The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


BlastChat ComponentModule

Editor's Note
  • Includes visible advertising for developer. Free limited to 10 concurrent chats.
BlastChat is a live communication hosting service designed for website communities from the smallest personal websites to the huge megasites who desire to provide their members and visitors with a live online communication experience.

Four interfaces - Bar, Chat, Shout and Mobile.

Implemented as a Web 2.0 application and hosted on our servers, BlastChat delivers fast and reliable communication solution to your website without heavy load on your server, without worries about bandwidth and with no system level administration needs on your end.

You do not have to be a computer programmer or system administrator to implement professional chat. BlastChat installs in minutes, requires no coding on your part and your chat rooms can be up and running TODAY!

BlastChat is the perfect solution for general community chatting, online moderated interviews or teaching sessions, customer support or any other use you might need, whether you need to communicate with a single person or hundreds.

More about BlastChat features can be found at our homepage.

(Editor's note is incorrect)

Report Extension

 

 

2009-11-12
Reviews: 1
Well after looking at other chats and what they did I wasn't expecting much from a freebie. Was I surprised the install went well, configuration good, couldn't figure out one thing, but I wasn't worried.

So tonight I'm in the chat waiting around for a friend and who shows up? The designer, I thought I was in trouble or something, haha. He was just there to help and see how things were going. I told him my problem and in 1 minute it was fixed.

Great program great support, hell they make chat room calls. LOL. 5 big stars from me.

Seth
2009-07-23
Reviews: 6
This is a very good and integrated chat, that simply works.

The usage is easy, and also de administration, recommended if you want to install a chat on your joomla site.
2009-06-23
Reviews: 2
This extension is the only one I could find that meets my client's two biggest requirements - it can show in the main page instead of a popup (unless you want a popup) and it can have ads placed on it.

It installed no problem and when I ran into a small glitch because of another extension on my site, Peter answered my email within minutes and did what it took to get me setup... And on a Free account, at that.

Both the support and the extension are great and they are striving to make it even better.
2009-06-18
Reviews: 2
I did a bit of looking around for extensions for integrating chat capabilities into the site. I considered just wrapping irc from one of my servers or something akin to that schemata.

When I happened upon BlastChat I liked the idea of not tying up my resources and simply embedding a client - but with almost granular management features from the joom backend and native to Joom 1.5 w/user integration and management too!

hm.. a while later I get a few notices about some spurious problems with the site. Apparently, the install/upload was slightly botched due to a connectivity local to my worksatation - didn't find this out till later.

I didn't flame or come off half cocked like the guy below, I posted a thorough assessment of my issue to the support forum satting that I had to be back up soon or I'd be forced to run a restore.

Well, I figure that's about it for a day or so, yet while I was idling in the BlastChat client a visitor popped in - Administrator!

um... Wait, that's me!!! Oh, it's a BlastChat admin, and it's been less than five minutes since my post.

The developer was not only prompt, but went ABOVE and BEYOND to fix my site's database and set everything up correctly! Within 45 minutes of noticing the problem we were stylin' again!

The guy in the review below obviously perceives his needs to be a requirement with a different model of implementation. So he wants to have the chat service running on the same box - that's kewl too, but I'm very happy with the BlastChat model - it scales seamlessly as you grow.

We're very happy with this product! Thanks Peter!

Kindest regards,

Bradley

.
2009-05-26
Reviews: 1
This is a very good extension!

I was a little bit worried about the "warning" that it takes up much recourses on the server but this far I have not seen any problem or high utilization of memory or CPU.

Thanks for your good work!

-Andrew
2009-04-24
Reviews: 1
Hey @all
so BlastChat is the best Chat Component for Joomla I've ever seen. Configuration is easy and the chat module works fast.
I've some problems with the installation, but the support from BlastChat is the best support I've ever seen.

5 Stars from me!!!

BadBoy2603
2009-04-09
Reviews: 2
In a matter of minutes, I had BlastChat installed on two sites. It makes the other chat extensions pale in comparison!

The chat is fast! All the different addons allow me to customize the chat to my own needs and expand them as my own site grows.

When I had some questions, Peter answered within moments and provided very clear and concise answers.

I highly recommend BlastChat for both small and large sites and commercial and non-commercial sites!
2009-03-25
Reviews: 2
I installed blastchat and had some trouble with my installation. After a support request in the bc forum, Peter the developer of BC took contact. He got the passwords and usernames to my server and upgraded module and component to work in my installation on the fly! He spent several hours to help me. After a couple of days everything worked perfectly, with module showing gender, chat and link to CB profile.

Blastchat is an excellent choice of chat component, all the action happens at the bc server so you don't have to worry about use of memory. For a small amount you get exactly what you are paying for. The support forum is excellent with fast answers and sollutions from Peter.

If all commercial developers were as dedicated to support and development as Peter, I would be in heaven.

