The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Extra Vote Plugin

Extra Vote not only provides the ajax five-star rating feature to your Joomla content, but it allows you to insert those beautiful voting stars anywhere else inside of your article independently, so your users can rate specific parts of it, just by adding {extravote 1}, {extravote 2}, {extravote 3}, etc, in order to id every piece of content you want people to rate.

Version updates:

For Joomla 2.5 and 3.+ only:
• 2.5.4: Adding the aggregateRating property according to Google Structured Data.
• 2.5.3: Show/Hide current rating until they have voted.
• 2.5.2: Possibility to hide the stars in blog views.
• 2.5.1: Enabling half stars (or not).
• 2.5.0: New option to show the average rating.

• 1.3: Possibility to allow only registered users to vote.
• 1.2: New {mainvote} code to also show the main content rating inside of your article. Show/Hide counter option.

Report Extension

 

 

2012-08-23
Reviews: 5
Really simple and nice.
I Can't give more than 5 satrs :)
Big thanks
2012-08-08
Reviews: 1
I install extra vote, the stars appear. But when I vote the loading appear but when it finish the vote still on zero, until I manually refresh the browser, and not insert anything in tables
2012-08-06
Reviews: 3
it works like a charm in joomla 1.5 but unfortunately it doesnt work in joomla 2.5 even if its listed as an extension that works in joomla 2.5
2012-07-16
Reviews: 2
Really good job!
thank you!
2012-05-27
Reviews: 8
I was able to have stars in Google results, related with hreview-aggregate, by editing extravote.php, displaying Votes.
Please make it possible to have a module with extravote, that way, it can be added to any other component, besides articles.
Stars can be easily changed by editing png image file.
This is excellent plugin.
2012-05-25
Reviews: 1
Listed as 2.5 yet fails to work with it, limited documentation also does little help. While I did get this working for a previous installation of Joomla! - The fact it is listed as 2.5 when it clearly does not work for it is wrong.
2012-05-17
Reviews: 3
great extension. take seconds to configure.
thank you guys for listing it free
2012-05-04
Reviews: 5
The developer has better documentation than many paid addons I've used. And he built this one well. I was sold when I realized he had an option to turn off the css file include to make the site more efficient. I wish more developers would do that in their addons.

It took me 5 minutes to download, configure, and get this working on my website.
2012-04-13
Reviews: 1
I installed it (on 1.5.X) and it works great although not on IE6 (when I submit a vote, the loading keeps "rolling" endlessly, and when I refresh the page the vote wasn't taken into account)

other than that it easy to use and with some little improvement it could be perfect, such as :
-adding the possiblity to change the stars sprites via config
-adding the possibility to better position the main extravotes via config (right now we can only position it under the title or after content but it's always on the left)
-adding the possibility for multivotes (after a certain period of time)
2012-04-03
Reviews: 2
Good extension, used it while on J1.5.
Now on J2.5 with K2 installed not working. Not sure if it is supposed to work though, if it supports k2 in the future I will use it again!
2012-02-18
Reviews: 1
well I tried for an hour or so to make it work in joomla 2.5 ( which is listed as being supported) but it doesn't appear in my articles. Not sure what else I should be doing, I went through the documentation.
2012-01-18
Reviews: 2
This is good in the range of free staff , that's bcoz other competent use o huge js o other libraries and has problem with other js libraries this plugin just work fine , speedy and light
grate thanks to author
2012-01-11
Reviews: 7
Does all it says, easy to install and use. Plus if you have issues the support is efficient and quick. Recommended as a much more appealing voting system!
2011-12-29
Reviews: 2
I wonder how can i make this great plugin compatible with Google Ratings, to display stars on search results
2011-12-14
Reviews: 5
Does what it says on the tin!

Great little plugin.
2011-10-24
Reviews: 5
ursitesion is absolutely right. I faced this issue too. When you click vote it save it and show it, but when you clicked again it decreases vote and show message "You already voted"
fix it please.
Owner's reply

Hi,

I have fixed this issue. Please try the current version.

Thank you!

2011-10-12
Reviews: 1
Perfect, simple and easy. Install and use.

For when the same plugin with option to put 10 stars instead of 5???
2011-09-21
Reviews: 2
I have installed this plugin but i am unable to display it, i want to display below the music section on my website can anyone help me.. my website is www.djremixtown.com please check the website and help me in any way. thanks
Owner's reply

Hi, this extension only works for com_content, joomla's normal articles. I see you are using other components, so I think that's the reason why.

2011-09-13
Reviews: 6
Thanks to Vargas for this easy and powerful extension but it would be great to be able to sort articles by votes for exemple to sort articles of a specified category by number of votes.

Thanks a lot again for this extension.
2011-08-30
Reviews: 2
I never was about to make an account for this website, but after downloading this system I did. I think Extravote is a good plug-in, for several reasons:

The application is pretty simple, installation is done in a couple of seconds. Because of the ‘few features’ it allows your website to be more unique. As a website developer you can ‘change’ the scripts to fit into your template.
You can change the language, so it’s not only for English sites (like somebody posted here). After downloading open the .RAR file. You’ll see three maps and three files. Click on the map called “language”. After clicking on the map, click on the next map: “en-GB”. Now you’ll see three files. Double click on the last file called: “en-GB.plg_content_extravote.ini”. (Open it in Word or Notepad or any other text editor).

The first three lines are a basic note from the developer. After the three lines you’ll see a white rule and then there is a list of different commands. The plug-in has different ‘command names’ linking to a ‘simple’ word. (This is for the users: they will only see the short/simple word).

The short word is always between “ “. This is the word that will be shown. You can change this word to whatever you want or translate it to your language. This will allow you, as an admin, to change the language of the plug-in. After updating the plug-in, refresh the page using the plug-in.
I must say that I only miss one small thing about this plug-in: it would be a real ‘thumbs up’ when the team made an extra option where there is the possibility that sub-votes has influence on the main-vote.

I’ll illustrate it:

The situation: you got a movie review and you want to give your visitors the chance to vote for it. You make subcategories like actors, music, movie mistakes, acting, … You allow your visitors to vote for all these subcategories. After they’ve voted it would be cool that the plug-in counts a ‘global’ vote for the movie.

Global vote (counted by the plug-in, visitors cannot vote here)
Actors: O O O X O (4 stars)
Acting: O O X O O (3 stars)
Music: O O O O X (5 stars)
Mistakes: O O O X O (4 stars)

After they have voted for the four subcategories the plug-in counts:
VOTE 1 = 4
VOTE 2 = 3
VOTE 3 = 5
VOTE 4 = 4
VOTE_COUNT = 4 (you’ve to vote for 4 things)
(VOTE 1 + VOTE 2 + VOTE 3 + VOTE 4)/VOTE_COUNT
4+3+5+4/4
16/4
Result: VAR = 4

Now the plug-in has automatically counted the global ‘vote/number/stars’ for this movie.

Only an idea for a future update.
Good download, worth downloading.

- Sorry for my bad English, Belgium.
Page 2 of 5