The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JomSocial Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
  • This extension inserts a backlink to the developer.
***JOMSOCIAL 3.2.1.5 NOW AVAILABLE***

JomSocial is an award-winning, powerful, social networking component for Joomla! It allows you to create your own Social Network with Photo and Video Gallery, Event Management, Activity Stream and other features that work out of the box. There is no better or more powerful community extension for Joomla!

JomSocial's new version is now stable and is available to download. The new version comes with lots of new features and is responsive. You can see the new demo here:

http://demo.jomsocial.com/demos/

All features in JomSocial are years ahead compared to Joomla's Anahita or Community Builder, Wordpress' BuddyPress or other standalone solutions. JomSocial is designed to quickly build your member base and let them engage in social activities such as making new friends, voicing out opinions, sharing pictures and videos, managing events, or even launching a social revolution.

Creating your own social networking for your niche would greatly benefits your community. Whether you have a website for business community, gamers, sports fans or other online communities, you can free yourself from restrictive social environment and customize your own community with unique features and brand identity.

JomSocial is supported by many template clubs such as Rockettheme, Joomlashack, Joomlart, JoomShaper and many more to provide you endless choices of templates.

JomSocial has hundreds of extensions from third party developers that add more features to your social network and make it unique. This includes paid membership, file uploader, music player, chat system and translation file for various languages.

Don't wait further to experience the best social network built for your site.

http://www.jomsocial.com/pricing

====
(Extension formerly known as "Community")

JomSocial features:

* Responsive design
* Friendship system
* Event Management to manage community activities
* Media sharing with photos and videos gallery.
* Group and Discussions provide customized level of sharing.
* Private communication with friends via private messages
* Postbox to post updates, photos, videos and events.
* 'Like' and 'Comment' on Activity Stream.
* Cross update to and from Facebook.
* Real Time On-site notification (first ever in Joomla!)
* Recurring Events
* Easy to use File Sharing
* Improved content distribution
* Beautiful Featured media

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2012-10-31
Reviews: 15
Jomsocial itself, the software, it top notch. There is simply no comparison between it and Community Builder. Jomsocial delivers everything you could need, and then more.
Now the downside is that, like everyone says, the support has traditionally been absolutely horrible. But as of lately, it seems they're putting more priority behind support and answering a lot of overdue questions, and new ones.

I saw other reviewers saying they had problems with Jomsocial itself, they couldn't do this or that, never got it working, bugs, etc. blah blah blah.... that's bogus! Jomsocial is extremely easy to setup and configure. Yes, it requires some time to familiarize yourself, but all complex Joomla extensions do. But if you're familiar with Joomla, you should have no problem at all setting up Jomsocial. We used it many times and set it up in 10 minutes. If these people have problems, rest assured they simply don't know what they're doing or are amateurs in dealing with Joomla.

Is Jomsocial for beginners? Nope. But then again, if you're going deep enough to need Jomsocial, then you should not be a beginner in the first place.

bottom line: Jomsocial delivers what no other extension out there can, and it does so perfectly. I love it!
2012-10-16
Reviews: 5
I bought this extension because almost everyone agrees that it is a very good extension, even though the support was terrible.

However, as of last week, Jomsocial has reinstated their forum. Support so far has been excellent! It remains to be seen if it stays that way of course, but so far so good. So two thumbs up for Jomsocial!
2012-10-14
Reviews: 3
Surely that's the best extension joomla ever have. But support is not so good. if you are looking for jomsocial support you may have to wait two weeks or much longer ;(
2012-10-12
Reviews: 2
I use this tool for years and actually has never had any troubles with it, its management and I got support on request when this was necessary.
Thank you.
2012-08-31
Reviews: 1
the learning curve with jomsocial is quite steep. the extensions undoubtedly offers a lot of features that help to run a successful community. beginners will probably spend a lot of time to understand the whole concept behind this extensions. if you plan to heavily customize this extensions without php knowledge - forget it. i would give this extension 3 stars for usability and features.

the main problem with jomsocial is the support though. did i just say support? unfortunately it is pretty much non-existent. many users before me have already complained about the lack of support. i'm just confirming what everybody else said. i had a billing problem and although i urged them two times to reply to my (very simple) request but they decided to play dead.
Owner's reply

Hi gazzoo,

JomSocial, being a social networking extension is bound to have a lot of configuration to suit most requirements. We cant help it that JomSocial is massive simply because it is the nature of a social network. It may look complex, but rest assured that our code is clean and well constructed. If you are familiar with HTML, you will find that our template is a breeze to modify as we take pride in explaining features in our templates.

