The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JomSocial Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
  • This extension inserts a backlink to the developer.
***JOMSOCIAL 3.2.1 NOW AVAILABLE***

JomSocial is an award-winning, powerful, social networking component for Joomla! It allows you to create your own Social Network with Photo and Video Gallery, Event Management, Activity Stream and other features that work out of the box. There is no better or more powerful community extension for Joomla!

JomSocial's new version 3.2.1 is now stable and is available to download. The new version comes with lots of new features and is responsive. You can see the new demo here:

http://demo3.jomsocial.com/demos/

All features in JomSocial are years ahead compared to Joomla's Anahita or Community Builder, Wordpress' BuddyPress or other standalone solutions. JomSocial is designed to quickly build your member base and let them engage in social activities such as making new friends, voicing out opinions, sharing pictures and videos, managing events, or even launching a social revolution.

Creating your own social networking for your niche would greatly benefits your community. Whether you have a website for business community, gamers, sports fans or other online communities, you can free yourself from restrictive social environment and customize your own community with unique features and brand identity.

JomSocial is supported by many template clubs such as Rockettheme, Joomlashack, Joomlart, JoomShaper and many more to provide you endless choices of templates.

JomSocial has hundreds of extensions from third party developers that add more features to your social network and make it unique. This includes paid membership, file uploader, music player, chat system and translation file for various languages.

Don't wait further to experience the best social network built for your site.

http://www.jomsocial.com/pricing

====
(Extension formerly known as "Community")

JomSocial features:

* Responsive design
* Friendship system
* Event Management to manage community activities
* Media sharing with photos and videos gallery.
* Group and Discussions provide customized level of sharing.
* Private communication with friends via private messages
* Omnibox to post updates, photos, videos and events.
* 'Like' and 'Comment' on Activity Stream.
* Facebook friend inviter.
* Cross update to and from Facebook.
* On-site notification (first ever in Joomla!)
* Recurring Events
* Easy to use File Sharing
* Improved content distribution
* Beautiful Featured media
* Compatible with Zoo and Widgetkit

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2009-03-19
Reviews: 1
This is definitely the addition most sites need to be complete. JomSocial allows user interaction with a very simple GUI. Any user can figure out the interface since it competes with the top players like Facebook, Hi5, etc.

I have been an user since the first release and the support and follow up are great. Their support sites keeps you up to date on latest fixes and releases as well as component enhancements.

SEO works out of the box with this product.
2009-03-14
Reviews: 2
We switched from another community component that shall remain nameless o JomSocial last month and have not looked back.

We run a new sports community and this component has catapulted us into another level. Our users LOVE this and it has that addictive FaceBook feel to it. We integrated MyBlog and JomComment and it flat out just works.

Their support is great and they are constantly looking for ways to improve. I cannot see how this won't be THE best addition to any Joomla site that wants to have a serious community and not something with some "clunky" add-ons.

CANNOT recommend this enough...well done Azrul and team.
2009-03-05
Reviews: 1
Because this is an awesome extension! And it will soak you in for hours connecting with members of your site, and setting up groups and discussions, and uploading pics, and playing with templates and all of the applications!

Clearly well thought out. While they are releasing fixes daily it just shows the level of their dedication, and I wish I could say they were JUST fixing bugs...but many updates tends to include some fantastic new feature.

So don't buy it unless you are ready to see your site grow!
2009-03-03
Reviews: 2
JomSocial along with JomComment and MyBlog are items I've added to several sites now. I'll never go back. In fact, I've found the software to be far more configurable than rivals far more expensive. I also found that the one or two small things I couldn't figure out on my own - they got back to me pretty fast. (As the trainer for a large ISP CS division, I'm picky with that stuff too). I'm really happy with the results and will continue to push it on my own clients, the benefits are fabulous.
2009-03-03
Reviews: 2
This is a brilliant component and will really bring joomla alive. The Azrul team have worked very hard to get this right. The possibilities for 3rd party plugins are there. This will grow in to a valuable asset for your site. The support team have been brilliant in the forum. 30 day money back guarantee too if you are not happy.
2009-03-01
Reviews: 2
My firm purchased this product for a site redux and installed it on a demo server for the clients review. Both the client and myself are very impressed at the added value this component provides to our project. It's price performance ratio can not be beat for a Joomla add on. This system does the best job of any I have seen in bringing your website members or clients together in a meaningful social fashion, making it super fun at the same time.