Thx Peter!
2009-02-16
Reviews: 1
I've just installed BlastChat Client Version 3.0 for my website powered by Joomla just yesterday.

i'm not really well-versed in any technical web programming/designing/developing, so i was thinking i'm gonna have a really difficult time downloading and installing blastchat for my website.

but it was easy to install and configure to my surprise!!! that's because, everytime you hit a sticking point, you just go into their forums, type in your concern/problem, then after around 10 minutes tops, the administrator of blastchat himself will address your problem promptly and very precisely!!!! he was there in every step of the process of installation and configuration so i didn't have any problems at all! i thought it was going to take weeks before i get a reply in the forums about my concerns, but I WAS AMAZED by the FAST AND EFFICIENT SERVICE by the ADMINISTRATORS!

plus the features of the chat are great. this will be a great addition to any joomla operated website and highly recommended by yours truly.

the management and administration is very efficient, so any bug in the component will easily be addressed. one of the best chat components you can find out there!
2009-02-07
Reviews: 3
This is a great component. However be prepared to spend around $100 to get the full use of it. The free version is very limited. But other than the fees this is a great especially for sites w/heavy chatters.
2009-02-05
Reviews: 1
I just installed BC3.0 for Joomla 1.5 Native. I had a couple of problems loading the chat and configuring the template (mainly my own problems). The owner spent a whole half day working with me to sort them out. I have never experienced such great support.

The component itself is great. Easy to install and configure. Integrated well with my site. The Detach function is very useful. And it works perfectly well in IE, which was a major problem I had with JPF chat.

I definitely recommend this component!
2008-07-10
Reviews: 1
This chatroom software was fantastic for a free and easy to integrate into joomla product. However the owners have, for whatever reason, decided to move this to a semi-commercial product.

Yes they can still technically call it "free" but if you take the free option be aware it now doesnt integrate with your Joomla database (which to me means it isnt a proper joomla addon) and so all your members are forced to be "guests" and make up usernames. Also to be aware off is these are no longer private chatrooms but allow any of the blastchat users to enter your chatroom with no moderation whatsoever.

Obviously if you choose the subscription method you will obtain a lot of the previous free features back and also include joomla integration as well, but having looked around there are several chat software programmes that integrate into Joomla for the same price as Blastchat but offer dozens more features and customisation than this. Even if you want a basic free chatroom, there are much better options available.

Up until the recent changes in policy this was THE best free chat that fitted into Joomla without too much editing. But now, with the removal of joomla database integration on the free service, it isnt really worth the time or effort installing when you are better off just looking at other free chat services that are much better.

Before I would have given the product 8/10 but now i give it 3/10. Only install if you are not prepared to look around for another free chat software and willing to put in some patience with the sometimes difficult installation process.
Owner's reply

Our free version was recently adjusted and now it includes free username integration as well as basic moderation (kick/ban for admins).

2008-07-10
Reviews: 1
everyone on my website loved this chat, but from now on, using this chat comes at a price - if you need certain features, that is.
having banners removed, disabling global features and more now are subscription features which cost 10.99$ each.
you can still use this for free, but you'll have to accept that your rooms and website will now be globally visible to the blastchat community.
Owner's reply

To be more precise, our introductory pricing is $10.99/year, which is less then a $1 a month (we were always open about our future plans to make certain features subscription based, so this should not be a very big surprise). Basic chat remains free.

2008-06-23
Reviews: 9
Well its really easy to configure, and works without problems. If you need a good chat application for joomla this is it. The only micro problem (that you can learn to fix) is that we need more templates to change the chat appearance. there are already a few, but if the community joins and make a few more it will be great!
Owner's reply

You can try and use CSS auto option - current template (Find it in Server side COnfiguration under Config) - BlastChat tries to pick your CSS definitions automatically from your current template used, not always to perfect result. Or you can always adjust your current template CSS file or download existing CSS from our website and adjust those.

2008-06-19
Reviews: 1
Very easy to handle. Makes a lot of fun. I am very happy with this chat. Thank you.
2008-05-12
Reviews: 1
this is the firs time that i m writting a rewiev for a component. This component is exactly perfect. easy to install and configure. everyone who looks for a perfect chat component must be install this.

Many thanks from turkiye to
Sincerely
Peter Saitz
2008-05-01
Reviews: 1
So I had a few glitches with the installation of this program. You see, I know just enough about website building to be a danger to mayself. Not really a problem though in this instance.. The knowledgeable people at Blastchat support forums http://www.blastchat.com had me on the way in no time.

So far I love the layout and the ease of use in the back end. (no dirty jokes please).

I recommend this component for websites. I am using Joomla 1.5.
2008-04-29
Reviews: 22
Very nice for creating some private (or public) chat rooms on your site. Very neat. Thankyou
2008-04-14
Reviews: 2
Hi all,
My Company was looking for a really cool chat component for our Company website,and discovered Blast Chat. At first I was uncertain that this was only for use on an noncommercial website.
To make certain we subsequently contacted the developer Peter Saitz for copyright advice and I was AMAZED at the quick response,and he was to reassure us that there was no problem in using his component.

Anyhow this wonderful little software gem is easy to install and completely user friendly to configure...What more do you want!

BRILLIANT WORK AND THANK YOU PETER...IF ONLY ALL PEOPLE IN THE WORLD WERE THE SAME.
2008-04-02
Reviews: 10
Don't be fooled by what the other guy said about banners and ads and stuff like that. You can turn that stuff off with the click of 2 or 3 radio buttons and put your own stuff there if you want to.

It installs very easily as advertised although I couldn't find any instructions on how to do the setup. Very easy to figure out. I was half asleep when I did it!
I wanted a chat localized to my website and didn't want to be hooked into a global chat and only wanted my registered users to have access to. It accomplished exactly what I wanted.

I finally figured out that you have to create a new menu item for it to be displayed. Couldn't find a plugin or module after the install!

Anyway, It has been working very nicely without a problem. Finally, a chat component for 1.5
Page 2 of 4