The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

BlastChat ComponentModule

Editor's Note
  • Includes visible advertising for developer. Free limited to 10 concurrent chats.
BlastChat is a live communication hosting service designed for website communities from the smallest personal websites to the huge megasites who desire to provide their members and visitors with a live online communication experience.

Four interfaces - Bar, Chat, Shout and Mobile.

Implemented as a Web 2.0 application and hosted on our servers, BlastChat delivers fast and reliable communication solution to your website without heavy load on your server, without worries about bandwidth and with no system level administration needs on your end.

You do not have to be a computer programmer or system administrator to implement professional chat. BlastChat installs in minutes, requires no coding on your part and your chat rooms can be up and running TODAY!

BlastChat is the perfect solution for general community chatting, online moderated interviews or teaching sessions, customer support or any other use you might need, whether you need to communicate with a single person or hundreds.

More about BlastChat features can be found at our homepage.

(Editor's note is incorrect)

Report Extension



Reviews: 2
the ext work well but i have some question regarding api, but cant send mail to support sell or any of them, too bad
Owner's reply

We have "Contact Us" form on our website. Do you have problem with that form?

Reviews: 2
Hi, i want to know how to translate words in frontend, because i saw in your language documentation that we need to put name of language (ex: fr) parameters to fr.js instead of en.js, but i tried to see content of en.js and i found that this file don't contain all the words that i want to translate, for exemple "members", "guests" etc.
I hope you help me or give me the optimal way to do transtaltion to the frontend interface of your awesome component !
Thanx in advance.
Owner's reply

All the words available for translation are listed on our website under Support/Configuration/languages section.

The "members" or "guests" are group names and those can be adjusted in the groups.js file (detailed explanation in the Support/Configuration/groups.js), specifically the "" parameter.

Reviews: 3
Really, its a solution for joomla chat. its really great to have one like this. i was searching for an extension like this one so we can have chat option on my site. try it...
Reviews: 7
I started off thinking this is a FREE chat, NO Its NOT. Its should not be listed under Non Commercial section. They are just trying to promote the product but listing it as FREE and then proving very very limited number of users.
You get a 7 day Trial and after that you are allowed just 10 USERS ONLY CHAT LIMIT. You need to pay hundred to six hundred dollars per year for more.
10 user chat limit is useless for most users and is an eyewash.
The chat as such is good but they force you to accept while registering - "I will add a Blast chat link on my front page".

Summary - Chat is good but is too expensive. It would have been good if they increase concurrent chatters to 50 for free version then I would have given 5 stars. Limit of 10 users makes it useless for me so I have to give it ONE star.

NOTE: I have seen replies where they just deny it all. They might reply to this saying NO its totally FREE and all but check the product fully. I wasted my time installing this only to realize it not FREE.
Reviews: 1
I'm using Blastchat 3.6 on Joomla 2.5, works no problem on my site. This chat is great because it allows you to these things (and more) for FREE:

- auto-integrate with your joomla users
- makes the chat private for guests (if you want to)
- gives you total moderation control
- looks very solid, and functions properly
- total controls over the logs

IMPORTANT: All the best words for Mr. Peter Saitz and blastchat crew, who provided me swift and detailed support on the configuration AND implementation of the chat into my site (although it wasn't that connected to the chat). All compliments to responding in less then hour on most mails.

I believe placing blastchat link on the site is quite a fair thing to do considering you can use it for free, considering the effort these guys put into it. Payed version is very fairly priced, and has great options too.

NOTE: I had a problem of placing user login form on the same menu/page as the chat. If you logoff from the same page, chat will report an error, because joomla keeps the data while you're still on page. I solved it by removing the login form from the chat window page. Hope it helps you.

Reviews: 23
For a client i was looking for a better chat solution as their current one at the time was a big and heavy loader. The best solution was a hosted one as iits their main goal...running chat applications. To my opinion the blastchat is the best. Support was great en the chat is even better than just great. But this chat comes in a variaty of setups.. My client picked a paid average version and is happy and thats what counts.
Reviews: 1
I really appreciate the timely responses from the support group.., not that it was necessary. I've been a Blastchat fan for a very long time and have used it since inception, and I must say -if you haven't used the new component -you are missing out. The support is excellent. I actually made a friend, which makes me very happy! This is the best chat solution for Joomla 1.6 (thats what I use). To the team, you really have outdone yourselves!
Reviews: 1
I am very pleasantly surprised by the support for this extension. Boost problems were resolved quickly and efficiently.
I use BC locally on Intranet and it works really great.
in addition chat is light on the site, installation and setup are very easy.
Reviews: 7
This is Perfect for my Website! There really is nothing like this for joomla. Not with all the options this has. It has soooo many features, I can make it do just about anything!
Not to mention the prompt unmatched service! I have never had service like this from any module i have downloaded. He took the time needed to get this thing running the way i wanted! Thank you

Blessings be upon you and your great company.
BlastChat for the win.
Reviews: 2
I have tried several chat software products, but Blastchat certainly did it for our requirements. Easy to install and get going. We did have a very strange (it WAS really strange). Support was quickly in response and we quickly located the problem through online means. This product is worth the support alone! Thanks Peter!
Reviews: 1
This chat works really well. Installation is easy. The setup is easy.
It's very light on the site. The GUI is nice. Blastchat support is very very good and will help you for any problems very quickly.
Reviews: 1
As a complete novice and not a techie, I had the most amazing support from people at BlastChat! The extension works beautifully and the support is top notch. Highly recommended!
Reviews: 9
I've been looking for a chat solution for some time now that (1) looks good, (2) runs fast, (3) will please users, and (4) doesn't require Flash, so can be used on a smartphone.