As a fellow developer I sifted through the code before installing and found it solidly constructed and well commented. One heavy requirement I had from my client was for a bit of iPhone communication. I was easily able to figure out what the JomSocial code was doing and extend the API into the Apple mobile device line with little trouble.

I would recommend the JomSocial component to any serious development firm for use in their own client projects. The developer Azrul has been in the Joomla business for a while and is not going anywhere any time soon. Many other projects start off well and disappear quicker then expected. I do not expect that to be the case here. Also been following the plugins for this component and that list is growing, so they are definitely committed. The crew has been responsive on their forums which is another important factor for our choice.

I hope to see this project prosper well into the future. System architecture rock solid. I like it.

Thanks for producing this!
2009-03-01
Reviews: 1
I've been using some of Azrul's components for awhile now and just recently installed the commercial version of JomSocial and although it's a mere adolescent in terms of Joomla extensions it is starting to prove itself.

I really hate writing reviews for stuff because I feel obligated to give them positive feedback even if it isn't really a great product. This isn't a problem with JomSocial because it is starting to impress me and it's just a baby.

I can't wait to see it more tightly integrated with MyBlog and there are some search issues that could be addressed but otherwise it's a great component to help you build a nice community based site.

Pricing is a bit steep but all-in-all it doesn't feel bad to have spent so much money on it with the possibilities it will offer in the near future.

If you are an author of a Joomla add on please consider developing a plugin for JomSocial it rocks!!!

Thanks to out to Azrul and his crew for producing some great products!
2009-02-28
Reviews: 49
I purchased Joomsocial Pro back when it was first released to see if it would work for a company intranet site I was building. I haven't used it yet because I'm waiting on the right project to come along before committing the license since it's tied to a single server.

While this component has great potential, it still lacks greatly when it comes to plugins and community support compared to Community Builder.

For the Intranet project we were hidred to build, we used CB because JommSocial Pro hadn't been battle tested in a corporate environment and LDAP support is sketchy at best. That didn't worry me as much as not having the Lists feature that CB has. Without lists, there is no way to create the equivalent of a company directory like we have done with CB without adding significant costs to the project.

Right now we see CB as the product of choice for internal company sites with heavy requirements and JSP for light weight social sites.

Upside:

I am confident this outlook (hopeful) will change over the next year and look forward to all products maturing. The cool thing about this space in Joomla is that competition is heating up!

We now have CB, Joomsocial, Joomunity and Jcommunity.. wow..

Let the best product(s) win!
2009-02-28
Reviews: 1
This component is a must have for your community. It is a great piece of work and will greatly increase social interaction in your community.

Though it still has its "incomplete" side, the team is quickly improving this and hopefully more features will be added.

Another + aswell is custom applications can be made by other developers with quite easy.

I was able to make a few applications without much PHP knowledge (though I can program in other languages ;-) )

I would recommend this to everyone who builds his site based on a community!
2009-02-28
Reviews: 6
I bought this extension as soon as it was released. I think that this extension is a true social networking software that actually promotes your site visitors and users to interact with each other. This component is a lot like Facebook and if you are looking to add Facebook style functionality and features to your Joomla website then this is the software to get.
I love the API for adding applications to this software. It allows the component to be expanded in a limitless amount of ways. I think that once this component matures it will be the one to use on all social networking sites.
I also like the front end interface and the component looks great on most any website without much tweaking.
I also really like the way that you can implement your own templates for the component or easily tweak the CSS of the existing ones to better meet the needs of your own website.

Thanks Azrul for a wonderful app that has now filled a void that Joomla has had for a long time.
Page 6 of 6