Regarding support, we realize that it is not on par with the quality of JomSocial. Thus, we have recently moved to a better, more unified support delivery system that would allow us to serve you in a more organized and efficient manner. Do give us a try and see that we have indeed improved for the betterment of our users.

2012-08-27
Reviews: 1
It's my first time when I use Jomsocial and it was very easy to install and config, but it has some options missing. What I mean by that is that there's no way to disable the tips, which, by the way, are showing all over the WRONG places, meaning they are covering the text fields, the scrolling lists and the checkboxes. The only way to disable them is to phisically remove some options from its files and believe me, it's a very, VERY annoying job that takes a lot of time and it's supposed to be made by an old chinese.
2012-08-26
Reviews: 1
When clients of mine used to request some kind of community or social
function on their websites, I would shudder and try to talk them out of it.
I have implemented JomSocial on a number of sites in the past few months on
a recommendation and have found it easier than I could have imagined.
Thanks so much!
2012-08-24
Reviews: 32
its really a great extension,,,what i like more about it is you can get all the modules & plugins nice gallery ,good display of profiles & its compatible with a lot of other extensions which it really makes it easy & it does work good with a lot of templates too ,,,and i totally agree on that support part , i highly recommend you this,,simply its very unique extension & comparing it to COMMUNITY BUILDER ,,its not confusing at all ,,you pay for it,,you get the full package ,,in few minutes you'll be setting your JOMSOCIAL on your site ,,,for me ,,there's no perfect extension ,,every extension got bugs & problems but we just need to be patient & cleverer in dealing with bugs & issues,,,
2012-08-13
Reviews: 14
Personally, when I still had an active license (and when the Jomsocial forums were still up) I got the majority of my help from other end users. This is not to say that the developers were not around to help, however getting support from them was quite a bit slower than getting help from other paying customers who had the same issues as I did with my own site. But, this was when the forums were still live. Since the forums were taken down the support from the Jomsocial community is not as strong, mainly because the structure of the new community doesn't allow for as much (as as easy) interaction between users. Keep that in mind before you purchase a license.

With that said, aside from (typically) minor annoyances the bugs in Jomsocial are minimal. There have been occasions when the issues were a bit more significant but mostly the software is pretty solid.

Feature wise, the Jomsocial team has gone all out in meeting the needs of a Joomla-based social community. No, you won't be able to launch the next Facebook with JS, however you you shouldn't expect to match FB with a component that costs less than a couple hundred dollars.

Aside from the minor support issue, I still recommend Jomsocial to anyone who wishes to launch a social network. The software is worth 5 stars but if you are unfortunate enough to run into issues you may understand why I rated it with just 4.
2012-06-01
Reviews: 7
This extension will make (not break) your site.

Hands down this is one of the best extensions I've used. It deserves no less than a 5 star rating.

I can understand some of the reviews regarding support, and I agree that those of us who Joomla prefer support forums over a ticket system, as that is how we typically provide support to our own clients.

However, the quality of the extension is superb and you can tell that the development philosophy is wrapped around user friendliness.

If you are looking for an extension that will get you a social site out of the box, this is it. If you are looking for an extension that you can customize to match your niche, this is also it.
Owner's reply

Thanks for your review.

