The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JomSocial Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
  • This extension inserts a backlink to the developer.
***JOMSOCIAL 3.2.1.5 NOW AVAILABLE***

JomSocial is an award-winning, powerful, social networking component for Joomla! It allows you to create your own Social Network with Photo and Video Gallery, Event Management, Activity Stream and other features that work out of the box. There is no better or more powerful community extension for Joomla!

JomSocial's new version is now stable and is available to download. The new version comes with lots of new features and is responsive. You can see the new demo here:

http://demo.jomsocial.com/demos/

All features in JomSocial are years ahead compared to Joomla's Anahita or Community Builder, Wordpress' BuddyPress or other standalone solutions. JomSocial is designed to quickly build your member base and let them engage in social activities such as making new friends, voicing out opinions, sharing pictures and videos, managing events, or even launching a social revolution.

Creating your own social networking for your niche would greatly benefits your community. Whether you have a website for business community, gamers, sports fans or other online communities, you can free yourself from restrictive social environment and customize your own community with unique features and brand identity.

JomSocial is supported by many template clubs such as Rockettheme, Joomlashack, Joomlart, JoomShaper and many more to provide you endless choices of templates.

JomSocial has hundreds of extensions from third party developers that add more features to your social network and make it unique. This includes paid membership, file uploader, music player, chat system and translation file for various languages.

Don't wait further to experience the best social network built for your site.

http://www.jomsocial.com/pricing

====
(Extension formerly known as "Community")

JomSocial features:

* Responsive design
* Friendship system
* Event Management to manage community activities
* Media sharing with photos and videos gallery.
* Group and Discussions provide customized level of sharing.
* Private communication with friends via private messages
* Postbox to post updates, photos, videos and events.
* 'Like' and 'Comment' on Activity Stream.
* Cross update to and from Facebook.
* Real Time On-site notification (first ever in Joomla!)
* Recurring Events
* Easy to use File Sharing
* Improved content distribution
* Beautiful Featured media

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2011-12-27
Reviews: 3
I agree with other reviews that their support is a slow or not offering real solutions. Shutting down their forum where users can help each other is not a good idea as when you are having problems, you have to wait for them to response and it take a long time for them to respond or reach a resolution by email. If there is a forum, other users who have the same experience can share their resolutions and help resolve some problems quickly.
2011-12-11
Reviews: 3
Hi there,

JomSocial is a very good component! I have been using it since half a year and it was easy to install, the upgrades work right from the start. Sometimes I come across minor problems, but the support is great! The support team is always there to help you out! They really take the time to fix the problem if you have one.

I will keep using JomSocial, because to me it is the best community component there is. They have updates every couple of months with new features or better features. Also, the community fits very well to my normal website and if you need, JomSocial is very customizable.

I am a very happy customer :) Can't give them enough credit, but the JomSocial team is the best!

Cheers, Natasja
A
2011-12-06
Reviews: 1
The management of service requests is very bad. I opened a ticket on November 25 and today the only response I had is that the bug is present on many sites.
I paid for a product that does not work. The technic assistence does not work. The request for refund as described on site has not been answered. I have taken a complaint to the italian police for international fraud. Very poor professionalism.
2011-12-03
Reviews: 9
I have purchased Jomsocial 8 months ago. Durng this time I turned to their support three times. Twice I have got a quite quick answer for my problem as they have been easy (I haven't found an option or things like this). But as my problem is a serious bug, that they seem cannot solve, they choose the simplest but most disgusting way to avoid the problem, they DON'T ANSWER. Doesn't matter how many letters you write to their support or contact e-mail, they simple don't answer.

They had a quite good forum where you could get answer for your problem whitout disturbing them with a support ticket. But they discountinued their forum I don't know why, but I guess that is the reason wha they don't answer. Now they get all the problems in a ticket and have to answer the same solution for the same problem repeatedly to all the clients. So they had a wrong descion I guess and cannot handle the many tickets.

Let's see my case concrete. For a big site with many images Jomsocial offers a great option, you can connect to an AmazonS3 account. A cron job is sincronizing and site is speed up. Really great! BUT! After cronjob your detail and thumbnail images will be deleted from your server, but the thumbnail link still pointing to the server thumbnail. So, on the frontend no images are shown. First they tried to solve the problem, and admit that it is a bug. As it turned out that the solution they offered doesn't work (ie, they don't know the solution), they dissapear, you won't get any more answers.

Don't worry DM letters will come. They are bombing you with extending and upgrading letters, but your problem they don't care!

I cannot express how disappointed I am. The social component itself is great, good looking, deliberate, and most of the cases well working. I don't see a real concurrent for Joomla in social component. I wanted to build up many sites with it. But I cannot as it has this bug with no solution and I already don't want, as I dont want to make any more buisnesses with a company who has as DISGUSTING ATTITUDE. Even a "go to hell" letter would much more civilized solution like simple not to answer. As I am not not the only one who is facing with this issue as one star ratings here are concering this issue.

