The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JomSocial Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
  • This extension inserts a backlink to the developer.
***JOMSOCIAL 3.2.1.4 NOW AVAILABLE***

JomSocial is an award-winning, powerful, social networking component for Joomla! It allows you to create your own Social Network with Photo and Video Gallery, Event Management, Activity Stream and other features that work out of the box. There is no better or more powerful community extension for Joomla!

JomSocial's new version is now stable and is available to download. The new version comes with lots of new features and is responsive. You can see the new demo here:

http://demo.jomsocial.com/demos/

All features in JomSocial are years ahead compared to Joomla's Anahita or Community Builder, Wordpress' BuddyPress or other standalone solutions. JomSocial is designed to quickly build your member base and let them engage in social activities such as making new friends, voicing out opinions, sharing pictures and videos, managing events, or even launching a social revolution.

Creating your own social networking for your niche would greatly benefits your community. Whether you have a website for business community, gamers, sports fans or other online communities, you can free yourself from restrictive social environment and customize your own community with unique features and brand identity.

JomSocial is supported by many template clubs such as Rockettheme, Joomlashack, Joomlart, JoomShaper and many more to provide you endless choices of templates.

JomSocial has hundreds of extensions from third party developers that add more features to your social network and make it unique. This includes paid membership, file uploader, music player, chat system and translation file for various languages.

Don't wait further to experience the best social network built for your site.

http://www.jomsocial.com/pricing

====
(Extension formerly known as "Community")

JomSocial features:

* Responsive design
* Friendship system
* Event Management to manage community activities
* Media sharing with photos and videos gallery.
* Group and Discussions provide customized level of sharing.
* Private communication with friends via private messages
* Postbox to post updates, photos, videos and events.
* 'Like' and 'Comment' on Activity Stream.
* Cross update to and from Facebook.
* Real Time On-site notification (first ever in Joomla!)
* Recurring Events
* Easy to use File Sharing
* Improved content distribution
* Beautiful Featured media

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2010-09-24
Reviews: 2
What can I say that hasn't been said already? JomSocial is a fantastic extension. It adds unique value to any website and it works like a charm with very little setup, config, hacking etc (unlike some extensions which are a nightmare). The support staff has always been responsive in my experience (as long as you are posting your issues in the appropriate places) and beyond that there are plenty of other knowledgeable users on the forum... ready to share what they've learned running a JomSocial site. No Joomla! extension is perfect, but this one sets the bar much higher when it comes to quality. I hope the folks at Azrul continue to develop and support this software for years to come.
2010-09-21
Reviews: 4
There are not too many words to describe this component: if you want a community in your site than this is THE COMPONENT.
I really don't know why people blamed Azrul's support: I always got quite immediate reply to my post in their forum...maybe people are just never happy ! Once again this is the best community component you can find for Joomla and the best thing is that they never stop to release interesting updates. Well done Jomsocial's poeple !
2010-09-14
Reviews: 2
Once we worked only with vBulletin to manage our community. But we soon realised, that the integration into joomla is a pain. So we decided to switch to JomSocial + Kunena, and we were a little bit nervous about the change. But now, as the change is made, we don't regret it for one second. JomSocial is an amazing Joomla component (along with jreviews the best component in my opinion) with lots of features and the integration into kunena is simply awesome. I can't imagine a better solution for our Community and so I recommend everyone who want to create a serious web community with Joomla to buy this outstanding component.
2010-09-02
Reviews: 1
If you're building a community with Joomla, JomSocial is practically your only choise (CB is outdated and looks awful). It has many handy features and facebook-like UI. But, it also has bugs which the support cannot handle (search "SEF issues" / "error 500 - Controller CommunityBrowseController not found", for example). Some things which you'd think that would be simple to change or modify aren't that at all. When the support don't have answer to your problem, they simply leave it unanswered. I haven't got any help from them since I bought the product.
2010-08-25
Reviews: 1
I Must say Azrul has made an awesome component feature rich and is probably the best joomla social component I have used

But as a paying customer I have yet to receive a single bit of support for any of my requests, I would love to see improvements in this area especially since they went GPL and support is there selling point
Owner's reply

Hi there,

Thank you for your kind words. Please use our support forum for all support requests.

Warmest regards,
Irwan
JomSocial Team

2010-08-23
Reviews: 1
I'm using jomsocial on two projects and I'm very happy with it. Only problems I had where related more to me having to get familiar with the components features and settings. Whenever I had larger problems I got fast and friendly support. Even during the weekend.

I would love to get faster access to up to date language files, at least from the most often used languages to keep up with the jomsocial updates. I would strongly recomend to component developers, specialy commercial ones to offer those language packages, even if they would cost something. I'm sure all customers would happily pay a contribution for that service.

Thanks and keep up the great work
2010-08-20
Reviews: 1
I just experienced some fantastic support from the JomSocial team. There were some really strange things going on with my site after and upgrade with links not working etc and Mark helped me out and fixed all the issues.

I've been using JomSocial on a number of sites for quite some time now and after this example of support I'll be happy to continue to upgrade the component into the future.
2010-08-11
Reviews: 1
We've been using this product for a year on a school website. It is very good! The only problems I've experienced have been template related and usually are resolved with the latest version of the template.
Thanks for making this product.
2010-08-11
Reviews: 2
I Have two sites where I use Jomsocial, it work like charm in two langauges. It works very well. When there is a problem the support is available is very helpful. The support forum is very rich, we always have answers to our questions. I think only support it's worth to buy it, you'll not break the head. Very easy to install and configure. You can make a site only with Jomsocial and myBlog of azrul.
2010-07-31
Reviews: 2
Hello All.

