The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


uddeIM Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

uddeIM allows users of your community to send Private Messages to each other (note that uddeIM is not a webmail component nor an email client). uddeIM wants to be simple and easy-to-use but it offers all the features you need in a Private Messaging System (PMS).

uddeIM is available in 34 languages. It integrates seamless with Community Builder, Joomlaboard, AlphaUserPoints, Fireboard, Kunena, JomSocial, Joo!CM, Agora, and Ninjaboard.

uddeIM runs on Joomla 1.0, 1.5 native, 1.5 legacy, 1.6, 1.7, 2.5, 3.0, 3.1, 3.2, and 3.3.

The list of features is endless and includes features like:
* Public Frontend,
* File attachments,
* Local-, Global-, Restricted Distribution Lists,
* General- and System-Messages,
* RSS Message Feed,
* Autocomplete Names,
* Popup and Email Notifications,
* Message Control Center,
* Autoforwarding,
* Autoresponder,
* Message encryption and obfuscating,
* Message Archive,
* Multiple Recipients,
* Message forwarding,
* phpBB codes,
* Static- and Animated Smileys,
* Flooding protection,
* Captcha Protection (incl. reCAPTCHA support),
* CSRF-protection,
* 3 Modules, 2 Plugins, 4 CB Plugins.

All features are configurable.
Importing messages from most other PMS components is possible.

On the project homepage you will find screenshots from the backend interface which shows all options and features.

There is a comprehensive FAQ available that covers lots of issues with uddeIM on about 100 pages. You find the most current version of the FAQ on Joomlacode.org:
http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/com_uddeim/scmsvn/?action=browse&path=%2Ftrunk%2FREADME%2FFAQ.pdf&view=log
(choose "Links to HEAD:" -> Download)
or in the README folder in the uddeIM package.

You can follow development progress on Google+
http://plus.google.com/u/0/b/117839921924782901705/

Please do not forget to vote and to write a review. Thanks!

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2008-08-07
Reviews: 1
I think this is one of the most useful components I've seen around, everybody must have this at their site, everything just works fine.
2008-07-16
Reviews: 1
The best PMS component compatible with all great working components....support is real fast....I got a reply in 5 minutes time....
Good work slabby
cheers!!
2008-06-19
Reviews: 2
I searched long and hard and read up on various PM systems, and picked this one. I haven't been sorry. It is top notch, and is actively supported. It serves my needs perfectly.
2008-06-18
Reviews: 1
After looking for a good PMS-extension for J!, I found this one. Clean, loads of features, easy to use. But, there's just one thing I'm missing: the possibility to limit the max. PMs in each folder, based on the user's group. So, for example, I can't say Registered members can get 100 messages in their Inbox, where Authors get up to 150, Editors and Publishers up to 250 and Backend Members up to 1000, or even have no limit at all.

Perhaps an idea for the next release? It gets even better when it gets (built-in or not) JACL-support...

But, besides this feature, it's a great extension, which I won't drop!
2008-06-03
Reviews: 4
Good configuration and lots of integration/customizability, but I think that it would be cool to have some uddeIM and Seyret Video Component integration action!! Overall though, great component and am looking forward to new releases.
2008-05-22
Reviews: 1
Simple installation and works great! I was surprised with the amount of options in the admin. Thanks for a great joomla extension!
2008-05-19
Reviews: 2
Easy to install and it did not error. Loads of setting to set it the way you want it and the support is excellent!!

Nice work!!
2008-05-19
Reviews: 1
I tested all the message systems, and this is the most complete by far. Cheers!
2008-05-04
Reviews: 1
Can't find a single thing to complain about. Brilliant component.
2008-04-21
Reviews: 2
Brilliant component! Feature rich with so many more options the the others and its Free.
2008-04-18
Reviews: 5
Free, commercial or otherwise! Thanks so much.
2008-04-15
Reviews: 1
I tried uddeIM when in it's infancy (version 0.5 I believe), and I wasn't much impressed... months later I lost interest after seeing no trace of development activity ...

I stumbled some days ago on a remark about the current version beeing 1.1 and decided to give it a new chance. Gee I am amazed, this is a very good PMS, in fact I rushed through the french translation within hours to give it to my users !
2008-04-12
Reviews: 2
This extension is simple, clean and classy. It is breeze to setup and boy do my users love it! Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2008-04-07
Reviews: 3
With every release of Uddeim I am more and more impressed. The latest addition of user created contact groups blew me away. That is something I have been wanting for a long time. Thanks Slabbi!
2008-04-01
Reviews: 1
I'm using this extension on a few sites and everyone loves the functionality. It was easy to install and set up. The only drawback I have found is that the text field for entering messages (compose or reply) is one line long. The text scrolls up as you type, but you can see only the line of text you're typing in.
Owner's reply

Please check your site template. uddeIM takes most of the settings from the main template. Usually the message field consists of 10 rows but your site template seems to change this.

2008-03-31
Reviews: 4
This is a superb and easy to use PM module. After trying all the others on offer this is definitely the best. Thanks for all the hard work and keep it up!
2008-03-27
Reviews: 3
I must say this module/component is by far the best I've seen out there.

Easy to install, configure and maintain. Lots of configuration options. Lots of features for users. Very nice design, configurable as well.

Especially nice to have an all in one solution, i.e. mail notifier, mailbox display, and the system itself.

Well done!

Considering that it also links to profile / CB, I am quite pleased to have this PMS running on my site!
2008-03-23
Reviews: 1
Installed in 5 minutes but because of the features it offers it took 30 minutes to check all the settings ;)
2008-03-20
Reviews: 10
I installed this on my site yesterday (flawless and easy).
Install and configuration took less than 15 min.

Does everything I need it to and more.

I would highly reccomend this to anyone.
2008-03-07
Reviews: 10
Flawless install, easy post install, and performs as advertised.
Page 5 of 6