkers
+ Custom field validations
+ Organize fields in tabs that can be displayed in different built-in profile positions
+ Create extended registration form
+ Allow login using email address and password
+ Manage registration and profile image approval in frontend with CB Workflow module
+ Create unlimited CB User lists with powerful searching
+ Let members connect with each other (mutual consent or one way)
+ Display # of connections on profiles
+ Show connection path between profile viewer and owner up to 6th degree
+ Moderate your community with FE reporting, banning,
+ Let members interact (using email or PMS extension)
+ Built-in integration with Joomla articles (show article links in author profiles)
+ Built-in integration with Kunena forum
+ Use built-in integration with uddeIM messaging

Each CB distribution has:
+ component (universal for all J! versions and Mambo)
+ CB Login, Workflow and Online mods (also universal)
+ 43 page Install guide
+ Readme and Upgrade txt files

Joomlapolis hosts free community driven support forums.

Optionally, Advanced, Professional or Developer 12-months memberships can be purchased giving rights to priority or even same/next business day guaranteed forum support and access to many additional optional plugins and privileges.

PHP 5.0-5.4.x and MySQL 4.1+ database are prerequisites (PHP 5.2.4+ and MySQL 5.0.4+, same as Joomla 2.5, are recommended).

* Please do not use the reviews to post support issues. Use our free community forums or paid support system at https://www.joomlapolis.com/suppor

Report Extension

 

 

2008-02-18
Reviews: 6
Hi Folks,

Not just a simple component, it is the corner stone of my site. I have looked around and I found many components working together with CB which allowed me to develop a great community site. www.blogynet.com - Take a look - If you want to see the features of Community Builder - you have to register. Worth doing it...

good work
M.
2008-02-14
Reviews: 2
It appears from the CB support forums and the lack of any bugfixes recently that this project is not being fixed up for J!1.5 release at all. I did install this component and the modules onto a plain vanilla 1.5.0 Joomla install but found them VERY buggy, lots of problems. After reading their rather poorly laid out forums for an hour or so and applying lots of little hacks, it would still not not work properly. I gave up. This project shows lots of promise that, frankly, really belongs in the core Joomla system.

Sorry, but this module needs more dev and lots more support.
2008-01-28
Reviews: 2
I can tell you, that going through hundreds of other "so called" ways to give you the designer control of creating your own Social Networking community. When you want something that is fairly easy to piece together while allowing you to customize what you want in as many ways as you want, then Community Builder is DEFINITELY for you!!!

I am the Creator and Founder of www.NetworkingLive.com in which I have created entirely with Community Builder, and I have to say TWO THUMBS UP to the entire Community Builder Team!
2008-01-25
Reviews: 2
I must admit, this extension looks AMAZING!

I would love to try it out more than I have, but the fact that you have to enable Legacy is very disturbing.

Another issue I have with it is the lack of compatibility with other 3rd party apps, such as Gallery 2 and SMF or other forums.

Would love to have it if these issues could be fixed, hell, I'd even spring for the subscription (paid fee) as long as it was a one-time payment.

As is, I need to look elsewhere.

Nice job though! Wish I could use it. :)
2008-01-15
Reviews: 1
The features I explored looked nice enough, but I was getting no notification of user registration. Not in the "Memeber management" module, or via email.

Searching the forums identified other people with the same problem and no answers posted by community or developers.

So the option is to allow open registration or check the back-end manually for new registrations.
2008-01-03
Reviews: 4
I noticed some winers making comments. They're expecting too much. For a completely free community building software/portal this stuff rocks. I'm not an expert with JOOMLA in the least and I had no trouble with getting it installed, and all the plugins I'm using so far have installed without a single hitch to speak of. I really recommend this for anyone wanting to have a basic community website.
2007-12-14
Reviews: 2
For me, this is a "must-have", for all Joomla! sites. Great component... Great community support... Great plugins! Keep up the good work!!
2007-11-25
Reviews: 2
I've used CB for years on a major site. I've always found it awkward and confusing to implement. Certain tasks such as exporting user data to excel is impossible and creating forms is very rudimentary. I am not bashing CB as it is, in principle, an excellent user manangement tool that needs a lot more polish .. and unfortunately .. the Joomla 1.5 version is full of bugs and NOT reecommended for production sites. If you have time, I'm sure Nick and Beat and the team would welcome the help.
2007-10-31
Reviews: 2
I installed this because it sounded so good. The installation process went fine - great documentation. Unfortunately the finished result on my site was messy and unintelligible. There was no information in the install instructions or site about how to customize or create new templates. I uninstalled this component because I was frustrated with how it appeared to the user. I'll be trying to hack away at making it visually palatable, but wish it were closer to right 'out of the box'.
2007-10-26
Reviews: 7
Community Builder is a must for any serious Joomla! designer. It expands the user database to include fields for anything and everything you can dream up. Many, many modules on this site are aware of CB and tie into it. Easy to setup and use.
2007-10-02
Reviews: 3
As a component its excellent, no 2nd thought about it.

BUT, the User-List, User Profile Page (which are visual parts of the component) are worsely design. Not a single template is useful.

You should appoint a good Graphics Designer.

I thought it will be upgraded in 1.1, but no......
I wish it could be as sexy as new Orkut profile page.

My site looks like a Red-Farreri with broken head-lamps !!

I know what will be their reply to this review -
"Pay for Custom Jobs"
2007-09-27
Reviews: 1
This component is top notch, I have used it on many projects and can say its the best community type implementation you can get for Joomla!.

Many Components are available and i have integrated it with everything from Classified Ads to Picture galleries.

Forums are a great source of technical help and unlike a lot of open source projects you get good responses from both the community but also the mods.

Just another reason Joomla! is so great
2007-09-27
Reviews: 3
Easy to use, powerful foundation, limitless options.
2007-09-18
Reviews: 5
This is a great component that is easy to install, configure, and manage.

From function to style Community Builder is highly recommended component.
2007-09-03
Reviews: 10
I would like to recommend this community tool to any newbies like me. I don't know how can anybody say it's too complex. Ok, it took me about 30 min to read the installation package, but then step by step you install component, modules and that's it... All is needed to be done is to play with it and change the fields as you wish. It's really simple and I fully recommended it to newcomers to Joomla or CB. I was bit scared reading other's comments about complexity, those who write it's complex, haven't seen the complex yet.
5 thumbs up
tww
2007-08-14
Reviews: 1
This is an incredibly useful and in my opinion easy to use and set up tool that greatly enhances the somewhat limited default Joomla user management functionality. I cannot recommend this highly enough
2007-08-12
Reviews: 1
Ugly Tabs, not very eye candy. a little confusing at times. but seems to be the only community type extension available. am thinking about using it again, but it is so ugly.
2007-08-09
Reviews: 98
C.B. is very good. I think it should be the core component of Joomla.
2007-08-09
Reviews: 3
This is a great component.
You also have to use a little brain, and READ the txt file before installing and upgrading.

Also, you have to read and learn about CB. This is not just a simple "click and run". If you want to use the power of CB, you have to learn about it.
Its not hard, but takes a little time, and its great.

They are quick. After the 1.13 update, they came with a quick fix, due to joomlas new "options".

Thumbs up
2007-08-08
Reviews: 1
This easily brings the most to your site, once you install this their is probably a hundred add ons for it, I have an xbox gaming community and this has been part of the reason for its success. Thanks to the creator!
Page 9 of 12