I hope someone soon will make a same good social component with an acceptable business attitude.
2011-12-02
Reviews: 13
If you have luck that JomSocial works OK with your system than it could be of use for you. But in case of any real issues you can forget about proper support and you are on your own. Having experienced Joomla guru or genius programmer by your hand is only thing which can help you.

Why? They just happily announced that they will not provide support over forums any more. They will use ticket support instead. Great. They even removed links from their website.

Usually this tactic is used when someone wants to hide problems from public. And their forums are full of people with problems.

When using support tickets you may end by fiddling your thumbs by days without actual answer. At least that happened in my case.
They also raised component price and lowered support time span.
Every new upgrade brings new issues because it's not properly tested.

For component of such complexity they should have more people available for support. If they advertise other developers addons on their website, they should test it first and not let their customers to serve as Guinea pigs.

Pros:
- nice FaceBook a like community system, packed with basic features.

Cons:
- for any extra advanced feature you need to purchase other commercial products, some of them may clash or create new issues with your overall system
(good luck with configuration)
- clashes with many other non related components or templates.
- support is slow or non existent
- they want to get rid of their forum

Conclusion: If I knew before how much of issues will I have with JomSocial I would never purchased it. But now it's too late. Money wasted, time wasted, nerves wasted.
2011-11-30
Reviews: 6
I have been using Jom Social for over a year and I think it is great. keep up the good work.
2011-11-25
Reviews: 1
Azrul has been pumping out new releases often and has to fix long lists of bugs in the software. You can see the lists on their site. They reached what they call a stable release with 2.2.5 and it has bugs and it took a year to get to that point.

Recently they released a totally new version 2.4 Boulevard and it is not compatible with Internet Explorer but they still released it as a stable version.

Internet Explorer will crash, give stack over flow errors and renders your site virtually unusable. It will not respect your Joomla 1.7 templates and will make your site look awful.

They also live in a different time zone and are sleeping when the USA is awake. You will not get a quick response to trouble tickets and they always want backend access to your site - They want your user name and password.

Because their primary language is not English their language files are full of poor sentences, punctuation and spelling. This behavior follows every release though they have had sufficient time to correct the language files.

You must be prepared for a broken product out of the box and have sufficient ability to correct the many issues that you will experience. If you do not have sufficient knowledge of Dreamweaver, PHP, AJAX, Java and Mootools - you probably want to skip this until Azrul releases an honestly stable product.

They should be ashamed of themselves for releasing 2.4 Boulevard as stable.
2011-11-24
Reviews: 2
When I first thought of using JomSocial, I was a little weary as to whether it would do what I needed it to do. I did some research and was very impressed with the amount of plugins from 3rd party developers that could integrate with JomSocial. This proved to me that JomSocial was the leader in community networking.

With the release of 2.4, I was blown away and also distraught as I was using a very custom template and the whole css structure changed. I found the forum support overwhelming and actually found a lot of my answers on there before posting. I was able to recreate my template in a day

JomSocial now have a ticket support system and I am impressed with the level of support that has been given.

I'm due to upgrade to 2.4.1 and I am confident in the knowledge that the Component and Support team will be there should I run into any trouble.

Thanks for some awesome development!
2011-11-18
Reviews: 1
I am new to CMS, Joomla! and JomSocial. My need was to build a social group of photographers website, with Event building, Forum and Photo Gallery capabilities. JomSocial is filled with features that allow communication between me and my members: 200+ strong and growing.

It's integration with Joomla! and Kunena is excellent. It was easy to install, without issues.

It contained slight bugs, which were immediately addressed by the technical team. A little, personal fine tuning was desired, and the tech team again responds with immediadecy and a legitimate desire to please the customer.

The extension lacks somewhat in a sophisticated capability to communicate with ALL members - custom forms/templates, etc., but JomSocial realizes this and I am sure will include this in future upgrades.

I am a staunch believer in and supporter of JomSocial, because of its outstanding customer response and genuine desire to make the best product which can be made.

A personal thanks to Mr. Fuqaha for his excellent service and a BIG thanks to Neil, one of the
technical team members. An outstanding team...Corporations like GM, Caterpillar, etc. should take lessons from JomSocial about the "customer is king."