2012-05-22
Reviews: 8
The component and the feartures are great, but a little bit buggy.
The support wants all my credentials (FTP, mySQL, Backend) before I become a solution. Thats not client-friendly... I prefer a support forum, like before.
2012-04-06
Reviews: 3
I have been purchase since last 2 year but looklike function just improve a little bit, all of major update is about bug fix :S

Nearly all of mods,plugs,components for this extension is commercial so If you look forward to find new mod,plug,com to improve your community you should be alway pay more and more money :S

poor support and poor document for developer if you want few click set up then run community app like this extension will be alright but not easy for who want to mod by themself even expertise developer
2012-03-29
Reviews: 1
Well Jomsocial is really nice, component, I have installed it on my website. I am really happy, the best this is that support is too good, I had couple of issues , there was guy i guess his name Dimas , He was awesome programmer, he fixed all the issues in no time. Thanks to Dimas and Jomsocial.
2012-03-08
Reviews: 2
After playing around with Jomsocial for a week I was able to grasp all of the possibilities and limitations. My biggest point of frustration and the reason for not using platform was the complete absence of any kind of photo album organization. Any album grouping or categorization is simply absent. Period. Once you upload a twenty or so albums they just get accumulated in single page in order of last edited but otherwise without any way of organizing them. I looked for extensions that would categorize albums but found nothing. Videos, on other hand have a categorization/grouping feature that works well. Another feature that would I really needed was a way for the user to have more tangible relationships with each other such as siblings listing, "married to...", or "in relationship with...". This feature or extension making it possible is absent as well. Otherwise this plugin provides a good stripped-down fairly easy to operate and understand version of the Facebook. Perfect and works for the most basic social networking, but forget trying to tailor it to your slightly more sophisticated needs.
2012-03-07
Reviews: 11
After having a horrible horrible time with community builder i decided to take the plunge and purchase jomsocial.

IM GLAD I DID

Not only did i have a basic community up and running within seconds (and i mean seconds) there is so much flexabiity available for jomsocial its incredable.

Support can be a little slow - but they acknowledge that however they DO respond.

My Advice, if your looking for a social networking solution take the plunge and purchase jomsocial.

The others like CB just dont cut the mustard.
2012-02-22
Reviews: 9
I have read many of the viewpoints on here and in general I have not had any real issues with this extention, there was one release that was a absolute disgrace but that was the only time I had a complaint.
I have used the ticket system twice and had replies back within 24 Hours.

The only issue I have had over the last 2/3 releases is that during the install it does not install the Zend framework so it will not work unless it is present, then there was issues with installing 2 parts of the Zend framework but this now seems to be resolved.

http://code.google.com/p/zend4joomla/downloads/list

once installed you need to activate it by going to you plugin admin.
2012-02-16
Reviews: 2
We are a development team and have used JomSocial on more than 10 sites which includes www.irishpubsglobal.com and www.opensourceuniverse.com. We found it excellent from it's architecture wise and it's functionality wise. It does what it says and it's very easy to extend it's functionality by doing the custom coding.
2012-02-10
Reviews: 1
Totally unhappy. Ordered Pro version over a month ago. 3 support tickets still no reply. Cannot even install since there is an unknown error with no description as to what is wrong on one of the steps.

Begged for support in my last email. Still nothing.

I have received better support from the free developers here. Jomsocial should be embarrassed!

Very frustrating and discouraged.
Owner's reply

Hi there,

We are sorry to hear about your situation. There might be some delay while we are replying to support tickets but it won't take that much time for us to reply to your support request. If you didn't receive even the email notification for the submitted ticket, one possibility is that our replies might be considered as spam by your email provider.

Please email me directly at irwan at jomsocial dot com so I can help you further with your issue.

Warm regards,
Irwan
JomSocial Team

2012-01-15
Reviews: 1
JomSocial is first rate software and continues to improve over time.

However, they recently halved their license period from 12 to 6 months (effectively doubling the cost!) and removed their support forums. So now the only means of support is a ticket system where replies tend to be extremely slow and often unhelpful.
2012-01-12
Reviews: 11
I think is the best community,
the support is not the quickest,
may you can be better on this,
but if someone thinks the new versions,
its easy to understand tha the guys there are really working.
The price of it its looks like free.
Thank you very much Jomsocial!
Page 2 of 6