The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


uddeIM Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

uddeIM allows users of your community to send Private Messages to each other (note that uddeIM is not a webmail component nor an email client). uddeIM wants to be simple and easy-to-use but it offers all the features you need in a Private Messaging System (PMS).

uddeIM is available in 34 languages. It integrates seamless with Community Builder, Joomlaboard, AlphaUserPoints, Fireboard, Kunena, JomSocial, Joo!CM, Agora, and Ninjaboard.

uddeIM runs on Joomla 1.0, 1.5 native, 1.5 legacy, 1.6, 1.7, 2.5, 3.0, 3.1, 3.2, and 3.3.

The list of features is endless and includes features like:
* Public Frontend,
* File attachments,
* Local-, Global-, Restricted Distribution Lists,
* General- and System-Messages,
* RSS Message Feed,
* Autocomplete Names,
* Popup and Email Notifications,
* Message Control Center,
* Autoforwarding,
* Autoresponder,
* Message encryption and obfuscating,
* Message Archive,
* Multiple Recipients,
* Message forwarding,
* phpBB codes,
* Static- and Animated Smileys,
* Flooding protection,
* Captcha Protection (incl. reCAPTCHA support),
* CSRF-protection,
* 3 Modules, 2 Plugins, 4 CB Plugins.

All features are configurable.
Importing messages from most other PMS components is possible.

On the project homepage you will find screenshots from the backend interface which shows all options and features.

There is a comprehensive FAQ available that covers lots of issues with uddeIM on about 100 pages. You find the most current version of the FAQ on Joomlacode.org:
http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/com_uddeim/scmsvn/?action=browse&path=%2Ftrunk%2FREADME%2FFAQ.pdf&view=log
(choose "Links to HEAD:" -> Download)
or in the README folder in the uddeIM package.

You can follow development progress on Google+
http://plus.google.com/u/0/b/117839921924782901705/

Please do not forget to vote and to write a review. Thanks!

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2011-05-24
Reviews: 1
uddeIm is simply great, what can I say more?
This tool has a lot of options and details that are revealing a great development work.
I have installed it with Kunena 1.6.4 and all has worked from the first shot.
There is also a super-datailed doc to solve installation problem if they (eventually) occurs.
I recommend it, no doubt.
2011-04-25
Reviews: 52
This component is so easy to use and set up, and integrates very well, very sad for the tinkering mind, but very nice for us that just wants it to work.
A bit strange system with hotfix'es with manual copying, but it's managable.
All problems reported was solved quickly, and Slabbi is very respondent, and have created the docs that's needed (just a question of finding them), one drawback though is the lack of it's own forum, it piggybacks on JoomlaPolis.
Owner's reply

The support forum can be found on Joomlapolis and it is linked from JED.

The FAQ can be found in the README folder in uddeIM archive as mentioned in the description text above and as mentioned in the sticky in the uddeIM forum.

2011-02-07
Reviews: 9
Just wanted to say that for me this is the BEST pms extension Joomla have.GREAT looking and functionality.Would like more templates .. !! Cheers.
2011-02-05
Reviews: 8
actually this component is excellent...i've used t on my site using joomla 1.5
But too bad...when i used this on joomla 1.6 it wont worked..
i try to install it 3 times on my joomla 1.6 sample site, but just found error and i can't link to my site. just after i installed this extension.
I just hope the developer will fixed the problem...
Owner's reply

uddeIM 2.2 is not full Joomla 1.6 compatible (it requires a special installer which is describes in the README and I do not recommend to use uddeIM 2.2 on Joomla 1.6).

You can download uddeIM 2.3rc archive from my dev page which contains a separate package for Joomla 1.6.

2011-02-04
Reviews: 1
This integrates perfectly with my Kunena forum, and supports Swedish without me having to make any changes. Very easy to configure, and a lot of smart add-ons included.

The only thing missing is the option of sending a PM to all members, but it still can be done. You just have to select them all manually. But it isn't really a problem in my opinion.

Keep up the good work!

Keep up the good work!
Owner's reply

You can use "System/General Messages" to send messages to certain groups, e.g. all registered members.

2011-01-31
Reviews: 6
Almost perfect extension, almost. If I send message to eg. 100 users, than in outbox will be 100 single sent messages, not just ONE with 100 recepients - this is one flaw in the ointment and than outdated icons + terribly looking uddeim module/notifier.
Owner's reply

uddeIM tries to use the CSS styling from the main template. For that purpose it uses tags which are used in the default template delivered with Joomla. Unfortunately some templates use completely different tags so the modules might look terribly. In that case you have to modify the uddeIM module CSS file. The icons might be a little bit old fashioned but you can change all icons to another set quite easy.

2010-12-02
Reviews: 5
Guys, I loved it. The fact of being able to add an "send a message to the author" icon in an article is just an example of the versatility of this extension. Just to suggest some improvements (and I'm making an effort!), included icons seem a little old.
Very good work!
2010-10-23
Reviews: 100
Certainly the best private message of joomla, it was very nicely written. I spent a while investigating all its features and was very impressed, it was well thought out, and has some nice templates. Anyone considering a private message system I would recommend this one, there are quite a bit of options and modules. Well done, and thanks for sharing!

Cheers Josh Lewis.
2010-10-22
Reviews: 1
Thanks to developers for free what you can use this wonderful extension.
Plugins Premium is worth the price paid.
Subject column I think that can be used to better.
2010-09-18
Reviews: 12
Great Extention. I integrated it in a few minutes with Kunena Forum. No conlficts with other components and easy customization.

Congrats!!!
2010-08-03
Reviews: 1
Excellent component! :) That's what i search all the time.
2010-07-22
Reviews: 4
I struggled for an entire day trying to get pms.mypmspro to work properly in CB. I finally tried uddeIM and it worked beautifully! The installation and setup was very simple. The documentation was well written and easy to understand. Integration with CB was practically effortless. The results look great on my website. It is exactly what I wanted. Thank you ever so much!
2010-07-17
Reviews: 6
simple and effective
this is THE pm system for joomla
nvr had any issues with this
it integrates with kunena and community builder
2010-07-13
Reviews: 6
Very good component with a lot of options ! Using it since 3 years now ! Great job !
2010-06-21
Reviews: 5
Have tried a number of Private messsaging systems around for Joomla, this is the best. No issues at all and intergates well with CB. Sadly many of the ones that claimed to integrate, didn't so as easily.
2010-06-08
Reviews: 1
Great Job! Easy to use, yet very complex extension.

The only thing missing is possibility to send PM to the whole group at once.
2010-05-24
Reviews: 27
Congratulations. I use 1.9 with Greek language and it works flawlessly thanks!!

Remarks/Suggestions:
I wish that there should be a selection that the users can contact ONLY the administrator and noone else!
2010-04-10
Reviews: 3
Only used it with CB so far but I am very impressed, thank you very much for this terrific component.
2010-04-07
Reviews: 3
Everything is fine but Russian symbols are not supported or something.. I mean when you send a message in russian, you get unreadable symbols:(
Owner's reply

UddeIM supports russian language (UTF-8 and ISO). The backend provides several settings for that.

2010-01-12
Reviews: 6
Free PM's on your page. Works easy and is useful for site users. Still new versions coming out - great work!
Page 2 of 6