Thanks to all.
2011-11-08
Reviews: 1
The guys at the support stuff are the most knowledgeble I have ever came across. The responce was lightning fast and super professional, they located the glitch ad corrected it on no time. It is quite comforting to know I can depend on a cosby that is absolutely dedicated to customer service. I am fortunate I made the desissiom to partner with this company.
2011-10-25
Reviews: 1
I will like to thank Syed Ahmad Fuqaha and all the Jomsocial team for their Support. You guys are just crazy, excellent and crazy lol.
Peace and love.
Jomsocial forever.
2011-10-22
Reviews: 3
I love this component and all its plugins and modules.
Its simple to use and very flexible. It is by far the best community component for Joomla!
I would also like to thank their tech support for being such a great help with a couple of small issues i had. No fault of JomSocial...it was a template issue :)

thanks folks, for just being you!
2011-10-18
Reviews: 5
This extension, at its core, is amazing. A true value for the price. However, beyond the product, the service is exceptional. The support team took the time to explore the code and settings to find the one feature I had set incorrectly.

If you are looking to build a social site or sub-site. This is the extension for you...
2011-10-15
Reviews: 16
Azrul has never been my favorite company. They have the most strict support policy of any I've come across. Truth is, I think they're over worked and spread too thin. Still, they charge a significant price and should support their product (in my opinion). The software works great but once your subscription runs out, you're on your own ~ you can't even access most of their forums. On top of that, they won't let you buy a support package - you must pay the full amount for the software again! I've bought three of their products and it's always a tech support nightmare. Still....., the best community software for Joomla. Ugh.
2011-09-01
Reviews: 114
I was apprehensive about using this as there were so many Modules, Plugins and Third Party concepts that I thought I would lose myself in the code.

How wrong I could be, what a superb and innovative component. worth every penny. Three cheers for the developers of this wonderful bit of software.

Hip hip - Hooray, Hip hip - Hooray, Hip hip - Hooray - OK, I know that was over the top... but if you don't buy this, you would be making the worse mistake of your life. Thanks Guys. :-)

I've only scratched the surface of this community networking system but wow..... what a beauty.
Hip hip - Hooray!
2011-06-23
Reviews: 2
This is a superb extension backed up by an enthusiastic support team. One small compatibility issue with an Artisteer template was fixed promptly. Highly recommended.
2011-06-21
Reviews: 2
jomsocial is the heart and soul of our web site. the updates are easy, support is quick and concise and the component itself is just awesome!

continued updates show that the dev team is serious about keeping this as one of the best components available for joomla! today.

we are in our second year of running this component and it just keeps getting better. can't wait to get some time to be able to help them develop it even more - we have so many more ideas for improvement! :)

we are also using JReviews and the integration between the two is fantastic.

it's not a simple component, but after a bit of time it becomes clear that to anyone with a bit of patience, you have an extremely powerful component at your disposal.

facebook connect encourages even more people to join and our search engine results are all looking good!

thanks jomsocial - you rock!
2011-05-22
Reviews: 1
Upgrading to 2.2.2 (and before to 2.2.1.) I had some problems caused by any wrong settings in my DB. I asked for help in the Jomsocial support-Forum and within two days the problem had been solved. It´s a good tool with a fast team behind...
2011-05-20
Reviews: 1
Often we buy a product and never get time to write a review, now I'm really willing to do it: since 2.2.2 version of JomSocial I starded to see my (little) webcommunity expand, users liked all new features and improvements, and now they are enjoing my site, I too. Sure, a so fully featured community hides always some little bug, not easy at all to manage it, but I noted JomSocial staff always offers a good support and everything get a solution. Sure, sometime is annoying to explain problems in a detailed form (when an admin has a problem he would like solution in a flash time, that's not possible) but I noted detailed infos bring always a quicker reply and solution. I hope JomSocial staff will keep updading their product without negleting suggestions and requests coming from people using JS.
2011-05-18
Reviews: 5
For me this component is one of the best components I have used so far. If you are creating a community website then JomSocial is the way to go. It basically covers all basics a community component should have; status updates, photo and video uploads, groups, events, like/dislike, activity stream.

The component makes the members (350+) of my website www.testdriveunlimited.nl come back daily, making new friends, discuss topics in the groups of which they are a member, upload photos and videos. Without JomSocial my community would not have been this active. For me this shows the power of JomSocial.

Yes, the support is not always that great but in general I get my questions answered. The team of moderators is getting bigger and lately I see that support is slightly improving.

Hopefully the development team behind JomSocial will now first focus on stability before they will add new functionality. Also a few more default templates would be great. Especially different colours schemes on the existing templates would help a lot of users to have a better integration with their website. I am using a Rockettheme template and there the fonts and font colours within JomSocial are generally being used from the main (Rockettheme) template.

If I can give potential new users of JomSocial one tip, try not to customize the component too much. For me this works great especially when a new update has been launched. If you are an average Joomla user then you should be able to get the component to work as you want it to work. The backend settings are not rocket science but because of the many settings you should take your time to get the best settings for your site. Just go over them one by one and you should be fine. It is all organized in a logical structure.

I am giving this component 4 stars because stability and support can both be better and hopefully 4 stars is stimulating the JomSocial team to make it 5 stars ;).
Page 3 of 6