Blastchat is a great component/module/plugin pack, once you're set up its very easy to work out and runs itself. I had a small 'bug', which I went to the forum to fix, the admin/developer saw my post within 20 mins, asked me for a URL, and come joined me on my site!

He diagnosed my version was out of date in seconds, and hung around whilst I updated it. This fixed the problem instantly, and my users DIDN'T EVEN LOSE THE CONNECTION whilst it updated!! Just a refresh, away we go.

I cannot thank him enough, and cannot recommend it enough.

One thing I'd LOVE to see - an IRC connector so we could self host! That would ROCK. Oh and an iPhone skin!

Give it a try, you won't regret it.
Reviews: 1
I have downloaded hundreds of components on Joomla and like many of them, however I have never felt the need to actually rate one. After having a terrible experience with Chatroll, I searched around and saw very few options. Fortunately, I found BlastChat!
It has been a godsend to our business and our web site! Our members rave about the chat room, it never goes down or gives me problems, and when I email ChatBlast they respond in a professional and timely manner.
This is by far the best Joomla chat component out there and I would never even consider using another one.
Don’t waste your time and money with the others, just download this one!
Reviews: 3
I have to say, there really wasn't much out there for Joomla chat solutions that was impressive or suitable for what we wanted to do on our website. I had narrowed it down to chatroll, which i installed first, and blastchat. Having installed chatroll, i then proceeded to install blastchat and was instantly impressed by the fit and finish. It was a perfect fit for out site. Bye bye chatroll. Peter gave incredible support, spending almost 2 hours going thru some different things and making sure it all functioned like I wanted. It felt like personalized support, which is rare but for a currently free product? That's simply amazing. Kudos to Peter, a web admin himself, for understanding what we want in a chat module and delivering. The price point and flexibility will be awesome once the beta period is over too. Hosted chat solutions, while they can get costly, are a better alternative than having to pay for a dedicated server webhosting account. At least for our applications. If you're looking for a Joomla chat solution, you DEFINITELY need to take a look at Blastchat. Tell Peter that John in Fort Myers, FL sent you!
Reviews: 1
In order to use this service, they force you to agree to "I will create visible URL link to BlastChat component on my frontpage and allow public access to chat" before you can register your website.

The module is useless. It doesn't figure out who is actually in chat, but who is online on the website, then gives you a little light-up smilie if that user is in chat.

I'm getting pretty desperate for a chat client for my site, but not so desperate to continue using this one... sorry. I'm only looking because some of my users are having issues with jPFChat loading.
Owner's reply

Dear Sir, let us respond to each of your paragraphs individually:

1. what you wrote is incorrect, we require that you create public access to BlastChat component, not to chat itself. The chat administration allows you to fully configure access to chat and rooms (disable guests, etc).

2. this concerns BlastChat WhoIsOnline module (which does not belong under this extension and should not be included in the review), but let me explain module functionality: module does figure out who is online, on top of it it figures out who is chatting. To present online and chatting members, it is natural to show all online usernames and indicate by a smilie usernames of members who are chatting. Of course, module configuration can be adjusted so that it only shows usernames of members who are chatting (not all online members) and smilie can be removed also. (So, module can do and does exactly what your complain about module uselessness was all about)

3. we understand your frustration and we are sorry you judged BlastChat too quickly without either exploring BlastChat features and options more deeply or consulting us about your website chat system requirements and needs. We are always ready and happy to assist in such requests.

To sum it up, based on your review we do not understand why only 2 stars vote would be appropriate as you did not list any real functionality problems. We hope you will take a second look at BlastChat and form new, hopefully better, opinion.

with best regards
BlastChat team

Reviews: 1
Blastchat is a good product. I was able to install it and sign onto to it quick, this will be very useful to my web site.
Reviews: 1
easy to install. This is the best chat for joomla that i saw. The support is great. I have no problem at all with it. Five stars PLUS !!!
Reviews: 1
really easy installation in less then 5 minutes you have working your chatrooms in your joomla! site.
the best thing is the support! really good people are working for this extension, and gives the best support to users. im planing to susbscribe... thans you guys!
Reviews: 1
I installed the free version and used it for several days. A couple problems.

Users and flagged as inactive after a couple minutes of inactivity and there is no option to change this. It may be an option in the paid version, don't know.

No option to change the audible notification.

I left several messages in the support forum and received no reply.

I set my chat room up as 100% private and not published. Out of the blue, some guy from Bolivia starts chatting with me and informs me that the room is published.

I uninstalled for security reasons. It's impossible to know who had what kind of access to my site via this component.
Owner's reply

I apologize that we did not update information here, announcing that we are in a process of beta testing our new web 2.0 chat implementation, that is only reason why you experienced some problems.

1. users flagged as inactive: you are referring to a module (not chat), this was due to a small error in our code, as well as small error in your configuration of the chat. It is working correctly now. Thank you for pointing it out.

2. you can turn on/off audible notifications (changing the sound itself is not yet implemented)

3. you left 1 forum message and sent 1 email to us. Because we are in a process of upgrading our website, forum has been disabled. But, we did responded to your email (twice) with no response yet.

4. joining blastchat network, your rooms are visible to chatters of other websites. We did not activate "access features" yet, i.e. options to disable access, these settings were visible in Config area by a mistake.

5. no one has access to your website over this component, they can only enter your rooms (but on other hand it is completely free with no limits during this period). We would appreciate if you would explore our BlastChat Client code before you post such an accusation.

If you respond to my email, we will be happy to go into details on the chat implementation, as well as help you set it up correctly, tuned to your needs (like we did for thousands webadmins before you)

Peter Saitz

Page 1 of 4