I have been working with JomSocial for just over a year now originally launching my site NYCRUNS.COM with version 1.2, upgrading to 1.5, and now the current version 1.8. In that time I am pleased to say I have developed a good relationship with Azrul, the founder, and Mark, the lead developer.

I can say without a doubt JomSocial is the best value I have ever gotten out of a professional development company. The sheer wealth of functionality JomSocial offers is beyond belief, but if it only offered the events application alone it would be worth it to me. New to version 1.8, I have replaced the poorly aging eventlist with this application and am developing plans to expand it into a custom race registration system, allowing NYCRUNS to really develop a solid revenue stream in 2011 (advertising does not cut it). While this is an extreme example of customization, I have found the product to be truly flexible and it seems one is only limited by their own skills. I say this as a non-coder. I rely on 3rd party developers for more than the most simple css and php hacking.

While I cannot speak with any authority on the difficulties of supporting a user base as diverse as that using JS, I can say that the shear range of customizations they deal with and the difficulties of working with non-native English speakers from all over the world must be incredibly challenging. That said, in my experience they go a long long way for their customers. Their work exceed that of any commercial Joomla company I've worked with, including the excellent RocketTheme, a company I've used for several years. Based on a year's worth of interaction in email and on the message boards, I know they have my back. I can give no higher compliment to a business I work with.

Without reservation, I can say that I think JomSocial is the present and the future of Joomla community and social networking. If you have any questions or just want further insight, feel free to email me at slastoe at gmail dot com. In the meantime, I can't wait to see what JomSocial does next.

Thanks
Steve
Owner's reply

Thank you, Steve. We appreciate your time writing above review.

Regards,
Irwan
JomSocial Team

2010-07-28
Reviews: 2
- Rich of features;
- works out of the box;
- quick support from developers.
2010-07-26
Reviews: 13
In my book in 2009 was some info about JomSocial, now one year later I saw there is even all book about JomSocial. This component is powerful, easy to use and now translate. Evens added in v1.8 are very useful. Now the only two options lack: payments or membership and photos voting!
2010-07-26
Reviews: 8
This is the reason why I've stuck with Joomla. Professional commercially driven extensions that I can deliver to my customers.
JomSocial does exactly as it says... allows me to create a full blown community site, is "skinable" and looks great right out of the box.
Further, the amount of 3rd party extensions being developed for this 3rd party extension, just proves the power of JomSocial and Joomla.
Facebook integration is amazingly simple, and the ability to have custom fields in the user profile is fantastic. It's the most expensive extension I've ever used, but worth it.
2010-07-18
Reviews: 1
I have used jomsocial for a loong time now, i cant say that i have been happy with there support or the script.
Supports takes loong time to answer and some times you will not get any answer at all.
The script does not really work as it should, i had problem with it many times, even more then i have with free extensions and it should not be so mutch problem becuse i pay them to get a fully functional script.
This would not have been a problem if it where free like we all now you get what you pay for, but in this case you dont get what you pay for so use free extensions dont waste your money on jomsocial its like trowing them in the trash.
Owner's reply

Hi Vadsbro,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to see you faced difficulty using our product. I'm not sure if you are aware that we provide technical support exclusively in our forum. We have a team of dedicated professionals browsing the forum daily to help users solve unexpected problems. We make sure your money worth any single penny.

Please contact us for any technical issue you might have today here: http://www.jomsocial.com/support.html.

Our tech support team is always here for you.

2010-07-13
Reviews: 5
I like this software, I have purchased the Pro version twice, and have pushed it to clients as a great idea.

Unfortunate I now have a large corporate client that believed me, and had me buy and install it. It worked fine till the upgrade last week. Upon upgrading ... the site died, I was fine to have to re-install and start over but the new package does not install on this system (even with all requirements met).

All that would be fine too if the support was Pro, but it's not. Weekends off, and the forums don't always allow you to post.. but they won't answer emails. I have another client that wants it but I'm hesitant, and they still have not fixed forum access or emailed for support after a week.

So basically, it's great if you don't really need it.
2010-07-01
Reviews: 16
I was a follower of the other ACL extension until I tried Jomsocial for some projects. With its easy Facebook Integration, it was the obvious choice to move platforms. Continued development and support is awesome. Other ACL programs are good for marketing based sites, Jomsocial is the obvious choice for community-based (social networking) Joomla sites.
2010-06-29
Reviews: 12
I think some people has a bit problem paying $ 149 for an extension, i had, but i never regret it. Jomsocial is real slick and pretty easy to configure. Support works fine and most of it works directly. Really recommend, if you gonna buy only one extension, buy Jomsocial.

Improvment areas are:
Color schemes for templates
New features should be better communicated with the community
2009-06-17
Reviews: 1
Don't look here, it is easy to install, and easy to run! I had always feared trying to put up an actual community based site like the one I am working on now, because I thought the installation would be an extreme nightmare, let alone the set up, or actually running it. It has a few quirks as any program does, but this made it so easy I actually am enjoying it.
2009-05-25
Reviews: 1
All you have to do is install and choose the color you want, it was that easy. The only things I wish it would do as part of the package is to invite friends from other social networks and have more applications to install.
2009-04-22
Reviews: 3
I was expecting something that was out of the ordinary, and that the support channels were efficient and fast. And I am very pleased to say that I was not disappointed on any point.

The component it self does just what it is supposed to do: Create a community for your website, let your users interact and connect with each other.

Their support forum is very efficient. My first support request was answered within 24 hrs and one of their support staff was on my site to explore the error within the same time. Second request was solved within the same time limit and my 3rd request was also solved within 24 hrs within posting the issue.

And even after all my whining posts on the forums the support staff still remained polite and helpful. This component is highly recommended from me and my users!
Page 5 of 6